Karen Lord - The Galaxy Game - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780876917
    • Publication date:18 Dec 2014

The Galaxy Game

By Karen Lord

  • Hardback
  • £19.99

The sequel to critically acclaimed The Best of All Possible Worlds from award-winning Barbadian writer Karen Lord.

The sequel to critically acclaimed The Best of All Possible Worlds from award-winning Barbadian writer Karen Lord.

For years, Rafi Delarua watched his family suffer under his father's unethical use of psionic power. Now the government has Rafi under surveillance. Hating their crude attempts to analyse his brain, he escapes to the planet Punartam, where his abilities are the norm, not the exception. Punartam is also the centre for his favourite sport, wallrunning - and thanks to his best friend, he discovers a way to train with the elite.
But soon Rafi realises he's playing quite a different game.

The galaxy is changing; unrest is spreading and the Zhinuvian cartels are plotting, making the stars a far more dangerous place to aim. There may yet be one solution - involving interstellar travel, galactic power and the love of a beautiful game.

Biographical Notes

Karen Lord has been a physics teacher, a diplomat, a part-time soldier and an academic at various times and in various countries. She is now a writer and research consultant in Barbados. Her debut novel, Redemption in Indigo, won the 2008 Frank Collymore Literary Award, the 2011 William L. Crawford Award, the 2012 Kitschies Golden Tentacle Award for Best Debut Novel and the Mythopoeic Award, and was shortlisted for the World Fantasy Award. Redemption in Indigo and The Best of All Possible Worlds, the prequel to The Galaxy Game, are published by Jo Fletcher Books.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780876894
  • Publication date: 01 Jan 2015
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
a leisurely exploration of multiple societies, power-politics and race relations . . . The Galaxy Game will only add to her [Karen Lord's] considerable reputation — Guardian, Guardian
every bit the book The Best of All Possible Worlds was: a smart science fictional fable as inventive and involving as it is finally vital — tor.com, tor.com
Lord writes social science fiction reminiscent of Ursula Le Guin . . . I would recommend both The Best of All Possible Worlds and The Galaxy Game to anybody who craves mature social science fiction — SFF World
Quercus

Darling Blue

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees
Quercus

The Norse Myths

Dr Tom Birkett
Authors:
Dr Tom Birkett

The great Norse Myths are among the most dramatic and unforgettable stories in all human history. These fascinating, fantastical tales have inspired centuries of art, culture and literature, including the storytelling of Tolkien, Neil Gaiman, George RR Martin's Game of Thrones, Wagner's Ring Cycle and Marvel Comics.The Norse Myths takes us on a thrilling journey through the Norse cosmos, from the creation of the world to Ragnarok, the final world-destroying conflict; via the Nine Worlds, and the exploits of the mighty gods and goddesses - mystical Odin, malicious Loki, mighty Thor and more - and their quarrel with the giants. Bringing to life the magical world of monsters and mythical creatures, this also introduces the adventures of humankind: folk heroes and tricksters; Sigmund's great battle in the Volsung Saga; the exploits of Kings and Princes; and Viking exploration and settlement of new lands including Iceland, Greenland, America, and Viking life in the Mediterranean and the East. As well as a treasure trove of these epic stories of heroism and cruelty, squabbles and seductions, The Norse Myths is a comprehensive study of their origins, survival and interpretations - as academically important as it is exhilarating.

MacLehose Press

Homeland or Death

Alberto Barrera Tyszka
Authors:
Alberto Barrera Tyszka
Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring
Quercus

Leave No Trace

Mindy Mejia
Authors:
Mindy Mejia

A hostile wilderness is watching you. Spine-chilling thriller from the author of THE LAST ACT OF HATTIE HOFFMAN for fans of Jane Harper's THE DRY and Chris Whitaker's TALL OAKSTen years after a boy and his father went missing in the wilderness of Minnesota's Boundary Lakes, the boy - who is no longer a boy - walks back out of the forest. He is violent and uncommunicative. The authorities take him to Mayfair Mental Institution in Duluth, Minnesota.There, language therapist Maya Stark is given the task of making a connection with this boy/man who came back from the dead. But their celebrity patient tries to escape and refuses to answer any questions about his father or the last ten years of his life. But Maya, who was abandoned by her own mother, has secrets, too. And as she's drawn closer to this enigmatic boy who is no boy, she'll risk everything to reunite him with his father who has disappeared from the known world - but at what cost to herself?

Quercus

On Sheep

Axel Lindén
Authors:
Axel Lindén

Why do we keep sheep? Alex Lindén ruminates as he watches his sheep ruminating. Naive and inexperienced, he has ditched his doctoral studies in order to move to a fully working farm in the country with his family, where he is tasked with the responsibility of caring for a herd of sheep.Lindén records his new life in his diary, as he tries to manage life on the farm, the ever-escaping sheep and the trials and tribulations that come with being a shepherd - shearing, lambing and confronting the slaughterhouse. As time passes and he gradually settles into the rhythm of shepherding, his naivete fades away and is replaced with stark realisations about what is now his everyday life. He finds himself applying his experiences of animal husbandry to consider our place - as individuals and as a collective organism - in the universe. Is he really the one caring for the sheep, or are they the ones keeping him? Lindén finds both companionship in his flock and a sound, if complex, moral framework for examining the lives we lead.The result is a sensitive and entertaining meditation on the small wonders in our world.

MacLehose Press

The Oblique Place

Caterina Pascual Söderbaum
Authors:
Caterina Pascual Söderbaum
MacLehose Press

Inhuman Resources

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
Jo Fletcher Books

Stained Light

Naomi Foyle
Authors:
Naomi Foyle

Astra Ordott tried - and failed - to deny her destiny. The final installment in the critically-acclaimed SF quartet 'for Hunger Games fans of all ages' (Library Journal). Perfect for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin, Joan Slonczewski and Joyce Carol Oates. For ten years Astra Ordott has lived as a traitor, hated by most of her fellow prisoners and abused by the guards. She made the ultimate sacrifice to save those she loved, voluntarily giving up her freedom when she handed herself over to the Is-Land authorities. Now long-simmering conflicts are beginning to boil over again as the wider world faces devastating threats both old and new. Non-Land and Is-Land are further from reunification than ever. Outside Astra's fortified Gaian homeland, an infertility crisis is threatening the survival of the human race, while the world's reliance on rare earth metals is infuriating the ancient spirits of the planet.Astra may have found her voice as a messenger of cosmic harmony - but is anyone listening?

Jo Fletcher Books

Haunted

Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris

Calexa Rose Dunhill died once, just for a moment - but now someone wants her dead permanently . . . The shocking conclusion to Cemetery Girl by Charlaine Harris, no. 1 bestselling creator of Sookie Stackhouse, and Christopher Golden, bestselling co-creator of Baltimore.They call her the Ghost of Dunhill Cemetery, but most people think 'the Cemetery Girl' is just a story. In some ways, that's true. Her chosen name is Calexa Rose Dunhill, but she doesn't know her real name. When she first arrived here, all she knew was that someone had tried to murder her: they'd dumped her body and left her for dead. Calexa has been hiding out here, afraid to seek out her true identity for fear that her would-be murderer would find her and finish the job. And someone is searching for her . . . a man named Salazar, who holds the key that will unlock the secrets of Calexa's past.Calexa has new secrets as well, including the fact that she was murdered: she did die, if only for a moment - but in that moment, something changed inside her. Now, if someone dies near her, their spirit is drawn to Calexa, drawn into her. It has happened twice before, but now, as her worst fears come true and the killers have found her trail, the third ghost to take up residence in Calexa's soul will change everything . . .

Jo Fletcher Books

Strife's Bane

Evie Manieri
Authors:
Evie Manieri
Jo Fletcher Books

Shattermoon

Dominic Dulley
Authors:
Dominic Dulley

A shattered moon. A secret plan. Last girl standing.Orry's father is the best conman in the quadrant, running elaborate heists with Orry and her brother Ethan to target the ruling families of the Ascendancy. This time should be no different: straight in and out with a fortune in spice paragon in hand . . .. . . until Orry goes off-script and everything falls apart. Less than an hour later the Count of Delf's only grandson is dead and she's on the run, accused of a murder she didn't commit. Turns out, the pendant Orry stole was crafted by the mysterious civilisation who once lived on the Shattermoon - and a lot of powerful people want it. It doesn't take ruthless space pirate Morven Dyas long to track her down, and he's not the only one on her tail. When she's unexpectedly rescued by loner Jurgen Mender and his spaceship, Dainty Jane, Orry knows there's only one thing to do. It requires all of her powers of persuasion to get Mender to agree to her plan, especially when even she can see the madness of pitting an inexperienced young grifter, a space-dog long past his best and an obsolete spaceship against the Imperial Fleet, the worst of the space pirates - and the alien Kadiran, who are getting bored with their uneasy truce with humankind . . . But what other choice does she have?

riverrun

Too Close to Breathe

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan
Jo Fletcher Books

Karen Lord Omnibus

Karen Lord
Authors:
Karen Lord
MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker
MacLehose Press

The Mountain

Luca D'Andrea
Authors:
Luca D'Andrea
riverrun

Histories

Sam Guglani
Authors:
Sam Guglani
MacLehose Press

The House with the Stained-Glass Window

Zanna Sloniowska
Authors:
Zanna Sloniowska
riverrun

At the Strangers' Gate

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik