Rosie Archer - Quercus

Rosie Archer



Rosie Archer was born in Gosport, Hampshire, where she still lives. She has had a variety of jobs including waitress, fruit picker, barmaid, shop assistant and market trader selling second-hand books. Rosie is the author of The Munitions Girls, The Canary Girls, The Factory Girls and The Gunpowder and Glory Girls as well as a series of gangster sagas under the name June Hampson.
Quercus

The Narrowboat Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer

When the Second World War takes Britain's men away to fight, it is women who step up to fill the jobs left behind. From farms to factories, no job is too back-breaking, and for many women it offers their first real chance at independence.Two such women from very different backgrounds find themselves working on the narrowboats - piloting freights round southern England's network of canals. One is a solicitor's wife, still smarting from the humiliation of her husband leaving her for his secretary. The other is a young working-class woman glad to find an excuse to get away from her violent boyfriend.Life on the canals is hard, and breaking into such a close-knit community can be tough - especially when the remaining male works are sure women aren't up to the job. But though these women start out as strangers, they will forge a bond of friendship that will take them through the darkest hours.

Quercus

The Girls from the Local

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer

Gosport, 1943, and even in the middle of war the local pub provides a warm welcome, thanks to its trio of barmaids. A heartwarming saga for fans of Sheila Newberry and Daisy Styles.Ruby has been living and working at the Point of No Return pub since her parents were killed by a bomb. She loves the bustle of the pub; it helps take her mind off worrying about her fiance, Joe, away fighting in France.The only thing Ruby doesn't like about the Point is Sylvie. This singing siren may have a beautiful voice, but she's out for all she can get, including Joe.Finally, there's Marge, a true party girl. She's a great friend to Ruby and makes sure they have fun, going out to dances and flirting with all and sundry, but she's not as fond of her other role as a mother to two young children.The three of them face many obstacles to fulfilling their dreams, but the bonds of friendship and camaraderie that hold the Point together will keep them going through the darkest of times.

Quercus

The Munition Girls Series

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer

Even in the darkest of times, good friends will see you through. Three heartwarming sagas for fans of Daisy Styles, Nancy Revell and Ellie Dean.THE MUNITIONS GIRLS19-year-old Pixie isn't going to let a little war get in the way of a good time. Her job at the local armaments factory is gruelling and dangerous, but she and the other girls there try and make the most of their time off. Pixie meets American sailor Cal and they fall in love. But Cal has to rejoin his ship, and little does Pixie know just how much her life is about to change...THE CANARY GIRLSRita Brown is glad to be back at work at the munitions factory after an explosion put her in hospital. She's caught the eye of local bad boy Blackie Bristow, who is sweeping her round the country in a whirl of shady glamour. Her friends from the factory help take her mind off Blackie's darker side. Then she discovers someone at work is leaking secrets to the Germans. With D-Day on the horizon, Rita must work out who's responsible - and fast.THE FACTORY GIRLSAutumn, 1944. Doodlebugs batter the south coast, but factory overseer Em has more than bombs on her plate. Her daughter Lizzie is unexpectedly pregnant, and a strange woman has turned up on her doorstep claiming to be Em's long-lost sister. Em is overjoyed, but is the woman too good to be true? Once again the factory girls must rally round one of heir own.

Quercus

The Ferry Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer

A heartwarming saga of secrets, friendships and wartime spirit at the height of World War 2. For fans of Daisy Styles, Sheila Newberry and Lyn AndrewsA young German girl finds friendship, camaraderie and even love while working on Hampshire's south coast ferries - but will her new friends desert her if her nationality comes to light?'A gripping story packed with darkness and light, love and friendship, greed and betrayal' Lancashire Evening Post on The Factory GirlsVee Smith is 22 when she starts work on Gosport's ferries, taking a job left vacant by the men gone off to war. She soon makes friends with the other women workers, and together they enjoy nights out dancing in Gosport - keeping their spirits up despite the hard work, rationing and heavy bombing. Vee even feels herself falling for Sam, the skipper of the ferry and her unhappily married boss. But Vee has a secret: her real name is Violetta Schmidt, and she is half-German. If her true nationality is discovered, she and her mother could find themselves interned as enemy aliens - if their German-hating neighbours, or worse, Eddie, the man Vee ran away from after he got her false papers, don't hurt them first.Will Vee be able to keep her secret safe, and find some peace with Sam and her friends even in the midst of war?

Quercus

The Gunpowder and Glory Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

The Factory Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

The Canary Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

The Munitions Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer