Andrey Kurkov - The Bickford Fuse - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848666054
    • Publication date:05 May 2016
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848666061
    • Publication date:15 Jun 2017

The Bickford Fuse

By Andrey Kurkov

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

A satirical epic of the Soviet soul by the bestselling author of Death and the Penguin

Catch-22 meets The Brothers Karamazov in the last great satire of the Soviet Era

The Great Patriotic War is stumbling to a close, but a new darkness has fallen over Soviet Russia. And for a disparate, disconnected clutch of wanderers - many thousands of miles apart but linked by a common goal - four parallel journeys are just beginning.

Gorych and his driver, rolling through water, sand and snow on an empty petrol tank; the occupant of a black airship, looking down benevolently as he floats above his Fatherland; young Andrey, who leaves his religious community in search of a new life; and Kharitonov, who trudges from the Sea of Japan to Leningrad, carrying a fuse that, when lit, could blow all and sundry to smithereens.

Written in the final years of Communism, The Bickford Fuse is a satirical epic of the Soviet soul, exploring the origins and dead-ends of the Russian mentality from the end of World War Two to the Union's collapse. Blending allegory and fable with real events, and as deliriously absurd as anything Kurkov has written, it is both an elegy for lost years and a song of hope for a future not yet set in stone.

Translated from the Russian by Boris Dralyuk

Biographical Notes

Born near Leningrad in 1961, Kurkov was a journalist, prison warder, cameraman and screenplay-writer before his novels took off. He received "hundreds of rejections" and was a pioneer of self-publishing, selling more than 75,000 copies of his books in a single year. His novel Death and the Penguin, his first in English translation, was an international bestseller, drawing acclaim from all quarters. He lives in Kiev with his English wife and their three children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857055583
  • Publication date: 05 May 2016
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
Kurkov's style is spare and effective, drawing us with deceptive ease into a dense, complex world full of wonderful characters. — Michael Palin.
Kurkov is the real thing . . . Comparisons with Bulgakov's zany Moscow are not far-fetched. — Kapka Kassabova, Guardian.
Some people see him as a latter-day Bulgakov; to others he's a Ukrainian Murakami. — Phoebe Taplin, Guardian.
His bestselling novels are known for their surreal touches, but Andrey Kurkov, the Ukrainian novelist hailed as a post-Soviet Kafka, also has an uncanny ability to predict events in the real world around him. — Daily Telegraph.
Beguiling ... frequently funny ... completely its own thing. it may even be a little bit of a masterpiece — Sam Leith, Financial Times
A kind of Ukrainian Kurt Vonnegut . . . If you want to read about the Soviet Union but can't face reading, say, Robert Service, and you have a penchant for the strange and surreal, you could do worse than reading Kurkov. — Ian Samson, Spectator.
A sharp and funny examination of the Russian soul — Eileen Battersby, Irish Times
MacLehose Press

Millennium 5: Continuing Stieg Larsson's Millennium Series

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz

The fifth in the Millennium series that began with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo - the global publishing phenomenon that has sold more than 90 million copies worldwide."Lagercrantz has more than met the challenge. Larsson's brainchildren are in good hands" Wall Street Journal"Lagercrantz pulls it off, and with a great deal of style" Observer"Salander and Blomkvist are just as compelling as ever" New York TimesNow Lisbeth Salander (crime fiction's kick-ass heroine) and Mikael Blomkvist (an investigative journalist of unusual integrity) are back once again in the fifth installment of a series that changed the way we read crime novels.Translated from the Swedish by George Goulding

MacLehose Press

A People without a Past

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross
riverrun

Basket of Deplorables

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman
MacLehose Press

Madame Bovary of the Suburbs

Sophie Divry
Authors:
Sophie Divry

The story of a woman's life, from childhood to death, somewhere in provincial France, from the 1950s to just shy of 2025. She has doting parents, does well at school, finds a loving husband after one abortive attempt at passion, buys a big house with a moonlit terrace, makes decent money, has children, changes jobs, retires, grows old and dies. All in the comfort that the middle-classes have grown accustomed to. But she's bored. She takes up all sorts of outlets to try to make something happen in her life: adultery, charity work, esotericism, manic house-cleaning, motherhood and various hobbies - each one abandoned faster than the last. But no matter what she does, her life remains unfocussed and unfulfilled. Nothing truly satisfies her, because deep down - just like the town where she lives - the landscape is non-descript, flat, horizontal.Sophie Divry dramatises the philosophical conflict between freedom and comfort that marks women's lives in a materialistic world. Our heroine is an endearing, contemporary Emma Bovary, and Divry's prose will remind readers of the best of Houellebecq, the cold, implacable historian who paints a precise portrait of an era and those who inhabit it and in doing so renders existence indelibly absurd.Translated from the French by Alison Anderson

Quercus

A Perfect Husband

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd
MacLehose Press

Three Days and a Life

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
MacLehose Press

After the War

Hervé Le Corre
Authors:
Hervé Le Corre

1950's Bordeaux. Even now, the Second World War is never far from people's memories, particularly in a city where the scars of collaboration and resistance are more keenly felt than ever. But another war has already begun. A war without a name, far away across the sea, in Algeria, where young men are sent to fight in a brutal conflict.Daniel knows what awaits him. He's heard stories. Patrols, ambushes, reprisals, massacres, mutilations, all beneath a burning north African sun. He has just a month left before he leaves but, haunted by the loss of his parents and sister in the atrocities of the last war, Daniel questions why he is even going to fight in the first place.Meanwhile, past crimes are returning to haunt Albert Darlac, the godfather of Bordeaux: corrupt police chief, fascist sympathiser and one-time collaborator. Before long, a series of explosive events will set off a spiral of violence that will bring the horrific legacy of wars past and present to the streets of Bordeaux.Translated from the French by Sam Taylor

MacLehose Press

Nevada Days

Bernardo Atxaga
Authors:
Bernardo Atxaga
MacLehose Press

Avenging Angels

Lyuba Vinogradova
Authors:
Lyuba Vinogradova
MacLehose Press

The Longest Night

Otto de Kat
Authors:
Otto de Kat
riverrun

Larchfield

Polly Clark
Authors:
Polly Clark
Quercus

The Christmas Guest

Daisy Bell
Authors:
Daisy Bell
MacLehose Press

The Unseen

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen

Longlisted for the Man Booker International Prize 2017Nobody can leave an island. An island is a cosmos in a nutshell, where the stars slumber in the grass beneath the snow. But occasionally someone tries . . . Ingrid Barrøy is born on an island that bears her name - a holdfast for a single family, their livestock, their crops, their hopes and dreams.Her father dreams of building a quay that will connect them to the mainland, but closer ties to the wider world come at a price. Her mother has her own dreams - more children, a smaller island, a different life - and there is one question Ingrid must never ask her.Island life is hard, a living scratched from the dirt or trawled from the sea, so when Ingrid comes of age, she is sent to the mainland to work for one of the wealthy families on the coast.But Norway too is waking up to a wider world, a modern world that is capricious and can be cruel. Tragedy strikes, and Ingrid must fight to protect the home she thought she had left behind.Translated from the Norwegian by Don Bartlett and Don Shaw

riverrun

Pen 33

Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström, ROSLUND/HELLSTR
Authors:
Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström, ROSLUND/HELLSTR
riverrun

Box 21

Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Authors:
Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
MacLehose Press

Cry, Mother Spain

Lydie Salvayre
Authors:
Lydie Salvayre

Aged fifteen, as Franco's forces begin their murderous purges and cities across Spain rise up against the old order, Montse has never heard the word fascista before. In any case, the villagers say facha (the ch is a real Spanish ch, by the way, with a real spit).Montse lives in a small village, high in the hills, where few people can read or write and fewer still ever leave. If everything goes according to her mother's plan, Montse will never leave either. She will become a good, humble maid for the local landowners, muchísimas gracias, with every Sunday off to dance the jota in the church square.But Montse's world is changing. Her brother José has just returned from Lérida with a red and black scarf and a new, dangerous vocabulary and his words are beginning to open up new realms to his little sister. She might not understand half of what he says, but how can anyone become a maid in the Burgos family when their head is ringing with shouts of Revolución, Comunidad and Libertad?The war, it seems, has arrived in the nick of time.

Quercus

The Foxglove Tree

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

As war fades, they must rebuild their lives. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty family saga, perfect for fans of Catherine King and Nadine Dorries. Returning to his home town from the Great War, Allan Jamieson is hailed as a hero. But inside he is a changed man, so affected by his experiences at the Front that he withdraws from his wife Kaye and their young son. Allan soon resumes his civilian career as a respected barrister, and takes on the defence of a beautiful young woman accused of killing her war-wounded husband. Alienated from his wife, it is not long before Allan and the woman have become recklessly involved. As war casts its long shadow over everyone's lives, the townspeople must learn to start again.

Quercus

The Night in Question

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham
Quercus

The Food of Love

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith
MacLehose Press

The First Man

Xavier-Marie Bonnot
Authors:
Xavier-Marie Bonnot

Commandant Michel de Palma, known by his colleagues as 'the Baron', has chosen early retirement and plans to travel the world. But he is dragged back into the force when a case that has haunted him for a decade erupts once more. Resurfacing from Le Guen's Cave, a prehistoric grotto thirty-eight metres below sea level outside Marseille, an experienced diver mysteriously gets into difficulties. Meanwhile, Thomas Autran, a serial killer with  a peculiar interest in the supernatural, suffering from a dangerous form of schizophrenia, is once again on the run. Ancient cave paintings, savage murders committed according to a precise ritual: a return to the first ages of humanity, the era of the great Palaeolithic hunters. And despite the gory trail left at each crime scene, de Palma must first understand the child, the secrets of a family, a story of exploitation - and revenge - before  he can track down the First Man.