Robert Jackson Bennett - Quercus

Robert Jackson Bennett



Robert Jackson Bennett was born in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, but grew up in the half-developed suburbs of Katy, Texas. He spent most of his time playing on construction sites and in drainage ditches, which would explain a lot. His interest in writing came from hearing about the books his older brother was reading and then attempting to mimic them. He attended the University of Texas at Austin and, like a lot of its alumni, was unable to leave the charms of the city and resides there currently.
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Jo Fletcher Books

Foundryside

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett

** This ebook was updated 3.1.19 **'The exciting beginning of a promising new epic fantasy series. Prepare for ancient mysteries, innovative magic, and heart-pounding heists' Brandon Sanderson, New York Times bestselling author of OathbringerShe thought it was just another job. But her discovery could bring the city to its knees . . .The city of Tevanne runs on scrivings, industrialised magical inscriptions that make inanimate objects sentient; they power everything, from walls to wheels to weapons. Scrivings have brought enormous progress and enormous wealth - but only to the four merchant Houses who control them. Everyone else is a servant or slave, or they eke a precarious living in the hellhole called the Commons. There's not much in the way of work for an escaped slave like Sancia Grado, but she has an unnatural talent that makes her one of the best thieves in the city. When she's offered a lucrative job to steal an ancient artefact from a heavily guarded warehouse, Sancia agrees, dreaming of leaving the Commons - but instead, she finds herself the target of a murderous conspiracy. Someone powerful in Tevanne wants the artefact, and Sancia dead - and whoever it is already wields power beyond imagining. Sancia will need every ally, and every ounce of wits at her disposal, if she is to survive - because if her enemy gets the artefact and unlocks its secrets, thousands will die, and, even worse, it will allow ancient evils back into the world and turn their city into a devastated battleground.'Robert Jackson Bennett deserves a huge audience' Brent Weeks'An altogether terrific read' Sebastien de Castell'Intricate worldbuilding, fascinating magic, and engaging characters. More please!' Felicia Day'Inventive, immersive, and thrilling . . . Do yourself a favor and pick this up!' Kevin Hearne

Jo Fletcher Books

City of Miracles

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett

Sigrud je Harkvaldsson is back, and this time he's out for vengeance.The awesome climax to the fantasy thrillers City of Stairs and City of Blades: perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Brent Weeks and China Miéville. Shara Komayd, once Prime Minister of Saypur, has been assassinated. News travels fast and far, even to a remote logging town somewhere northwest of Bulikov, where the silent, shaven-headed Dreyling worker 'Bjorn' picks up the newspaper and walks out. He is shocked and grieved and furious; he's been waiting thirteen years for Shara, his closest friend, to reach out to him - to tell him to come home. He's always believed she was running a long operation, that there would be a role for him at the right time. Now he has no one else in his life, and nothing to live for - except to find the people who did this.Sigrud wasn't there for the death of his daughter Signe, and he wasn't there when Shara was murdered. Now Bjorn is dead and Sigrud is back. And he will find answers, for Shara, and for himself. He's made a promise . . .

Jo Fletcher Books

City of Blades

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett

'Robert Jackson Bennett deserves a huge audience' - Brent Weeks, New York Times bestselling author of The Black Prism.Do the dead sleep soundly in the land of death - or do they have plans of their own?Nominated for a Goodreads Choice Award 2016.A generation ago the city of Voortyashtan was the stronghold of the god of war and death, the birthplace of fearsome supernatural sentinels who killed and subjugated millions. But that was then. Now the god is dead and the city lies in ruins, a wasteland of sectarian violence and bloody uprisings.So it makes perfect sense for General Turyin Mulaghesh, foul-mouthed hero of the battle of Bulikov, rumoured war criminal, ally of embattled Prime Minister Shara Komayd, to be exiled here - but she's not just eking out her days in this hellhole till retirement. She's on one final mission, to find a Saypuri secret agent who's gone AWOL.The trouble is, that this old soldier isn't sure she's still got what it takes to be the hero . . .A triumphant return to the world of A City of Stairs.'Loud, bold and uncompromisingly ambitious' - Upcoming4.me

Jo Fletcher Books

City of Stairs

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett