Lyuba Vinogradova - Defending the Motherland - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857051936
    • Publication date:02 Apr 2015

Defending the Motherland

The Soviet Women Who Fought Hitler's Aces

By Lyuba Vinogradova

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The breathtaking story of the most successful female fighter pilots in history

Plucked from every background, and led by an N.K.V.D. Major, the new recruits who boarded a train in Moscow on 16th October 1941 to go to war had much in common with millions of others across the world. What made the 586th Fighter Regiment, the 587th Heavy-bomber Regiment and the 588th Regiment of light night-bombers unique was their gender: the Soviet Union was creating the first all-female active combat units in modern history.

Drawing on original interviews with surviving airwomen, Lyuba Vinogradova weaves together the untold stories of the female Soviet fighter pilots of the Second World War. From that first train journey to the last tragic disappearance, Vinogradova's panoramic account of these women's lives follows them from society balls to unmarked graves, from landmark victories to the horrors of Stalingrad. Battling not just fearsome Aces of the Luftwaffe but also patronising prejudice from their own leaders, women such as Lilya Litvyak and Ekaterina Budanova are brought to life by the diaries and recollections of those who knew them, and who watched them live, love, fight and die.

Biographical Notes

Lyuba Vinogradova (Author)
Dr Lyuba Vinogradova was born in Moscow in 1973. After graduating from the Moscow Agricultural Academy with a PhD in microbiology, she took a second degree in foreign languages. In 1995 she was introduced to Antony Beevor and helped him research Stalingrad. Since then she has worked on many other research projects, and is the co-author (together with Beevor) of A Writer at War: Vasily Grossman with the Red Army.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857051950
  • Publication date: 07 Apr 2016
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
What has been missing until now is a thoroughly researched account of all these pilots' wars, based on primary sources and stitched into the larger picture of the epic battle for what Hitler called the "world island" of central Russia. Defending the Motherland fills that void — Giles Whittell, The Times
Brings to light the fascinating story of the world's first and only all-female aviation regiments . . . Not for the first time, one can't help being flabbergasted by the heroic achievements of the poverty-stricken and hounded peoples of the USSR — Charlotte Hobson, Spectator
[Vinogradova's] assiduous research, including numerous interviews with elderly veterans, has uncovered fascinating nuggets about the young female pilots' experience — Dominic Sandbrook, Sunday Times
A gripping, unforgettable and heart-breaking story of female heroism in war and terror, written elegantly, filled with new research - archival and oral - and told here fully for the first time. Not just a tale of amazing derring-do, but a terrifying window into Stalinist Russia. Simply superb — Simon Sebag Montefiore
Lyuba Vinogradova tells the poignant story of the determined young women who fought and died in the air above Stalingrad and elsewhere in the epic struggle to expel the German invaders from their country. It is an absorbing and meticulously researched account — Sir Rodric Braithwaite
Remarkable . . . Vinogradova tells the stories Russian pilots with verve — Erica Wagner, New Statesman
A feat of historical research and a wonderful, stirring read — Rachel Polonsky
Superbly written and researched . . . Vinogradova takes her place in the top flight of Russian historians — Anna Reid
The story of the Soviet airwomen is well told by Lyuba Vinogradova . . . She has done a huge amount of research, which shines through the pen portraits of the aviators and some of the vivid descriptions of the aerial battles — Leo McKinstry, Literary Review
Vinogradova is excellent on the technical aspects and experience of flying the various aircraft . . . She is at her best, though, in bringing alive the quotidian details of wartime — Wendy Slater, Times Literary Supplement
Quercus

The Norse Myths

Dr Tom Birkett
Authors:
Dr Tom Birkett
MacLehose Press

Homeland or Death

Alberto Barrera Tyszka
Authors:
Alberto Barrera Tyszka

Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring
riverrun

At the Strangers' Gate

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik
Quercus

Leave No Trace

Mindy Mejia
Authors:
Mindy Mejia

A hostile wilderness is watching you. Spine-chilling thriller from the author of THE LAST ACT OF HATTIE HOFFMAN for fans of Jane Harper's THE DRY and Chris Whitaker's TALL OAKSTen years after a boy and his father went missing in the wilderness of Minnesota's Boundary Lakes, the boy - who is no longer a boy - walks back out of the forest. He is violent and uncommunicative. The authorities take him to Mayfair Mental Institution in Duluth, Minnesota.There, language therapist Maya Stark is given the task of making a connection with this boy/man who came back from the dead. But their celebrity patient tries to escape and refuses to answer any questions about his father or the last ten years of his life. But Maya, who was abandoned by her own mother, has secrets, too. And as she's drawn closer to this enigmatic boy who is no boy, she'll risk everything to reunite him with his father who has disappeared from the known world - but at what cost to herself?

Quercus

On Sheep

Axel Lindén
Authors:
Axel Lindén
MacLehose Press

Inhuman Resources

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Alain Delambre is a 57-year-old former HR executive, drained by four years of hopeless unemployment.All he is offered are small, demoralizing jobs. He has reached his very lowest ebb, and can see no way out.So when a major company finally invites him to an interview, Alain Delambre is ready to do anything, borrow money, shame his wife and his daughters and even participate in the ultimate recruitment test: a role-playing game that involves hostage-taking.Alain Delambre commits body and soul in this struggle to regain his dignity.But if he suddenly realised that the dice had been loaded against him from the start, his fury would be limitless.And what began as a role-play game could quickly become a bloodbath.

Jo Fletcher Books

Haunted

Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Quercus

Darling Blue

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

'Tracy Rees writes from the heart' Kathryn Hughes, author of The Letter. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Villa in Italy.Blue lives a charmed life. From her family's townhouse in Richmond, she lives the life of luxury and couldn't want for anything - well, on the surface at least. Then on the night of her twenty-first birthday her father makes a startling toast: he will give his daughter's hand to whichever man can capture her heart best in the form of a love letter. But Blue has other ideas and, unwilling to play at her father's bewildering games, she sets out on her own path to find her own destiny...

MacLehose Press

Avenging Angels

Lyuba Vinogradova
Authors:
Lyuba Vinogradova
Quercus

Smoky the Brave

Damien Lewis
Authors:
Damien Lewis
MacLehose Press

Kingdom of Twilight

Steven Uhly
Authors:
Steven Uhly
Jo Fletcher Books

Shattermoon

Dominic Dulley
Authors:
Dominic Dulley
riverrun

Too Close to Breathe

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan
MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker

Fresh from the staggering success of The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair, Marcus Goldman is struggling to write his third novel. A chance encounter in Florida throws him some inspiration from a surprising source: Alexandra Neville, the beautiful, phenomenally successful singer and Marcus's first love. All at once, memories of his childhood come flooding back. Memories of a family torn apart by tragedy, and a once glorious legacy reduced to shame and ruin.The Baltimore Boys. The Goldman Gang. That was what they called Marcus, and his cousins Hillel and Woody. Three brilliant young men with their whole lives ahead of them, before their kingdom crumbled beneath the weight of lies, jealousy and betrayal. For years, Marcus has struggled with the burdens of his past, but now, he must attempt to banish his demons and tell the real story of the Baltimore Boys.Translated from the French by Alison Anderson

Jo Fletcher Books

Stained Light

Naomi Foyle
Authors:
Naomi Foyle
MacLehose Press

The Mountain

Luca D'Andrea
Authors:
Luca D'Andrea

A CURSED PLACE. A COLD CASE. A KILLER WHO LEFT NO TRACE.The huge International bestseller.Gripping, unputdownable and packed with twists, The Mountain is a thriller that you will never forget."Can be compared (with no fear of hyperbole) to Stephen King and Jo Nesbø" - Massimo Vincenz, La Repubblica.Jeremiah Salinger blames himself. The crash was his fault. He was the only survivor. Now the depression and the nightmares are closing in. Only his daughter Clara can put a smile on his face. But when he takes Clara to the Bletterbach - a canyon in the Dolomites rich in fossil remains - he overhears by chance a conversation that gives his life renewed focus. In 1985 three students were murdered there, their bodies savaged, limbs severed and strewn by a killer who was never found. Salinger, a New Yorker, is far from home, and these Italian mountains, where his wife was born, harbour a close-knit, tight-lipped community whose mistrust of outsiders can turn ugly. All the same, solving this mystery might be the only thing that can keep him sane.Translated from the Italian by Howard Curtis

riverrun

Histories

Sam Guglani
Authors:
Sam Guglani
MacLehose Press

The House with the Stained-Glass Window

Zanna Sloniowska
Authors:
Zanna Sloniowska