Oliver Bottini - A Summer of Murder - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857057679
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857057402
    • Publication date:16 May 2019
Books in this series

A Summer of Murder

A Black Forest Investigation II

By Oliver Bottini

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

The second of the Black Forest Investigations - for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves

The second of the Black Forest Investigations - for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves

When the fire brigade is called to a burning shed in the Black Forest idyll of Kirchzarten, a volunteer is killed as a weapons cache beneath it explodes. Louise Bonì, back with Freiburg Kripo after treatment and recuperation for her alcoholism, is assigned to the task force dealing with this case. The meagre evidence they have points to a possible connection with German neo-Nazis or illegal arms dealers from the former Yugoslavia, while the arrival of secret service agents suggests more is at stake. For Louise to solve the riddle she needs to overcome the ghosts of her past that continue to haunt her.

Oliver Bottini is a fresh and exciting voice in the world of crime fiction in translation; the Rhine borderlands of the Black Forest are a perfect setting for his beautifully crafted mysteries.

Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

Biographical Notes

Oliver Bottini was born in 1965. Four of his novels, including ZEN AND THE ART OF MURDER and A SUMMER OF MURDER of the Black Forest Investigations have been awarded the Deutscher Krimipreis, Germany's most prestigious award for crime writing. In addition his novels have been awarded the Stuttgarter Krimipreis and the Berliner Krimipreis. He lives in Berlin. www.bottini.de.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857057396
  • Publication date: 23 Aug 2018
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
Oliver Bottini, one of the few German authors who play in crime-writing's premier league, really knows how to tell a good story — Frankfurter Rundschau
Tension without brutality, local colour without small-minded sentimentality, good, intelligent reading with depth — Handelsblatt
It's been a long time since any crime author started out so strongly, so visually — Die Zeit
MacLehose Press

In the Name of the Fathers

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini

Quercus

The Stone Circle

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

Fight Back

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith
Quercus

Orphan Boy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

Will he ever find the life he longs for? Born to a mother who died in childbirth and an uninterested father, Niall McAndrew grows up a solitary child, without a home to call his own. His only friend is Bridget, a young girl forced prematurely into womanhood. Niall has brains, spirit and ambition, as well as being blessed with handsome good looks. But his loveless childhood has left its mark. Can he ever find the happiness he yearns for? A moving and uplifting tale of a young boy with big dreams...From the bestselling author of Far From My Father's House and Miss Appleby's Academy comes a rags-to-riches tale of one man's determination to succeed. Perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Diane Allen.

Quercus

Bloodline

Nigel McCrery
Authors:
Nigel McCrery
Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

Stratton's War

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson
Quercus

An Empty Death

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

MacLehose Press

My Name is Adam

Elias Khoury
Authors:
Elias Khoury
MacLehose Press

The Enigma of the Return

Dany Laferrière
Authors:
Dany Laferrière
MacLehose Press

The Oblique Place

Caterina Pascual Söderbaum
Authors:
Caterina Pascual Söderbaum

"Caterina Pascual Söderbaum has left a major European literary work of art as her legacy" STEVE SEM-SANDBERG, author of Emperor of LiesThe Oblique Place is an exceptional journey, an autobiographical novel that probes the ruinous legacies of Fascist Europe in the twentieth century.From a starting point of the discovery of photographs in a family album ­- of a grandfather who joined Hitler's army, of her Spanish father dressed in the Francoist uniform - Caterina Pascual Söderbaum explores her connections to the most abhorrent passages of twentieth-century history. Her mother was a cousin of Kristina Söderbaum, a celebrated Swedish film star of the Third Reich, adored by Goebbels. She travels with husband and child to the shores of idyllic Attersee in Austria, where the officers of extermination camps spent their holidays, and from Schloss Hartheim, where the staff of the Nazi euthanasia programme forgot, with the help of alcohol and sex, the horrors that took place there, to Villa Saint-Jean, a summer residence where malnourished children from France's internment camps were sent to recover. An exploration into her own family's disturbing history is fused with vividly captured episodes, and the threads of evil that she lays bare she describes in language so beautiful, so subtle and painterly, that her odyssey is at once shattering and mesmerising.Translated from the Swedish by Frank Perry

Quercus

The Darkest Place

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

From the bestselling author of With Our Blessing and Sleeping Beauties comes a gripping new mystery'Island of the Lost was the isle's name long before the hospital was built. In winter, they say the fog falls so heavy there that you can't see your hand in front of your face. Storms rage so forcefully you can be blown from the cliffs. Once St. Christina's was built, the name took on a new meaning. Very few who went into that place ever left.'Christmas day, and DCI Tom Reynolds receives an alarming call. A mass grave has been discovered on Oileán na Caillte, the island which housed the controversial psychiatric institution St. Christina's. The hospital has been closed for decades and onsite graves were tragically common. Reynolds thinks his adversarial boss is handing him a cold case to sideline him. But then it transpires another body has been discovered amongst the dead - one of the doctors who went missing from the hospital in mysterious circumstances forty years ago. He appears to have been brutally murdered. As events take a sudden turn, nothing can prepare Reynolds and his team for what they are about to discover once they arrive on the island . . .(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Jo Fletcher Books

Restoration

Angela Slatter
Authors:
Angela Slatter

Walking between the worlds has always been dangerous - but this time V's facing the loss of all she holds dear.Verity Fassbinder thought no boss could be worse than her perfectionist ex-boyfriend - until she grudgingly agreed to work for a psychotic fallen angel. And dealing with a career change not entirely of her own choosing is doing nothing to improve V's already fractious temper. The angel is a jealous - and violent - employer, so she's quit working for the Weyrd Council and sent her family away, for their own safety. Instead of indulging in domestic bliss, she's got to play BFFs with the angel's little spy, Joyce the kitsune assassin . . . and Joyce comes with her own murderous problems. The angel has tasked V with finding two lost treasures, which would be hard enough even without a vengeful Dusana Nadasy on her heels. And Inspector McIntyre won't stop calling: the bodies of Normal women who disappeared decades before are turning up, apparently subjected to Weyrd magics. Angelic demands or not, this isn't something she can walk away from. And the angel is getting impatient for results . . .'Slatter [has] gone from strength to strength, armed with first-class imagination and first-class storytelling skills' Jeff Vandermeer, bestselling author of the Southern Reach trilogy

Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

In this twisty psychological thriller from the New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of The Girl Before, an actress plays both sides of a murder investigationOne aspiring actress from the UK pays for her acting class in New York the only way she can: as a decoy for a firm of divorce lawyers, hired to entrap straying husbands. When the police begin investigating one of her targets for murdering his wife - and potentially others - they ask her to help lure the suspect into a confession.But with the actress pretending to be someone she's not, differentiating the decoy from the prey becomes impossible - and deadly.**********See what everyone is saying about JP Delaney, the hottest new name in psychological thrillers:'An outstanding debut that is more than a match for Paula Hawkins's The Girl on the Train' Sunday TimesDazzling - a pitch-perfect thriller (Lee Child)Slick, sexy, suspenseful and smart (Mail on Sunday)(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

MacLehose Press

The Mountain

Luca D'Andrea
Authors:
Luca D'Andrea
Quercus

A Taste for Vengeance

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker

'THE MAIGRET OF THE DORDOGNE' ANTONY BEEVORBruno, now Chief of Police for the whole Vézère valley, has an unusual challenge to rise to: teaching at his friend Pamela's new cookery school. It is a daunting prospect - the disappearance of one of the school's pupils almost serves as a welcome distraction.When the woman's body is discovered in one half of a double homicide, the evidence points to something far out of the ordinary. The other murder victim is a man, covered in combat scars and with a false passport. Investigations reveal a list of enemies as long as Bruno's arm. Any one of them would have had good reason to kill him - but which group managed it? And how did they find him?As more of their mystery man's previous life is revealed, Bruno realizes that there may be more intended victims in the vicinity. Now he must conduct the biggest manhunt in St Denis' history to find the killers before they strike again.

riverrun

Salt Lane

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye: Continuing Stieg Larsson's Millennium Series

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
MacLehose Press

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme

Lars Mytting
Authors:
Lars Mytting

By Norway's bestselling novelist and the author of NORWEGIAN WOOD, a family story of epic scale. "An intricate story about war, family, secrets and, yes, wood ... An engaging, satisfying read" The Times"So cleverly plotted, and it builds up such effortless dramatic momentum as it zeroes in on its conclusion" ScotsmanEdvard grows up on a remote mountain farmstead in Norway with his taciturn grandfather, Sverre. The death of his parents, when he was three years old, has always been shrouded in mystery - he has never been told how or where it took place and has only a distant memory of his mother. But he knows that the fate of his grandfather's brother, Einar, is somehow bound up with this mystery. One day a coffin is delivered for his grandfather long before his death - a meticulous, beautiful piece of craftsmanship. Perhaps Einar is not dead after all. Edvard's desperate quest to unlock the family's tragic secrets takes him on a long journey - from Norway to the Shetlands, and to the battlefields of France - to the discovery of a very unusual inheritance. The Sixteen Trees of the Somme is about the love of wood and finding your own self, a beautifully intricate and moving tale that spans an entire century.Mytting's book is as much a romantic historical thriller as it is a book of promise, a page-turner as it is a reflective journey into selfhood, history, life's meaning and individual moral responsibility - Mika Provata-Carlone, BookanistaTranslated from the Norwegian by Paul Russell Garrett