Peter May - The Blackhouse - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857382160
    • Publication date:05 Jan 2011
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781787474109
    • Publication date:15 Feb 2018
Books in this series

The Blackhouse

Book One of the Lewis Trilogy

By Peter May
Read by Peter Forbes

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The Richard & Judy Book Club bestseller, and the first novel in the Peter May's internationally acclaimed and million-selling Lewis trilogy.

READ THE SUNDAY TIMES AND RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLER, AND THE FIRST INSTALMENT IN PETER MAY'S SENSATIONAL, MILLION-SELLING LEWIS TRILOGY.


A brutal killing takes place on the Isle of Lewis, Scotland: a land of harsh beauty and inhabitants of deep-rooted faith.

A MURDER

Detective Inspector Fin Macleod is sent from Edinburgh to investigate. For Lewis-born Macleod, the case represents a journey both home and into his past.

A SECRET

Something lurks within the close-knit island community. Something sinister.

A TRAP

As Fin investigates, old skeletons begin to surface, and soon he, the hunter, becomes the hunted.

Biographical Notes

Peter May was born and raised in Scotland. He was an award-winning journalist at the age of twenty-one and a published novelist at twenty-six. He is the million-selling author of the Lewis trilogy, the Enzo Files and the China thrillers; and of the Sunday Times bestselling standalone novels Entry Island, Runaway and Coffin Road. Peter now lives in South-West france with his wife, writer Janice Hally.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781849163866
  • Publication date: 01 Sep 2011
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: riverrun
'excellent plotting with some beautiful descriptions of the Isle of Lewis ... The story is wonderful' crime pieces. — crime pieces
'vivid ... fascinating' Literary Review. — Literary Review
MacLehose Press

A Summer of Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini

The second of the Black Forest Investigations - for fans of Val McDermid and Ann CleevesWhen the fire brigade is called to a burning shed in the Black Forest idyll of Kirchzarten, a volunteer is killed as a weapons cache beneath it explodes. Louise Bonì, back with Freiburg Kripo after treatment and recuperation for her alcoholism, is assigned to the task force dealing with this case. The meagre evidence they have points to a possible connection with German neo-Nazis or illegal arms dealers from the former Yugoslavia, while the arrival of secret service agents suggests more is at stake. For Louise to solve the riddle she needs to overcome the ghosts of her past that continue to haunt her.Oliver Bottini is a fresh and exciting voice in the world of crime fiction in translation; the Rhine borderlands of the Black Forest are a perfect setting for his beautifully crafted mysteries.Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

Quercus

Fight Back

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith
MacLehose Press

Inhuman Resources

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
Quercus

Orphan Boy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

Will he ever find the life he longs for?Born to a mother who died in childbirth and an uninterested father, Niall McAndrew grows up a solitary child, without a home to call his own. His only friend is Bridget, a young girl forced prematurely into womanhood.Niall has brains, spirit and ambition, as well as being blessed with handsome good looks. But his loveless childhood has left its mark. Can he ever find the happiness he yearns for? A moving and uplifting tale of a young boy with big dreams...From the bestselling author of Far From My Father's House and Miss Appleby's Academy comes a rags-to-riches tale of one man's determination to succeed. Perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Diane Allen.

Quercus

The Stone Circle

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

Village of the Lost Girls

Agustín Martínez
Authors:
Agustín Martínez

A breath-taking missing persons thriller set under the menacing peaks of the Pyrenees Five years after their disappearance, the village of Monteperdido still mourns the loss of Ana and Lucia, two eleven-year-old friends who left school one afternoon and were never seen again. Now, Ana reappears unexpectedly inside a crashed car, wounded but alive and next to the body of a man. While the people of the village struggle to comprehend the startling turn of events, the case reopens and a race against time begins to discover the identity of the dead man and who was behind the girls' kidnapping. Most importantly, where is Lucia and is she still alive?Inspector Sara Campos and her boss Santiago Bain, who are called in from Madrid's head office, are forced to work with the local police. Five years ago fatal mistakes were made in the investigation conducted after the girls first vanished, and this mustn't happen again. But Monteperdido has rules of its own.'A disturbing atmosphere, convincing characters and enthralling twists - a revelation!' Bitácora de Lecturas

riverrun

The Man With No Face

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Jo Fletcher Books

The King

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair

There is no escape from destiny . . . is there? 'Riveting! Like its reincarnated heroes, I was drawn again and again to David Hair's gripping, blood-soaked tale' - Chris Bradford, author of Young SamuraiFor four young men and women trapped in its story-cycle, the Ramayana is not just a legend: it is their fate!In every life they have ever lived, Vikram, Amanjit, Rasita and Deepika have been persecuted and killed by Ravindra on his quest to reincarnate as Ravana, the Demon-King. Now Ravindra has captured Rasita, and demonic beings are rallying to his cause. His triumph is looking certain. Vikram and Amanjit must rescue Rasita - but in every past life, Vikram has died at Ravindra's hands. This time, failure is not an option. This time, if Ravindra wins, it will be for ever.'David Hair hasn't just broken the mould. He's completely shattered it' - Bibliosanctum Ages-old mysteries must be uncovered and forgotten powers regained as the fight to defeat Ravindra moves toward the final, heart-stopping climax and a finalé that is as startling as it is electrifying.

Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

Stratton's War

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

Quercus

An Empty Death

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson
Quercus

The Darkest Place

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

From the bestselling author of With Our Blessing and Sleeping Beauties comes a gripping new mystery'Island of the Lost was the isle's name long before the hospital was built. In winter, they say the fog falls so heavy there that you can't see your hand in front of your face. Storms rage so forcefully you can be blown from the cliffs. Once St. Christina's was built, the name took on a new meaning. Very few who went into that place ever left.'Christmas day, and DCI Tom Reynolds receives an alarming call. A mass grave has been discovered on Oileán na Caillte, the island which housed the controversial psychiatric institution St. Christina's. The hospital has been closed for decades and onsite graves were tragically common. Reynolds thinks his adversarial boss is handing him a cold case to sideline him. But then it transpires another body has been discovered amongst the dead - one of the doctors who went missing from the hospital in mysterious circumstances forty years ago. He appears to have been brutally murdered. As events take a sudden turn, nothing can prepare Reynolds and his team for what they are about to discover once they arrive on the island . . .(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

Leave No Trace

Mindy Mejia
Authors:
Mindy Mejia
MacLehose Press

The Lizard Strategy

Valerio Varesi
Authors:
Valerio Varesi

Italy's Maigret returns in another smouldering noir from a master of the police procedural "A master storyteller" Barry Forshaw, IndependentParma is blanketed in snow, but this pristine, white veneer cannot mask the stench of corruption. Its officials are no longer working for its people - only for themselves - crime is out of control and resentment festers in every district. Commissario Soneri remains at heart an idealist, so the state of Parma wounds him more than most. And now he is presented with three mysteries at once, each more impenetrable than the last. In a river creek on the outskirts of the city, tipped off by a local, he finds a mobile phone that rings through the night but holds no data; an elderly patient with senile dementia is reported missing from a hospice; and the mayor of Parma, who was reported as taking a holiday on the ski slopes, has disappeared off the face of the earth - just when he seemed certain to be implicated in a seismic corruption scandal at city hall.

Quercus

Wrong Way Home

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey
riverrun

Freeze Frame

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

Greeks Bearing Gifts

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr

Bernie Gunther returns in the thirteenth book in the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling series, perfect for fans of John le Carre and Robert Harris.'One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written' LEE CHILD'One of the greatest master story-tellers in English' ALAN FURST1957, Munich. Bernie Gunther's latest move in a long string of varied careers sees him working for an insurance company. It makes a kind of sense: both cops and insurance companies have a vested interest in figuring out when people are lying to them, and Bernie has a lifetime of experience to call on.Sent to Athens to investigate a claim from a fellow German for a ship that has sunk, Bernie takes an instant dislike to the claimant. When he discovers the ship in question once belonged to a Greek Jew deported to Auschwitz, he is convinced the sinking was no accident but an avenging arson attack. Then the claimant is found dead, shot through both eyes. It's a win for Bernie's employers at least: no one to pay out to even if the claim is genuine. But who is behind the murder, and why?Strong-armed into helping the Greek police with their investigation, Bernie is once again drawn inexorably back to the dark history of the Second World War, and the deportation of the Jews of Salonika - now Thessaloniki. As Europe seems ready to move on to a more united future with Germany as a partner rather than an enemy, at least one person in Greece is ready neither to forgive nor forget. And, deep down, Bernie thinks they may have a point.

Quercus

The Memory Chamber

Holly Cave
Authors:
Holly Cave
MacLehose Press

The Awkward Squad

Sophie Hénaff
Authors:
Sophie Hénaff
riverrun

Blowback

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

THE FIFTH ENZO THRILLER, FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF COFFIN ROAD, ENTRY ISLAND AND THE LEWIS TRILOGY.PUY-DE-DÔME, FRANCE.A Silenced Man.Footprints in the snow lead to the murder scene of Marc Fraysse, France's most celebrated chef - brutally shot before he could make the revelation of his career. A Determined Man.Seven years on and the mystery still raw, Enzo Macleod, forensic investigator, forays into the heated world of haute cuisine to uncover bitter feuds and a burning secret. A Hunted Man.The Fraysse family history is as twisted as Enzo's own. And in his pursuit of truth, the depths of deceit threaten to consume Enzo - and that which he cherishes most.