Simon R. Green - Ghost of a Dream - Quercus

Ghost of a Dream

Ghost Finders Book 3

By Simon R. Green

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

When you've got a haunted theatre, who're you gonna call? The Ghost Finder's, of course, New York Times bestselling authors Simon R. Green's kiss-ass heroes.

JC, Melody and Happy Jack are looking forward to working a straightforward case for a change. They're about to be disappointed.

After the potentially world-altering events of their last assignment, the Ghost Finders are looking forward to working a more run-of-the-mill case. The team has asked to investigate a haunted theatre (aren't they all?).

The Hayburn Theatre is in the middle of renovations, but work has been thrown off schedule by some peculiar and unnatural activities - standard haunting stuff. But there is nothing standard about the Phantom of the Hayburn, an ancient evil with the ability to alter reality itself. The team will need to push their skills - and luck - to the limit if they hope to leave the theatre in one piece.

Ghost of a Dream is the third title in New York Times bestselling author Simon R. Green's Ghost Finders series.

Biographical Notes

Simon R. Green was born in Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire, where he now lives after some years in Leicester studying for his MA in Modern English and American Literature; he also studied history and has a combined Humanities degree. After years of rejections, he sold seven novels at once, just two days after he started working at Bilbo's Bookshop in Bath, after three and a half years of unemployment. The following year, he hit the Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller lists with the novelisation of Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, which has sold more than 370,000 copies, and continues to sell. His bestselling novels span fantasy, space opera and horror, and include the Deathstalker, Nightside, Ghost Finders, Secret History and Hawk and Fisher series. He is currently working on a new Deathstalker novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784297060
  • Publication date: 07 Jan 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
Thoroughly entertaining — Jim Butcher, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Dresden Files
Skirmishes and plot twists rule as Green serves up enough blood and viscera to slake the thirst of any thriller aficionado. Readers will appreciate the camaraderie and snappy dialogue of what is sure to become Britain's favourite ghost hunters — Publishers Weekly on Ghost of a Chance
Undeniably a fun, free-wheeling romp with things that go bump in the night . . . this is an enjoyable read with slapstick vignettes and cleverly devised situations — Romantic Times
As good as Green's Nightside and the Secret Histories sagas — Alternative Worlds
It continually amazes me how Green can pump out such original stories — Crooked Reviews
He's a clever, clever writer . . . you can see the glee just dripping off the page . . . as something to amuse yourself with on a rainy Sunday, or to cleanse your palate after something a little more serious, you can do worse. Make yourself a big bowl of popcorn, put up your feet, and go adventuring with JC, Melody and Happy. Have a little fun — Prettyterrible.com
Green keeps the action and laughs flowing in equal measure. Here's hoping for many more adventures of this terrific quartet — SFRevu
Plenty of witty banter and snappy dialogue . . . A lovely blend of popcorn adventure and atmospheric thriller — The Green Man Review
A fun mystery, heavy on the horror element and kept me entertained throughout — All Things Urban Fantasy on The Ghost Finders
MacLehose Press

Tropic of Violence

Nathacha Appanah
Authors:
Nathacha Appanah

Quercus

Harry Price III

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring
Quercus

An Autumn Hunting

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan
Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
Quercus

A Summer Revenge

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan
Quercus

What Lies Within

Annabelle Thorpe
Authors:
Annabelle Thorpe

Three friends. Two worlds. Twenty years of friendship. And a new life in an unfamiliar city that will take apart everything they believe to be true.Paul, Freya and Hamad have stayed close friends since university in spite of Freya and Paul's marriage, and Hamad's exotic, wealthy life. But with Paul's career in the doldrums, an incredible offer from Hamad sees Paul and Freya move to Morocco to reinvigorate their marriage and fulfil their hopes.But Marrakech proves a bewildering city and the delicate balance of their unusual triangle becomes disturbed. Hamad's glamorous girlfriend, Racine, disrupts the harmony the three have sustained for so long, and Freya discovers that life in Marrakech is driving her and Paul apart. Unexpected revelations about their shared past and present force her to realise that neither of the men she loves is quite as she thought they were. When a shocking crime is committed, Freya finds herself cast adrift in the dark corners of this unfamiliar city, unsure who to trust or believe.

Jo Fletcher Books

Haunted

Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill
Quercus

The Dark Angel

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

The Munition Girls Series

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer

Even in the darkest of times, good friends will see you through. Three heartwarming sagas for fans of Daisy Styles, Nancy Revell and Ellie Dean.THE MUNITIONS GIRLS19-year-old Pixie isn't going to let a little war get in the way of a good time. Her job at the local armaments factory is gruelling and dangerous, but she and the other girls there try and make the most of their time off. Pixie meets American sailor Cal and they fall in love. But Cal has to rejoin his ship, and little does Pixie know just how much her life is about to change...THE CANARY GIRLSRita Brown is glad to be back at work at the munitions factory after an explosion put her in hospital. She's caught the eye of local bad boy Blackie Bristow, who is sweeping her round the country in a whirl of shady glamour. Her friends from the factory help take her mind off Blackie's darker side. Then she discovers someone at work is leaking secrets to the Germans. With D-Day on the horizon, Rita must work out who's responsible - and fast.THE FACTORY GIRLSAutumn, 1944. Doodlebugs batter the south coast, but factory overseer Em has more than bombs on her plate. Her daughter Lizzie is unexpectedly pregnant, and a strange woman has turned up on her doorstep claiming to be Em's long-lost sister. Em is overjoyed, but is the woman too good to be true? Once again the factory girls must rally round one of heir own.

Quercus

The Berlin Noir Series

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
Quercus

The Rosie Gilmour Series

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith
riverrun

Histories

Sam Guglani
Authors:
Sam Guglani

'Guglani is the real deal' Michel Faber'Profound . . . Poetic . . . Humane' Gabriel Weston'Shows rare skill . . . Power and fear and morality' Sarah Moss, author of The Tidal Zone'Tender . . . designed to break your heart, mend it, then break it all over again' Rory Gleeson, author of Rockadoon ShoreHistories is a hypnotic portrait of life in one hospital, over one week. In the corridors and consulting rooms, by the bedside, through the open curtain, we witness charged encounters within the emotional and physical world of medicine. Old insecurities surface as junior doctors try to save a man from dying; an enraged chaplain picks a fight with a consultant; a porter waxes lyrical on his invisibility. These are only some of the stories that so seamlessly connect, collide and create an unforgettable panorama of being. Sam Guglani's vivid prose has the raw intensity of poetry that pulls the reader in on every page.

Quercus

The Little Book of Ikigai

Ken Mogi
Authors:
Ken Mogi

'FORGET HYGGE. IT'S ALL ABOUT IKIGAI (THAT'S JAPANESE FOR A HAPPY LIFE)' The TimesFind out how to live a long and happy life thanks to the ikigai miracle, a Japanese philosophy that helps you find fulfilment, joy and mindfulness in everything you do.It is extraordinary that Japanese men's longevity ranks 4th in the world, while Japanese women's ranks 2nd. But perhaps this comes as no surprise when you know that the Japanese understanding of ikigai is embedded in their daily life and in absolutely everything that they do. In their professional careers, in their relationships with family members, in the hobbies they cultivate so meticulously. Ken Mogi identifies five key pillars to ikigai:Pillar 1: Starting smallPillar 2: Releasing yourselfPillar 3:Harmony and sustainabilityPillar 4:The joy of little thingsPillar 5:Being in the here and nowThe Japanese talk about ikigai as 'a reason to get up in the morning'. It is something that keeps one's enthusiasm for life going, whether you are a cleaner of the famous Shinkansen bullet train, the mother of a newborn child or a Michelin-starred sushi chef. The Five Pillars at the heart of everything they do.But how do you find your own ikigai? How does ikigai contribute to happiness? Neuroscientist and bestselling Japanese writer Ken Mogi provides an absorbing insight into this way of life, incorporating scientific research and first-hand experience, and providing a colourful narrative of Japanese culture and history along the way.

Quercus

The Templars' Last Secret

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
riverrun

Sympathy for the Devil

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
riverrun

The Lonely Hearts Hotel

Heather O'Neill
Authors:
Heather O'Neill
Quercus

The Italian Quarter

Domenica De Rosa
Authors:
Domenica De Rosa

Sophie is only a quarter Italian. But that quarter is her charismatic grandfather Cesare, and he has instilled in her a great love of her Italian heritage. So when a journalist starts to investigate Cesare's war record, Sophie reluctantly questions just how proud she should really be. She embarks upon a journey into the past which takes her from nineteenth-century Naples to London's Italian quarter and one of the war's forgotten tragedies. And along the way she also learns something very important about herself...

Quercus

Relish

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith

The eye-opening story of one woman's incredible appetite for life: Prue Leith, judge of C4's GREAT BRITISH BAKE OFF and former judge of BBC2's GREAT BRITISH MENU.'What a terrific tale it is - of a South African girl who could stand the heat and made the kitchen into a remarkable career' TelegraphPrue Leith describes herself as greedy in all senses of the word. Cook, caterer, restaurateur, food writer, journalist, novelist, businesswoman, teacher, television presenter, charity worker, lover, wife and mother, she has certainly been greedy for life. Prue came to London in the early 1960s and, not long afterwards, opened Leith's Restaurant. By the mid-seventies she was a food columnist on the Daily Mail, had published several cookbooks and opened Leith's School of Food and Wine. But it wasn't all work. Prue writes with honesty of her affairs, her longing for children, the birth of her son, the adoption of her daughter and many other things besides. Prue's down-to-earth attitude is an inspiration.