Luca D'Andrea - The Mountain - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857056917
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857056931
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857057440
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017

The Mountain

The Breathtaking Italian Bestseller

By Luca D'Andrea

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

An atmospheric commercial thriller for readers of Stephen King and Joël Dicker, set among Italy's mysterious Dolomite Mountains

A CURSED PLACE. A COLD CASE. A KILLER WHO LEFT NO TRACE.

The huge International bestseller.

Gripping, unputdownable and packed with twists, The Mountain is a thriller that you will never forget.

"Can be compared (with no fear of hyperbole) to Stephen King and Jo Nesbø" - Massimo Vincenz, La Repubblica.

Jeremiah Salinger blames himself. The crash was his fault. He was the only survivor. Now the depression and the nightmares are closing in. Only his daughter Clara can put a smile on his face.

But when he takes Clara to the Bletterbach - a canyon in the Dolomites rich in fossil remains - he overhears by chance a conversation that gives his life renewed focus. In 1985 three students were murdered there, their bodies savaged, limbs severed and strewn by a killer who was never found.

Salinger, a New Yorker, is far from home, and these Italian mountains, where his wife was born, harbour a close-knit, tight-lipped community whose mistrust of outsiders can turn ugly. All the same, solving this mystery might be the only thing that can keep him sane.

Translated from the Italian by Howard Curtis

Biographical Notes

Luca D'Andrea was born in 1979 Bolzano, Italy, where he worked as a teacher for ten years. The Mountain, the most talked-about and fastest-selling book at London Book Fair 2016, was sold in more than 30 countries before it was first published in Italy.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857056900
  • Publication date: 30 Nov 2017
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
A canyon in the Italian Dolomites, beautiful yet sinister, provides a stunning setting for Luca D'Andrea's first thriller . . . D'Andrea piles on the action at the atmosphere with the panache of a seasoned writer. — Marcel Berlins, The Times.
Can be compared (with no fear of hyperbole) to Stephen King and Jo Nesbø. — Massimo Vincenz, La Repubblica.
D'Andrea is a real master. — Sergio Pent, La Stampa.
A perfectly constructed thriller . . . Draws the reader right in. — Bayerischer Rundfunk TV "Capriccio"
A brilliant, enthralling debut. — Stern.
An unbelievably nail-biting thriller. — Alpin - Das BergMagazin.
Sentences like lightning bolts, twists like avalanches: a spectacular thriller. — Playboy.
An electrifying debut in the new wave of Italian thriller writing. D'Andrea's a name to add to your Eurocrime list. — David Hewson, author of the Nic Costa novels and The Killing
A first-rate thriller. — ZDF Morgenmagazin.