Oliver Bottini - A Summer of Murder - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857057402
    • Publication date:13 Jun 2019
Books in this series

A Summer of Murder

A Black Forest Investigation II

By Oliver Bottini

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

The second of the Black Forest Investigations - for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves

The second of the Black Forest Investigations - for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves

When the fire brigade is called to a burning shed in the Black Forest idyll of Kirchzarten, a volunteer is killed as a weapons cache beneath it explodes. Louise Bonì, back with Freiburg Kripo after treatment and recuperation for her alcoholism, is assigned to the task force dealing with this case. The meagre evidence they have points to a possible connection with German neo-Nazis or illegal arms dealers from the former Yugoslavia, while the arrival of secret service agents suggests more is at stake. For Louise to solve the riddle she needs to overcome the ghosts of her past that continue to haunt her.

Oliver Bottini is a fresh and exciting voice in the world of crime fiction in translation; the Rhine borderlands of the Black Forest are a perfect setting for his beautifully crafted mysteries.

Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

Biographical Notes

Oliver Bottini was born in 1965. Four of his novels, including ZEN AND THE ART OF MURDER and A SUMMER OF MURDER of the Black Forest Investigations have been awarded the Deutscher Krimipreis, Germany's most prestigious award for crime writing. In addition his novels have been awarded the Stuttgarter Krimipreis and the Berliner Krimipreis. He lives in Berlin. www.bottini.de.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857057396
  • Publication date: 23 Aug 2018
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
Oliver Bottini, one of the few German authors who play in crime-writing's premier league, really knows how to tell a good story — Frankfurter Rundschau
Tension without brutality, local colour without small-minded sentimentality, good, intelligent reading with depth — Handelsblatt
It's been a long time since any crime author started out so strongly, so visually — Die Zeit