Peter Terrin - Post Mortem - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782066187
    • Publication date:04 Aug 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782066170
    • Publication date:01 Oct 2015

Post Mortem

By Peter Terrin

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

An intense and ingenious novel about a writer's inspiration, a father's love, and a man's fear of losing his legacy.

Emiel Steegman, an unknown writer with a handful of novels to his name, is due to have dinner with a group Estonian colleagues but cancels at the last moment "due to a somewhat difficult time for the family".

A nasty feeling immediately comes over him: is he inviting trouble for his family in doing so? And what if a biographer stumbled on this? Would he not then suspect that something significant had happened in his life? The thought gives him a great idea for a new novel about a successful author, T, who becomes famous with an existential crime novel and increasingly worries about what his future biographer will write about him, so he withdraws entirely from public life.

But Steegman's initial misgivings prove well founded. Because fate does strike. One afternoon, his daughter Renée falls asleep and it is impossible to wake her . . .

Biographical Notes

Peter Terrin represents a unique voice in contemporary literature, touching on universal and highly topical themes. He is considered by critics to be a literary maverick, a classic writer and a masterful stylist. He is also an avid collector of vintage typewriters. He won a European Literature Prize for The Guard, and the AKO Literatuurprijs for Post Mortem.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857052742
  • Publication date: 01 Oct 2015
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
An ingenious, rich book, beautifully put together — Dagblad van het Noorden
Post Mortem is not only the blood-curdling account of a father in agony but also a novel about a writer. A peerlessly impressive novel. A True hall of mirrors — VPRO Gids
Quercus

Stories for Kids Who Dare to be Different

Ben Brooks, Quinton Winter
Contributors:
Ben Brooks, Quinton Winter

MacLehose Press

John Law

James Buchan
Authors:
James Buchan
MacLehose Press

Winds of the Night

Joan Sales
Authors:
Joan Sales
MacLehose Press

Monte Carlo

Peter Terrin
Authors:
Peter Terrin

It is the Monaco Grand Prix in May 1968. Jack Preston, a mechanic for Team Sutton, is making the final checks on his car as the beau monde mingles with the drivers under the eyes of the world's press and the galleries of spectators. DeeDee, a starlet of great beauty, seems to be walking towards him, or perhaps towards the royal box. Without warning a fireball rips across the starting grid. Preston will always bear the scars as a consequence of his unthinking heroism, his saving the life and the beauty of the girl, but details of the accident remain vague - no photographs capturing the moment have come to light.Weeks later, Preston emerges from hospital and goes home to his wife in a remote English village from which the drab atmosphere of the 1950s has yet to recede. There, as he slowly recovers, he awaits word from his employers and some sign of DeeDee's gratitude, an acknowledgment that it was he who saved her life.This is an unsettlingly beautiful story of obsession by an acknowledged master of classical restraint.Translated from the Dutch by David Doherty

Quercus

The Lavender House

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

Emotional, page-turning women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK. Will Nancy dare to risk a second chance at love with a man her family and friends tell her is totally unsuitable? Beautiful storytelling for fans of Erica James, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans.Nancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy's babysitting services, it seems Nancy's fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has. Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark. But Nancy's family don't trust Jim one bit. They're convinced he'll break her heart, maybe run off with her money - he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities. Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family's side and walk away from one last chance for love?

Quercus

The Wrong Girl

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson
MacLehose Press

In the Café of Lost Youth

Patrick Modiano
Authors:
Patrick Modiano
riverrun

The Death of Rex Nhongo

C. B. George
Authors:
C. B. George

Harare, Zimbabwe, 2011This is a story of five marriages and one gun.A British couple wonder at the unknowable city beyond their guarded compound while they build walls between themselves.An American begins to suspect his new home is having an insidious effect on his 'African queen' and their young daughter.An enthusiastic young intellectual follows his wife and his dreams to the city and finds only disillusion.An Intelligence Officer loses a crucial piece of evidence. It will cost him his marriage and his girlfriend; maybe even his life.A taxi driver and his wife, living on the knife-edge of poverty, find a gun in the cab. From this point on, all their lives are tied to the trigger.C. B. George's Zimbabwe is a personal portrait, both tender and brutal. The betrayals and conspiracies of the corrupt world are nothing compared to those of marriage; in which husband and wife love and leave, fight and flee, recant and reconcile, with outcomes that are by turns shocking, heartbreaking and, ultimately, full of hope.

riverrun

Breaking Light

Karin Altenberg
Authors:
Karin Altenberg

Quercus

Fragments

Sarah Foot
Authors:
Sarah Foot
riverrun

F

Daniel Kehlmann
Authors:
Daniel Kehlmann

riverrun

Boys and Girls

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

Quercus

Summer Lightning

Tamara McKinley
Authors:
Tamara McKinley
riverrun

Red Sky in Morning

Paul Lynch
Authors:
Paul Lynch

MacLehose Press

The Guard

Peter Terrin
Authors:
Peter Terrin
riverrun

Come to the Edge

Joanna Kavenna
Authors:
Joanna Kavenna

MacLehose Press

Child Wonder

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen
Quercus

Highland Furies

Victoria Schofield, Victoria Schofield
Authors:
Victoria Schofield, Victoria Schofield
riverrun

At the Loch of the Green Corrie

Andrew Greig
Authors:
Andrew Greig

A homage to a remarkable poet and his world.'At The Loch of Green Corrie is more than merely elegant, more than a collection of albeit fascinating insights, laugh-out-loud observations and impressively broad erudition' - Sunday Herald'You could easily make a case that Andrew Greig has the greatest range of any living Scottish writer' - ScotsmanFor many years Andrew Greig saw the poet Norman MacCaig as a father figure. Months before his death, MacCaig's enigmatic final request to Greig was that he fish for him at the Loch of the Green Corrie; the location, even the real name of his destination was more mysterious still. His search took in days of outdoor living, meetings, and fishing with friends in the remote hill lochs of far North-West Scotland. It led, finally, to the waters of the Green Corrie, which would come to reflect Greig's own life, his thoughts on poetry, geology and land ownership in the Highlands and the ambiguous roles of whisky, love and male friendship. At the Loch of the Green Corrie is a richly atmospheric narrative, a celebration of losing and recovering oneself in a unique landscape, the consideration of a particular culture, and a homage to a remarkable poet and his world.

Quercus

Hunting Eichmann

Neal Bascomb, Neal Bascomb
Authors:
Neal Bascomb, Neal Bascomb