Vonda N. McIntyre - The Moon and the Sun - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857054234
    • Publication date:02 Jul 2015

The Moon and the Sun

By Vonda N. McIntyre

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A sumptuous historical fantasy romance set in the court of King Louis XIV, the Sun King - a dangerous place to be for those who would defy him.

In seventeenth-century France, Louis XIV rules with flamboyant ambition. From the Hall of Mirrors to the vermin-infested attics of the Chateau at Versailles, courtiers compete to please the king, sacrificing fortune,principles and sacred bonds.

Here, Marie-Josephe de la Croix looks forward to assisting herbrother, Yves, in the scientific study of the rare sea monster he has captured. But when Marie-Josephe makes a discovery about the sea creature that threatens all her brother, the courtiers and the King understand, it is left to her to defy the institutions that power her world.

But in the decadent court of King Louis, where morality is skewed and corruption reigns - will anyone listen to a single voice? Somehow, she must find the courage to follow her heart and her convictions - even at the cost of changing her life forever.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857054241
  • Publication date: 02 Jul 2015
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
The finest alternate history ever, lighthearted and wise - a luminous, radiant novel — Ursula K. Le Guin
A dazzling and spirited evocation of the passions, intrigues and preconceptions of the age: an enchanting slice of what-if historical speculation — Kirkus
Successfully melds fantasy and alternate history to create a charming, well-written and meticulously researched novel — Fantasy Book Review
'Lyman's account of their feat of endurance and of their comrades' sacrifice will make you feel proud to be British' Daily Express. — Daily Express
'a good read and contains some detail not in previous titles, in particular Hasler and Sparks' escape to Spain with the French resistance' Royal Canoe Club. — Royal Canoe Club
Jo Fletcher Books

Hierophant

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett

'A refreshing look at magic - featuring a heroine every reader will root for - from one of the smartest writers I know', says Peter V. Brett, New York Times bestselling author of The Demon Cycle The upstart firm Foundryside is struggling to make it. Orso Igancio and his star employee, former thief Sancia Grado, are accomplishing brilliant things with scriving, the magical art of encoding sentience into everyday objects, but it's not enough. The massive merchant houses of Tevanne won't tolerate competition, and they're willing to do anything to crush Foundryside.But even the merchant houses of Tevanne might have met their match. An immensely powerful and deadly entity has been resurrected in the shadows of Tevanne, one that's not interested in wealth or trade routes: a hierophant, one of the ancient practitioners of scriving. And he has a great fascination for Foundryside, and its employees - especially Sancia. Now Sancia and the rest of Foundryside must race to combat this new menace, which means understanding the origins of scriving itself - before the hierophant burns Tevanne to the ground.

Jo Fletcher Books

Brightfall

Jaime Lee Moyer
Authors:
Jaime Lee Moyer
Jo Fletcher Books

Raging Storm

Markus Heitz
Authors:
Markus Heitz
Jo Fletcher Books

Lord of Secrets

Breanna Teintze
Authors:
Breanna Teintze
Jo Fletcher Books

Priest of Lies

Peter McLean
Authors:
Peter McLean

'The poorer and more oppressed people are, the weaker they become . . . until they can't take it any more. And when they rise up, may the gods help their oppressors.''Peaky Blinders with swords' (Barnes & Noble), perfect for fans of Mark Lawrence, Joe Abercrombie, Scott Lynch and Ed McDonald.When Tomas Piety and his Pious Men returned from the war, he just wanted to rebuild his crime empire and look after his people. But the sinister Queen's Men had different ideas and whether he likes it or not, he's now a spy as well.Now, half the city of Ellinburg lies in ashes and the webs of political intrigue are stretching out from the Queen's capital to pull Tomas in. Dannsburg is calling. In Dannsburg the nobility fight with words, not blades, but the results are every bit as bloody. In this pit of beasts, Tomas must decide once and for all whether he is truly the people's champion . . . or just a priest of lies.And as Tomas' power grows, the nobility had better watch their backs . . .

Jo Fletcher Books

Lost Acre

Andrew Caldecott
Authors:
Andrew Caldecott
Jo Fletcher Books

Council

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson

A murdered diplomat, planted evidence and a treacherous sister: once again, Helga had better find the real killer quickly, before heads start rolling - literally - in this brand-new Viking noir mystery. Helga Finnsdottir left her foster parents, the old Viking chieftain Unnthor Reginson and his knowing wife Hildigunnur, to see the world, but she stopped in Uppsala when she fell in love. Now she's established herself as a local healer and herb-woman on the outskirts of town, and life is good - until King Eirik the Victorious calls a trade council and hairy northerners and southern Swedes alike descend on the town.Unfortunately for Helga, one delegation is headed by a very determined young woman who has her own agenda and will let nothing - and no one - get in her way. But the last time Helga saw Jorunn Unthorsdottir, her foster-sister was being cast out by their father for killing their brother Bjorn and trying to pin the blame on Helga. So perhaps it's no great surprise when one of the delegates is murdered, or that Helga's soon tagged as the lead suspect. It doesn't take her long to clear her own name, but that only leads suspicion to fall on to her man. Once again, Helga must solve a murder, and fast, before the innocent pays with his head.

Quercus

The Wardrobe Mistress

Natalie Meg Evans
Authors:
Natalie Meg Evans
Jo Fletcher Books

The King

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair
Jo Fletcher Books

Priest of Bones

Peter McLean
Authors:
Peter McLean
Jo Fletcher Books

Haunted

Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
riverrun

Dark Water

Elizabeth Lowry
Authors:
Elizabeth Lowry
Jo Fletcher Books

Foundryside

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett
Jo Fletcher Books

Restoration

Angela Slatter
Authors:
Angela Slatter
Quercus

Darling Blue

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

'Tracy Rees writes from the heart' Kathryn Hughes, author of The Letter. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Villa in Italy.Blue lives a charmed life. From her family's townhouse in Richmond, she lives a life of luxury and couldn't want for anything - well, on the surface at least. Then on the night of her twenty-first birthday her father makes a startling toast: he will give his daughter's hand to whichever man can capture her heart best in the form of a love letter. But Blue has other ideas and, unwilling to play at her father's bewildering games, she sets out on her own path to find her own destiny...

Jo Fletcher Books

Strife's Bane

Evie Manieri
Authors:
Evie Manieri
Quercus

The Narrowboat Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer

Elsie Barker is desperate for a new start after her husband leaves her. When her friend Izzy, herself planning an escape from her abusive boyfriend, tells her about the jobs going for women as narrowboat crew on the canals between London and Coventry, she jumps at the chance.Their new boss, Dorothy, is kind and fair, but it's clear she has a secret of her own. Their crew is completed by Tolly, searching for a new vocation now that her dream job has been snatched away. The work is hard, but the girls forge close friendships that will see them through the darkest times.What none of them could have predicted, though, is just how much working on the canals will change their lives. Could it really be that what started as a means of escape will end up giving each of them everything they ever wanted?

Jo Fletcher Books

Wyntertide

Andrew Caldecott
Authors:
Andrew Caldecott
Jo Fletcher Books

Idle Hands

Tom Fletcher
Authors:
Tom Fletcher

Can Wild Alan unite the Discard against the tyranny of the Pyramid?Idle Hands is an ancient disease that once tore through the Discard, and if Wild Alan doesn't find a way into the Black Pyramid to administer the cure to his son, Billy, it will soon be stalking Gleam once again. Even with Bloody Nora's help, there's only one way in - and that's through the Sump, which was sealed long ago to contain the horrors within.And for Alan, the Black Pyramid will be even more dangerous. Thanks to the disease, the Pyramidders' fear and loathing of the Discard is reaching fever-pitch - and Alan is the most well-known Discarder of all.Bloody Nora has her own agenda. All the information she needs to complete her people's Great Work is hidden in the Pyramid - but just by being there, she is violating a centuries-old treaty between the Pyramid and the Mapmakers, which could spark conflict between the two greatest powers that Gleam knows.'A wild ride through a world rooted in bizarre and unfathomable traditions . . . I quickly fell in love with this book' - Bibliosanctum on Gleam

Quercus

The Villa

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

THE #1 KINDLE BESTSELLER. An unforgettable story set off the sun-soaked coast of Sicily for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Victoria Hislop and Santa Montefiore.'The perfect holiday companion' - Heat'The ultimate feel-good read' - Candis'Sun-soaked escapism' - Best**********When Tess Angel receives a solicitor's letter inviting her to claim her inheritance - the Villa Sirena, perched on a clifftop in Sicily - she is stunned. Her only link to the island is through her mother, Flavia, who left Sicily during World War II and cut all contact with her family. When Tess goes to Sicily, Flavia realises the secrets from her past are about to be revealed and decides to try to explain her actions. Meanwhile, Tess' teenage daughter Ginny is stressed by college, by her blooming sexuality and filled with questions that she longs to ask her father, if only she knew where he was...********SEE WHAT EVERYONE IS SAYING ABOUT ROSANNA LEY:'An impeccably researched and deftly written narrative that kept me hooked until the end' - Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter 'Loved it from start to finish. A brilliant holiday read' - Amazon reviewer'Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Leah Fleming' - Candis 'On so many levels a fantastic read' - Amazon reviewer'A fascinating story with engaging themes' - Dinah Jefferies, bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife 'Warm, enthralling, one of my favourite authors' - Amazon reviewer