Lucy Atkins - The Other Child - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782069881
    • Publication date:04 Jun 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784291792
    • Publication date:04 Jun 2015

The Other Child

The addictive domestic thriller that you won't be able to put down!

By Lucy Atkins

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A gripping psychological thriller from the author of the bestselling debut The Missing One. Perfect for fans of I Let You Go, The Sisters by Claire Douglas, The Book of You and The Ice Twins.

A gripping psychological thriller from the author of the bestselling debut The Missing One. Perfect for fans of I Let You Go, The Sisters by Claire Douglas, The Book of You and The Ice Twins.

Sometimes a lie seems kinder than the truth . . . but what happens when that lie destroys everything you love? When Tess is sent to photograph Greg, a high profile paediatric heart surgeon, she sees something troubled in his face, and feels instantly drawn to him. Their relationship quickly deepens, but then Tess, single mother to nine-year-old Joe, falls pregnant, and Greg is offered the job of a lifetime back in his hometown of Boston. Before she knows it, Tess is married, and relocating to the States. But life in an affluent American suburb proves anything but straightforward.

Unsettling things keep happening in the large rented house, Joe is distressed, the next-door neighbours are in crisis, and Tess is sure that someone is watching her. Greg's work is all-consuming and, as the baby's birth looms, he grows more and more unreachable. Something is very wrong, Tess knows it, and then she makes a jaw-dropping discovery . . .

Biographical Notes

Lucy Atkins is an award-winning feature journalist and author, as well as a Sunday Times book critic. She has written for many newspapers, including the Guardian, The Times, The Sunday Times, and the Telegraph, as well as magazines such as Psychologies, Red, Woman and Home and Grazia. She lives in Oxford.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782069874
  • Publication date: 04 Jun 2015
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Quercus
Taut, tense, and beautifully written. I held my breath between chapters and didn't sleep until I reached the end — Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go
An elegantly written page-turner which pulled me in from the start and held its grip until the final page — Renee Knight, author of bestselling psychological thriller Disclaimer
I absolutely loved this novel. The Other Child is seriously gripping, seriously scary and seriously brilliant — Clare Kendal, author of The Book of You
Truly unnerving. Atkins perfectly captures the vulnerability that comes with moving overseas, away from friends and support networks, and uses it expertly in this compelling novel. Not just one-more-page gripping but perceptive and beautifully written — Lucie Whitehouse, author of Before We Met
The last book I read in one sitting like this was Louise Doughty's Apple Tree Yard. Like Louise, Lucy Atkins is brilliant at ramping up the tension so that there's not a chance of relief until the end — Polly Samson, author of The Kindness
Addictive . . . a pace so relentless that you'll want to inhale this novel in one uninterrupted sitting — The Sunday Times
Atmospheric and packed with suspense, kept me on edge from start to finish — Woman & Home Magazine