Joseph Connolly - It Can't Go On - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782067122
    • Publication date:24 Oct 2013

It Can't Go On

By Joseph Connolly

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782067023
  • Publication date: 01 May 2014
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: riverrun
'The repetitions and ruminations of a multitude of inner voices, the comic set pieces and the horrified hyperreal prose are as spot-on as ever, but Connolly's new and deeper subject for steely dissection is the pain of abandonment' Guardian. — Guardian
'Connolly's immaculately plotted comedy-of-manners ... like a weird mix of Dickens and Martin Amis ...This is the sort of book it is quite impossible to put down' The Times. — The Times
Quercus

The Second Time We Met

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

Finn and Kaz are about to meet for the first time. Ten-year-old Finn, a quirky, sensitive boy who talks a lot and only eats at cafes with a 5-star hygiene rating, is having a tough time at school and home. Outspoken Kaz, 59, who has an acerbic sense of humour and a heart of gold, is working at the café when Finn and his mum come in. They don't know it yet, but the second time they meet will be a moment which changes both of their lives forever . . .

Quercus

Unfollow Me

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth

You can't stop watching her.Violet Young is a hugely popular journalist-turned-mummy-influencer, with three children, a successful husband and a million subscribers on YouTube who tune in daily to watch her everyday life unfold.Until the day she's no longer there.But one day she disappears from the online world - her entire social media presence deleted overnight, with no explanation. Has she simply decided that baring her life to all online is no longer a good idea, or has something more sinister happened to Violet?But do you really know who Violet is?Her fans are obsessed with finding out the truth, but their search quickly reveals a web of lies, betrayal, and shocking consequences...

Quercus

The Lost Son

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith
Quercus

The Flatshare

Beth O'Leary
Authors:
Beth O'Leary

Tiffy and Leon share a flatTiffy and Leon share a bedTiffy and Leon have never met...'I finished The Flatshare in one sitting - it is, as promised, incredibly uplifting and joyous. I spent the last few hours with a massive smile on my face. I have fallen head over heels in love with Tiffy and Leon, and indeed with this book.' Louise O NeillTiffy Moore needs a cheap flat, and fast. Leon Twomey works nights and needs cash. Their friends think they're crazy, but it's the perfect solution: Leon occupies the one-bed flat while Tiffy's at work in the day, and she has the run of the place the rest of the time. But with obsessive ex-boyfriends, demanding clients at work, wrongly-imprisoned brothers and, of course, the fact that they still haven't met yet, they're about to discover that if you want the perfect home you need to throw the rulebook out the window...(P)2019 Quercus Editions Limited

MacLehose Press

White Shadow

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen
riverrun

Prefecture D

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
MacLehose Press

A Bond Undone

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong
riverrun

A River in the Trees

Jacqueline O'Mahony
Authors:
Jacqueline O'Mahony
MacLehose Press

Katalin Street

Magda Szabó
Authors:
Magda Szabó

WINNER OF THE 2018 PEN TRANSLATION PRIZE - BY THE AUTHOR OF THE DOOR, ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW'S TEN BEST BOOKS OF 2015In prewar Budapest three families live side by side on gracious Katalin Street, their lives closely intertwined. A game is played by the four children in which Bálint, the promising son of the Major, invariably chooses Irén Elekes, the headmaster's dutiful elder daughter, over her younger sister, the scatterbrained Blanka, and little Henriette Held, the daughter of the Jewish dentist.Their lives are torn apart in 1944 by the German occupation, which only the Elekes family survives intact. The postwar regime relocates them to a cramped Soviet-style apartment and they struggle to come to terms with social and political change, personal loss, and unstated feelings of guilt over the deportation of the Held parents and the death of little Henriette, who had been left in their protection. But the girl survives in a miasmal afterlife, and reappears at key moments as a mute witness to the inescapable power of past events.As in The Door and Iza's Ballad, Magda Szabó conducts a clear-eyed investigation into the ways in which we inflict suffering on those we love. Katalin Street, which won the 2007 Prix Cévennes for Best European novel, is a poignant, sombre, at times harrowing book, but beautifully conceived and truly unforgettable.Translated from the Hungarian by Len Rix

Jo Fletcher Books

Our Child of the Stars

Stephen Cox
Authors:
Stephen Cox

In this magical, bewitching debut, Molly and Gene Myers' marriage is on the brink of collapse. Then a child arrives, with a remarkable appearance. Will he bring them together, or tear their whole world apart?Molly and Gene Myers were happy, until tragedy blighted their hopes of children. During the years of darkness and despair, they each put their marriage in jeopardy, but now they are starting to rebuild their fragile bond.This is the year of Woodstock and the moon landings; war is raging in Vietnam and the superpowers are threatening each other with annihilation. Then the Meteor crashes into Amber Grove, devastating the small New England town - and changing their lives for ever. Molly, a nurse, caught up in the thick of the disaster, is given care of a desperately ill patient rescued from the wreckage: a sick boy with a remarkable appearance, an orphan who needs a mother.And soon the whole world will be looking for him.Cory's arrival has changed everything. And the Myers will do anything to keep him safe.A remarkable story of warmth, tenacity and generosity of spirit, set against the backdrop of a fast-changing, terrifying decade.

Quercus

Still Lives

Maria Hummel
Authors:
Maria Hummel

A REESE WITHERSPOON BOOK CLUB PICKA SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB PICKWINNER OF STYLIST BOOK WARSTHE POOL'S DECEMBER BEDTIME BOOK CLUB PICKSHORTLISTED FOR AMAZON'S BEST MYSTERY/THRILLER OF THE YEAR 'Thrilling' Reese Witherspoon'Addictive' Stylist'Vibrant' Observer'Sensational' Guardian 'Elegant' Daily Mail'Wonderful' Sunday Times'Compelling' Entertainment Weekly'Lyrical' Wall Street Journal'Gripping' Bustle'Stunning' LA Times'Smart' Good Housekeeping'Sophisticated' Grazia'Ice-pick sharp' Louise CandlishAs the party of the year gets underway, celebrities and patrons pour into the Rocque Museum to see Kim Lord - L.A.'s artist of the moment - stabbed, strangled, shot, and beaten. It's the opening night of 'Still Lives', Kim's new collection of shockingly graphic self-portraits, in which she impersonates the victims of America's most famous homicides, from Nicole Brown Simpson to the Black Dahlia.Among those gathered is Maggie Richter, a museum editor whose ex, Greg Shaw Ferguson, is in a relationship with Kim. When Kim fails to appear at the party and is declared officially missing, Greg is arrested on suspicion of murder. Suddenly, Maggie finds herself drawn into an investigation of her own, haunted by the thought that Kim has suffered the same terrible fate as the women in her paintings. 'Think a mix of Killing Eve and . . . one of those thrillers that keeps you up till 2am when you've a 6am alarm and you're close to the mark' Stylist 'An up-all-night brain-teaser of a murder mystery. I loved it' Louise Candlish, author of Our HousePerfect for fans of Gone Girl, Killing Eve and Big Little Lies.

Quercus

Anyone for Seconds?

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg
MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava
riverrun

The Italian Teacher

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman
MacLehose Press

About the Size of the Universe

Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Authors:
Jón Kalman Stefánsson

A modern saga spanning the whole of the 20th century, by one of Iceland's most celebrated writers.At the beginning of this story there is death, and yet it is a celebration of life - the passion between a man and a woman, forbidden love, violence, sorrow, betrayal. Happiness and misfortune are passed down from one generation to the next. The sorrow over what was and what might have been weighs heavily on the characters and at the end of this chain, for now, stands Ari, on his way to his dying father, with a score still to be settled. The raw beauty of life is written into the dramatic Icelandic landscape, and into a society that has undergone great transformation within a century. In language both archaic and lyrical, and yet entirely contemporary and full of humour, Jón Kalman Stefánsson proves himself one of the finest European writers of his generation.A companion volume to Fish Have No Feet (longlisted for the Man Booker International Prize 2017).Translated from the Icelandic by Philip Roughton

riverrun

The Secret of Vesalius

Jordi Llobregat
Authors:
Jordi Llobregat
MacLehose Press

The House with the Stained-Glass Window

Zanna Sloniowska
Authors:
Zanna Sloniowska

"The House with the Stained-Glass Window is remarkable, a gripping, Lvivian evocation of a city and a family across a long and painful century, at once personal and political, a novel of life and survival across the ages" PHILIPPE SANDS, author of East West StreetIn 1989, Marianna, the beautiful star soprano at the Lviv opera, is shot dead in the street as she leads the Ukrainian citizens in their protest against Soviet power. Only eleven years old at the time, her daughter tells the story of their family before and after that critical moment - including, ten years later, her own passionate affair with an older, married man. Just like their home city of Lviv, which stands at the crossroads of nations and cultures, the women in this family have had turbulent lives, scarred by war and political turmoil, but also by their own inability to show each other their feelings. Lyrically told, this is the story of a young girl's emotional, sexual, artistic and political awakening as she matures under the influence of her relatives, her mother's former lover, her city and its fortunes.Translated from the Polish by Antonia Lloyd-Jones

riverrun

This Is 64

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

THE NEW NOVEL FROM THE BOLLINGER SHORTLISTED AUTHOR OF ENGLAND'S LANE.'Connolly unfolds a rich and compelling drama of life that is anything but everyday' Daily Mail'It is Connolly's skill to get the reader to laugh at what should make you cry or at least wince' Times Literary SupplementGeorge is a fashion mad Beatles fan, selfish and cruel. Why his girlfriend Dorothy loves him is a mystery to her and to his best friend Sammy. When George callously chucks her he cannot anticipate that his life, post 1964, will never be the same. And forty-four years later, when George is sixty-four, rich and successful, his past will catch up with him and his family.

Quercus

The Prodigal Daughter

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith