David Towsey - Your Brother's Blood - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782064343
    • Publication date:29 Aug 2013
Books in this series

Your Brother's Blood

The Walkin' Book 1

By David Towsey

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

The earth is a wasteland, with no technology, science, or medicine - but the dead don't always die. Those who rise again are the Walkin' . . .

An action-packed, post-apocalyptic adventure for fans of The Walking Dead, World War Z and Feed. The dead don't always die. Those who rise again are the Walkin' . . .

Thomas is thirty-two. He comes from the small town of Barkley. He has a wife there, Sarah, and a child, Mary; good solid names from the Good Book. And he is on his way home from the war, where he has been serving as a conscripted soldier.

Thomas is also dead - risen again, he is one of the Walkin'.

And Barkley does not suffer the wicked to live.

Biographical Notes

David Towsey is a graduate of the Bath Spa and Aberystwyth University Creative Writing programmes. Born in Dorset, he moved to Wales and managed to lose himself there for ten years. He's now determined to see what the rest of the world has to offer.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782064336
  • Publication date: 29 Aug 2013
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
This is a sparse, elegantly written novel about family ties. The influence of Cormac McCarthy and especially The Road is keenly felt, and Thomas and Mary's relationship is moving without being overly sentimental . . . the deft world-building and focus on small-scale human tragedy make for an absorbing alternative to World War Z -style epics. — SFX
'All in all it was a fantastic read and would recommend it highly. An excitingly uncomfortable read' Moggy's Books. — Moggy's Books
'Intelligent plotting and terrific storytelling throughout, I found this utterly gripping' Liz Loves Books. — Liz Loves Books
'Literary Horror at its best ... an extremely talented new voice in genre fiction' readerdad.co.uk. — readerdad.co.uk
'David Towsey has created something new and quite amazing in his debut. Re-interpreting the well-represented zombie genre, flipping it upside-down and front-to-back ... utterly captivating' Book Plank. — Book Plank
'Haunting, elegiac, evocative and human. Combines the taut yet melancholy feel of a classic pursuit Western with an authentically horrific sense of history gone wrong. A beautifully crafted debut' Christopher Brookmyre. — Christopher Brookmyre
This debut is utterly engrossing. It's a truly fascinating reinterpretation of the zombie myths ... I want to read a sequel to this book tomorrow. No, let me rephrase that, I NEED to read a sequel to this book tomorrow — The Eloquent Page
Something completely new and different . . . literary and elegant at the same time . . . I recommend it to anyone looking for something that's different, resonant and not "just another zombie book" — Bibliosanctum
[Your Brother's Blood] is an exceptionally good Weird Western zombie novel. Given how rare excellence is in any one of those areas, finding it at the conjunction of all three is a truly spectacular occurrence . . . Your Brother's Blood is something special — Pornokitsch
Towsey's writing is a joy - the reader can feel and empathise with Thomas' angst as he is hunted across inhospitable terrains with his young daughter. This will appeal to fans of both the zombie and classic Western genres — British Fantasy Society
If you're picking up Your Brother's Blood and expect it's just another zombie novel, then let me tell you: it's not . . . this one is more psychological than action-packed. If you want a break from all the swordfights and space battles, this is the book you should pick up — Draumr Kopa
One of the finest tales of the undead in recent memory, told in a grit-crusted, Old West style . . . with rich characterization, starkly beautiful language, and philosophical depth — NPR
Towsey is a master of his craft; lyrical prose and compelling characters combine here to create a novel with real warmth and heart — James Aitcheson, author of Sworn Swords
'Despite sitting in two genres, Your Brother's Blood manages to largely avoid relying on recycled tropes. There's little in the way of gun-toting, zombie-blasting carnage here. Instead, this is a sparse, elegantly written novel about family ties' SFX. — SFX
Quercus

The Memory Chamber

Holly Cave
Authors:
Holly Cave

YOU ARE GOING TO DIE. YOU CAN PRESERVE A HANDFUL OF SPECIAL MEMORIES FOR EVER. WHICH ONES WOULD YOU CHOOSE?**********True death is a thing of the past. Now you can spend the rest of eternity re-living your happiest memories: that first kiss, falling in love, the birth of your children, enjoyed on loop for ever and ever.Isobel is a Heaven Architect, and she helps dying people create afterlives from these memories. So when she falls for Jarek, one of her terminal - and married - clients, she knows that while she cannot save him, she can create the most beautiful of heavens, just for him.But when Jarek's wife is found dead, Isobel uncovers a darker side of the world she works within, and she can trust no one with what she finds...The Memory Chamber is a thrilling and original story which vaults the reader into a world that is terrifyingly close to our own, where we can avoid everything we fear - even death itself. But can we ever escape the truth?*********'A sensational thriller not to be missed' Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle'Strikingly original and impossible to put down' John Marrs, author of The One

Quercus

A World on Fire

James Heneage
Authors:
James Heneage
Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

In this twisty psychological thriller from the New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of The Girl Before, an actress plays both sides of a murder investigationOne aspiring actress from the UK pays for her acting class in New York the only way she can: as a decoy for a firm of divorce lawyers, hired to entrap straying husbands. When the police begin investigating one of her targets for murdering his wife - and potentially others - they ask her to help lure the suspect into a confession.But with the actress pretending to be someone she's not, differentiating the decoy from the prey becomes impossible - and deadly.**********See what everyone is saying about JP Delaney, the hottest new name in psychological thrillers:'An outstanding debut that is more than a match for Paula Hawkins's The Girl on the Train' Sunday TimesDazzling - a pitch-perfect thriller (Lee Child)Slick, sexy, suspenseful and smart (Mail on Sunday)(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

riverrun

Dark Water

Elizabeth Lowry
Authors:
Elizabeth Lowry
Quercus

The Last Thing She Told Me

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
riverrun

All Rivers Run Free

Natasha Carthew
Authors:
Natasha Carthew

Quercus

The Quarryman's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
riverrun

The Italian Teacher

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman
Jo Fletcher Books

The Everness Series

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald

Jo Fletcher Books

Kin

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson

'A dark mystery in a dark age brought vividly to life' says Robert Fabbri, author of the bestselling Vespasian seriesEveryone loves a family reunion.He can deny it all he likes, but everyone knows Viking warlord Unnthor Reginsson brought home a great chest of gold when he retired from the longboats and settled down with Hildigunnur in a remote valley. Now, in the summer of 970, adopted daughter Helga is awaiting the arrival of her unknown siblings: dark, dangerous Karl, lithe, clever Jorunn, gentle Aslak, henpecked by his shrewish wife, and the giant Bjorn, made bitter by Volund, his idiot son.And they're coming with darkness in their hearts.The siblings gather, bad blood simmers and old feuds resurface as Unnthor's heirs make their moves on the old man's treasure - until one morning Helga is awakened by screams. Blood has been shed: kin has been slain.No one confesses, but all the clues point to one person - who cannot possibly be the murderer, at least in Helga's eyes. But if she's going to save the innocent from the axe and prevent more bloodshed, she's got to solve the mystery - fast . . .Lies. Manipulation. Murder. There's nothing quite like family . . .

MacLehose Press

About the Size of the Universe

Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Authors:
Jón Kalman Stefánsson
MacLehose Press

Fish Have No Feet

Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Authors:
Jón Kalman Stefánsson
MacLehose Press

A Hero Born

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong
riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
riverrun

The Secret of Vesalius

Jordi Llobregat
Authors:
Jordi Llobregat
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 1

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes
MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker

Fresh from the staggering success of The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair, Marcus Goldman is struggling to write his third novel. A chance encounter in Florida throws him some inspiration from a surprising source: Alexandra Neville, the beautiful, phenomenally successful singer and Marcus's first love. All at once, memories of his childhood come flooding back. Memories of a family torn apart by tragedy, and a once glorious legacy reduced to shame and ruin.The Baltimore Boys. The Goldman Gang. That was what they called Marcus, and his cousins Hillel and Woody. Three brilliant young men with their whole lives ahead of them, before their kingdom crumbled beneath the weight of lies, jealousy and betrayal. For years, Marcus has struggled with the burdens of his past, but now, he must attempt to banish his demons and tell the real story of the Baltimore Boys.Translated from the French by Alison Anderson(P)2017 Quercus Editions Limited

MacLehose Press

Avenging Angels

Lyuba Vinogradova
Authors:
Lyuba Vinogradova

The girls came from every corner of the U.S.S.R. They were factory workers, domestic servants, teachers and clerks, and few were older than twenty. Though many had led hard lives before the war, nothing could have prepared them for the brutal facts of their new existence: with their country on its knees, and millions of its men already dead, grievously wounded or in captivity, from 1942 onwards thousands of Soviet women were trained as snipers.Thrown into the midst of some of the fiercest fighting of the Second World War they would soon learn what it was like to spend hour upon hour hunting German soldiers in the bleak expanses of no-man's-land; they would become familiar with the awful power that comes with taking another person's life; and in turn they would discover how it feels to see your closest friends torn away from you by an enemy shell or bullet.In a narrative that travels from the sinister catacombs beneath the Kerch Peninsula to Byelorussia's primeval forests and, finally, to the smoking ruins of the Third Reich, Lyuba Vinogradova recounts the untold stories of these brave young women. Drawing on diaries, letters and interviews with survivors, as well as previously unpublished material from the military archives, she offers a moving and unforgettable record of their experiences: the rigorous training, the squalid living quarters, the blood and chaos of the Eastern Front, and those moments of laughter and happiness that occasionally allowed the girls to forget, for a second or two, their horrifying circumstances. Avenging Angels is a masterful account of an all-too-often overlooked chapter of history, and an unparalleled account of these women's lives.Translated from the Russian by Arch Tait

riverrun

Larchfield

Polly Clark
Authors:
Polly Clark
Jo Fletcher Books

Empress of the Fall

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair