Carolina Sanín - The Children - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857055859
    • Publication date:18 May 2017

The Children

By Carolina Sanín

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

A haunting fable of fantasy, mystery and bureaucracy from one of Colombia's most talented young writers.

One day, as she enters her local supermarket, Laura Romero has a startling encounter with a beggar, who seems to offer her a child. A short while later, in the middle of the night, she discovers a mysterious young boy on the pavement outside her apartment building: Fidel, who is six years old, a child with seemingly no origins or meaning. With few clues to guide her as she tries to discover his real identity, Laura finds herself swept into a bureaucratic maelstrom of fantastical proportions. From the National Institute for the Welfare of Families to the Hearth & Home Centre, from imagined worlds to lost loves, The Children explores the limits of isolation and intimacy, motherhood, neglect and compassion, filtered through the lives of two lonely people, whose coming together is less for company and more to share their loneliness.

A tender, intelligent novel from a startling and brilliant new voice in English translation.

Translated from the Spanish by Nick Caistor

Biographical Notes

Carolina Sanín is a Colombian author and academic, born in Bogotá in 1973. She studied for a Ph.D in Hispanic Literature at Yale University and has taught at the State University of New York and the University of Los Andes. Her previous works include novels, essays, short stories and writing for children. The Children was first published in Spanish in 2014 and is Sanín's first to appear in English.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857055866
  • Publication date: 18 May 2017
  • Page count: 160
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
Disturbing and original, exploring the limits of identity and isolation — Juan Carlos Morales, RNE
A profoundly original novel, displaying the influence of Freud and Dickens — José Luis Ibáñez Ridao, Onda Cero
An unusual novel, with uncommon relationships, characters and structures, blending humour with terror. — periodistadigital.com
An excellent writer; one of the best in Colombia — Evelio Rosero, author of THE ARMIES
MacLehose Press

One Clear Ice-cold January Morning at the Beginning of the 21st Century

Roland Schimmelpfennig
Authors:
Roland Schimmelpfennig
MacLehose Press

The Time in Between

Marcello Fois
Authors:
Marcello Fois

Vincenzo Chironi sets foot for the first time on the island of Sardinia - 'a raft in the middle of the Mediterranean' - in 1943, a year of famine and malaria. All he has with him is an old document as proof of his name and date of birth, but to find out who he really is he has had to undertake an even more stressful journey than the one he has just faced in the steamer from mainland Italy to Sardinia. At Núoro he will find his grandfather, a master blacksmith, who will act as a substitute father but also as an accomplice to him, and his aunt Marianna, who greets the unexpected arrival of a previously unknown nephew as an opportunity to redeem a life previously afflicted by misfortune.Years later, when the presence of Vincenzo Chironi in Núoro seems to have become taken for granted, as natural as the sea and rocks, his blood asserts itself. Vincenzo meets Cecilia, a beautiful girl with eyes of an undefinable shade who is a wartime refugee from elsewhere in Sardinia, and falling in love seems the only course open to either of them. Never mind that she is already engaged to Nicola, a boy with whom Vincenzo is indirectly connected by marriage through his aunt Marianna . . . Even if it may be a fact that "disobedience must involve punishment", it may also be true that love cannot avoid adding the latest link to an endless chain.

MacLehose Press

The Longest Night

Otto de Kat
Authors:
Otto de Kat

A masterpiece of literary craft and concision; sparse, beautiful and hugely affecting - Daily MailSince the liberation of the Netherlands, Emma Verweij has been living in Rotterdam, in a street which became a stronghold of friendships for its inhabitants during the Second World War. She marries Bruno, they have two sons, and she determines to block out the years she spent in Nazi Berlin during the war, with her first husband Carl. But now, ninety-six years old and on the eve of her death, long- forgotten memories crowd again into her consciousness, flashbacks of happier years, and the tragedy of the war, of Carl, of her father, and of the friends she has lost. In The Longest Night, his impressive, reflective new novel after News from Berlin, Otto de Kat deftly distils momentous events of 20th-century history into the lives of his characters. In Emma, the past and the present coincide in limpid fragments of rare, melancholy beauty.Translated from the Dutch by Laura Watkinson

MacLehose Press

The Acid Test

Élmer Mendoza
Authors:
Élmer Mendoza
riverrun

Six Four

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama

'This novel is a real, out-of-the-blue original. I've never read anything like it' New York Times Book ReviewTHE MILLION-SELLING JAPANESE CRIME PHENOMENON, NOW A UK BESTSELLER.SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2016 CWA INTERNATIONAL DAGGER.SIX FOUR.THE NIGHTMARE NO PARENT COULD ENDURE. THE CASE NO DETECTIVE COULD SOLVE. THE TWIST NO READER COULD PREDICT. For five days in January 1989, the parents of a seven-year-old Tokyo schoolgirl sat and listened to the demands of their daughter's kidnapper. They would never learn his identity. They would never see their daughter again.For the fourteen years that followed, the Japanese public listened to the police's apologies. They would never forget the botched investigation that became known as 'Six Four'. They would never forgive the authorities their failure.For one week in late 2002, the press officer attached to the police department in question confronted an anomaly in the case. He could never imagine what he would uncover. He would never have looked if he'd known what he would find.

MacLehose Press

The Bickford Fuse

Andrey Kurkov
Authors:
Andrey Kurkov
Quercus

Outstanding

Kathryn Flett
Authors:
Kathryn Flett
riverrun

Kitchens of the Great Midwest

J. Ryan Stradal
Authors:
J. Ryan Stradal

Who is Eva Thorvald? To her single father, a chef, she's a pint-sized recipe tester and the love of his life. To the chilli chowdown contestants of Cook County, Illinois, she's a fire-eating demon. To the fashionable foodie goddess of supper clubs, she's a wanton threat. She's an enigma, a secret ingredient that no one can put their finger on. Eva will surprise everyone. On the day before her eleventh birthday, she's cultivating chilli peppers in her wardrobe like a pro. Abandoned by her mother, gangly and poor, Eva arms herself with the weapons of her unknown heritage: a kick-ass palate and a passion bordering on obsession. Over the years, her tastes grow, and so do her ambitions. One day Eva will be the greatest chef in the world. But along the way, the people she meets will shape her - and she, them - in ways unforgettable, riotous and profound. So she - for one - knows exactly who she is by the time her mother returns.Kitchens of the Great Midwest is about the family you lose, the friends you make and chance connections that can define a life. Joyful, quirky or brazen, everyone lends their voice to tell Eva's story - one that's as heartwarming as it is irresistible, taking the bitter with the sweet.

MacLehose Press

Silver Bullets

Élmer Mendoza
Authors:
Élmer Mendoza
Quercus

Fragments

Sarah Foot
Authors:
Sarah Foot
MacLehose Press

The Villa Rouge

Maggie Ross
Authors:
Maggie Ross

MacLehose Press

Talking to Ghosts

Hervé Le Corre
Authors:
Hervé Le Corre

riverrun

Cairo

Chris Womersley
Authors:
Chris Womersley

'Who wants to be the same as everyone else? You don't want to be ordinary, do you?' Tom always imagined he was adopted. At 17, he flees ordinariness in small-town Australia for Melbourne and a run-down block named Cairo. There he meets Max Cheever. Enigmatic, artistic, anarchic: Max liberates Tom into a new world - of first love, first crimes - and the greatest art heist of the twentieth century. This is his family now. But of all this summer's lessons, the cruellest will be telling what is real from what is fake.

Quercus

Lighthouse Bay

Kimberley Freeman
Authors:
Kimberley Freeman

1901: Isabella Winterbourne has suffered the worst loss a woman can know, and can no longer bear her husband nor his oppressive upper-class family. On a voyage between London and Sydney to accompany a priceless gift to the Australian parliament, Isabella is the sole survivor of a shipwreck off the sun-drenched Queensland coast. But in this strange new place, she finds she cannot escape her past quite as easily as she'd hoped. 2011: A woman returns from Paris to her beachside hometown to reconcile with her sister. But she, too, has a past that is hard to escape, and her sister is not in a mood to forgive her. Strange noises at night and activity at the abandoned lighthouse raise her curiosity, and she finds herself investigating a century-old town mystery.

Jo Fletcher Books

Limit

Frank Schätzing
Authors:
Frank Schätzing
Quercus

Bay of Secrets

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

The bestselling author of The Villa and The Saffron Trail returns with a gorgeous summer read about romance, family and the secrets we keep from those we love. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Dinah Jefferies and Harriet Evans.Spain, 1939. Following the wishes of her parents to keep her safe during the war, a young girl, Julia, enters a convent in Barcelona. Looking for a way to maintain her links to the outside world, she volunteers to help in a maternity clinic. But worrying adoption practices in the clinic force Sister Julia to decide how far she will go to help those placed in her care. England, 2011. Six months after her parents' shocking death, 34-year-old journalist and jazz enthusiast Ruby Rae has finally found the strength to pack away their possessions and sell the family home. But as she does so, she unearths a devastating secret her parents, Vivien and Tom, had kept from her all her life.

Quercus

Shelter from the Storm

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Under a Cloud-Soft Sky

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

An emotional saga about the meaning of home from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.1890, County Durham. Dennes Eliot has worked hard to create a better life for himself. Now a respectable worker at the local Foundry and boarding with his friend Nat, he tries his best to forget his shameful beginnings. But can he really fulfil his dreams in a place where everyone knows his past? Grace Hemingway knows all about the Foundry her father runs, and loves the community built around it. But her parents are grooming her for a stunning London marriage to a man she's not yet met. Can she bear to leave the place she calls home?

Heron Books

The Misinterpretation of Tara Jupp

Eva Rice
Authors:
Eva Rice

The brilliant new novel from the bestselling author of The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets. 1962, Cornwall. Tara Jupp - vicar's daughter, occasional thief, expert horse-rider and second fiddle to her sister 'the beauty' Lucy - sings at a wedding and is spotted by a record producer. With the spotlight suddenly, thrillingly shining on her alone, the roots of Tara's country existence are shaken free and she is propelled to Swinging Sixties London. Plunged into a dazzling new world of fashion, music and heartache, in a city where skirts are being hitched up as fast as past is being pulled down, can Tara hold the limelight and hold on to who she really is?

Quercus

Love Out Of Season

Ray Connolly
Authors:
Ray Connolly