Elizabeth Gill - The Quarryman's Wife - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £20.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786482648
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786482662
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2018
Books in this series

The Quarryman's Wife

By Elizabeth Gill

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

The heart-wrenching new novel from bestselling author Elizabeth Gill.

'Elizabeth Gill is a born storyteller' Trisha Ashley

When hope is lost, can she rebuild her home?

After her daughter Arabella passes away, leaving a poor, motherless child in her wake, Nell Almond doesn't think her life can get any worse. But then tragedy strikes a second time and she finds herself widowed, with her husband's quarry to manage.

But it's baby Frederick, her grandson, who troubles her most. Being cared for by one of the local families, he lives in hand-me-down clothes in a cramped and unrefined home. Nell desperately wants him to return to his rightful place, as heir to the quarry, but should she put all her hopes in one child?

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Nobody's Child comes the next book in the beloved Weardale Sagas, continuing the story begun in The Guardian Angel.

Biographical Notes

Elizabeth Gill was born in Newcastle upon Tyne and as a child lived in Tow Law, a small mining town on the Durham fells. She has been a published author for more than thirty years and has written more than forty books. She lives in Durham City, likes the awful weather in the north east and writes best when rain is lashing the windows.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786482655
  • Publication date: 23 Aug 2018
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Quercus
Quercus

A Widow's Hope

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
MacLehose Press

The Colours of the Inferno

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
Quercus

The Foundling School for Girls

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

'Elizabeth Gill is a born storyteller' Trisha AshleyWhen Ruth's mother walks out on Christmas Eve, her father - drunk as usual, and thinking she is her mother - forces himself on her. Finding herself pregnant, she runs away and is taken into the care of a group of nuns.Sister Madeline Armstrong and three others have been tasked with setting up a school to help the lost girls of south west Durham, and so Dinah becomes the first student of 'The Foundling School for Girls'.Together, the sisters bring aid to the orphans they take in, but when former street-child Jay returns to Newcastle, Maddy is suddenly torn between the love of her life and her calling to help the children... From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Nobody's Child comes a new series about the lost orphans of Durham and the nuns who take them in...

Quercus

We'll Meet Again

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

The Cobbler's Wife

Lynette Rees
Authors:
Lynette Rees

How far will she go for happiness?For years Seren James has yearned for a child of her own. Married to a man who has little care for her, she longs for something to fill the emptiness within - and fears that she is almost out of time.When Seren meets a woman who says she can help, she thinks her dreams have come true. But the locals suspect Anwen of witchcraft, and any association with her may taint Seren too.And as Seren finds herself growing closer to Elwyn Davies, the local minister, who has made no secret of his attraction to her, she must ask herself what it will take to find happiness - and whether she is willing to pay the price . . .What readers are saying about Lynette Rees:'The best read I have had in a long time' Amazon reviewer *****'Another brilliant read from this amazing author' Amazon reviewer *****'Absolutely enthralled ... Would highly recommend for anyone that enjoys a good drama' Amazon reviewer *****'A beautiful story that I couldn't put down' Amazon reviewer *****

Quercus

The Foundling School for Girls

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Bluebird Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
MacLehose Press

Katalin Street

Magda Szabó
Authors:
Magda Szabó
Quercus

A Daughter's Promise

Lynette Rees
Authors:
Lynette Rees

A heartwarming saga, from the ebook bestselling author of The Workhouse Waif.Eighteen-year-old seamstress Kathryn Flynn lives in Whitechapel, London, struggling to support her widowed mother and younger siblings. But when her work starts drying up and her mother falls ill, she is forced to consider desperate measures . . .Then she meets 'Squire', an older city gentleman, who falls instantly in love with her and offers to take her under his wing. 'Squire' could give Kathryn the life she's always wanted . . . but is there something darker lurking beneath his kindness? What readers are saying about Lynette Rees:'The best read I have had in a long time' Amazon reviewer *****'Another brilliant read from this amazing author' Amazon reviewer *****'Absolutely enthralled ... Would highly recommend for anyone that enjoys a good drama' Amazon reviewer *****'A beautiful story that I couldn't put down' Amazon reviewer *****

Quercus

Orphan Boy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

Will he ever find the life he longs for? Born to a mother who died in childbirth and an uninterested father, Niall McAndrew grows up a solitary child, without a home to call his own. His only friend is Bridget, a young girl forced prematurely into womanhood. Niall has brains, spirit and ambition, as well as being blessed with handsome good looks. But his loveless childhood has left its mark. Can he ever find the happiness he yearns for? A moving and uplifting tale of a young boy with big dreams...From the bestselling author of Far From My Father's House and Miss Appleby's Academy comes a rags-to-riches tale of one man's determination to succeed. Perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Diane Allen.

Quercus

A Biker's Life

Henry Cole
Authors:
Henry Cole
Quercus

The Narrowboat Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

The Last Thing She Told Me

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
Quercus

The Rival

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth
Quercus

The Matchgirl

Lynette Rees
Authors:
Lynette Rees

A heartwarming saga, from the ebook bestselling author of THE WORKHOUSE WAIFSixteen-year-old Lottie Perkins has an important decision to make...Conditions at the match factory she works at are dire. The girls get treated badly by the management and there is a severe risk to their health. But then a young journalist, Annie Besant, begins asking questions. Will Lottie and the other girls welcome her help, even when it could cost them their jobs - and their livelihoods...?Please note: this edition contains editorial revisions

Quercus

Darling Blue

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

'Tracy Rees writes from the heart' Kathryn Hughes, author of The Letter. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Villa in Italy.Blue lives a charmed life. From her family's townhouse in Richmond, she lives a life of luxury and couldn't want for anything - well, on the surface at least. Then on the night of her twenty-first birthday her father makes a startling toast: he will give his daughter's hand to whichever man can capture her heart best in the form of a love letter. But Blue has other ideas and, unwilling to play at her father's bewildering games, she sets out on her own path to find her own destiny...

Jo Fletcher Books

Strife's Bane

Evie Manieri
Authors:
Evie Manieri

'I loved these characters, even though I knew it was going to hurt. Heart-wrenching. Poignant. Lovely' - Brandon Sanderson The final instalment of the heart-breaking Shattered Kingdoms series.In the south, the Shadari rebels have thrown off their Norlander oppressors and are struggling to rebuild their desert kingdom - but King Daryan is about to discover a secret cabal that has been working against everything he is trying to do.Lahlil Eotan has left her great victory in Norland behind her in the hopes of reuniting with King Jachad of the Nomas - before his transformation into a god separates them for ever. But somehow she's acquired a travelling companion in the form of one Rho Arregador, who won't let her forget her role in the Shadar's predicament or in her sister Isa's chilling transformation.But Daryan is facing more than treachery and plague: an ancient enemy with unimaginable powers is sailing towards him, determined to claim his country and his people as her own.'Inventive . . . absorbing and rewarding' - Kirkus on the Shattered Kingdoms

Quercus

The Coal Miner's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Workhouse Waif

Lynette Rees
Authors:
Lynette Rees
Quercus

The Prodigal Daughter

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith

It is 1968. Angelica Angelotti has grown up in the Italian food business started by her English mother and Italian father. Now she is using her cooking talent to strike out on her own, moving to Paris to go to culinary school. There, among the excitement and wild emotion of the student barricades, she falls in love with her charismatic but unreliable cousin Mario - a manic depressive ten years older than her whom her mother had sacked from their restaurant.Navigating a blossoming career, from the Savoy hotel pastry kitchen to the world of food writing and presenting, alongside an increasingly toxic relationship, eventually proves impossible. Angelica has to leave Mario, and makes the decision to move back to the family home in Gloucestershire to help her other cousin Silvano with a new branch of the family business - reopening the local pub, the Frampton Arms, as a restaurant. As they get to know each other better, Angelica realises her mistake: she chose the wrong brother.But when Mario reappears, determined to win her back, and as other jealous relatives plot the downfall of the Frampton Arms, will Angelica be able to hold on to her business and the man she's come to love?