Oliver Bottini - A Summer of Murder - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857057389
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857057396
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018
Books in this series

A Summer of Murder

A Black Forest Investigation II

By Oliver Bottini

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

The second of the Black Forest Investigations - for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves

The second of the Black Forest Investigations - for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves

When the fire brigade is called to a burning shed in the Black Forest idyll of Kirchzarten, a volunteer is killed as a weapons cache beneath it explodes. Louise Bonì, back with Freiburg Kripo after treatment and recuperation for her alcoholism, is assigned to the task force dealing with this case. The meagre evidence they have points to a possible connection with German neo-Nazis or illegal arms dealers from the former Yugoslavia, while the arrival of secret service agents suggests more is at stake. For Louise to solve the riddle she needs to overcome the ghosts of her past that continue to haunt her.

Oliver Bottini is a fresh and exciting voice in the world of crime fiction in translation; the Rhine borderlands of the Black Forest are a perfect setting for his beautifully crafted mysteries.

Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

Biographical Notes

Oliver Bottini was born in 1965. Four of his novels, including ZEN AND THE ART OF MURDER and A SUMMER OF MURDER of the Black Forest Investigations have been awarded the Deutscher Krimipreis, Germany's most prestigious award for crime writing. In addition his novels have been awarded the Stuttgarter Krimipreis and the Berliner Krimipreis. He lives in Berlin. www.bottini.de.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857057679
  • Publication date: 23 Aug 2018
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
Oliver Bottini, one of the few German authors who play in crime-writing's premier league, really knows how to tell a good story — Frankfurter Rundschau
Tension without brutality, local colour without small-minded sentimentality, good, intelligent reading with depth — Handelsblatt
It's been a long time since any crime author started out so strongly, so visually — Die Zeit
riverrun

The Man With No Face

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

PRE-ORDER THE MAN WITH NO FACE - A POWERFUL AND PRESCIENT THRILLER FROM THE MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR OF I'LL KEEP YOU SAFE, COFFIN ROAD AND THE BLACKHOUSE.A REPORTER WITH NO FEARBrussels, 1979. Jaded Edinburgh journalist Neil Bannerman arrives in the capital of European politics intent on digging up dirt. Yet it is danger he discovers, when two British men are found murdered.A CHILD WITH NO FATHEROne victim is a journalist, the other a Cabinet Minister: the double-assassination witnessed by the former's autistic daughter. This girl recalls every detail about her father's killer - except for one.THE MAN WITH NO FACEWith Brussels rocked by the tragedy, Bannerman is compelled to follow his instincts. He is now fighting to expose a murderous conspiracy, protect a helpless child, and unmask a remorseless killer.

Jo Fletcher Books

The King

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair

There is no escape from destiny . . . is there? 'Riveting! Like its reincarnated heroes, I was drawn again and again to David Hair's gripping, blood-soaked tale' - Chris Bradford, author of Young SamuraiFor four young men and women trapped in its story-cycle, the Ramayana is not just a legend: it is their fate!In every life they have ever lived, Vikram, Amanjit, Rasita and Deepika have been persecuted and killed by Ravindra on his quest to reincarnate as Ravana, the Demon-King. Now Ravindra has captured Rasita, and demonic beings are rallying to his cause. His triumph is looking certain. Vikram and Amanjit must rescue Rasita - but in every past life, Vikram has died at Ravindra's hands. This time, failure is not an option. This time, if Ravindra wins, it will be for ever.'David Hair hasn't just broken the mould. He's completely shattered it' - Bibliosanctum Ages-old mysteries must be uncovered and forgotten powers regained as the fight to defeat Ravindra moves toward the final, heart-stopping climax and a finalé that is as startling as it is electrifying.

Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
MacLehose Press

A Long Night in Paris

Dov Alfon
Authors:
Dov Alfon
Quercus

An Autumn Hunting

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan

'Even better than Child 44. Akyl Borubaev is a terrific creation' Anthony Horowitz'Just keeps getting better . . . buy the whole series right away' Peter Robinson, No.1 bestselling author of Sleeping in the GroundNo sooner has Akyl Borubaev been reinstated as an Inspector in the Bishkek Murder Squad than he's suspended for alleged serious crimes against the state. After an attempted assassination of a prominent minister goes spectacularly wrong, Akyl is a fugitive from his former colleagues and involved with one of Kyrgyzstan's most dangerous criminals. On the run, caught up in a illegal scheme that can only end badly, it's time for Akyl to take a stand for everything he believes in.

riverrun

Yellowhammer

James Henry
Authors:
James Henry
MacLehose Press

The Tree of the Toraja

Philippe Claudel
Authors:
Philippe Claudel

A middle-aged filmmaker visits Indonesia and becomes entranced by the Toraja custom of interning the bodies of very young deceased children in the trunks of trees. In time, the trunk heals, encasing and protecting the tiny bodies as the tree grows slowly heavenwards. On his return to France, the filmmaker receives news that his dearest friend is dying of cancer, prompting a reflection on the part death occupies in our existence, our inability to confront our mortality and our struggle to conceive of a happy life after a devastating loss.For the Toraja, dying is a central part of being alive. Death is at the forefront of their culture, unlike the western preference for keeping death firmly in the shadows, unacknowledged until it begins to really breathe down your neck and simply cannot be ignored; a taboo subject to be feared and resented. Like the trees of the Toraja, this powerful novel encloses and preserves memories of lost loves and friendships, and contains the promise of rebirth and rebuilding, even after a terrible tragedy.

MacLehose Press

Stick Together

Sophie Hénaff
Authors:
Sophie Hénaff

After their successful solving of three cold cases and exposing corruption at the very highest level of the Paris police force, Anne Capestan's squad of misfits and no-hopers should be in a celebratory mood. However, now despised by their colleagues at 36 quai des Orfèvres and worried for their future, morale has never been lower among the members of the Awkward Squad.Capestan does her best to motivate her troops, but even she cannot maintain a cheerful façade when she has to investigate the murder of Commissaire Serge Rufus, the father of her ex-husband. Worse, it soon appears that his murder is linked to two other victims, both of whom were warned by the killer before they struck . . .

riverrun

Salt Lane

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
MacLehose Press

The Longest Night

Otto de Kat
Authors:
Otto de Kat
riverrun

Too Close to Breathe

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan
MacLehose Press

After the Winter

Guadalupe Nettel
Authors:
Guadalupe Nettel
Jo Fletcher Books

Kin

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
riverrun

Sympathy for the Devil

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
Jo Fletcher Books

Corpselight

Angela Slatter
Authors:
Angela Slatter

Watch out, Harry Dresden, Kinsey Milhone and Mercy Thompson: there's a new kick-ass guardian in town and Verity Fassbinder's taking no nonsense from anyone, not even the fox-spirit assassins who are invading Brisbane in this fast-paced sequel to VIGIL.Life in Brisbane is never simple for those who walk between the worlds.Verity's all about protecting her city, but right now that's mostly running surveillance and handling the less exciting cases for the Weyrd Council - after all, it's hard to chase the bad guys through the streets of Brisbane when you're really, really pregnant. 'Verity is the best thing about the book . . . she's a surly, straight-talking, Doc Marten-wearing punchbag who investigates Weyrd-related crime on behalf of the beleaguered "normal" police' (SFX)An insurance investigation sounds pretty harmless, even if it is for 'Unusual Happenstance'. That's not usually a clause Normals use - it covers all-purpose hauntings, angry genii loci, ectoplasmic home invasion, demonic possession, that sort of thing - but Susan Beckett's claimed three times in three months. Her house keeps getting inundated with mud, but she's still insisting she doesn't need or want help . . . until the dry-land drownings begin.V's first lead in takes her to Chinatown, where she is confronted by kitsune assassins. But when she suddenly goes into labour, it's clear the fox spirits are not going to be helpful.Corpselight, the sequel to Vigil, is the second book in the Verity Fassbinder series by award-winning author Angela Slatter.'Simply put: Slatter can write! She forces us to recognise the monsters that are ourselves' Jack Dann, award-winning author.

MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 1

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes
MacLehose Press

The Mountain

Luca D'Andrea
Authors:
Luca D'Andrea

A CURSED PLACE. A COLD CASE. A KILLER WHO LEFT NO TRACE.The huge International bestseller.Gripping, unputdownable and packed with twists, The Mountain is a thriller that you will never forget."Can be compared (with no fear of hyperbole) to Stephen King and Jo Nesbø" - Massimo Vincenz, La Repubblica.Jeremiah Salinger blames himself. The crash was his fault. He was the only survivor. Now the depression and the nightmares are closing in. Only his daughter Clara can put a smile on his face. But when he takes Clara to the Bletterbach - a canyon in the Dolomites rich in fossil remains - he overhears by chance a conversation that gives his life renewed focus. In 1985 three students were murdered there, their bodies savaged, limbs severed and strewn by a killer who was never found. Salinger, a New Yorker, is far from home, and these Italian mountains, where his wife was born, harbour a close-knit, tight-lipped community whose mistrust of outsiders can turn ugly. All the same, solving this mystery might be the only thing that can keep him sane.Translated from the Italian by Howard Curtis

Quercus

The Templars' Last Secret

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
Quercus

The Night Visitor

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins