Elizabeth Hay - Alone in the Classroom - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857051868
    • Publication date:30 Aug 2012
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857386441
    • Publication date:30 Aug 2012

Alone in the Classroom

By Elizabeth Hay

  • Hardback
  • £18.99

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857051257
  • Publication date: 30 Aug 2012
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
'A testament to the quality of Hay's writing that the lack of a traditional ending tantalises ... Principal Parley Burns, who moves through the school 'like mustard gas in subtle form', is one of the most memorable villains I've ever encountered' Guardian. — Guardian
'a story of murder and obsessive love in prairie Canada, and better even than Alice Munro' Nicholas Shakespeare. — Nicholas Shakespeare
'Alone in the Classroom is meant to be read slowly, or even better, read twice' Aritha van Herk, Toronto Globe & Mail. — Toronto Globe & Mail
'An ambitious vision and unusually literary page-turner' Calgary Herald. — Calgary Herald
'beautifully written ... an atmospheric, haunting novel that explores the impact of past events on a new generation' We Love This Book. — We Love This Book
'Her pages ... blurred in my tears ... should be read carefully in order to appreciate its richness and its author's genius as a storyteller' Bookgroupinfo. — Bookgroupinfo
'Highly accomplished and resourceful writer' The Spectator. — Spectator
'one to savour' BookOxygen. — BookOxygen
'unforgettable' The Literary Review. — Literary Review
Quercus

The Book of Wonders

Julien Nuzzo
Authors:
Julien Nuzzo
MacLehose Press

The Shape of the Ruins

Juan Gabriel Vásquez
Authors:
Juan Gabriel Vásquez
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg

Quercus

The Flatshare

Beth O'Leary
Authors:
Beth O'Leary
Quercus

The Night Tiger

Yangsze Choo
Authors:
Yangsze Choo

They say a tiger that devours too many humans can take the form of a man and walk amongst us... A magical tiger. An orphaned Chinese houseboy and his dead twin brother. A dancehall girl who must solve a mystery. In 1930s colonial Malaya, a dissolute British doctor receives a surprise gift of an eleven-year-old Chinese houseboy. Sent as a bequest from an old friend, young Ren has a mission: to find his dead master's severed finger and reunite it with his body. Ren has forty-nine days, or else his master's soul will roam the earth forever. Ji Lin, an apprentice dressmaker, moonlights as a dancehall girl to pay her mother's debts. One night, Ji Lin's dance partner leaves her with a gruesome souvenir that leads her on a crooked, dark trail. As time runs out for Ren's mission, a series of unexplained deaths occur amid rumours of tigers who turn into men. In their journey to keep a promise and discover the truth, Ren and Ji Lin's paths will cross through ghostly dreams, in ways they will never forget.Captivating and lushly written, The Night Tiger explores the rich world of servants and masters, ancient superstition and modern ambition, sibling rivalry and unexpected love. Woven through with Chinese folklore and a tantalizing mystery, this novel is a page-turner of the highest order.

MacLehose Press

A Bond Undone

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong
Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
riverrun

The Rise and Fall of Great Powers

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman
riverrun

Friday Black

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Authors:
Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

'An excitement and a wonder' George Saunders'The fiction debut of the year. Bravo young man. We await your encore' Mary Karr'The writing in this outstanding collection will make you hurt and demand your hope' Roxane GayRacism, but "managed" through virtual reality. Black Friday, except you die in a bargain-crazed throng. Happiness, but pharmacological. Love, despite everything. Friday Black tackles urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explores the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In the first, unforgettable story of this collection, The Finkelstein Five, Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unstinting reckoning of the brutal prejudice of the US justice system. In Zimmer Land we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And Friday Black and How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all.Fresh, exciting, vital and contemporary, Friday Black will appeal to people who love Colson Whitehead's Underground Railroad, the TV show Black Mirror, the work of Kurt Vonnegut and George Saunders, and anyone looking for stories that speak to the world we live in now.

MacLehose Press

Tropic of Violence

Nathacha Appanah
Authors:
Nathacha Appanah

Marie, a nurse on the island of Mayotte, adopts an abandoned baby and names him Moïse, raising him as a French boy. As he grows up, Moïse struggles with his status as an "outsider" and to understand why he was abandoned as a baby. When Marie dies, he is left alone, plunged into uncertainty and turmoil, ending up in the largest and most infamous slum on Mayotte, nicknamed "Gaza".Narrated by five different characters, Tropic of Violence is an exploration of lost youth on the French island of Mayotte in the Indian Ocean. Shining a powerful light on problems of violence, immigration, identity, deprivation and isolation on this island that became a French département in 2011, it is a remarkable, unsettling new novel that draws on the author's own observations from her time on Mayotte.

Quercus

The Rival

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth

'A chilling and compelling debut'Lucy Dawson, author of The Daughter'Brilliant and insidious'Lucy Clarke, author of Last Seen***********NOWLiving in her home in the remote countryside - the perfect place to get away from it all - Helena is a career woman with no job and a mother without a baby. She blames Ashley for destroying her life. But is what happened really Ashley's fault?THENWhen Helena hires Ashley to work for her, she's startled but impressed by her fierce ambition. They form a dream team and Helena is proud - maybe this is the protégée she's always wanted to have? But soon Helena realizes that nothing will stand in the way of Ashley's drive to get to the top. And when Helena becomes pregnant, everything she has worked so hard for is suddenly threatened, with devastating consequences... The Rival is an addictive psychological suspense about ambition, female rivalry, and how far you'd go to get what you want.***********'Absolutely terrific, a beautifully written debut from an exciting new voice in psychological fiction' Cass Green, author of The Woman Next Door'A gripping psychological suspense that delves deep into the complex relationship of two women' Elisabeth Carpenter, author of 99 Red Balloons

riverrun

Testament

Kim Sherwood
Authors:
Kim Sherwood
riverrun

The Consolation of Maps

Thomas Bourke
Authors:
Thomas Bourke

Kenji Tanabe finds maps easier to read than people. At the elite Tokyo gallery where he works, he sells antique maps by selling the stories that he sees within their traces: their contribution to progress, their dramatic illustrations, their exquisite compasses. But no compass or cartography can guide him through the events that will follow the sudden and unexpected offer of a job in America.There, Theodora Appel runs a company that is more like a family. Brilliantly successful, beguilingly secretive, she gradually initiates Kenji into her rarefied world. Only someone like him - quiet, intensely committed and discreet - could be allowed to see beneath the surface to what his employer is hiding. Theodora has never recovered from the death of her lover, and her obsession to reclaim the past threatens them all.Moving across countries and cultures, The Consolation of Maps charts an attempt to understand the tide of history, the geography of people and the boundless territory of loss.

Quercus

What Lies Within

Annabelle Thorpe
Authors:
Annabelle Thorpe
Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

Escape to the heart of enchanting Brittany with the bestselling author of The Villa and The Little Theatre by the Sea. The perfect treat for fans of Santa Montefiore and Veronica Henry.For many years Colette has avoided returning to her homeland - the magical island of Belle-Île-en-Mer in Southern Brittany - afraid to confront the painful memories she left behind. She is living on the Cornish coast when she hears about her mother Thea's failing health and realises that the time has come for her to go home. But can Colette ever forgive Thea for what she has done? Despite Colette's wariness, romantic Belle-Île still fascinates her. She takes on the running of her mother's flower shop and makes friends with Élodie from the Old Lighthouse where Thea once worked as a nanny and with the enigmatic Étienne who shares Colette's mixed feelings about the island. As Thea opens up to her for the first time, Colette finds herself softening and being drawn back into the landscape of her past. But can Belle-Île also be a part of her future?The ghosts of that past still linger. What happened all those years ago and how did it cause the rift between mother and daughter? It becomes clear that the beauty of Belle-Île hides a devastating family secret - one that Colette is determined to unravel at any cost.

MacLehose Press

A Hero Born

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong
riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
MacLehose Press

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme

Lars Mytting
Authors:
Lars Mytting
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex One

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes
Quercus

A Spring Betrayal

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan