Philippe Claudel - The Tree of the Toraja - Quercus

The Tree of the Toraja

By Philippe Claudel

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

A deeply personal, beautiful and powerful novel about life and loss from the acclaimed author of Brodeck's Report and Grey Souls.

A middle-aged filmmaker visits Indonesia and becomes entranced by the Toraja custom of interning the bodies of very young deceased children in the trunks of trees. In time, the trunk heals, encasing and protecting the tiny bodies as the tree grows slowly heavenwards. On his return to France, the filmmaker receives news that his dearest friend is dying of cancer, prompting a reflection on the part death occupies in our existence, our inability to confront our mortality and our struggle to conceive of a happy life after a devastating loss.

For the Toraja, dying is a central part of being alive. Death is at the forefront of their culture, unlike the western preference for keeping death firmly in the shadows, unacknowledged until it begins to really breathe down your neck and simply cannot be ignored; a taboo subject to be feared and resented.

Like the trees of the Toraja, this powerful novel encloses and preserves memories of lost loves and friendships, and contains the promise of rebirth and rebuilding, even after a terrible tragedy.

Biographical Notes

Philippe Claudel is a university lecturer, novelist, film director and scriptwriter. He has written 14 novels that have been translated into various languages. He was born in Dombasle-sur-Meurthe in 1962 where he still lives. In 2009 his film I've Loved You So Long (Il y a longtemps que je t'aime), which draws upon Claudel's eleven years teaching in prisons, won the BAFTA for Best Foreign Language film. Among his novels, Grey Souls won the Prix Renaudot in France, the American Gumshoe Award and the Swedish Martin Beck award. Brodeck's Report won the 2010 Independent Foreign Fiction Award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857057709
  • Publication date: 26 Jul 2018
  • Page count: 176
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Lived Twice

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz

The sixth in the Millennium series - more than 90 million copies sold worldwide - the crime fiction phenomenon featuring Lisbeth Salander."I WILL NOT BE THE HUNTED - I WILL BE THE HUNTER"Book four in the series, THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB, is now a major film from Sony Pictures starring Claire Foy - out in November 2018."Rest easy, Lisbeth Salander fans - our punk hacker is in good hands" Patrick Ryan, U.S.A. Today"Salander and Blomkvist are just as compelling as ever" Michiko Kakutani, New York Times "Not only do the matter-of-fact style and intricate plotting and sexy, chilling atmosphere feel very true to the original novels, but Lagercrantz transcends the source material" Benjamin Percy, Esquire"Elegantly paced, slickly executed, and properly thrilling" Alison Flood, Observer

Quercus

All Summer With You

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
riverrun

The Paper Wasp

Lauren Acampora
Authors:
Lauren Acampora

Quercus

The Flatshare

Beth O'Leary
Authors:
Beth O'Leary
Quercus

Winter Without You

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good

What do you do when you lose everything?After the tragic death of her boyfriend, Hannah Clitheroe is hiding away from the world. But when she discovers she's inherited a house in Cornwall, she knows it's time to face reality. Her estranged grandmother lived in Kernow House for years, but Hannah soon realises someone else thinks it's rightfully theirs: Raphael Tregar, a difficult man who quickly gets under her skin.But as winter sets in, there's one more thing that keeps her up at night, and the rising fear that she may not find her true home in Cornwall after all...

Quercus

Still Lives

Maria Hummel
Authors:
Maria Hummel
riverrun

A Different Drummer

William Melvin Kelley
Authors:
William Melvin Kelley

'Set to become a publishing sensation' Kirsty Lang, BBC Front Row'An astounding achievement' Sunday Times'The lost giant of American literature' New Yorker'Absolutely essential reading' StylistJune, 1957. One afternoon, in the backwater town of Sutton, a young black farmer by the name of Tucker Caliban matter-of-factly throws salt on his field, shoots his horse and livestock, sets fire to his house and departs the southern state. And thereafter, the entire African-American population leave with him.The reaction that follows is told across a dozen chapters, each from the perspective of a different white townsperson. These are boys, girls, men and women; either liberal or conservative, bigoted or sympathetic - yet all of whom are grappling with this spontaneous, collective rejection of subordination.In 1962, aged just 24, William Melvin Kelley's debut novel A Different Drummer earned him critical comparisons to James Baldwin and William Faulkner. Fifty-five years later, author and journalist Kathryn Schulz happened upon the novel serendipitously and was inspired to write the New Yorker article 'The Lost Giant of American Literature', included as a foreword to this edition.

Quercus

The Tour According to G

Geraint Thomas
Authors:
Geraint Thomas
riverrun

The Rise and Fall of Great Powers

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman
riverrun

Friday Black

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Authors:
Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Quercus

I Did a Bad Thing

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
MacLehose Press

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme

Lars Mytting
Authors:
Lars Mytting

The Times bestseller by the author of NORWEGIAN WOOD, a family story of epic scale."An intricate story about war, family, secrets and,yes, wood ... An engaging, satisfying read" The Times"So cleverly plotted, and it builds up such effortless dramatic momentum as it zeroes in on its conclusion" ScotsmanEdvard grows up on a remote mountain farmstead in Norway with his taciturn grandfather, Sverre. The death of his parents, when he was three years old, has always been shrouded in mystery - he has never been told how or where it took place and has only a distant memory of his mother. But he knows that the fate of his grandfather's brother, Einar, is somehow bound up with this mystery. One day a coffin is delivered for his grandfather long before his death - a meticulous, beautiful piece of craftsmanship. Perhaps Einar is not dead after all. Edvard's desperate quest to unlock the family's tragic secrets takes him on a long journey - from Norway to the Shetlands, and to the battlefields of France - to the discovery of a very unusual inheritance. The Sixteen Trees of the Somme is about the love of wood and finding your own self, a beautifully intricate and moving tale that spans an entire century.Mytting's book is as much a romantic historical thriller as it is a book of promise, a page-turner as it is a reflective journey into selfhood, history, life's meaning and individual moral responsibility - Mika Provata-Carlone, BookanistaTranslated from the Norwegian by Paul Russell Garrett

Quercus

Darling Blue

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

'Tracy Rees writes from the heart' Kathryn Hughes, author of The Letter. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Villa in Italy.Blue lives a charmed life. From her family's townhouse in Richmond, she lives a life of luxury and couldn't want for anything - well, on the surface at least. Then on the night of her twenty-first birthday her father makes a startling toast: he will give his daughter's hand to whichever man can capture her heart best in the form of a love letter. But Blue has other ideas and, unwilling to play at her father's bewildering games, she sets out on her own path to find her own destiny...

MacLehose Press

The Shape of the Ruins

Juan Gabriel Vásquez
Authors:
Juan Gabriel Vásquez
riverrun

The Italian Teacher

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman

'Wickedly funny, deeply touching . . . I confess this was the first of Rachman's novels I'd read but I was so swept away by it that I raced out to buy the other three' PATRICK GALE'Relentlessly entertaining' Daily MailRome, 1955The artists are gathering together for a photograph. In one of Rome's historic villas, a party glitters with socialites and patrons. Bear Bavinsky, creator of vast, masculine, meaty canvases, is their god. He is at the centre of the picture. His wife, Natalie, edges out of the shot.From the side of the room watches little Pinch - their son. At five years old he loves Bear almost as much as he fears him. After Bear abandons their family, Pinch will still worship him, while Natalie faces her own wars with the art world. Trying to live up to his father's name - one of the twentieth century's fiercest and most controversial painters - Pinch never quite succeeds. Yet by the end of a career of twists and compromises, he enacts an unexpected rebellion that will leave forever his mark upon the Bear Bavinsky legacy.What makes an artist? In The Italian Teacher, Tom Rachman displays a nuanced understanding of art and its demons. Moreover, in Pinch he achieves a portrait of vulnerability and frustrated talent that - with his signature humour and humanity ­- challenges the very idea of greatness.

MacLehose Press

The Ropewalker

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross

The first part in an epic historical trilogy - The Estonian answer to Wolf Hall - by the nation's greatest modern writer Jaan Kross's trilogy dramatises the life of the renowned Livonian Chronicler Balthasar Russow, whose greatest work described the effects of the Livonian War on the peasantry of what is now Estonia. Like Hilary Mantel's Thomas Cromwell, Russow is a diamond in the rough, a thoroughly modern man in an Early Modern world, rising from humble origins to greatness through wit and learning alone. As Livonia is used as a political football by the warring powers of Russia, Sweden, Poland and Lithuania, he continues to climb the greasy pole of power and influence. Even as a boy, Russow has the happy knack of being in the right place and saying the right thing at the right time. He is equally at home acting as friend and confidante to his ambitious patron and as champion for his humble rural relatives. Can anything halt his vertiginous rise? Like most young men he is prey to temptations of the flesh . . .

MacLehose Press

The House with the Stained-Glass Window

Zanna Sloniowska
Authors:
Zanna Sloniowska
MacLehose Press

Belladonna

Daša Drndic
Authors:
Daša Drndic

"Belladonna is brutal, beautiful, and unforgettable . . . One of the truly outstanding novels of recent years" EILEEN BATTERSBY, Los Angeles Review of Books** Winner of the Warwick Prize for Women in Translation 2018**** Shortlisted for the inaugural E.B.R.D. Prize for Literature **** Shortlisted for the Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize **An excoriating work of fiction that references the twentieth century's darkest hoursAndreas Ban is a writer and a psychologist, an intellectual proper, but his world has been falling apart for years. When he retires with a miserable pension and finds out that he is ill, he gains a new perspective on the debris of his life and the lives of his friends. In defying illness and old age, Andreas Ban is cynical and powerful, and in his unravelling of his own past and the lives of others, he uncompromisingly lays bare a gamut of taboos. Andreas Ban stands for a true hero of our times; a castaway intellectual of a society which subdues every critical thought under the guise of political correctness. Belladonna addresses some of the twentieth century's worst human atrocities in a powerful fusion of fiction and reality, the hallmark of one of Europe's finest contemporary writers.Translated from the Croatian by Celia Hawkesworth

MacLehose Press

The Return

Dulce Maria Cardoso
Authors:
Dulce Maria Cardoso
MacLehose Press

The Millennium Trilogy

Stieg Larsson
Authors:
Stieg Larsson