Peter May - Extraordinary People - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782068853
    • Publication date:30 May 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781787471276
    • Publication date:01 May 2019
Books in this series

Extraordinary People

Enzo Macleod 1

By Peter May

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The first book of the Enzo Files series, in which ex forensic scientist Enzo Macleod is employed to solve the ten-year-old case of a missing Frenchman.

MEET ENZO MACLEOD, AND BEGIN THE ADDICTIVE COLD-CASE SERIES FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE LEWIS TRILOGY AND COFFIN ROAD.

PARIS.

An old mystery.
As midnight strikes, a man desperately seeking sanctuary flees into a church. The next day, his sudden disappearance will make him famous throughout France.

A new science.
Forensic expert Enzo Macleod takes a wager to solve the seven most notorious French murders, armed with modern technology and a total disregard for the justice system.

A fresh trail.
Deep in the catacombs below the city, he unearths dark clues deliberately set - and as he draws closer to the killer, discovers that he is to be the next victim.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782062080
  • Publication date: 08 May 2014
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: riverrun
He is a terrific writer doing something different. — Mark Billingham
From the first page I knew I was in safe hands. I knew I could trust this writer. — Sophie Hannah
Wonderfully compelling. — Kate Mosse
Peter May is an author I'd follow to the ends of the earth. — New York Times
Dark, exciting and atmospheric. — Scotland on Sunday
MacLehose Press

A Summer of Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini
Quercus

Fight Back

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith
MacLehose Press

Inhuman Resources

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Alain Delambre is a 57-year-old former HR executive, drained by four years of hopeless unemployment.All he is offered are small, demoralizing jobs. He has reached his very lowest ebb, and can see no way out.So when a major company finally invites him to an interview, Alain Delambre is ready to do anything, borrow money, shame his wife and his daughters and even participate in the ultimate recruitment test: a role-playing game that involves hostage-taking.Alain Delambre commits body and soul in this struggle to regain his dignity.But if he suddenly realised that the dice had been loaded against him from the start, his fury would be limitless.And what began as a role-play game could quickly become a bloodbath.

Quercus

Orphan Boy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Stone Circle

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

'My favourite series' Val McDermidDCI Nelson has been receiving threatening letters telling him to 'go to the stone circle and rescue the innocent who is buried there'. He is shaken, not only because children are very much on his mind, with Michelle's baby due to be born, but because although the letters are anonymous, they are somehow familiar. They read like the letters that first drew him into the case of The Crossing Places, and to Ruth. But the author of those letters is dead. Or are they?Meanwhile Ruth is working on a dig in the Saltmarsh - another henge, known by the archaeologists as the stone circle - trying not to think about the baby. Then bones are found on the site, and identified as those of Margaret Lacey, a twelve-year-old girl who disappeared thirty years ago.As the Margaret Lacey case progresses, more and more aspects of it begin to hark back to that first case of The Crossing Places, and to Scarlett Henderson, the girl Nelson couldn't save. The past is reaching out for Ruth and Nelson, and its grip is deadly.

Quercus

Village of the Lost Girls

Agustín Martínez
Authors:
Agustín Martínez
riverrun

The Man With No Face

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

PRE-ORDER THE MAN WITH NO FACE - A POWERFUL AND PRESCIENT THRILLER FROM THE MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR OF I'LL KEEP YOU SAFE, COFFIN ROAD AND THE BLACKHOUSE.A REPORTER WITH NO FEARBrussels, 1979. Jaded Edinburgh journalist Neil Bannerman arrives in the capital of European politics intent on digging up dirt. Yet it is danger he discovers, when two British men are found murdered.A CHILD WITH NO FATHEROne victim is a journalist, the other a Cabinet Minister: the double-assassination witnessed by the former's autistic daughter. This girl recalls every detail about her father's killer - except for one.THE MAN WITH NO FACEWith Brussels rocked by the tragedy, Bannerman is compelled to follow his instincts. He is now fighting to expose a murderous conspiracy, protect a helpless child, and unmask a remorseless killer.

Jo Fletcher Books

The King

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair
Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

An Empty Death

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

Quercus

The Darkest Place

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

From the bestselling author of With Our Blessing and Sleeping Beauties comes a gripping new mystery'Island of the Lost was the isle's name long before the hospital was built. In winter, they say the fog falls so heavy there that you can't see your hand in front of your face. Storms rage so forcefully you can be blown from the cliffs. Once St. Christina's was built, the name took on a new meaning. Very few who went into that place ever left.'Christmas day, and DCI Tom Reynolds receives an alarming call. A mass grave has been discovered on Oileán na Caillte, the island which housed the controversial psychiatric institution St. Christina's. The hospital has been closed for decades and onsite graves were tragically common. Reynolds thinks his adversarial boss is handing him a cold case to sideline him. But then it transpires another body has been discovered amongst the dead - one of the doctors who went missing from the hospital in mysterious circumstances forty years ago. He appears to have been brutally murdered. As events take a sudden turn, nothing can prepare Reynolds and his team for what they are about to discover once they arrive on the island . . .(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

Leave No Trace

Mindy Mejia
Authors:
Mindy Mejia
MacLehose Press

The Lizard Strategy

Valerio Varesi
Authors:
Valerio Varesi
Quercus

Wrong Way Home

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey

'Sympathetic and suspense-packed' Sunday Times'A classy, satisfying read, superbly put together' Mari HannahA cold case leads DI Grace Fisher on the hunt for the most dangerous killer of her career - but after twenty-five years, can she really be sure she will get to the truth?The same night a local hero saved two people from the burning Marineland resort in Southend, a young woman was raped and murdered minutes from the scene of the fire, the culmination of a series of brutal rapes in the town. The killer was never found.Twenty-five years on, new DNA techniques have blown the cold case open. DI Grace Fisher relishes the prospect of finally catching the culprit, but when the evidence doesn't point to one clear suspect, she must reconstruct the original investigation. Any suggestion that the Essex force was less than thorough at the time could alienate her colleagues and destroy her chances of reaching the truth.Grace finds her investigation shadowed by a young true-crime podcaster backed by veteran crime reporter Ivo Sweatman. As pressure mounts she cannot afford to be distracted. She knows that a cold-blooded killer is slowly being backed into a corner, and a cornered predator is often the most dangerous of all...

riverrun

Freeze Frame

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

Greeks Bearing Gifts

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr

Bernie Gunther returns in the thirteenth book in the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling series, perfect for fans of John le Carre and Robert Harris.'One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written' LEE CHILD'One of the greatest master story-tellers in English' ALAN FURST1957, Munich. Bernie Gunther's latest move in a long string of varied careers sees him working for an insurance company. It makes a kind of sense: both cops and insurance companies have a vested interest in figuring out when people are lying to them, and Bernie has a lifetime of experience to call on.Sent to Athens to investigate a claim from a fellow German for a ship that has sunk, Bernie takes an instant dislike to the claimant. When he discovers the ship in question once belonged to a Greek Jew deported to Auschwitz, he is convinced the sinking was no accident but an avenging arson attack. Then the claimant is found dead, shot through both eyes. It's a win for Bernie's employers at least: no one to pay out to even if the claim is genuine. But who is behind the murder, and why?Strong-armed into helping the Greek police with their investigation, Bernie is once again drawn inexorably back to the dark history of the Second World War, and the deportation of the Jews of Salonika - now Thessaloniki. As Europe seems ready to move on to a more united future with Germany as a partner rather than an enemy, at least one person in Greece is ready neither to forgive nor forget. And, deep down, Bernie thinks they may have a point.

Quercus

The Memory Chamber

Holly Cave
Authors:
Holly Cave

'An elegant tale of love and loss, memory and murder, set in an edgy near-future' Daily Mail'The Memory Chamber is captivating from the first page' Daily Express'Will mess with your head' Emerald Street **********True death is a thing of the past...Now you can spend the rest of eternity re-living your happiest memories: that first kiss, falling in love, the birth of your children, enjoyed on loop for ever and ever.Isobel is a Heaven Architect, and she helps dying people create afterlives from these memories. So when she falls for Jarek, one of her terminal - and married - clients, she knows that while she cannot save him, she can create the most beautiful of heavens, just for him.But when Jarek's wife is found dead, Isobel uncovers a darker side of the world she works within, and she can trust no one with what she finds...The Memory Chamber is a thrilling and original story which vaults the reader into a world that is terrifyingly close to our own, where we can avoid everything we fear - even death itself. But can we ever escape the truth? Perfect for fans of Black Mirror. **********'Thought-provoking and totally absorbing' Candis'Provocative . . . a thrilling read' Psychologies'Strikingly original and impossible to put down' John Marrs, author of The One

riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
MacLehose Press

The Awkward Squad

Sophie Hénaff
Authors:
Sophie Hénaff
riverrun

Blowback

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

THE FIFTH ENZO THRILLER, FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF COFFIN ROAD, ENTRY ISLAND AND THE LEWIS TRILOGY.PUY-DE-DÔME, FRANCE.A Silenced Man.Footprints in the snow lead to the murder scene of Marc Fraysse, France's most celebrated chef - brutally shot before he could make the revelation of his career. A Determined Man.Seven years on and the mystery still raw, Enzo Macleod, forensic investigator, forays into the heated world of haute cuisine to uncover bitter feuds and a burning secret. A Hunted Man.The Fraysse family history is as twisted as Enzo's own. And in his pursuit of truth, the depths of deceit threaten to consume Enzo - and that which he cherishes most.