Lucy Atkins - Quercus

Lucy Atkins



Lucy Atkins is an award-winning feature journalist and author, as well as a Sunday Times book critic. She has written for many newspapers, including the Guardian, The Times, The Sunday Times, and the Telegraph, as well as magazines such as Psychologies, Red, Woman and Home and Grazia. She lives in Oxford.
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Coming Soon
Quercus

Cuckoo

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins

There's a stranger upstairs . . . you let her in. Felicity, the daughter of an Oxford College President, has gone missing. A silent and lonely eight-year-old, she lost her mother when she was just four. When her glamorous stepmother hires Dee, an experienced and clever nanny, everything changes. Dee is powerfully drawn to the neglected child, but nights in the 500 year-old President's Lodging soon become fraught as Felicity is haunted by nameless terrors. Nobody realises that Dee has demons of her own, but when Felicity vanishes, the police suspect that she knows more than she'll admit, and a complex battle of wits unfolds.

Quercus

The Night Visitor

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins

'Horribly, horribly compulsive. Brilliant' Fiona BartonHow far would you go to save your reputation? The stunning new noir thriller from the author of the bestselling The Missing One and The Other Child. Perfect for fans of I Let You Go and Lie With Me.Professor Olivia Sweetman has worked hard to achieve the life she loves, with a high-flying career as a TV presenter and historian, three children and a talented husband. But as she stands before a crowd at the launch of her new bestseller she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into deceit and if the truth comes out, she will lose everything.Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward sixty-year-old housekeeper of a Sussex manor who found the Victorian diary on which Olivia's book is based. She has now become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. And Vivian has secrets of her own.As events move between London, Sussex and the idyllic South of France, the relationship between these two women grows more entangled and complex. Then a bizarre act of violence changes everything.The Night Visitor is a compelling exploration of ambition, morality and deception that asks the question: how far would you go to save your reputation?'Such a sophisticated, layered read, I absolutely revelled in it' Clare Mackintosh(P)2017 WF Howes Ltd.

Quercus

The Other Child

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins
Quercus

The Missing One

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins

In this gripping debut, The Missing One, Lucy Atkins takes us on one woman's terrifying journey to the beautiful and rugged Pacific Northwest to discover the dark secrets of her family's past so that she can understand and accept herself. Kal McKenzie was never close to her mother Elena, whose coldness towards her spoiled any chance of a good relationship. When Elena dies of cancer, Kal feels forlorn: how do you mourn a mother who, inexplicably, just didn't seem to love you? While clearing out Elena's art studio, Kal finds a drawer packed with postcards, each bearing an identical one-line message from a Canadian gallery owner named Susannah Gillespie: "Thinking of you." Who is this woman and what does she hold the key to her ruined relationship with her mother? Conflicted by her grief and shaken up from recently seeing a covetous text from an old girlfriend on her husband's cell phone, Kal impulsively sets off with her toddler Finn to Susannah's isolated home on a remote British Columbian island. A place of killer whales and storms. Soon Kal quickly realizes she has made a big mistake. The striking and enigmatic Susannah will only share a few scraps of information about Elena. Unbeknownst to her, she discovers that her mother was a pioneering orca researcher--an activist trying to save these powerful and dangerous creatures. As Kal struggles to piece together her mother's past and what happened between Elena and Susannah in the 1970s, Susannah's behavior grows more and more erratic. Most worrying of all, Susannah is becoming increasingly preoccupied with little Finn. Kal's uneasiness soon proves true and Kal must confront the biggest threat to her family she has ever experienced. Told in two competing narratives, The Missing One intermixes Kal's present day journey to with that of her mother's awakening as an independent woman, scientist, and activist. As these two narratives converge the novel transforms into a white-knuckle thriller where the secrets of the past imperil the lives of the present. Interweaving local lore of how orcas protect those who travel away from home, and guides them back safely, in The Missing One Lucy Atkins wrestles with the question of how the past influences the present, and who has the right to own one's history.(P)2014 WF Howes Ltd