Dov Alfon - A Long Night in Paris - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857058799
    • Publication date:10 Jan 2019
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857058805
    • Publication date:10 Jan 2019

A Long Night in Paris

The must-read thriller from the new master of spy fiction

By Dov Alfon
Read by Matt Addis

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Chinese gangsters and Israeli intelligence face off in Paris - Israel's bestselling book of 2017, perfect for fans of Homeland, John Le Carré and Mick Herron

From a former Israeli intelligence officer, comes the most realistic, thrilling and authentic thriller of the year.

Chinese gangsters and Israeli intelligence face off in Paris - Israel's bestselling book of 2017, perfect for fans of Homeland, John Le Carré and Mick Herron

"Fast action, clever plotting and a Bond-esque lead character who drives the narrative forward at every turn . . . This is high octane spy action" Manda Scott

When an Israeli tech entrepreneur disappears from Charles de Gaulle airport with a woman in red, logic dictates youthful indiscretion. But Israel is on a state of high alert nonetheless. Colonel Zeev Abadi, the new head of Unit 8200's autonomous Special Section, who just happens to be in Paris, also just happens to have arrived on the same flight.

For Commissaire Léger of the Paris Police coincidences have their reasons, and most are suspect. When a second young Israeli is kidnapped soon after arriving on the same flight, this time at gunpoint from his hotel room, his suspicions are confirmed - and a diplomatic incident looms.

Back in Tel Aviv, Lieutenant Oriana Talmor, Abadi's deputy, is his only ally, applying her sharp wits to the race to identify the victims and the reasons behind their abduction. In Paris a covert Chinese commando team listens to the investigation unfurl and watches from the rooftops. While by the hour the morgue receives more bodies from the river and the city's arrondissements.

The clock has been set. And this could be a long night in the City of Lights.

(P)2019 Quercus Editions Limited

Biographical Notes

Dov Alfon, brought up in Paris and Tel Aviv, is a former intelligence officer of Unit 8200, the most secretive arm of the Israeli Defence Forces. He was editor in chief of Israel's most influential newspaper, Haaretz, and chief editor of the leading publishing house Kinneret-Zmora. A Long Night In Paris, published in Israel to rave reviews, topped the best seller charts for 24 weeks. His previous projects have been called "fantastically creative" by the Guardian, "revolutionary" by The Paris Review and "incredibly inspiring" by The New Yorker. This is his first work of fiction.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857058836
  • Publication date: 10 Jan 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
Alfon takes over from John Le Carre and the old masters of the spy novel. — Guy Horowitz, Haaretz.
I can't remember any previous Israeli thriller so brilliant, lean and sleek . . . A novel for our post-truth times, totally believable and impossible to put down. — Aharon Lapidot, Israel Hayom.
Alfon breaks the limits of previous generation thrillers and creates the 21st century spy novel, sleek, highly political, funny, romantic and unforgettable. — Talma Admon, Maariv.
Thriller of the year... I'm in love with this duo of intelligence officers, they'll never let me down. — Galit Dahan-Carlibach, NRG.
Best novel of the year... John Le-Carre and scores of Mossad agents can happily retire and leave room for Dov Alfon and his Unit 8200 wizards, who change the shape of espionage thrillers with enormous talent, depth and intensity. A masterpiece. — Shay Golden, Makor Rishon.
The best Israeli thriller ever written. — Meira Barnea-Argaman, TV Channel 2.
If you want to sleep during your flight, do *not* buy this thriller at the airport! The pages fly by themselves and prey on my thoughts long after I landed. — Haim Hecht, Radio Kol-Rega.
Dov Alfon has written a first-class thriller, utterly knowing, richly detailed and rigorously researched . . . A wonderful book, riveting and ingenious. I couldn't put it down till the final twist. — Gal Perl, Al-Hakavenet.
Best read... Alfon knows so much about the ways the Israeli intelligence corps work that it adds a lot to the enjoyment of the book... His characters are great, and the plot is full of suspense and very fast-paced. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series. — Adi Shtamberger, Jerusalem Post.
An amazing achievement... This thriller captures the zeitgeist with enormous power . . . Equal parts suspense and entertainment, you simply can't put it down. — Ilan Lukatch, Radio Tel-Aviv.
Fast action, clever plotting and a Bond-esque lead character who drives the narrative forward at every turn . . . This is high octane spy action with a genuinely fascinating ability to take us behind the scenes of a modern intelligence service. — M.C. Scott
Quercus

Cuckoo

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins

MacLehose Press

The Untameable

Guillermo Arriaga
Authors:
Guillermo Arriaga
MacLehose Press

The Slaughterman's Daughter

Yaniv Iczkovits
Authors:
Yaniv Iczkovits

MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Lived Twice

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

The new thriller from the bestselling author of The Girl Before.

riverrun

A Buried Life

Hannah Michell
Authors:
Hannah Michell
riverrun

Fake Like Me

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland

CAREY LOGANShe was the genius wild child of the New York art scene, and my idol.FAKEI was a no-name painter from the Florida backwater, clawing my way into their world.LIKEWhen she died, she left a space that couldn't be filled. Except, maybe, byMEEverything that gets created destroys something else.When a fire rips through her studio and burns the seven enormous paintings for her next exhibition, a young, no-name painter is left with an impossible task: recreate her art in just three months - or ruin her fledgling career. Thirty-four, single and homeless, she desperately secures a place at an exclusive upstate retreat. Brimming with creative history and set on a sparkling black lake, Pine City and its founders - a notorious collective of successful artists - is what she's idolized all her life. She's dreamt of the parties, the celebrities, the privilege. What she finds is a ghost of its former self.The recent suicide of founding member Carey Logan haunts everyone, lurking beneath the surface like a shipwreck. And one thought begins to shadow her every move - what really happened to her hero?With a flair for sensational detail and acidic wit, Barbara Bourland delivers a darkly satirical thriller about art, money and identity with a twist so sharp it cuts.

Quercus

White Hot Silence

Henry Porter
Authors:
Henry Porter
riverrun

The Paper Wasp

Lauren Acampora
Authors:
Lauren Acampora

Quercus

Just Like You

Alison Percival
Authors:
Alison Percival
MacLehose Press

The Gravity of Love

Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg
MacLehose Press

The Carrier

Mattias Berg
Authors:
Mattias Berg
riverrun

Deadland

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
riverrun

The Killer in Me

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan
MacLehose Press

Balco Atlantico

Jérôme Ferrari
Authors:
Jérôme Ferrari

In a village square in Corsica lies the body of ardent nationalist, Stéphane Campana, shot down at close range. And over his body weeps Virginie, the young woman who has venerated Stéphane all her life - a veneration that has led her to abandon herself to him and his twisted desires completely.Meanwhile, brother and sister Khaled and Hayet, who once gazed out to sea from the shoreline path known as "Balco Atlantico" and dreamed of a better future, are now stranded in Corsica. As Ferrari traces the history of Stéphane and Virginie that leads to the shooting in the village square, we encounter the story of Khaled and Hayet and see through their story and the stories of many others in this one Corsican square how a relentless pursuit of happiness and fulfilment can bring us perilously close to despair and disillusionment.

Quercus

The Last Thing She Told Me

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
Quercus

The Washington Decree

Jussi Adler-Olsen
Authors:
Jussi Adler-Olsen

The New York Times and #1 internationally bestselling author of the Department Q series is back, with a terrifyingly relevant stand-alone novel about an America in chaos. A NO. 1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLEROVER 18 MILLION COPIES SOLDWINNER OF THE GLASS KEY AWARD"The president has gone way too far. . . . These are practically dictatorial methods we're talking about." Sixteen years before Democratic Senator Bruce Jansen was elected president of the United States, a PR stunt brought together five very different people: fourteen-year-old Dorothy "Doggie" Rogers, small-town sheriff T. Perkins, single mother Rosalie Lee, well-known journalist John Bugatti, and the teenage son of one of Jansen's employees, Wesley Barefoot. In spite of their differences, the five remain bonded by their shared experience and devotion to their candidate. For Doggie, who worked the campaign trail with Wesley, Jansen's election is a personal victory: a job in the White House, proof to her Republican father that she was right to support Jansen, and the rise of an intelligent, clear-headed leader with her same ideals. But the triumph is short-lived: Jansen's pregnant wife is assassinated on election night, and the alleged mastermind behind the shooting is none other than Doggie's own father.When Jansen ascends to the White House, he is a changed man, determined to end gun violence by any means necessary. Rights are taken away as quickly as weapons. International travel becomes impossible. Checkpoints and roadblocks destroy infrastructure. The media is censored. Militias declare civil war on the government. The country is in chaos, and Jansen's former friends each find themselves fighting a very different battle, for themselves, their rights, their country . . . and, in Doggie's case, the life of her father, who just may be innocent.

Quercus

Bloodline

Nigel McCrery
Authors:
Nigel McCrery
Quercus

Remembrance Day

Henry Porter
Authors:
Henry Porter

'An espionage master' Charles CummingA terrifying plot to unleash destruction in London. A very unlikely spy. The countdown has begun...Constantine Lindow is waiting for his brother Eamonn outside a central London tube station when a bus turns into the street and explodes. The next day Con is arrested as the prime suspect for the bombing.Con is determined to prove his innocence, but the only way he can do that is to find the real bomber. As he digs deeper, he finds himself confronted by his own brother's secret life - and the cold-blooded killers from his past.The trail leads Con halfway across the world and back to London, where he tracks down a killer with a genius for encryption codes. Only Con can crack the code. Only Con can stop that telephone ringing...'British espionage fiction is the best in the world, and Porter is part of the reason why' Lee Child

Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg