Stieg Larsson - The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats Books in this series

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest

By Stieg Larsson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Lisbeth Salander confronts political corruption from her hospital bed while a killer lurks next door.

***********************
The third book in the Millennium series featuring Lisbeth Salander - the global publishing phenomenon

Salander is plotting her revenge - against the man who tried to kill her, and against the government institutions that very nearly destroyed her life. But it is not going to be a straightforward campaign. After taking a bullet to the head, Salander is under close supervision in Intensive Care, and is set to face trial for three murders and one attempted murder on her eventual release.

With the help of journalist Mikael Blomkvist and his researchers at Millennium magazine, Salander must not only prove her innocence, but identify and denounce the corrupt politicians that have allowed the vulnerable to become victims of abuse and violence. Once a victim herself, Salander is now ready to fight back.

Stieg Larsson's phenomenal trilogy is continued in The Girl in the Spider's Web and The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye by David Lagercrantz.

Biographical Notes

Stieg Larsson was the Editor-in-Chief of the magazine Expo. He was a leading expert on anti-democratic, right-wing extremist organisations. He died in 2004, soon after delivering the text of the novels that make up the Millennium Trilogy.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781906694418
  • Publication date: 01 Jan 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
'With the spiky and sassy Lisbeth Salander - punkish wild child, traumatised survivor of the 'care' system, sexual adventurer and computer hacker of genius - Larsson created the most original heroine to emerge in crime fiction for many years' Independent. — Independent
'To be read in great hungry chunks' Louise France, Observer. — Observer
Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
riverrun

The Killer in Me

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan
Quercus

Beautiful Bad

Annie Ward
Authors:
Annie Ward

In the most explosive and twisted psychological thriller since The Woman in the Window, a perfect love story leads to the perfect crime.Things that make me scared: When Charlie cries. Hospitals and lakes. When Ian drinks vodka in the basement. ISIS. When Ian gets angry. ... That something is really, really wrong with me.Maddie and Ian's romance began with a chance encounter at a party overseas; he was serving in the British Army and she was a travel writer visiting her best friend Jo. Now almost two decades later, married with a beautiful son, Charlie, they are living the perfect suburban life in Middle America. But when a camping accident leaves Maddie badly scarred, she begins attending writing therapy, where she gradually reveals her fears about Ian's PTSD; her concerns for the safety of their young son Charlie; and the couple's tangled and tumultuous past with Jo.From the Balkans to England, Iraq to Manhattan, and finally to an ordinary family home in Kansas, sixteen years of love and fear, adventure and suspicion culminate in The Day of the Killing, when a frantic 911 call summons the police to the scene of shocking crime.But what in this beautiful home has gone so terribly bad?

Jo Fletcher Books

Council

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson

A murdered diplomat, planted evidence and a treacherous sister: once again, Helga had better find the real killer quickly, before heads start rolling - literally - in this brand-new Viking noir mystery. Helga Finnsdottir left her foster parents, the old Viking chieftain Unnthor Reginson and his knowing wife Hildigunnur, to see the world, but she stopped in Uppsala when she fell in love. Now she's established herself as a local healer and herb-woman on the outskirts of town, and life is good - until King Eirik the Victorious calls a trade council and hairy northerners and southern Swedes alike descend on the town.Unfortunately for Helga, one delegation is headed by a very determined young woman who has her own agenda and will let nothing - and no one - get in her way. But the last time Helga saw Jorunn Unthorsdottir, her foster-sister was being cast out by their father for killing their brother Bjorn and trying to pin the blame on Helga. So perhaps it's no great surprise when one of the delegates is murdered, or that Helga's soon tagged as the lead suspect. It doesn't take her long to clear her own name, but that only leads suspicion to fall on to her man. Once again, Helga must solve a murder, and fast, before the innocent pays with his head.

Quercus

The Lemon Tree Hotel

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
Quercus

To Kill the Truth

Sam Bourne
Authors:
Sam Bourne
Quercus

Dirty Little Secrets

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
Quercus

Fight Back

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

Kerry Casey is now a fully-fledged gangland boss. With her business partner Sharon and her wily lawyer Marty at her side, she is busy ridding her organisation of the drug-dealing, people-trafficking scum her dead brother Mickey got them involved with. But her great dream is still to take the Caseys straight.Her plan to turn her organisation around hinges on building a property empire in Spain. But Kerry has some deadly rivals - in Glasgow, on the Costa del Sol, and even further afield. They will never believe she has what it takes to defend her turf, and they won't rest until the Caseys are destroyed.When her enemies strike at the heart of the Casey family, Kerry must prepare for the fight of her life - for her business, her friends and her own survival.

MacLehose Press

A Long Night in Paris

Dov Alfon
Authors:
Dov Alfon
riverrun

The Man With No Face

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

Bloodline

Nigel McCrery
Authors:
Nigel McCrery

From the creator of BBC drama Silent Witness, comes the gripping sixth instalment in the acclaimed DCI Mark Lapslie series.When Isabel, a British university student, travels to a remote Spanish town it isn't only to enjoy the atmosphere. It's also to trace how and why her family name might have derived from the town, a quest her father, Sebastian made nine years ago, not long before his death in a car accident. But as Isabel, aided by local guide Mauricio, starts digging into her family's possible links with Alarcon, she's unprepared for the dark secrets uncovered; secrets that the current ruling nobility of Alarcon are keen to keep buried.Ten days into her stay in Alarcon, Isabel mysteriously disappears, presumed dead. Inspector Mark Lapslie and DC Emma Bradbury are sent out to investigate alongside the local Spanish police. A possible gangland link is suspected - Isabel's stepfather in Valencia is a retired British gangster and a mob-hitman from Malaga is identified in Alarcon at the time of Isabel's disappearance. But Mauricio, suspects the Mayor's son, Dario, is the real culprit - to uncover the truth, Lapslie and Bradbury must delve into the murky, chequered past of Isabel's gangland stepfather while also following in her footsteps through Alarcon's dark and tempestuous history.

Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring

'Neil Spring is Agatha Christie meets James Herbert' STEPHEN VOLK It was a victimless crime... Estate Agent Clara is struggling to make a sale. With her abusive ex-husband on the brink of finding where she's hiding, she needs to make a commission soon or lose her chance to escape. Boleskine House on the shores of Loch Ness has remained unsold for years, and Clara is sure that an 'innocent' fire will force the price down. But the perfect crime soon turns into the perfect nightmare: there was a witness, a stranger in the village, and he's not going to let Clara get away with it that easily...(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

The Darkest Place

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

From the bestselling author of With Our Blessing and The Confession comes a gripping and chilling new mysteryChristmas day, and DCI Tom Reynolds receives an alarming call. A mass grave has been discovered on Oileán na Caillte, the island which housed the controversial psychiatric institution St. Christina's. The hospital has been closed for decades and onsite graves were tragically common. Reynolds thinks his adversarial boss is handing him a cold case to sideline him. But then it transpires another body has been discovered amongst the dead - one of the doctors who went missing from the hospital in mysterious circumstances forty years ago. He appears to have been brutally murdered. As events take a sudden turn, nothing can prepare Reynolds and his team for what they are about to discover once they arrive on the island . . .'Deft plotting and expert handling of tension make for an intelligent mystery' - The Guardian

Quercus

The Rival

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth

An addictive psychological suspense about ambition, female rivalry, and how far you'd go to get what you want.'Brilliant and insidious'Lucy Clarke, author of You Let Me In***********NOWHelena is a career woman with no job and a mother without a baby. She blames Ashley for destroying her life. But is what happened really Ashley's fault?THENWhen Helena hires Ashley to work for her, she's startled but impressed by her fierce ambition. They form a dream team and Helena is proud - maybe this is the protégée she's always wanted to have. But soon Helena realizes that nothing will stand in the way of Ashley's drive to get to the top. And when Helena becomes pregnant, everything she has worked so hard for is suddenly threatened, with devastating consequences...***********'Absolutely terrific, a beautifully written debut from an exciting new voice in psychological fiction' Cass Green, author of The Woman Next Door and Don't You Cry'A compelling addictive read... I absolutely loved it' Karen Hamilton, author of The Perfect Girlfriend'A chilling and compelling debut'Lucy Dawson, author of The Daughter

Quercus

The Last Thing She Told Me

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

Some secrets have the power to tear a family apart . . . Moments before she dies, Nicola's grandmother Betty whispers to her that there are babies at the bottom of the garden. Nicola reassures her that it is two statues of fairies she has in the garden, but Betty insists there are babies. Nicola's mother Irene claims Betty was talking nonsense, but Nicola is not so sure. And when, after the funeral, her daughter Maisie finds a bone while playing by the fairy statues, Nicola knows that something sinister has taken place. But will unearthing painful family secrets end up tearing Nicola's family apart?

Quercus

Leave No Trace

Mindy Mejia
Authors:
Mindy Mejia
riverrun

I'll Keep You Safe

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg

'Blood Cruise is terrifying and terrifying real, a must-read for fans of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist' - Elizabeth Hand, author of Generation Loss and Hard LightOn the Baltic Sea, no one can hear you scream. Tonight, twelve hundred expectant passengers have joined the booze-cruise between Sweden and Finland. The creaking old ship travels this same route, back and forth, every day of the year.But this trip is going to be different.In the middle of the night the ferry is suddenly cut off from the outside world. There is nowhere to escape. There is no way to contact the mainland. And no one knows who they can trust.Welcome aboard the Baltic Charisma.'I will never set foot on a cruise ship again!' - Åsa Larsson, bestselling author of The Second Deadly Sin and Until thy Wrath Be Past