Guadalupe Nettel - After the Winter - Quercus

After the Winter

By Guadalupe Nettel

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

A slick, darkly ironic love story - set between Paris and New York - for fans of Junot Díaz

A shy young Mexican woman moves to Paris to study literature. Cecilia has few friends, and a morbid fascination with watching the funerals taking place in the cemetery outside her apartment. She suddenly strikes up a close platonic relationship with her neighbour, a sickly young man who shares her interest in death and believes we can communicate with the dead. After coming to entirely depend on him for company and routine, Cecilia is left devastated by his decision to go to Sicily for his health, and is left alone in an unfriendly city once more.

Claudio, meanwhile, lives in New York with the submissive, quiet, but very wealthy Ruth. She makes few demands of him, whilst acquiescing to all his desires and indulging his obsessive, misogynistic nature. He meets Cecilia by chance whilst visiting a friend in Paris and these two very different stories collide with transformative consequences.

Translated from the Spanish by Rosalind Harvey

Biographical Notes

Guadalupe Nettel, a Bogotá 39 author and Granta "Best Untranslated Writer," has received numerous prestigious awards, including the Gilberto Owen National Literature Prize, the Antonin Artaud Prize, the Ribera del Duero Short Fiction Award, and most recently the 2014 Herralde Novel Prize for After the Winter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857055101
  • Publication date: 02 Nov 2017
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
Nettel creates marvellous parallels between the sorrows and follies of her human characters and the creatures they live with. — Carmela Ciuraru, New York Times.
Guadalupe Nettel is one of the most interesting voices of the new Mexican fiction. — J.A. Masoliver Rodenas, La Vanguardia.
The gaze [Nettel] turns on madnesses both temperate and destructive, on manias, on deviances, is so sharp that it has us seeing straight into our own obsessions. — Xavier Hussein, Le Monde.
The career of this young storyteller is worth keeping an eye on. A master of style, with a marvelous poetic naturalism, her ideas and manners distinguish her from what we are accustomed to in Mexican literature. — Joaquin Marco, El Cultural.
Quercus

An Ocean of Minutes

Thea Lim
Authors:
Thea Lim

How long would you wait for the one you love? The heartbreaking literary romance for fans of The Time Traveller's Wife. In September 1981 Polly and Frank, a young couple from Buffalo, New York, arrive at the time travel terminal at Houston Intercontinental Airport in a quarantine taxi. One will travel, and one will stay.As a flu pandemic sweeps 1980s America, the only means for many to pay for expensive lifesaving treatment is for a loved one to travel into the future as a Journeyman, a migrant worker for importation company TimeRaiser. When Frank succumbs, his girlfriend Polly signs up for a twelve-year bond to save his life. Frank promises to meet Polly on her arrival in Galveston, Texas in 1993. However, when Polly is rerouted and arrives five years late into an unfamiliar landscape ravaged by the epidemic, Frank is nowhere to be found.Displaced and alone in a divided America, with no status and no money, Polly must find a way to locate Frank, to discover if he survived, and if their love has endured. The Ocean of Minutes is a timely exploration of migration and the devastating love story of two people who are at once mere weeks and many years apart.

Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

Escape to the heart of beautiful, sun-drenched Brittany with the bestselling author of The Villa and The Little Theatre by the Sea. The perfect treat for fans of Santa Montefiore and Veronica Henry.For most of her life Colette has avoided returning to her homeland - the beautiful island of Belle-Ile - afraid to confront the painful memories she left behind. She is living on the Cornish coast when she hears about her mother Thea's failing health and reluctantly she decides to return. But can Colette ever forgive Thea for what she has done?Despite Colette's wariness, romantic Belle-Ile, where her mother runs the local flower shop, still fascinates her and as Thea opens up to her for the first time, Colette finds herself softening and being drawn back into the landscape of her past. She meets Étienne, a tortured soul who shares her confused feelings towards the island, and a strong bond begins to develop between them.But the ghosts of the past still linger. What happened all those years ago and how did it cause the rift between mother and daughter? It becomes clear that the beauty of Belle-Ile hides a devastating family secret - one that Colette is determined to unravel at any cost.

riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill
riverrun

At the Stranger's Gate

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik
riverrun

I Am Behind You

John Ajvide Lindqvist
Authors:
John Ajvide Lindqvist
MacLehose Press

Madame Bovary of the Suburbs

Sophie Divry
Authors:
Sophie Divry
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 1

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes

WHO IS VERNON SUBUTEX?An urban legend. A fall from grace. The mirror who reflects us all.Vernon Subutex was once the proprietor of Revolver, an infamous music shop in Bastille. His legend spread throughout Paris. But by the 2000s his shop is struggling. With his savings gone, his unemployment benefit cut, and the friend who had been covering his rent suddenly dead, Vernon Subutex finds himself down and out on the Paris streets.He has one final card up his sleeve. Even as he holds out his hand to beg for the first time, a throwaway comment he once made on Facebook is taking the internet by storm. Vernon does not realise this, but the word is out: Vernon Subutex has in his possession the last filmed recordings of Alex Bleach, the famous musician and Vernon's benefactor, who has only just died of a drug overdose. A crowd of people from record producers to online trolls and porn stars are now on Vernon's trail.Translated from the French by Frank Wynne

riverrun

I'll Eat When I'm Dead

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland

'Biting, funny and brilliantly subversive; like The Devil Wears Prada meets American Psycho' Louise O'Neill'Had me hooked with its biting satire of the fashion world's dark underbelly. And what a heroine!' Rhiannon Lucy Cosslett'Funny, fierce, feminist' Red RAGE Fashion Book is the world's most dynamic, ambitious magazine. Its editors ­- like Cat Ono - have the power to change minds and the market. They're savvy, sisterly and polished to perfection. Even the one found dead in her office. Everyone thinks Hillary starved to death - but Cat knows her friend's dieting wasn't a capital P problem. If beauty kills, it'd take more than that. Hot-headed and fiercely feminist, Cat's sure she can match the investigating skills of Detective Mark Hutton, solve the case, and achieve sartorial fulfillment.But going undercover, Cat's in over her head, and soon becomes snared in a very stylish web of drugs, sex, lies and moisturizer that will change her look - and outlook - forever.Cat's about to find out what it really means to be a fashion victim.

Quercus

The Madwoman Upstairs

Catherine Lowell
Authors:
Catherine Lowell

'A funny, smart read with a kick-ass heroine' Sun on Sunday. A witty, light-hearted comedy about love and fiction, and the all-important difference between the two. Think you know Charlotte, Emily & Anne? Think again. Samantha Whipple is the last remaining descendent of the illustrious Brontë family, of Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre fame. After losing her father, a brilliant author in his own right, it is up to Samantha to piece together the mysterious family inheritance lurking somewhere in her past - yet the only clues she has at her disposal are the Brontë's own novels. With the aid of her handsome but inscrutable Oxford tutor, Samantha must repurpose the tools of literature to unearth an untold family legacy, and in the process, finds herself face to face with what may be literature's greatest secret.

MacLehose Press

The Longest Night

Otto de Kat
Authors:
Otto de Kat
riverrun

Six Four

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama

'This novel is a real, out-of-the-blue original. I've never read anything like it' New York Times Book ReviewTHE MILLION-SELLING JAPANESE CRIME PHENOMENON, NOW A UK BESTSELLER.SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2016 CWA INTERNATIONAL DAGGER.SIX FOUR.THE NIGHTMARE NO PARENT COULD ENDURE. THE CASE NO DETECTIVE COULD SOLVE. THE TWIST NO READER COULD PREDICT. For five days in January 1989, the parents of a seven-year-old Tokyo schoolgirl sat and listened to the demands of their daughter's kidnapper. They would never learn his identity. They would never see their daughter again.For the fourteen years that followed, the Japanese public listened to the police's apologies. They would never forget the botched investigation that became known as 'Six Four'. They would never forgive the authorities their failure.For one week in late 2002, the press officer attached to the police department in question confronted an anomaly in the case. He could never imagine what he would uncover. He would never have looked if he'd known what he would find.

MacLehose Press

The Girl in the Spider's Web

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
Quercus

Outstanding

Kathryn Flett
Authors:
Kathryn Flett
MacLehose Press

Diary Of A Body

Daniel Pennac
Authors:
Daniel Pennac

From a particularly humiliating accident at scout camp, to the final stages of terminal illness, Daniel Pennac's warm, witty and heart-breaking novel shows the rise and fall of an ordinary man, told through his observations of his own body.It is with damp eyes (not to mention underpants) that our narrator begins his diary, seeking through it to come to terms with the demoralising quirks of his fleshy confines. Through the joys and horrors of puberty to the triumphs of adolescence, we grow to love him through every growth, leak and wound, as he finds himself developing muscles, falling in love, and then leaving school to join the French Resistance.Yet, as ever, this is only half the story. As years pass and hairs grey, everything he took for granted begins to turn against him. Tackling taboo topics with honesty and charm, Pennac's wit remains sharp even as everything else begins to sag. This is a hugely original story of the most relatable of unlikely love stories: a human, and the body that defines him.Translated from the French by Alyson Waters

riverrun

Kitchens of the Great Midwest

J. Ryan Stradal
Authors:
J. Ryan Stradal
MacLehose Press

Talking to Ghosts

Hervé Le Corre
Authors:
Hervé Le Corre
Quercus

Love Out Of Season

Ray Connolly
Authors:
Ray Connolly

Perched between bleak moors and a cold, grey winter sea, the North Devon Riviera Hotel is an unlikely destination for February. But, for the handful of guests gathered under its roof it's just about perfect. Amy Miller has fallen in love with a married man. A famous married man. And they've been caught. With the tabloid press in pursuit, Amy's gone into hiding, holing up where she's sure no-one will ever find her. Waiting for her lover to call, Amy begins to question their affair, wondering if it's really what she wanted, wondering even if there is a point to love... But as the hotel prepares for its Valentine's ball and the tabloids circle ever closer, Amy and the North Devon Riviera's other guests are going to discover that love - whether it's young love, old love, shared love or unrequited love, a night's love or a lifetime's love - does indeed make the world go round.

Quercus

The Eternal City

Domenica De Rosa
Authors:
Domenica De Rosa
Quercus

Snow Angels

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
MacLehose Press

Alex

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre