Oliver Bottini - A Summer of Murder - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857057679
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857057389
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018
Books in this series

A Summer of Murder

A Black Forest Investigation II

By Oliver Bottini

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

The second of the Black Forest Investigations - for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves

The second of the Black Forest Investigations - "Its plot bristles with invention" Guardian

When the fire brigade is called to a burning shed in the Black Forest idyll of Kirchzarten, a volunteer is killed as a weapons cache beneath it explodes. Louise Bonì, back with Freiburg Kripo after treatment and recuperation for her alcoholism, is assigned to the task force dealing with this case. The meagre evidence they have points to a possible connection with German neo-Nazis or illegal arms dealers from the former Yugoslavia, while the arrival of secret service agents suggests more is at stake. For Louise to solve the riddle she needs to overcome the ghosts of her past that continue to haunt her.

Oliver Bottini is a fresh and exciting voice in the world of crime fiction in translation; the Rhine borderlands of the Black Forest are a perfect setting for his beautifully crafted mysteries.

THE FIRST IN THE SERIES - ZEN AND THE ART OF MURDER - NOW SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA INTERNATIONAL DAGGER

Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

Biographical Notes

Oliver Bottini was born in 1965. Four of his novels, including ZEN AND THE ART OF MURDER and A SUMMER OF MURDER of the Black Forest Investigations have been awarded the Deutscher Krimipreis, Germany's most prestigious award for crime writing. In addition his novels have been awarded the Stuttgarter Krimipreis and the Berliner Krimipreis. He lives in Berlin. www.bottini.de.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857057396
  • Publication date: 23 Aug 2018
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
Oliver Bottini, one of the few German authors who play in crime-writing's premier league, really knows how to tell a good story — Frankfurter Rundschau
Tension without brutality, local colour without small-minded sentimentality, good, intelligent reading with depth — Handelsblatt
It's been a long time since any crime author started out so strongly, so visually — Die Zeit
Its plot bristles with invention — Barry Forshaw, Guardian
MacLehose Press

The Dance of Death

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini

Quercus

Metropolis

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
riverrun

Prefecture D

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
Jo Fletcher Books

Council

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
MacLehose Press

Inhuman Resources

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
MacLehose Press

The Impostor

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas
Quercus

The Confession

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
riverrun

Too Close to Breathe

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan
Jo Fletcher Books

Kin

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
Quercus

The Dark Angel

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
MacLehose Press

Zen and the Art of Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini

** NOW LONGLISTED FOR THE CWA INTERNATIONAL DAGGER 2018 **The first in a gripping new crime series set in Germany - the Black Forest Investigations Louise Boni, maverick chief inspector with the Black Forest crime squad, is struggling with her demons. Divorced at forty-two, she is haunted by the shadows of the past. Dreading yet another a dreary winter weekend alone, she receives a call from the departmental chief which signals the strangest assignment of her career - to trail a Japanese monk wandering through the snowy wasteland to the east of Freiburg, dressed only in sandals and a cowl. She sets off reluctantly, and by the time she catches up with him, she discovers that he is injured, and fearfully fleeing some unknown evil. When her own team comes under fire, the investigation takes on a terrifying dimension, uncovering a hideous ring of child traffickers. The repercussions of their crimes will change the course of her own life.Oliver Bottini is a fresh and exciting voice in the world of crime fiction in translation; the Rhine borderlands of the Black Forest are a perfect setting for his beautifully crafted mysteries.Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

riverrun

Breen & Tozer Investigation Omnibus: A Song from Dead Lips, A House of Knives, A Book of Scars

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
Quercus

The Rosie Gilmour Series

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

Three gritty, gripping thrillers starring investigative journalist Rosie Gilmour. She never walks away from a story - no matter what the cost. You'll be hooked from the first page! 'Chilling and compelling' - Kimberley ChambersTHE DEAD WON'T SLEEPThe body of a teenage prostitute is washed up on the beach near Glasgow. Tracie Eadie was only fourteen, and living in a children's home in the city. How did she end up as a dead heroin addict? Rosie Gilmour is determined to find out. Her investigation reveals a sordid tale of corruption going all the way to the top of the Glasgow establishment. But those in power will do anything to stop her story coming to light...TO TELL THE TRUTHA three-year-old girl is snatched from a beach. Nobody heard a sound. Nobody saw a thing. Rosie Gilmour's instincts tell her something's wrong: such a crime must surely have witnesses, and the girl's mother's story doesn't add up. With a child's life at stake, Rosie finds herself in a desperate race against time. But she's made some dangerous enemies along the way.SCREAMS IN THE DARKThe body of a refugee in a Glasgow canal, missing limbs and vital organs. He's not the first person to go missing - are there vigilantes at work or is there something far more sinister going on? It's up to Rosie Gilmour to find out - but will what she discovers leave her with murder on her hands?

MacLehose Press

The Burnt-Out Town of Miracles

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen

'A compact and compelling novel by an iconic Norwegian writer...[and] thanks to Don Bartlett and Don Shaw's crisp translation, we see it obliquely' - IndependentSet in Finland in 1939, this is the story of one man who remains in his home town when everyone else has fled, burning down their houses in their wake, before the invading Russians arrive. Timo remains behind because he can't imagine life anywhere else, doing anything else besides felling the trees near his home. This is a novel about belonging - a tale of powerful and forbidden friendships forged during a war, of unexpected bravery and astonishing survival instincts. The Burnt-Out Town of Miracles is not a novel about war, but about the lives of ordinary people dragged into war, each of whom only wants to find the path back home. Roy Jacobsen uses the dramatic natural landscape of light and darkness, fire-blazing heat and life-robbing cold to spectacular effect.

Jo Fletcher Books

The Witch at Wayside Cross

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle

Should you find yourself in need of a discreet investigation into any sort of mystery, crime or puzzling circumstances, think of Jesperson and Lane . . .Jesperson and Lane have just solved their first major case when a man bangs violently on their door - and almost immediately drops dead. The police rule death by natural causes, but the detectives are determined to find out what really happened . . .Mr Manning was screaming about witches before his death.The case takes them to Mr Manning's Norfolk home, a land of mysterious Shrieking Pits and ancient knowledge. Mr Manning was himself a member of the enigmatic School of Ancient British Wisdom, and not the first to suffer a similar fate. Local gossip suggests that he was secretly engaged to one of the three lovely sisters who reside at Wayside Cross - but which one? Are they really witches, as the gossips also claim?And what does all this have to do with the mysterious Shrieking Pits and a mother desperate to find her missing baby? Jesperson and Lane, at your service.'One of the SF and fantasy & horror field's most urbane - and much under-appreciated - writers' Love Reading

MacLehose Press

Three Days and a Life

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
MacLehose Press

The President's Gardens

Muhsin Al-Ramli
Authors:
Muhsin Al-Ramli

One Hundred Years of Solitude meets The Kite Runner in Saddam Hussein's Iraq. "A contemporary tragedy of epic proportions. No author is better placed than Muhsin Al-Ramli, already a star in the Arabic literary scene, to tell this story. I read it in one sitting". Hassan Blasim, winner of the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize for The Iraqi Christ. On the third day of Ramadan, the village wakes to find the severed heads of nine of its sons stacked in banana crates by the bus stop.One of them belonged to one of the most wanted men in Iraq, known to his friends as Ibrahim the Fated.How did this good and humble man earn the enmity of so many? What did he do to deserve such a death?The answer lies in his lifelong friendship with Abdullah Kafka and Tariq the Befuddled, who each have their own remarkable stories to tell.It lies on the scarred, irradiated battlefields of the Gulf War and in the ashes of a revolution strangled in its cradle.It lies in the steadfast love of his wife and the festering scorn of his daughter.And, above all, it lies behind the locked gates of The President's Gardens, buried alongside the countless victims of a pitiless reign of terror.Translated from the Arabic by Luke Leafgren

Quercus

Goodbye to the Dead

Brian Freeman
Authors:
Brian Freeman

NINE YEARSIt is almost a decade since Duluth said goodbye to its innocence. The city creeps ever closer to the tenth anniversary of the year in which it found itself both gripped by murder and united in terror; and during which the pillar of its community, DS Jonathan Stride, had his home and heart torn to ribbons by the claws of cancer.NINE LIVESCat Mateo, an orphan with a knack of landing on her feet, has bid farewell to a life on the streets. This once-stray teenager owes her rescue to Detective Stride, the father figure she holds close to her heart. But Cat holds something else to her chest - a secret: the sheer power of which she could not possibly comprehend.A secret that, once out of the bag, will not just viciously scratch at Duluth's still-healing wounds, but will make DS Jonathan Stride wave goodbye to his convictions about the events nine years before, and say hello to his darkest fears.

Quercus

The Corrupted Part One

G.F. Newman
Authors:
G.F. Newman

In 1951 the Festival of Britain marks a new golden age of hope and prosperity for the country. Things are certainly looking up for the criminal elite who run the East End. For Jack, a draft-dodger with aspirations to be a champion boxer, there's easy money to be made for providing a bit of muscle. Meanwhile his sister Kath must keep secret the fact that she killed their father to protect her son, Brian, from the abuse she experienced as a child. Brian is so traumatised by witnessing this event that the complex union of violence and sexuality will shape his character for life. As the years go by and disillusion sets in, successive Labour and Tory governments aren't able to stop the rot. Younger, nastier criminals like the Kray twins and the Richardson brothers begin to carve out their own criminal empires and crush all resistance. Brutalised and embittered by years of failure and imprisonment, Jack decides to make a stand. The stage is set for one big war.

Quercus

The Corrupted Part Two

G.F. Newman
Authors:
G.F. Newman