James Heneage

  • Historical fiction at its best

    James Heneage

    James Heneage created the successful bookshop chain Ottakar's and co-founded the Chalke Valley History Festival. The Mistra Chronicles began in 2013 with his first novel, The Walls of Byzantium.
    The Walls of Byzantium

    Book One

    Heron Books

    The Towers of Samarcand

    By James Heneage

    'One hell of a fine book' Conn Iggulden

    CAN THE GREATEST WARRIOR OF THE AGE AND A LOST ANGLO-SAXON TREASURE BE UNITED IN TIME TO RESCUE CONSTANTINOPLE?

    With an Ottoman army at the gates and Constantinople set to submit, Luke Magoris must make an epic journey across a continent to the ancient city of Samarcand to approach the last hope for the Byzantine world; the Mongolian conqueror Tamerlane.

    Luke, torn away from the woman he loves and all he knows, is trained as a Mongol warrior to impress Tamerlane and his army before joining his fellow Varangian guards, descendants of the men who once brought a vital treasure out of Constantinople. It is this treasure, some say, that can still save the empire - uniting the Christian churches of the east and west in one final triumphant crusade to smite the Ottomans.

    Set against the vast backdrop of the Anatolian plains, this is a powerful and enthralling historical novel, full of vivid characters, compelling mystery and sensational battles.

    Europe lies at the mercy of the invading Ottomans and hero Luke Magoris must unite the greatest warrior of the age and a lost Anglo Saxon treasure in time to rescue the Byzantine empire in the second of the epic Mistra ChroniclesThe follow-up to The Walls of Byzantium.The third in the series will be published July 2015.For fans of Game of Thrones and The Da Vinci Code.
    Heron Books

    The Walls of Byzantium

    By James Heneage

    'One hell of a fine book' Conn Iggulden

    IN AN AGE OF CLASHING EMPIRES, DARK FORCES FROM THE EAST ENDANGER THE FIRST LIGHT OF THE WESTERN RENAISSANCE...

    It is an age of ruthless rulers, divided churches, fractured dynasties and intrepid traders. It is an age of great cities like Venice and Constantinople; an age of conquerors like Tamerlane who will drown the world in blood; an age when only a hero of exceptional gifts can make a difference.

    Luke Magoris is that hero. A hero who will find himself committed to a long journey to discover - and try to avoid - his destiny. He will travel from battle to trading fortune, from horse dealing to captivity, and to the love of three very different women and the unrelenting enmity of two remarkable men.

    'A compelling narrative of intrigue, love and war' The Bookseller.'A stirring tale of the struggle for Byzantium. Heneage brings to life both the tragedy and the heroism' Tom Holland.'Fascinating historical mysteries and vivid colourful characters. It's a page-turner fast enough to make its own breeze' Conn Iggulden.An epic novel set in fifteenth-century Europe, featuring dynastic conflicts against a backdrop of the first great clash between Christianity and Islam.
    Follow James on Twitter

    @jamesheneage

    Follow James for the latest news on The Mistra Chronicles
    Visit James' website

    The Mistra Chronicles

    Discover the latest information, exclusive news and background to the thrilling Mistra Chronicles series
    Join the conversation

    James Heneage on Facebook

    The official Facebook page for James Heneage

    Events

    Find out which events James will be appearing at