Esther Verhoef - Quercus

Esther Verhoef



Esther Verhoef was born in 1968 and gained recognition for her critically acclaimed action thrillers Restless and Under Pressure. Both were shortlisted for the Golden Noose and Under Pressure was awarded the Diamond Bullet, both prizes for best thriller of the year. She is also the author of Rendez-Vous, which was awarded the 2006 Silver Fingerprint, the Dutch public award for best thriller of the year.
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Quercus

Rendezvous

Esther Verhoef
Authors:
Esther Verhoef

Simone is a wife, a mother, a daughter and a suspected murderer.She and her husband Eric have left the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam for a remote village in the south of France. Together with their two small children, they have bought a tumbledown country estate to renovate and turn into a home and guesthouse. But, months into her new existence, she is arrested.The plan was simple. They wanted to start again, and the pace in France suited them. But who can you trust to work on your home when you don't know a soul? Enter Peter. A helpful ex-pat who has built a business that serves their community. It all goes well until Michel, a beautiful young labourer, arrives. Soon he's all Simone can think about and she'll do anything to be with him. But Peter is watching - and he's in control.As Simone's story - and her idyllic life - unravels, Esther Verhoef raises the tension and twists the plot. Rendezvous is an emotional rollercoaster a powerful story about how getting what you want can be very dangerous indeed...

Quercus

Close-Up

Esther Verhoef
Authors:
Esther Verhoef

'Gripping' Elle MagazineA captivating psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors and The Girl Before.On the threshold I glance at him. This is the man I'm in love with, the man I've quit my job for. This is the man who's turned my life completely upside down.And he's someone I barely know. . .Reeling from a recent break-up, 32-year-old Margot is depressed, lacking in confidence and at her most vulnerable. When chance brings the handsome and charismatic photographer Leon Wagner into Margot's life, she cannot believe her luck.Margot and Leon's relationship quickly develops into an intense affair. Leon moves Margot into his flat and sets her up with a new career, introducing her to all the contacts she could ever possibly need. Margot would be lost without her new partner, but is it all just too good to be true? Margot will soon find out . . .