Iain Gale - Quercus

Iain Gale



Iain Gale, art critic, journalist and author, comes from a military family and has always been fascinated by military history. He is an active member of the Scottish Committee of the Society of Authors and the Friends of Waterloo Committee. He is the Editor of Scotland in Trust, the magazine for the National Trust of Scotland, and founded the Caledonian magazine. He lives in Edinburgh.
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Quercus

Conspiracy

Iain Gale
Authors:
Iain Gale
Heron Books

The Keane Collection

Iain Gale
Authors:
Iain Gale

'Wonderfully imaginative' Bernard Cornwell, author of The Last Kingdom. All of James Keane in one thrilling collection. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell.Book 1 - Keane's CompanyJames Keane - card sharp and ladies' man - is one of the finest soldiers of Wellington's army. Keane - hot-tempered, a maverick, never quite accepted by his fellow officers - is in trouble for killing his man in a duel: an activity forbidden by Wellington. To avoid court martial, he takes on an unwelcome assignment: to form an ill-assorted bunch of reprobates into an elite unit capable of operating behind the lines. A nineteenth-century Dirty Dozen. Book 2 - Keane's ChallengeFrench troops led by one of Napoleon's best generals are massing on the border. Wellington's outnumbered force needs to pick off the smaller French units if they are to stand their ground. For that they need information, which is where Captain Keane and his company of reformed scouting officers come in. But it soon becomes apparent that someone high up in Wellington's headquarters is a spy for the French...and Keane's enemies within the army are quick to point the finger. Keane must defend his crew against their accusers - or root out the traitor himself. Book 3 - Keane's ChargeThe intrepid band of warriors, led by Captain James Keane, have been given their toughest job yet. The Portuguese university city of Coimbra is in ruins. Infiltrating the streets are untrustworthy Spanish guerrilla fighters, local Portuguese out for revenge and rival spies determined to find the famous book of ciphers, hidden in the city and guarded by a dissident Jesuit group. James Keane and his men must prevent the book falling into enemy hands but also to discover which of the guerrilla groups can be trusted. But this means sometimes following their own instincts over Wellington's orders . . . can Keane capture the book without sacrificing his honour, position and repuatation?

Heron Books

Keane's Charge

Iain Gale
Authors:
Iain Gale
Quercus

Keane's Challenge

Iain Gale
Authors:
Iain Gale

The Iberian Peninsula, 1809. French troops led by one of Napoleon's best generals are massing on the border. Wellington's outnumbered force and his unreliable Spanish allies need to pick off the smaller French units if they are to stand their ground. For that they need information: accurate intelligence on numbers, arms and whereabouts. That's where Captain Keane and his company of reformed scouting officers are invaluable tools - despite being unpopular with the regular soldiers. But it soon becomes apparent that someone high up in Wellington's headquarters is a spy for the French. Only someone able to travel widely outside the camp, someone privy to battle plans, could be the double agent - and Keane's enemies within the army are quick to point the finger. Keane must defend his crew against their accusers - or root out the traitor himself. Keane's Challenge draws a fascinating picture of a disparate group of men brought together in a Peninsular War adventure that sees maverick hero Keane ride again.(P)2014 WF Howes Ltd

Quercus

Keane's Company

Iain Gale
Authors:
Iain Gale

Welcome to James Keane - card sharp and ladies' man - and one of the finest soldiers of Wellington's army. Keane - hot-tempered, a maverick, never quite accepted by his fellow officers - is in trouble for killing his man in a duel: an activity forbidden by Wellington. To avoid court martial, he takes on an unwelcome assignment: to form an ill-assorted bunch of reprobates into an elite unit capable of operating behind the lines. A nineteenth-century Dirty Dozen. Keane's Company is the first novel featuring James Keane and his band, whose adventures will continue in a series following the Peninsular War.(P)2014 WF Howes Ltd