Sara Stridsberg - The Faculty of Dreams - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857054722
    • Publication date:31 May 2018

The Faculty of Dreams

By Sara Stridsberg

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A stunning, shocking novel, bringing to life one of the most controversial, forgotten and fascinating characters of second-wave feminism.

In April 1988, Valerie Solanas - the writer, radical feminist and would-be assassin of Andy Warhol - was discovered dead in her hotel room, in a grimy corner of San Francisco. She was only 52; alone, penniless and surrounded by the typed pages of her last writings.

In The Faculty of Dreams, Sara Stridsberg revisits the hotel room where Solanas died, the courtroom where she was tried and convicted of attempting to murder Andy Warhol, the Georgia wastelands where she spent her childhood, where she was repeatedly raped by her father and beaten by her alcoholic grandfather, and the mental hospitals where she was interned.

Through imagined conversations and monologues, reminisces and rantings, Stridsberg reconstructs this most intriguing and enigmatic of women, articulating the thoughts and fears that she struggled to express in life and giving a powerful, heartbreaking voice to the writer of the infamous SCUM Manifesto.

Biographical Notes

Sara Stridsberg, born in 1972, is a writer and playwright. Her first novel Happy Sally was published in 2004, and her break-through came two years later with the publication of The Faculty of Dreams, her second novel. Her latest novel, Darling River, was published in 2010. In addition to several, important prizes (see below) she has been shortlisted to the prestigious August Prize three times, most recently. in 2012 for her collection of plays, Medealand and other plays. Sara Stridsberg lives in Stockholm.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857054739
  • Publication date: 31 May 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
MacLehose Press

The Gravity of Love

Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg
Quercus

An Ocean of Minutes

Thea Lim
Authors:
Thea Lim

How long would you wait for the one you love? The heartbreaking literary romance for fans of The Time Traveller's Wife. In September 1981 Polly and Frank, a young couple from Buffalo, New York, arrive at the time travel terminal at Houston Intercontinental Airport in a quarantine taxi. One will travel, and one will stay.As a flu pandemic sweeps 1980s America, the only means for many to pay for expensive lifesaving treatment is for a loved one to travel into the future as a Journeyman, a migrant worker for importation company TimeRaiser. When Frank succumbs, his girlfriend Polly signs up for a twelve-year bond to save his life. Frank promises to meet Polly on her arrival in Galveston, Texas in 1993. However, when Polly is rerouted and arrives five years late into an unfamiliar landscape ravaged by the epidemic, Frank is nowhere to be found.Displaced and alone in a divided America, with no status and no money, Polly must find a way to locate Frank, to discover if he survived, and if their love has endured. The Ocean of Minutes is a timely exploration of migration and the devastating love story of two people who are at once mere weeks and many years apart.

riverrun

The Consolation of Maps

Thomas Bourke
Authors:
Thomas Bourke
MacLehose Press

An Oblique Place

Caterina Pascual Söderbaum
Authors:
Caterina Pascual Söderbaum
MacLehose Press

After the Winter

Guadalupe Nettel
Authors:
Guadalupe Nettel
Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

Escape to the heart of beautiful, sun-drenched Brittany with the bestselling author of The Villa and The Little Theatre by the Sea. The perfect treat for fans of Santa Montefiore and Veronica Henry.For most of her life Colette has avoided returning to her homeland - the beautiful island of Belle-Ile - afraid to confront the painful memories she left behind. She is living on the Cornish coast when she hears about her mother Thea's failing health and reluctantly she decides to return. But can Colette ever forgive Thea for what she has done?Despite Colette's wariness, romantic Belle-Ile, where her mother runs the local flower shop, still fascinates her and as Thea opens up to her for the first time, Colette finds herself softening and being drawn back into the landscape of her past. She meets Étienne, a tortured soul who shares her confused feelings towards the island, and a strong bond begins to develop between them.But the ghosts of the past still linger. What happened all those years ago and how did it cause the rift between mother and daughter? It becomes clear that the beauty of Belle-Ile hides a devastating family secret - one that Colette is determined to unravel at any cost.

riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill
Quercus

Adventures in Modern Marriage

William Nicholson
Authors:
William Nicholson

With pace, wit and a beady eye, Adventures in Modern Marriage revisits the characters from Nicholson's highly acclaimed The Secret Intensity of Everyday Life. But now the children are grown up, and the adults are older, though not always wiser. Here is a big-hearted novel about life and love in the bestselling vein of Colm Toibin and Nick Hornby'So incredibly accurate and true. Utterly captures the sense of quiet desperation of ordinary lives ... and the ways in which life turns on a sixpence' Kate Mosse on The Secret Intensity of Everyday LifeFocusing on Henry and Laura Broad and their daughter Carrie, this is a minute - but in true Nicholson style, extraordinarily empathetic - dissection of relationships and what keeps them going. It is an acute and compassionate look at male mid-life crises, female sexual desire, death and the fear of it, children and the trouble with them - all the things we battle with every day.

riverrun

I Am Behind You

John Ajvide Lindqvist
Authors:
John Ajvide Lindqvist

MacLehose Press

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme

Lars Mytting
Authors:
Lars Mytting

By Norway's bestselling novelist and the author of NORWEGIAN WOOD, a family story of epic scale. Edvard grows up on a remote mountain farmstead in Norway with his taciturn grandfather, Sverre. The death of his parents, when he was three years old, has always been shrouded in mystery - he has never been told how or where it took place and has only a distant memory of his mother. But he knows that the fate of his grandfather's brother, Einar, is somehow bound up with this mystery. One day a coffin is delivered for his grandfather long before his death - a meticulous, beautiful piece of craftsmanship. Perhaps Einar is not dead after all. Edvard's desperate quest to unlock the family's tragic secrets takes him on a long journey - from Norway to the Shetlands, and to the battlefields of France - to the discovery of a very unusual inheritance. The Sixteen Trees of the Somme is about the love of wood and finding your own self, a beautifully intricate and moving tale that spans an entire century.Translated from the Norwegian by Paul Russell Garrett

MacLehose Press

Madame Bovary of the Suburbs

Sophie Divry
Authors:
Sophie Divry
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 1

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes
riverrun

I'll Eat When I'm Dead

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland
Quercus

The Madwoman Upstairs

Catherine Lowell
Authors:
Catherine Lowell

'A funny, smart read with a kick-ass heroine' Sun on Sunday. A witty, light-hearted comedy about love and fiction, and the all-important difference between the two. Think you know Charlotte, Emily & Anne? Think again. Samantha Whipple is the last remaining descendent of the illustrious Brontë family, of Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre fame. After losing her father, a brilliant author in his own right, it is up to Samantha to piece together the mysterious family inheritance lurking somewhere in her past - yet the only clues she has at her disposal are the Brontë's own novels. With the aid of her handsome but inscrutable Oxford tutor, Samantha must repurpose the tools of literature to unearth an untold family legacy, and in the process, finds herself face to face with what may be literature's greatest secret.

MacLehose Press

The Longest Night

Otto de Kat
Authors:
Otto de Kat
Quercus

A Harvest of Thorns

Corban Addison
Authors:
Corban Addison

A beloved American corporation with an explosive secret. A disgraced former journalist looking for redemption. A corporate executive with nothing left to lose.In Dhaka, Bangladesh, a garment factory burns to the ground, claiming the lives of hundreds of workers, mostly young women. Amid the rubble, a bystander captures a heart-stopping image-a teenage girl lying in the dirt, her body broken by a multi-story fall, and over her mouth a mask of fabric bearing the label of one of America's largest retailers, Presto Omnishops Corporation. When the photo goes viral, it fans the flames of a decades old controversy about sweatshops, labor rights, and the ethics of globalization.A year later, in Washington, D.C., Joshua Griswold, a disgraced former journalist for the Washington Post, receives an anonymous summons from a corporate whistleblower promising information about Presto. There, to Griswold's astonishment, he meets Cameron Alexander, Presto's long-time general counsel. Alexander, who has secrets of his own, offers Griswold confidential information about Presto's apparel supply chain.For Griswold, the challenge of exposing Presto's willful negligence is irresistible, as is the chance, however slight, at redemption. Deploying his old journalistic skills, he builds a historic case against Presto, setting the stage for a war in the courtroom and in the media that Griswold is determined to win-both to salvage his reputation and to provoke a revolution of conscience in Presto's boardroom that could change the course of the fashion industry across the globe.

MacLehose Press

The Bickford Fuse

Andrey Kurkov
Authors:
Andrey Kurkov
Quercus

Outstanding

Kathryn Flett
Authors:
Kathryn Flett
MacLehose Press

Diary Of A Body

Daniel Pennac
Authors:
Daniel Pennac
Quercus

The Eternal City

Domenica De Rosa
Authors:
Domenica De Rosa

A heart-warming tale of sibling rivalry, secrets, love and death, steeped in local colour and noise and tender in its depiction of family at their worst, and at their best from Domenica de Rosa, author of the bestselling Dr Ruth Galloway series under the name Elly Griffiths. 'Witty and as light as a tiramisu but with tart insight on sibling rivalry' Nottingham Evening PostGaby, the youngest of the de Angelis sisters, always secretly knew she was her father Enzo's favourite; so when Enzo dies on the day her own daughter is born, her life is turned upside down. In the emotional aftermath of the funeral, it emerges that her father has asked that his ashes be taken back his native city, Rome. Suddenly, Gaby and her new family are thrown headfirst into the wider de Angelis clan, and all of their conflicting ideas and opinions. As the family journeys to Rome to say a final goodbye to Enzo, emotions run high; but none higher than Gaby's, as she comes face to face with the man she once thought she would marry, and is forced to question everything of which, until now, she was so sure.