Pierre Lemaitre - The Great Swindle - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848665798
    • Publication date:03 Nov 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848665804
    • Publication date:05 Nov 2015

The Great Swindle

Au revoir la-haut (English edition)

By Pierre Lemaitre
Read by Gareth Armstrong

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Now a major French film Au revoir là-haut - Prix Goncourt-winning masterpiece by the writer who brought you Alex, Irène and Camille.

October 1918: the war on the Western Front is all but over. Desperate for one last chance of promotion, the ambitious Lieutenant Henri d'Aulnay Pradelle sends two scouts over the top, and secretly shoots them in the back to incite his men to heroic action once more.

And so is set in motion a series of devastating events that will inextricably bind together the fates and fortunes of Pradelle and the two soldiers who witness his crime: Albert Maillard and Édouard Péricourt.

Back in civilian life, Albert and Édouard struggle to adjust to a society whose reverence for its dead cannot quite match its resentment for those who survived. But the two soldiers conspire to enact an audacious form of revenge against the country that abandoned them to penury and despair, with a scheme to swindle the whole of France on an epic scale.

Meanwhile, believing her brother killed in action, Édouard's sister Madeleine has married Pradelle, who is running a little scam of his own...
(P)2015 MacLehose Press

Biographical Notes

Pierre Lemaitre was born in Paris in 1951. He worked for many years as a teacher of literature before becoming a novelist. He was awarded the Crime Writers' Association International Dagger, alongside Fred Vargas, for Alex. In 2013 his novel Au revoir là-haut (The Great Swindle, in English translation) won the Prix Goncourt, France's leading literary award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857055965
  • Publication date: 05 Nov 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
The vast sweep of the novel and its array of extraordinary secondary characters have attracted comparisons with the works of Balzac. Moving, angry, intelligent - and compulsive — Marcel Berlins, The Times
A big, swirling tale that itself reads like a 19th-century novel ... thick with detail, immersing the reader in its elaborately bleak world — Sarah Lyall, New York Times
This book is thick with detail, immersing the reader in its elaborately bleak world ... an irresistible story — Patricia Wall, New York Times
Exceptionally powerful examination of the aftermath of war and of the people whose lives were washed away in its wake — Nick Rennison, Sunday Times
Lemaitre's novel is a rare synthesis of the tragic and the comic - a masterclass in nail-biting suspense ... Frank Wynne is a superb translator who captures the rude exuberance of the original French — Edward Wilson, Independent
Lemaitre's deadpan ironic tone is beautifully caught by his regular translator Frank Wynne. A kind of Ealing comedy with a bruised but still beating heart, this is the most purely enjoyable book I've read this year — Jake Kerridge, Sunday Express
A fast-paced tale, filled with twists and turns, following a mischievous, disillusioned view of post-war France — Astrid de Larminat, Figaro
A masterly epic of post-war France, where impostures triumph and capitalists grow rich from the ruins — Macha Séry, Le Monde
You feel the author's indignation ... Who really profits from war? Crooks, the vengeful and frauds: The Great Swindle is political as much as it is picaresque — Christine Ferniot, Télérama
A dark, burning requiem delivered in glorious prose that is as tough and effective as a punch in the face ... Read this riotous novel: it will leave you stunned — François Busnel, Express
Quercus

The Norse Myths

Dr Tom Birkett
Authors:
Dr Tom Birkett
MacLehose Press

Homeland or Death

Alberto Barrera Tyszka
Authors:
Alberto Barrera Tyszka
Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring
MacLehose Press

Inhuman Resources

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
Jo Fletcher Books

Haunted

Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris

Calexa Rose Dunhill died once, just for a moment - but now someone wants her dead permanently . . . The shocking conclusion to Cemetery Girl by Charlaine Harris, no. 1 bestselling creator of Sookie Stackhouse, and Christopher Golden, bestselling co-creator of Baltimore.They call her the Ghost of Dunhill Cemetery, but most people think 'the Cemetery Girl' is just a story. In some ways, that's true. Her chosen name is Calexa Rose Dunhill, but she doesn't know her real name. When she first arrived here, all she knew was that someone had tried to murder her: they'd dumped her body and left her for dead. Calexa has been hiding out here, afraid to seek out her true identity for fear that her would-be murderer would find her and finish the job. And someone is searching for her . . . a man named Salazar, who holds the key that will unlock the secrets of Calexa's past.Calexa has new secrets as well, including the fact that she was murdered: she did die, if only for a moment - but in that moment, something changed inside her. Now, if someone dies near her, their spirit is drawn to Calexa, drawn into her. It has happened twice before, but now, as her worst fears come true and the killers have found her trail, the third ghost to take up residence in Calexa's soul will change everything . . .

Quercus

The Last Thing She Told Me

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

'Linda Green is bloody brilliant!' Amanda Prowse, number one bestselling author Some secrets have the power to tear a family apart . . . Moments before she dies, Nicola's grandmother Betty whispers to her that there are babies at the bottom of the garden. Nicola reassures her that it is two statues of fairies she has in the garden, but Betty insists there are babies. Nicola's mother Irene claims Betty was talking nonsense, but Nicola is not so sure. And when, after the funeral, her daughter Maisie finds a bone while playing by the fairy statues, Nicola knows that something sinister has taken place. But will unearthing painful family secrets end up tearing Nicola's family apart?

MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava
MacLehose Press

Avenging Angels

Lyuba Vinogradova
Authors:
Lyuba Vinogradova
MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye: Continuing Stieg Larsson's Millennium Series

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
Quercus

The Love Factory

Elaine Proctor
Authors:
Elaine Proctor
riverrun

The Italian Teacher

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman
Quercus

Blood Feud

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

They came for her family. Now she's coming for them. This nail-biting thriller introduces Glasgow's newest gangland mistress, Kerry Casey - a gripping read perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers.Kerry Casey thought she'd made a life away from the dirty dealings of her gangster family. Her father wanted to make them legit - her brother Mickey had other ideas, and now it's got him killed. When Mickey's funeral turns into a bloodbath at the hands of a group of anonymous shooters and Kerry's mother is killed in the crossfire, Kerry finds herself at the head of the Casey family, and desperate for revenge.Running a crime empire is not a job she ever asked for, and not one she wants, but Kerry is determined to fulfil her father's wishes and make the Caseys go straight. First, though, she will find the men who murdered her mother, and she will take them down, no matter what it takes.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

Poems for a world gone to sh*t

Quercus Poetry
Authors:
Quercus Poetry
riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill

'A bold, uncompromising depiction of obsessive love' MARIAN KEYES'O'Neill is a vital and necessary presence in contemporary literature and we are lucky to have her' SARAH PERRY'A real, raw story . . . Louise O'Neill will once again connect to the secret, intimate places of readers' minds and lives' CECELIA AHERNWhen Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard.So it doesn't matter that he's twenty years older. That he sees her only in secret. That, slowly but surely, she's sacrificing everything else in her life to be with him. Sarah's friends are worried. Her father can't understand how she could allow herself to be used like this. And she's on the verge of losing her job.But Sarah can't help it. She is addicted to being desired by Matthew. And love is supposed to hurt. Isn't it?

riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
Jo Fletcher Books

The Triumph of the Dwarves

Markus Heitz
Authors:
Markus Heitz
MacLehose Press

Zen and the Art of Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini

Louise Boni, chief inspector with the Black Forest crime squad, is struggling with her demons. Divorced at forty-two, she is haunted by the shadows of the past. Dreading yet another a dreary winter weekend alone, she receives a call from the departmental chief which signals the strangest assignment of her career - to trail a Japanese monk wandering through the snowy wasteland to the east of Freiburg, dressed only in sandals and a cowl. She sets off reluctantly, and by the time she catches up with him, she discovers that he is injured, and fearfully fleeing some unknown evil. Her investigations uncover a hideous ring of child traffickers, and the repercussions of their crimes will change the course of her own life.Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

Jo Fletcher Books

Stained Light

Naomi Foyle
Authors:
Naomi Foyle

'Foyle has built a fascinating portrait, often reminiscent of Ursula K. Le Guin in its layered complexity'. The fourth title in Naomi Foyle's critically acclaimed Gaia Chronicle is perfect 'for Hunger Games fans of all ages' says Library Journal.Astra Ordott tried - and failed - to deny her destiny.To cleanse her conscience and save those she loves, she made the ultimate sacrifice, giving up her freedom to hand herself over to the Is-Land authorities. But that was ten years ago, and the conflicts that have branded her a psychotic traitor are just getting hotter. All around her, long-simmering conflicts are beginning to boil over again, Non-Land and Is-Land are further from reunification than ever and the wider world is facing devastating threats both old and new. Outside Astra's fortified Gaian homeland, an infertility crisis is threatening the survival of the human race, while global civilisation's reckless pursuit of rare earth mining is infuriating the ancient spirits of the planet.Astra may have found her voice as a messenger of cosmic harmony - but is anyone listening? And if she cannot persuade humanity to respect the elemental laws of the universe, will she at least see her life-long personal enemies, Dr Samrod Blesserson and Ahn Orson, face justice on Earth?

MacLehose Press

The House with the Stained-Glass Window

Zanna Sloniowska
Authors:
Zanna Sloniowska
MacLehose Press

Three Days and a Life

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre