Judith Newman - Quercus

Judith Newman



Judith Newman is the author of You Make Me Feel Like an Unnatural Woman. She is a columnist for the New York Times Book Review and a regular contributor to the New York Times Style Section. She writes a humour column for Prevention, and also writes for National Geographic, Allure, Vanity Fair and many other publications. She and her sons live in Manhattan.
Quercus

To Siri, With Love

Judith Newman
Authors:
Judith Newman

'A moving and witty memoir with a big heart' - Nigella LawsonFor fans of David Mitchell's Fall Down 7 Times, Get Up 8, Jem Lester's Shtum and Keith Stuart's A Boy Made of Blocks.No one would consider Judith Newman's domestic life normal. She and her husband keep separate apartments-his filled with twin grand pianos as befits a former opera singer; hers packed with the clutter and chaos of twin adolescent boys conceived late in life. And one of those boys is Gus, her sweet, complicated, autistic 13-year-old.With honesty and humour, To Siri With Love chronicles one year in the life of Gus and the family around him -- a family with the same crazy ups and downs as any other. And at the heart of the book lies Gus's passionate friendship with Siri, Apple's 'intelligent personal assistant'. Unlike her human counterparts, Siri always has the right answers to Gus's incessant stream of questions about the intricacies of national rail schedules, or box turtle varieties, and she never runs out of patience. She always makes sure Gus enunciates and even teaches him manners by way of her warm yet polite tone and her programmed insistence on civility.Equal parts funny and touching, this is a book that will make your heart brim, and then break it. Warm, wise and always honest, Judith Newman shows us a new world where artificial intelligence is beginning to meet emotional intelligence -- a world that will shape our children in ways both wonderful and unexpected.(P)2017 WF Howes Ltd