Philippe Claudel - The Tree of the Toraja - Quercus

The Tree of the Toraja

By Philippe Claudel

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

A deeply personal, beautiful and powerful novel about life and loss from the acclaimed author of Brodeck's Report and Grey Souls.

A middle-aged filmmaker visits Indonesia and becomes entranced by the Toraja custom of interning the bodies of very young deceased children in the trunks of trees. In time, the trunk heals, encasing and protecting the tiny bodies as the tree grows slowly heavenwards. On his return to France, the filmmaker receives news that his dearest friend is dying of cancer, prompting a reflection on the part death occupies in our existence, our inability to confront our mortality and our struggle to conceive of a happy life after a devastating loss.

For the Toraja, dying is a central part of being alive. Death is at the forefront of their culture, unlike the western preference for keeping death firmly in the shadows, unacknowledged until it begins to really breathe down your neck and simply cannot be ignored; a taboo subject to be feared and resented.

Like the trees of the Toraja, this powerful novel encloses and preserves memories of lost loves and friendships, and contains the promise of rebirth and rebuilding, even after a terrible tragedy.

Biographical Notes

Philippe Claudel is a university lecturer, novelist, film director and scriptwriter. He has written 14 novels that have been translated into various languages. He was born in Dombasle-sur-Meurthe in 1962 where he still lives. In 2009 his film I've Loved You So Long (Il y a longtemps que je t'aime), which draws upon Claudel's eleven years teaching in prisons, won the BAFTA for Best Foreign Language film. Among his novels, Grey Souls won the Prix Renaudot in France, the American Gumshoe Award and the Swedish Martin Beck award. Brodeck's Report won the 2010 Independent Foreign Fiction Award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857057709
  • Publication date: 26 Jul 2018
  • Page count: 176
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
MacLehose Press

Madeleine

Euan Cameron
Authors:
Euan Cameron
MacLehose Press

The Monarch of the Shadows

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas

The Monarch of the Shadows is a courageous journey into Javier Cercas' family history and that of a country collapsing from a fratricidal war. The author revisits Ibahernando, his parents' village in southern Spain, to research the life of Manuel Mena. This ancestor, dearly loved by Cercas' mother, died in combat at the age of nineteen during the battle of the Ebro, the bloodiest episode in Spain's history. Who was Manuel Mena? A fascist hero whose memory is an embarrassment to the author, or a young idealist who happened to fight on the wrong side? And how should we judge him, as grandchildren and great-grandchildren of that generation, interpreting history from our supposed omniscience and the misleadingperspective of a present full of automatic answers, that fails to consider the particularities of each personal and family drama?Wartime epics, heroism and death are some of the underlying themes of this unclassifiable novel that combines road trips, personal confessions, war stories and historical scholarship, finally becoming an incomparable tribute to the author's mother and the incurable scars of an entire generation.

Quercus

When Death Takes Something From You Give It Back

Naja Marie Aidt
Authors:
Naja Marie Aidt

'"I raise my glass to my eldest son. His pregnant wife and daughter are sleeping above us. Outside, the March evening is cold and clear. "To life!" I say as the glasses clink with a delicate and pleasing sound. My mother says something to the dog. Then the phone rings. We don't answer it. Who could be calling so late on a Saturday evening?' In March 2015, Naja Marie Aidt's 25-year-old son, Carl, died in a tragic accident. When Death Takes Something From You Give It Back is about losing a child. It is about formulating a vocabulary to express the deepest kind of pain. And it's about finding a way to write about a reality invaded by grief, lessened by loss. Faced with the sudden emptiness of language, Naja finds solace in the anguish of Joan Didion, Nick Cave, C.S. Lewis, Mallarmé, Plato and other writers who have suffered the deadening impact of loss. Their torment suffuses with her own as Naja wrestles with words and contests their capacity to speak for the depths of her sorrow. This palimpsest of mourning enables Naja to turn over the pathetic, precious transience of existence and articulates her greatest fear: to forget. The insistent compulsion to reconstruct the harrowing aftermath of Carl's death keeps him painfully present, while fragmented memories, journal entries and poetry inch her closer to piecing Carl's life together. Intensely moving and quietly devastating, this is what is it to be a family, what it is to love and lose, and what it is to treasure life in spite of death's indomitable resolve.

riverrun

Prefecture D

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
Jo Fletcher Books

Hearts of Ice

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair

Summer is gone, and the world is turning to ice.The Rondian Empress Lyra has lost her husband, her army is defeated and the deadly Masked Cabal have seized the Holy City. Her allies have abandoned her and her empire is spiralling into chaos - and her only weapon is a forbidden magic she dare not use. She can't survive alone - but who can she still trust?'Vibrant, memorable characters' - SciFi NowThe Eastern conqueror Sultan Rashid is victorious on the battlefield, but now he faces an enemy more deadly than Rondian knights: the winter. Unless he captures a major city to shelter his huge armies, his plans to overthrow the West face ruin in the snow. But standing between his men and safety is the remnants of a defeated army led by a general who knows all about fighting for survival.'An epic journey of ordinary people destined to change the course of history . . . alluring . . . gripping' - BoHoMind.comThere are no easy options left. Lyra and her fellow dwymancers must master their deadly magic, whatever the cost. Even those who believe themselves to be fighting for good must grasp the reins of power with cold-hearted determination, and use even the most terrible weapon, if they are to stop the world from falling apart . . . for ever.

riverrun

Against Nature (riverrun editions)

Joris-Karl Huysmans
Authors:
Joris-Karl Huysmans

The cult novel of fin de siècle decadence that inspired Oscar Wilde'It will be biggest fiasco of the year - but I don't give a damn! It will be something nobody has ever done before.' Joris-Karl Huysmans on Against Nature The title page of the first complete English translation of Against Nature (published in the French as À Rebours) included the caption 'the book that Dorian Gray loved and inspired Oscar Wilde.' It was, declared Wilde, one of the best novels he had ever read. It is the story of Jean des Esseintes, the last of a proud and noble family, who retreats from the world in disgust at bourgeois society and leads a life based on cultivation of the senses through art. Des Esseintes distills perfumes from the rarest oils and essences, he creates a garden of poisonous flowers, sets gemstones in the shell of a tortoise's gold-painted shell and plans to corrupt a street urchin until he is degraded enough to commit murder. Des Esseintes aesthetic pilgrimage is described in minutely documented realistic detail and was widely regarded as the guidebook of decadence. This influential novel is now available in a startling new translation by Theo Cuffe and includes a new preface by Luc Sante.

Jo Fletcher Books

Our Child of the Stars

Stephen Cox
Authors:
Stephen Cox

A lost child, the family who try to protect him and the secret that refuses to stay hidden . . .Molly and Gene Myers were happy, until tragedy blighted their hopes of children. During the years of darkness and despair, they each put their marriage in jeopardy, but now they are starting to rebuild their fragile bond.This is the year of Woodstock and the moon landings; war is raging in Vietnam and the superpowers are threatening each other with annihilation. Then the Meteor crashes into Amber Grove, devastating the small New England town - and changing their lives for ever. Molly, a nurse, caught up in the thick of the disaster, is given care of a desperately ill patient rescued from the wreckage: a sick boy with a remarkable appearance, an orphan who needs a mother.And soon the whole world will be looking for him.Cory's arrival has changed everything. And the Myers will do anything to keep him safe.A remarkable story of warmth, tenacity and generosity of spirit, set against the backdrop of a fast-changing, terrifying decade.

MacLehose Press

A Long Night in Paris

Dov Alfon
Authors:
Dov Alfon
riverrun

A River in the Trees

Jacqueline O'Mahony
Authors:
Jacqueline O'Mahony
Quercus

Winter Without You

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good

A winter warmer for fans of Heidi Swan, Daisy James and Sarah Morgan. When Hannah's life falls apart, only a surprise inheritance will keep her together.Hannah Clitheroe thought she had it all. But when tragedy strikes and she loses the love of her life in a horrifying accident, all her dreams come crashing down around her.Hannah is still in hiding from the world when she discovers that she's inherited a house in Cornwall from her estranged grandmother. If Hannah's going to keep Kernow House and make a new life for herself, she'll have to stay the hell away from Raphael Tregar, a man who claims the house is rightfully his.As the two are forced to unite, will the secrets they uncover bring them closer together, or will they tear their whole world apart?

MacLehose Press

EEG

Daša Drndic
Authors:
Daša Drndic
Quercus

The Rival

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth
Quercus

Darling Blue

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees
Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker
MacLehose Press

A Hero Born

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong

THE CHINESE "LORD OF THE RINGS" - NOW IN ENGLISH FOR THE FIRST TIME.THE SERIES EVERY CHINESE READER HAS BEEN ENJOYING FOR DECADES - 300 MILLION COPIES SOLD.China: 1200 A.D. The Song Empire has been invaded by its warlike Jurchen neighbours from the north. Half its territory and its historic capital lie in enemy hands; the peasants toil under the burden of the annual tribute demanded by the victors. Meanwhile, on the Mongolian steppe, a disparate nation of great warriors is about to be united by a warlord whose name will endure for eternity: Genghis Khan.Guo Jing, son of a murdered Song patriot, grew up with Genghis Khan's army. He is humble, loyal, perhaps not altogether wise, and is fated from birth to one day confront an opponent who is the opposite of him in every way: privileged, cunning and flawlessly trained in the martial arts.Guided by his faithful shifus, The Seven Heroes of the South, Guo Jing must return to China - to the Garden of the Drunken Immortals in Jiaxing - to fulfil his destiny. But in a divided land riven by war and betrayal, his courage and his loyalties will be tested at every turn.Translated from the Chinese by Anna HolmwoodVolume 2 - A Bond Undone - will be published in January 2019.

MacLehose Press

Zen and the Art of Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini
riverrun

Histories

Sam Guglani
Authors:
Sam Guglani
riverrun

The World to Come

Jim Shepard
Authors:
Jim Shepard
MacLehose Press

The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker