Louise O'Neill

  • A new name to watch in YA

    Louise O'Neill

    Louise O' Neill is from Clonakilty, west Cork. Having spent a year in New York working for ELLE magazine, she returned home to Ireland to write her first novel. She went from hanging out on set with A-list celebrities to spending most of her days in pyjamas while she writes, and has never been happier.

Inspirations behind Only Ever Yours

The magazine internship that inspired a feminist dystopian novel

The 28 Best Books by Women in 2014

Poetry, fiction, and nonfiction that killed it in 2014

2015 YA Bookseller prize winner

Only Ever Yours shortlisted for the 2015 Bookseller YA prize. Read the full announcement.
Louise O'Neill on Only Ever Yours

Find Louise on Facebook

Like Louise's official facebook author page to discover the latest news on her books and events information
riverrun

Only Ever Yours YA edition

By Louise O'Neill

'Utterly magnificent . . . gripping, accomplished and dark' Marian Keyes

WINNER: Newcomer of the Year at the IBAs
WINNER: Bookseller YA Prize
WINNER: CBI Eilis Dillon Award
Buzzfeed's Best Books Written by Women in 2014

The bestselling novel about beauty, body image and betrayal

eves are designed, not made.
The School trains them to be pretty
The School trains them to be good.
The School trains them to Always be Willing.


All their lives, the eves have been waiting. Now, they are ready for the outside world.
companion . . . concubine . . . or chastity
Only the best will be chosen.
And only the Men decide.

Gripping ... like all the best dystopias, Only Ever Yours is about the world we live in now The Handmaid's Tale meets Mean Girls'Utterly magnificent ... gripping, accomplished and darkDeserves to be read by young and old, male and female, the world over in the same way Harry Potter and The Hunger Games wereA dark dream. A vivid nightmare. The world O'Neill imagines is frightening because it could come true. She writes with a scalpelDeep, dark and frighteningly believable, this book will stay with you for a long timeCompelling writing ... this only-too-real dystopia grips from beginning to endMargaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale with a post-millennial twistThe bleakness of The Catcher in the Rye, the satire of The Stepford Wives and it made me recall Nineteen Eighty-Four ... a fresh and original talentTerrifying but captivatingA sparkling debut that will really make you think'Compelling and frightening'An ingenious exploration of gender roles, female identity and female competition'Terrifying and heartbreaking, O'Neill's story reads like an heir to Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale and MT Anderson's Feed, and, like those two books, it's sure to be discussed for years to come''A stunning debut set in a dystopian future that has everyone talking . . . once read, will never be forgotten' Dark, gripping . . . should be mandatory reading everywhereIf you're a girl, all that matters is that you are beautiful . . . The brilliant, bestselling first novel by Louise O'Neill, author of Asking for ItLouise O'Neill is the feminist powerhouse and outspoken voice for change whose novels Only Ever Yours and Asking for It helped to start important conversations about body image and consent. Asking for It won Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2015 and stayed in the Irish Top Ten fiction chart for over a year. Only Ever Yours won Newcomer of the Year at the Irish Book Awards and the Bookseller YA Prize. Film/TV rights have been optioned on both books. Louise lives and works in West Cork, Ireland. She contributes regularly to Irish TV and radio, and has a weekly column in the Irish Examiner. Included alongside Lena Dunham, Hilary Mantel and Ali Smith in Buzzfeed's 'Best Books Written by Women in 2014'For fans of Lena Dunham, Margaret Atwood, Laura Bates (The Everyday Sexism Project) and Caitlin MoranHugely promotable author with great back story and strong online presence

WINNER: Newcomer of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2014
WINNER: Bookseller YA Prize 2015

Follow Louise on Twitter

Join the conversation! Follow Louise on Twitter to discover the latest news on all her books.

Louise on Instagram

Follow what Louise O'Neill is posting on instagram and join the conversation!

My Journey To Feminism

Teen author Louise O’Neill was 15 when she first used the F-word and called herself a feminist – but didn’t understand what it meant and remained ashamed of the parts of herself that were female, here’s her story and why she wrote Only Ever Yours

Waterstones Children's Book Prize

Only Ever Yours shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize. Read the full announcemnent here

Official website

Discover everything there is to know about Louise and her books on her official website.
Merits attention and commendation on several levels…..brilliantly realised... utterly compelling

Irish Times

Reviewed in