Peter Terrin - Post Mortem - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782066187
    • Publication date:04 Aug 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782066170
    • Publication date:01 Oct 2015

Post Mortem

By Peter Terrin

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

An intense and ingenious novel about a writer's inspiration, a father's love, and a man's fear of losing his legacy.

Emiel Steegman, an unknown writer with a handful of novels to his name, is due to have dinner with a group Estonian colleagues but cancels at the last moment "due to a somewhat difficult time for the family".

A nasty feeling immediately comes over him: is he inviting trouble for his family in doing so? And what if a biographer stumbled on this? Would he not then suspect that something significant had happened in his life? The thought gives him a great idea for a new novel about a successful author, T, who becomes famous with an existential crime novel and increasingly worries about what his future biographer will write about him, so he withdraws entirely from public life.

But Steegman's initial misgivings prove well founded. Because fate does strike. One afternoon, his daughter Renée falls asleep and it is impossible to wake her . . .

Biographical Notes

Peter Terrin represents a unique voice in contemporary literature, touching on universal and highly topical themes. He is considered by critics to be a literary maverick, a classic writer and a masterful stylist. He is also an avid collector of vintage typewriters. He won a European Literature Prize for The Guard, and the AKO Literatuurprijs for Post Mortem.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857052742
  • Publication date: 01 Oct 2015
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
An ingenious, rich book, beautifully put together — Dagblad van het Noorden
Post Mortem is not only the blood-curdling account of a father in agony but also a novel about a writer. A peerlessly impressive novel. A True hall of mirrors — VPRO Gids
MacLehose Press

John Law

James Buchan
Authors:
James Buchan

At the summit of his power, John Law was the most famous man in Europe. Born in Scotland in 1671, he was convicted of murder in London and, after his escape from prison, fled Scotland for the mainland when Union with England brought with it a warrant for his arrest. On the continent he lurched from one money-making scheme to the next - selling insurance against losing lottery tickets in Holland, advising the Duke of Savoy - amassing a fortune of some £80,000.But for his next trick he had grander ambitions. When Louis XIV died, leaving a thoroughly bankrupt France to his five-year-old heir, Law gained the ear of the Regent, Philippe D'Orleans. In the years that followed, Law's financial wizardry transformed the fortunes of France, enriching speculators and investors across the continent, and he was made Controller-General of Finances, effectively becoming the French Prime Minister. But the fall from grace that was to follow was every bit as spectacular as his meteoric rise.John Law, by a biographer of Adam Smith and the author of Frozen Desire and Capital of the Mind, dramatises the life of one of the most inventive financiers in history, a man who was born before his time and in whose day the word millionaire came to be coined.

MacLehose Press

Winds of the Night

Joan Sales
Authors:
Joan Sales
MacLehose Press

Monte Carlo

Peter Terrin
Authors:
Peter Terrin
Quercus

You, Me and Him

Alice Peterson
Authors:
Alice Peterson

Josie and Finn are happily married, with promising careers, and a gorgeous young son, George. But despite their apparently enviable lives, George's hyperactivity disorder means the days aren't always easy. Josie's best friend Justin has always been there for her, and when she finds out she's pregnant again she turns to him for support. She loves George, but it's just such hard work, especially as Josie takes much of the strain.Finn is suspicious. What does Justin want in return for his help? And just how close are they really?

Quercus

The Lavender House

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

Emotional, page-turning women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK. Will Nancy dare to risk a second chance at love with a man her family and friends tell her is totally unsuitable? Beautiful storytelling for fans of Erica James, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans.Nancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy's babysitting services, it seems Nancy's fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has. Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark. But Nancy's family don't trust Jim one bit. They're convinced he'll break her heart, maybe run off with her money - he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities. Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family's side and walk away from one last chance for love?

MacLehose Press

In the Café of Lost Youth

Patrick Modiano
Authors:
Patrick Modiano

riverrun

The Death of Rex Nhongo

C. B. George
Authors:
C. B. George

Harare, Zimbabwe, 2011This is a story of five marriages and one gun.A British couple wonder at the unknowable city beyond their guarded compound while they build walls between themselves.An American begins to suspect his new home is having an insidious effect on his 'African queen' and their young daughter.An enthusiastic young intellectual follows his wife and his dreams to the city and finds only disillusion.An Intelligence Officer loses a crucial piece of evidence. It will cost him his marriage and his girlfriend; maybe even his life.A taxi driver and his wife, living on the knife-edge of poverty, find a gun in the cab. From this point on, all their lives are tied to the trigger.C. B. George's Zimbabwe is a personal portrait, both tender and brutal. The betrayals and conspiracies of the corrupt world are nothing compared to those of marriage; in which husband and wife love and leave, fight and flee, recant and reconcile, with outcomes that are by turns shocking, heartbreaking and, ultimately, full of hope.

Quercus

The Wrong Girl

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson
riverrun

F

Daniel Kehlmann
Authors:
Daniel Kehlmann

Quercus

Summer Lightning

Tamara McKinley
Authors:
Tamara McKinley
riverrun

Red Sky in Morning

Paul Lynch
Authors:
Paul Lynch

MacLehose Press

The Guard

Peter Terrin
Authors:
Peter Terrin
Quercus

Highland Furies

Victoria Schofield, Victoria Schofield
Authors:
Victoria Schofield, Victoria Schofield

riverrun

At the Loch of the Green Corrie

Andrew Greig
Authors:
Andrew Greig

A homage to a remarkable poet and his world.'At The Loch of Green Corrie is more than merely elegant, more than a collection of albeit fascinating insights, laugh-out-loud observations and impressively broad erudition' - Sunday Herald'You could easily make a case that Andrew Greig has the greatest range of any living Scottish writer' - ScotsmanFor many years Andrew Greig saw the poet Norman MacCaig as a father figure. Months before his death, MacCaig's enigmatic final request to Greig was that he fish for him at the Loch of the Green Corrie; the location, even the real name of his destination was more mysterious still. His search took in days of outdoor living, meetings, and fishing with friends in the remote hill lochs of far North-West Scotland. It led, finally, to the waters of the Green Corrie, which would come to reflect Greig's own life, his thoughts on poetry, geology and land ownership in the Highlands and the ambiguous roles of whisky, love and male friendship. At the Loch of the Green Corrie is a richly atmospheric narrative, a celebration of losing and recovering oneself in a unique landscape, the consideration of a particular culture, and a homage to a remarkable poet and his world.

Quercus

Hunting Eichmann

Neal Bascomb, Neal Bascomb
Authors:
Neal Bascomb, Neal Bascomb

riverrun

Me and Kaminski

Daniel Kehlmann
Authors:
Daniel Kehlmann
Quercus

Names My Sisters Call Me

Megan Crane
Authors:
Megan Crane

Mark Polizzotti

MARK POLIZZOTTI is the translator of more than thirty books from the French, including works by Gustave Flaubert, Marguerite Duras, Jean Echenoz, and Maurice Roche. His articles and reviews have appeared in The Wall Street Journal and The Nation. He is Publisher and Editor-in-Chief at The Metropolitan Museum of Art and lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Paul Lynch

Paul Lynch was born in 1977 and lives in Dublin. He was the chief film critic of Ireland's Sunday Tribune newspaper from 2007-2011. He has written regularly for the Sunday Times on film and has also written for the Irish Times, the Sunday Business Post, the Irish Daily Mail and Film Ireland.

Wayne Macauley

Wayne Macauley is the author of two other novels and a collection of short stories. He lives in Melbourne.