Related to: 'Follow MacLehose Press '

MacLehose Press

All Things Consoled

Elizabeth Hay
Authors:
Elizabeth Hay

Winner of the 2018 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Award for Non-fictionA poignant, complex and hugely resonant memoir about the shift from being a daughter to a guardian and caregiver, by a prizewinning author.Jean and Gordon Hay were a formidable pair. She was an artist and superlatively frugal; he was a proud and well-mannered schoolteacher with a temper that could be explosive. Elizabeth, their oldest daughter, was said to be a difficult and selfish child. Elizabeth always suspected she would end up caring for her parents in their final years, a way of making up for the sins of her childhood, proving herself to be a good daughter after all. But as her parents, who had been ferociously independent people, became increasingly dependent on her, their lives changed utterly and so did hers. Philip Roth once said, "Old age is a massacre." All Things Consoled takes you inside the massacre.In this startlingly beautiful memoir Elizabeth Hay offers insight into the exquisite agony of a family's dynamics and reaches a deep understanding of the most unforgettable characters she will ever know, the vivid giants who were her parents.

MacLehose Press

The Carrier

Mattias Berg
Authors:
Mattias Berg

The man with the nuclear briefcase has gone rogue - Mission Impossible meets the Hunt for Red October "I don't think I have read such a philosophical, knowledge-studded and realistic adventure novel since Umberto Eco's The Name of the Rose" Göteborgs-PostenErasmus Levine has a job like no other He travels with the President of the United States at all times, and holds in his hands the power to obliterate life as we know it. He is the man with the nuclear briefcase, part of a crack team of top-secret operatives established after 9/11, led by a man codenamed Edelweiss. But not even Edelweiss is party to the identity of their ultimate authority, known only as Alpha.Erasmus Levine has a secretFor years he has been receiving cryptic messages from Alpha, an elaborate communication that began with the words we two against the world. Levine begins thinking of escape: his chance comes during an official visit to Sweden, when the alarm sounds in Stockholm's Grand Hotel.But Alpha has other plansFrom their first meeting in a network of tunnels and bunkers beneath the city, Levine is drawn into a plan to eliminate the world's nuclear arsenals. But is controlled demolition really the endgame? Could he be working towards a controlled apocalypse, a doomsday plot to wipe humanity from the face of the earth?Translated from the Swedish by George Goulding

MacLehose Press

The Faculty of Dreams

Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg
MacLehose Press

Retribution Road

Antonin Varenne
Authors:
Antonin Varenne

"We owe you our lives, Sergeant, but you are our worst nightmare . . ."Burma, 1852. Sergeant Arthur Bowman, a sergeant in the East India Company, is sent on a secret mission during the Second Anglo-Burmese War. But the expedition is foiled - his men are captured and tortured. Throughout their ordeal, a single word becomes Bowman's mantra, a word that will stiffen their powers of endurance in the face of unimaginable suffering: "Survival". But for all that, only a handful escape with their lives.Some years later in London, battling his ghosts through a haze of alcohol and opium, Bowman discovers a mutilated corpse in a sewer. The victim appears to have been subjected to the same torments as Bowman endured in the Burmese jungle. And the word "Survival" has been daubed in blood by the body's side. Persuaded that the culprit is one of the men who shared his captivity, Bowman resolves to hunt him down.From the Burmese jungle to the slums of London to the conquest of the Wild West, Antonin Varenne takes us on a thrilling journey full of sound and unabated fury, reviving the lapsed tradition of the great writers of boundless adventure. Sergeant Bowman belongs to that breed of heroes who inhabit the imaginations of Conrad, Kipling, Stevenson . . . Lost soldiers who have plunged into the heart of darkness and will cross the globe in search of vengeance and redemption.Translated from the French by Sam Taylor

MacLehose Press

The Shape of the Ruins

Juan Gabriel Vásquez
Authors:
Juan Gabriel Vásquez
MacLehose Press

The Time in Between

Marcello Fois
Authors:
Marcello Fois
MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz

THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO LIVES ON. Lisbeth Salander is an unstoppable force:Sentenced to two months in Flodberga women's prison for saving a young boy's life by any means necessary, Salander refuses to say anything in her own defence. She has more important things on her mind.Mikael Blomkvist makes the long trip to visit every week - and receives a lead to follow for his pains. For him, it looks to be an important expose for Millennium. For her, it could unlock the facts of her childhood.Even from a corrupt prison system run largely by the inmates, Salander will stand up for what she believes in, whatever the cost. And she will seek the truth that is somehow connected with her childhood memory, of a woman with a blazing birthmark on her neck - that looked as if it had been burned by a dragon's fire . . . The tension, power and unstoppable force of The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye are inspired by Stieg Larsson's Millennium trilogy, as Salander and Blomkvist continue the fight for justice that has thrilled millions of readers across the world.Translated from the Swedish by George Goulding

MacLehose Press

The Gravity of Love

Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg

"I'll put my head in the oven so you know where I am," he whispers, kissing her neck.Jim - charming, captivating, much loved by his women friends - has attempted suicide several times. Over his period of incarceration at the Beckomberga hospital for the mentally unstable, he voices his determination to succeed. Some day soon, he tells his daughter - as he has earlier told his mother and his wife - he will swallow sixty tablets, help them down with a bottle of whisky, and swim impossibly far out into the Atlantic.Will he, really? This question plagues Jim's daughter, the narrator of this powerful novel, who is as addicted to the hospital as her father is to alcohol. Through her subtle observations we understand the emotional needs of diehard alcoholics, the rationally uxoricidal, and other seemingly normal inhabitants of a psychiatric unit in the process of shutting down, depriving them of the only place they have known as home.A Magic Mountain for our times, for readers of Eimear McBride and Alexander Masters.

MacLehose Press

His Whole Life

Elizabeth Hay
Authors:
Elizabeth Hay
MacLehose Press

Judges

Andrea Camilleri, Carlo Lucarelli, Giancarlo De Cataldo
Authors:
Andrea Camilleri, Carlo Lucarelli, Giancarlo De Cataldo

Camilleri, best known for his Inspector Montalbano series, presents the charming Judge Surra who moves to a small Sicilian town in the late nineteenth century. He does not quite understand the quirky welcoming gifts from the locals, but nothing stands in the way of his quest for justice - and pastries. Lucarelli brings us a far darker story. Judge Valentina Lorenzi - La Bambina - is so young and inexperienced she hardly merits a bodyguard. But when she barely survives an assassin's bullet, her black-and-white world of crime and punishment turns a deathly shade of grey. In The Triple Dream of the Prosecutor, De Cataldo, a judge himself, crafts a Kafkaesque tale of a lifelong feud between Prosecutor Mandati and the corrupt Mayor of Novere. When the mayor narrowly escapes a series of bizarre assassination attempts, Mandati begins to realise that all his dreams may just be coming true. From Italy's premiere crime authors, three novellas from every tradition of crime writing.

MacLehose Press

Read the World

Maclehose Press
Authors:
Maclehose Press

A selection of extracts from the prestigious MacLehose Press, an imprint specialising in the very best translated literary and crime fiction.From a hill station in the Himalayan foothills to the sweltering heat of downtown Buenos Aires; from the frozen lakes of far northern Sweden to the scarred cityscape of 1980s Beirut; from Breslau's sordid heyday to a kingdom that no longer exists.For five years the MacLehose Press has published fiction, non-fiction and crime from twenty languages - using the finest translators - alongside a distinguished few writers in English. This anthology brings together extracts from our backlist and from titles to be published in 2013. Many of these books are bestsellers in their own countries, and prizewinners of critical and popular acclaim.Romance, satire, elegy, mystery, murder, existential angst, the horrors of civil or colonial strife: if words can offer new worlds, you will find them in these pages. We invite you to sample a literary life less ordinary:

MacLehose Press

Alone in the Classroom

Elizabeth Hay
Authors:
Elizabeth Hay

MacLehose Press

The Third Day

Chochana Boukhobza
Authors:
Chochana Boukhobza

MacLehose Press

Late Nights on Air

Elizabeth Hay
Authors:
Elizabeth Hay

MacLehose Press

The MacLehose Press is devoted to the translation of literature and crime fiction into English, and to the publication of a very few outstanding writers in English. The Press has already broken new ground with the #1 bestselling success of the Swedish writer Stieg Larsson and with many other critically acclaimed books including translations from Italian, Spanish, Polish, Icelandic, French, and Arabic.

MacLehose Press

The MacLehose Press is devoted to the translation of literature and crime fiction into English, and to the publication of a very few outstanding writers in English. The Press has already broken new ground with the #1 bestselling success of the Swedish writer Stieg Larsson and with many other critically acclaimed books

Contact MacLehose Press

For more information, please contact Publicity: corinna.zifko@quercusbooks.co.uk Editorial: ewilliams@maclehosepress.net

Imprint

Maclehose Press

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum