Dov Alfon - A Long Night in Paris - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857058829
    • Publication date:10 Jan 2019
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857058799
    • Publication date:10 Jan 2019

A Long Night in Paris

By Dov Alfon

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Chinese gangsters and Israeli intelligence face off in Paris - Israel's bestselling book of 2017, perfect for fans of Homeland, John Le Carré and Mick Herron

Chinese gangsters and Israeli intelligence face off in Paris - Israel's bestselling book of 2017, perfect for fans of Homeland, John Le Carré and Mick Herron

When an Israeli tech entrepreneur disappears from Charles de Gaulle airport with a woman in red, logic dictates youthful indiscretion. But Israel is on a state of high alert nonetheless. Colonel Zeev Abadi, the new head of Unit 8200's autonomous Special Section, who just happens to be in Paris, also just happens to have arrived on the same flight.

For Commissaire Léger of the Paris Police coincidences have their reasons, and most are suspect. When a second young Israeli is kidnapped soon after arriving on the same flight, this time at gunpoint from his hotel room, his suspicions are confirmed - and a diplomatic incident looms.

Back in Tel Aviv, Lieutenant Oriana Talmor, Abadi's deputy, is his only ally, applying her sharp wits to the race to identify the victims and the reasons behind their abduction. In Paris a covert Chinese commando team listens to the investigation unfurl and watches from the rooftops. While by the hour the morgue receives more bodies from the river and the city's arrondissements.

The clock has been set. And this could be a long night in the City of Lights.

Biographical Notes

Born and brought up in Paris, Dov Alfon is a former intelligence officer of Unit 8200, an element of Mossad. He was editor in chief of Israel's most influential newspaper, Ha'aretz, and chief editor of the leading publishing house Kinneret-Zmora. His previous projects have been called "fantastically creative" by The Guardian, "revolutionary" by The Paris Review and "incredibly inspiring" by The New Yorker. This is his first work of fiction.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857058836
  • Publication date: 10 Jan 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
Alfon takes over from John Le Carre and the old masters of the spy novel. — Guy Horowitz, Haaretz.
I can't remember any previous Israeli thriller so brilliant, lean and sleek . . . A novel for our post-truth times, totally believable and impossible to put down. — Aharon Lapidot, Israel Hayom.
Alfon breaks the limits of previous generation thrillers and creates the 21st century spy novel, sleek, highly political, funny, romantic and unforgettable. — Talma Admon, Maariv.
Thriller of the year... I'm in love with this duo of intelligence officers, they'll never let me down. — Galit Dahan-Carlibach, NRG.
Best novel of the year... John Le-Carre and scores of Mossad agents can happily retire and leave room for Dov Alfon and his Unit 8200 wizards, who change the shape of espionage thrillers with enormous talent, depth and intensity. A masterpiece. — Shay Golden, Makor Rishon.
The best Israeli thriller ever written. — Meira Barnea-Argaman, TV Channel 2.
If you want to sleep during your flight, do *not* buy this thriller at the airport! The pages fly by themselves and prey on my thoughts long after I landed. — Haim Hecht, Radio Kol-Rega.
Dov Alfon has written a first-class thriller, utterly knowing, richly detailed and rigorously researched . . . A wonderful book, riveting and ingenious. I couldn't put it down till the final twist. — Gal Perl, Al-Hakavenet.
Best read... Alfon knows so much about the ways the Israeli intelligence corps work that it adds a lot to the enjoyment of the book... His characters are great, and the plot is full of suspense and very fast-paced. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series. — Adi Shtamberger, Jerusalem Post.
An amazing achievement... This thriller captures the zeitgeist with enormous power . . . Equal parts suspense and entertainment, you simply can't put it down. — Ilan Lukatch, Radio Tel-Aviv.
MacLehose Press

The Last Days of El Comandante

Alberto Barrera Tyszka
Authors:
Alberto Barrera Tyszka
riverrun

The Killer in Me

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan
MacLehose Press

Soldiers of Salamis

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas
Quercus

Metropolis

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
MacLehose Press

Lord of All the Dead

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas
riverrun

Prefecture D

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
MacLehose Press

Balco Atlantico

Jérôme Ferrari
Authors:
Jérôme Ferrari
MacLehose Press

White Ocean

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen
Quercus

Beautiful Bad

Annie Ward
Authors:
Annie Ward

In the most explosive and twisted psychological thriller since The Woman in the Window, a perfect love story leads to the perfect crime.Things that make me scared: When Charlie cries. Hospitals and lakes. When Ian drinks vodka in the basement. ISIS. When Ian gets angry. ... That something is really, really wrong with me.Maddie and Ian's romance began with a chance encounter at a party overseas; he was serving in the British Army and she was a travel writer visiting her best friend Jo. Now almost two decades later, married with a beautiful son, Charlie, they are living the perfect suburban life in Middle America. But when a camping accident leaves Maddie badly scarred, she begins attending writing therapy, where she gradually reveals her fears about Ian's PTSD; her concerns for the safety of their young son Charlie; and the couple's tangled and tumultuous past with Jo.From the Balkans to England, Iraq to Manhattan, and finally to an ordinary family home in Kansas, sixteen years of love and fear, adventure and suspicion culminate in The Day of the Killing, when a frantic 911 call summons the police to the scene of shocking crime.But what in this beautiful home has gone so terribly bad?

Quercus

The Lemon Tree Hotel

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

A story about love, family secrets, and a little piece of heaven . . .In the beautiful village of Vernazza, the Mazzone family have transformed an old convent overlooking the glamorous Italian Riviera into the elegant Lemon Tree Hotel. For Chiara, her daughter Elene and her granddaughter Isabella, the running of their hotel is the driving force in their lives. One day, two unexpected guests check in. The first, Dante, is a face from Chiara's past, but what exactly happened between them all those years ago, Elene wonders. Meanwhile, Isabella is preoccupied with the second guest, a mysterious young man who seems to know a lot about the history of the old convent and the people who live there. Isabella is determined to find out his true intentions and discover the secret past of the Lemon Tree Hotel.

riverrun

Against Nature (riverrun editions)

Joris-Karl Huysmans
Authors:
Joris-Karl Huysmans
MacLehose Press

Equator

Antonin Varenne
Authors:
Antonin Varenne
Jo Fletcher Books

Council

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
MacLehose Press

A Book of Falsehoods

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross

The third part in an epic historical trilogy - The Estonian answer to Wolf Hall - by the nation's greatest modern writer 1578. A ship from Rostock arrives in Tallinn loaded with printed copies of Balthasar Russow's Chronicle - the culmination of our hero's life's work. But though it is an instant success, as it was in Rostock and numerous German cities, not everyone is happy to see it published. A group of local gentry denounce it to the town council as "a book of heinous falsehoods", and lobby for Balthasar to relieved as pastor of Holy Ghost Church.But all is not lost. Balthasar may call on a powerful ally - if he is willing to pay the price. In this final volume, fierce storms, along with famine, war and plague, continue to be loosed upon Livonia. Balthasar's personal life, too, is fraught with turbulence and loss, much of it stemming from his own jealousy and suspicion.

MacLehose Press

The Capital

Robert Menasse
Authors:
Robert Menasse

Brussels. A panorama of tragic heroes, manipulative losers, involuntary accomplices. In his new novel, Robert Menasse spans a narrative arc between the times, the nations, the inevitable and the irony of fate, between petty bureaucracy and big emotions.Fenia Xenapoulou is facing a career setback. She has been "promoted" to the Department of Culture by the Directorate General - no budget, no power, no reputation. So the "Big Jubilee Project" comes just at the right time, to revamp the image of the European Commission. Her Austrian personal assistant Martin Susmann suggests proclaiming Auschwitz as the birthplace of the European Commission. Fenia is thrilled, but she has neglected to take the other European nations into account.Inspector Brunfaut is in a tricky situation too, his murder case has been suppressed at the highest level. Luckily he's friends with the I.T. whizz at the Brussels Police Department, who gains access to the secret files of the public prosecutor's office. Matek, the Polish hitman, knows nothing of this when he makes his escape. But he does know that he shot the wrong guy, and for Matek, who would rather have been ordained a priest, this is serious. And what about the pig farmers who take to the streets of the city with pitchforks to protest about existing trade restrictions that block the export of pigs' ears to China . . .

Quercus

To Kill the Truth

Sam Bourne
Authors:
Sam Bourne

THE NEW BLOCKBUSTER THRILLER FROM THE AUTHOR OF TO KILL THE PRESIDENTSomeone is trying to destroy the evidence of history's greatest crimes.Academics and Holocaust survivors dead in mysterious circumstances. Museums and libraries burning. Digital records and irreplaceable proofs, lost for ever.Former White House operative Maggie Costello has sworn off politics. But when the Governor of Virginia seeks her help to stop the lethal spiral of killings, she knows that this is bigger than any political game. As Black Lives Matter protestors clash with slavery deniers, America is on a knife-edge and time is running out. This deadly conspiracy could ignite a new Civil War - but who stands to gain most from the chaos?Taut, authoritative and explosive, To Kill the Truth takes us to the edge of anarchy, a world without truth in which history will be rewritten by those who live to shape it.Praise for Sam Bourne:'Urgently topical'The Times'Propulsive'Guardian'A Day of the Jackal for these dizzying times' Ian Rankin

Quercus

Fight Back

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith
Quercus

Dirty Little Secrets

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg
MacLehose Press

Name of the Dog: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 3)

Élmer Mendoza
Authors:
Élmer Mendoza