Peter May - Extraordinary People - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782068853
    • Publication date:30 May 2013
Books in this series

Extraordinary People

Enzo Macleod 1

By Peter May

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The first book of the Enzo Files series, in which ex forensic scientist Enzo Macleod is employed to solve the ten-year-old case of a missing Frenchman.

MEET ENZO MACLEOD, AND BEGIN THE ADDICTIVE COLD-CASE SERIES FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE LEWIS TRILOGY AND COFFIN ROAD.

PARIS.

An old mystery.
As midnight strikes, a man desperately seeking sanctuary flees into a church. The next day, his sudden disappearance will make him famous throughout France.

A new science.
Forensic expert Enzo Macleod takes a wager to solve the seven most notorious French murders, armed with modern technology and a total disregard for the justice system.

A fresh trail.
Deep in the catacombs below the city, he unearths dark clues deliberately set - and as he draws closer to the killer, discovers that he is to be the next victim.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782062080
  • Publication date: 08 May 2014
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: riverrun
He is a terrific writer doing something different. — Mark Billingham
From the first page I knew I was in safe hands. I knew I could trust this writer. — Sophie Hannah
Wonderfully compelling. — Kate Mosse
Peter May is an author I'd follow to the ends of the earth. — New York Times
Dark, exciting and atmospheric. — Scotland on Sunday
Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

The new thriller from the bestselling author of The Girl Before.

riverrun

Yellowhammer

James Henry
Authors:
James Henry

The new Essex-based thriller from the author of Blackwater and the Detective Jack Frost prequelsJuly 1983, Essex. A boy playing hide-and-seek sees a fox tugging at something up on a railway embankment. He approaches it cautiously. Seconds later, a blast is heard, and rooks ascend from the poplars surrounding the farmhouse at which the boy is spending his summer holiday with cousins.DI Nick Lowry is called upon to investigate two deaths at Fox Farm, the home of eminent historian Christopher Cliff. The body in the farmhouse kitchen is Cliff himself, having seemingly taking his own with an antique shotgun. The fox-disturbed body on the property boundary is as yet unidentified.Lowry is already under pressure: County Chief Merrydown was at college with Cliff and knows the family. He must enlist colleagues Daniel Kenton and Jane Gabriel to answer two key questions: just who was at the house with Cliff that morning, and just what has since happened to Cliff's wife?

riverrun

Too Close to Breathe

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan

Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey and Gillian Flynn'Mesmerizing . . . murder, betrayal, and secret lives . . . Everything you need in a great thriller' Lisa Gardner'Really slick . . . A proper page-turner' Jo SpainTOO SOON TO SEEPolished. Professional. Perfect. Dead. Respected scientist Dr Eleanor Costello is found hanging in her immaculate home: the scene the very picture of a suicide.TOO LATE TO HIDEDCS Frankie Sheehan is handed the case, and almost immediately spots foul play. Sheehan, a trained profiler, is seeking a murderer with a talent for death.TOO CLOSE TO BREATHEAs Frankie strives to paint a picture of the killer, and their victim, she starts to sense they are part of a larger, darker canvas, on which the lines between the two blur.Olivia Kiernan's debut is a bold, brilliant thriller that will keep you guessing and leave you breathless.

MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker

Fresh from the staggering success of The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair, Marcus Goldman is struggling to write his third novel. A chance encounter in Florida throws him some inspiration from a surprising source: Alexandra Neville, the beautiful, phenomenally successful singer and Marcus's first love. All at once, memories of his childhood come flooding back. Memories of a family torn apart by tragedy, and a once glorious legacy reduced to shame and ruin.The Baltimore Boys. The Goldman Gang. That was what they called Marcus, and his cousins Hillel and Woody. Three brilliant young men with their whole lives ahead of them, before their kingdom crumbled beneath the weight of lies, jealousy and betrayal. For years, Marcus has struggled with the burdens of his past, but now, he must attempt to banish his demons and tell the real story of the Baltimore Boys.Translated from the French by Alison Anderson

riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama

FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF SIX FOUR: AN INVESTIGATIVE THRILLER SET AMID THE AFTERMATH OF AN AIR DISASTER - PERFECT FOR FANS OF SPOTLIGHT AND AFTER THE CRASH.'He's a master' New York Times Book Review'Very different . . . to almost anything out there' Observer1985. Kazumasa Yuuki, a seasoned reporter at the North Kanto Times, runs a daily gauntlet against the power struggles and office politics that plague its newsroom. But when an air disaster of unprecedented scale occurs on the paper's doorstep, its staff are united by an unimaginable horror, and a once-in-a-lifetime scoop.2002. Seventeen years later, Yuuki remembers the adrenaline-fuelled, emotionally charged seven days that changed his and his colleagues' lives. He does so while making good on a promise he made that fateful week - one that holds the key to its last unsolved mystery, and represents Yuuki's final, unconquered fear.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

riverrun

I'll Keep You Safe

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

** FROM THE GLOBALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF CAST IRON, COFFIN ROAD AND THE BLACKHOUSE **** AN EXPLOSIVE NEW THRILLER SET IN THE OUTER HEBRIDES **'Peter May is an author I'd follow to the ends of the earth' New York TimesHusband and wife Niamh and Ruairidh Macfarlane co-own Ranish Tweed: a Hebridean company that weaves its own special variety of Harris cloth, which has become a sought-after brand in the world of high fashion. But when Niamh learns of Ruairidh's affair with Russian designer Irina Vetrov, then witnesses the pair killed by a car bomb in Paris, her life is left in ruins. Along with her husband's remains, she returns home to the Isle of Lewis, bereft.The Paris police have ruled out terrorism, and ruled in murder - making Niamh the prime suspect, along with Irina's missing husband, Georgy. And so French Detective Sylvie Braque is sent to the island to look into Niamh's past, unaware of the dangers that await her.As Braque digs deeper into the couple's history, Niamh herself replays her life with Ruiairidh, searching her memory for those whose grievances might have led to murder. And with each layer revealed, and every unexpected twist uncovered, the two women find themselves drawn inexorably closer to a killer who will not turn back.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

The Confession

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
riverrun

Snakehead

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

Chinese Whispers

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

GRUESOME MURDERSHis victims are young, beautiful and coldly mutilated. He calls himself the Beijing Ripper. Li Yan, head of Beijing's serious crime squad, must stop him.FEARSOME LETTERSJust as pathologist Margaret Campbell finds an insight into the killer's cruel signature, Li receives a letter from the killer, betraying his cruel intentions.CHINESE WHISPERSThere's no way Li can misinterpret the Ripper's motives: he wants to tear Li and Campbell's lives apart, and write the darkest chapter in Beijing's history.

riverrun

Cast Iron

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

The Ghost Marriage

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

Six Four

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama

'This novel is a real, out-of-the-blue original. I've never read anything like it' New York Times Book ReviewTHE MILLION-SELLING JAPANESE CRIME PHENOMENON, NOW A UK BESTSELLER.SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2016 CWA INTERNATIONAL DAGGER.SIX FOUR.THE NIGHTMARE NO PARENT COULD ENDURE. THE CASE NO DETECTIVE COULD SOLVE. THE TWIST NO READER COULD PREDICT. For five days in January 1989, the parents of a seven-year-old Tokyo schoolgirl sat and listened to the demands of their daughter's kidnapper. They would never learn his identity. They would never see their daughter again.For the fourteen years that followed, the Japanese public listened to the police's apologies. They would never forget the botched investigation that became known as 'Six Four'. They would never forgive the authorities their failure.For one week in late 2002, the press officer attached to the police department in question confronted an anomaly in the case. He could never imagine what he would uncover. He would never have looked if he'd known what he would find.

riverrun

The Fourth Sacrifice

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

Beneath the Surface

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
MacLehose Press

The Girl in the Spider's Web

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
riverrun

Coffin Road

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

Hebrides

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

THE PERFECT COMPANION TO PETER MAY'S LEWIS TRILOGY, AND A PHOTOGRAPHIC JOURNEY THROUGH THE HEBRIDEAN ISLANDS.The landscape of the Outer Hebrides, with its stark cliffs, ghostly mists and lonely beaches, has become a definitive character of Peter May's Lewis trilogy. In Hebrides, readers will accompany him on an odyssey in prose and images, through a history of the Vikings' 'Long Island' and his own deep personal connection with the islands that influenced his bestselling work.Travelling as if alongside his protagonist Fin Macleod, he describes the island life - as bewitching as it is treacherous - his encounter with the bird-hunters of Sula Sgeir, the savage seas of Ness and the churches of Eriskay. With extracts from the trilogy and specially commissioned photographs, this book places his writing and characters within the land that gave them form.Couldn't get enough of the Lewis trilogy and its extraordinary setting? Check out Peter May's latest bestseller, Coffin Road, in which the million-selling master of crime brings murder back to the Outer Hebrides.

Quercus

With Our Blessing

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
riverrun

The Killing Room

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

THE NEW CASEWhen a mass grave containing eighteen mutilated female corpses is discovered in Shanghai, detective Li Yan is sent from Beijing to establish if the bodies are linked to an unsolved murder in the capital. Here, Li will be working with Mei Ling, deputy head of Shanghai's serious crime squad. THE NEW COLLEAGUEMei Ling is a formidable woman: a fact that is not lost on Li's on-off lover, forensic pathologist Margaret Campbell. But when Campbell, vulnerable and still grieving the loss of her father, learns that the victims were subjected to 'live' autopsies, she knows the case is bigger than her pride.THE KILLING ROOMLi, Campbell and Mei Ling are now entering the arena of a sickening nemesis, and opening a door behind which lies each of their very worst nightmares.(P)2015 WF Howes Ltd

riverrun

The Blackhouse

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May