Naomi Foyle - The Blood of the Hoopoe - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782069249
    • Publication date:14 Dec 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784299712
    • Publication date:05 May 2016
Books in this series

The Blood of the Hoopoe

The Gaia Chronicles Book 3

By Naomi Foyle

  • Paperback
  • £18.99

Astra Ordott is the long-prophesied icon of unification for the peoples of Is-Land and Non-Land - but is she ready to accept her destiny? This gripping SF novel is 'for Hunger Games fans of all ages' says Library Journal. Perfect for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin and Joyce Carol Oates.

Astra is the long prophesied icon of unification for the peoples of Non-Land . . . but is she ready to accept her destiny?

War is breaking out in Kadingir. Still struggling to accept her role as a long prophesied icon of unification between Is-Land and Non-Land, Astra Ordott is on a journey across the wind sands to join her father and his people - the mystics of Shiimti, who claim to hold the secret of truly healing the damaged relationship between human beings and the Earth.
Astra's desperate to get there quickly, but when her guide and companion, the shepherd Muzi, leads her off course into the path of a vicious sandstorm, she is forced to confront what the gods of their devastated world might be telling her: that there will be no refuge from her destiny.

Biographical Notes

Naomi Foyle was born in London, grew up in Hong Kong, Liverpool and Canada, and currently lives in Brighton. She spent three years in Korea, teaching English, writing travel journalism and acting in Korean educational television. She is a highly regarded poet and performer.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782069225
  • Publication date: 05 May 2016
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
It's hard-hitting, but it's poignant and incredibly thought-provoking at the same time . . . Naomi Foyle has a mastery of plotting and a way with words that's truly remarkable. — Over The Effing Rainbow on Astra
A complex and daring literary story — Upcoming4.me on Astra
Foyle has built a fascinating portrait, often reminiscent of Ursula K. Le Guin in its layered complexity, and threaded it into a fascinating coming of age story. Gripping — Love Reading on Rook Song
Naomi Foyle has a mastery of plotting and a way with words that's truly remarkable — Over The Effing Rainbow
Rook Song is brave and unexpected . . . if you like your SF intelligent and stimulating do yourself a favour and pick up both Astra and Rook Song. You won't regret it — Upcoming4me
This is excellent Science Fiction and I heartily recommend it ... reminiscent of LeGuin — Birmingham SF Group on Astra