Peter Mayle - The Vintage Caper - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857380227
    • Publication date:26 May 2011
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857383853
    • Publication date:31 Oct 2010

The Vintage Caper

By Peter Mayle

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

Biographical Notes

Peter Mayle is the author of eleven previous books, five of them novels. He has received the Legion d'Honneur from the French government for his cultural contributions. He has been living in Provence with his wife, Jennie, for twenty years.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857384331
  • Publication date: 26 May 2011
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Quercus
'An evocative blending of wine and crime and a book that is sure to please Mayle fans and newcomers alike' City AM. — City AM
'It's a breeze of a read - light and fun, and written with the ease and assurance of an expert' Daily Mail. — Daily Mail
'This book left me feeling thirsty for a glass of Bordeaux and hungry for beef cheeks with foie gras, followed by a fondant au chocolat' Irish Examiner. — Irish Examiner
'Mayle peppers the narrative with wry observations, often in the form of his trademark one-liners' New York Times. — New York Times
'This is a feel-good book for the summer, best savoured over a glass of vintage rosé' Sunday Express. — Sunday Express
Quercus

The Boy Who Fell

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

From the bestselling author of With Our Blessing and The Confession comes a gripping new mystery featuring DCI Tom Reynolds.Kids can be so cruel. They'll call you names. Hurt your feelings.Push you to your death. In the garden of an abandoned house, Luke Connolly lies broken, dead. The night before, he and his friends partied inside. Nobody fought, everybody else went home safely. And yet, Luke was raped and pushed to his death. His alleged attacker is now in custody. DCI Tom Reynolds is receiving the biggest promotion of his career when a colleague asks him to look at the Connolly case, believing it's not as cut and dried as local investigators have made out. And as Tom begins to examine the world Connolly and his upper class friends inhabited, the privilege and protection afforded to them, he too realises something.In this place, people cover up for each other. Even when it comes to murder.

riverrun

Fake Like Me

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland
riverrun

The Killer in Me

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan
Quercus

Metropolis

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
riverrun

Prefecture D

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
Jo Fletcher Books

Hearts of Ice

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair
Quercus

Beautiful Bad

Annie Ward
Authors:
Annie Ward

In the most explosive and twisted psychological thriller since The Woman in the Window, a perfect love story leads to the perfect crime.Things that make me scared: When Charlie cries. Hospitals and lakes. When Ian drinks vodka in the basement. ISIS. When Ian gets angry. ... That something is really, really wrong with me.Maddie and Ian's romance began with a chance encounter at a party overseas; he was serving in the British Army and she was a travel writer visiting her best friend Jo. Now almost two decades later, married with a beautiful son, Charlie, they are living the perfect suburban life in Middle America. But when a camping accident leaves Maddie badly scarred, she begins attending writing therapy, where she gradually reveals her fears about Ian's PTSD; her concerns for the safety of their young son Charlie; and the couple's tangled and tumultuous past with Jo.From the Balkans to England, Iraq to Manhattan, and finally to an ordinary family home in Kansas, sixteen years of love and fear, adventure and suspicion culminate in The Day of the Killing, when a frantic 911 call summons the police to the scene of shocking crime.But what in this beautiful home has gone so terribly bad?

Jo Fletcher Books

Council

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
Quercus

Fight Back

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

'MARTINA COLE FANS WILL LOVE THIS FAST-PACED THRILLER' SUNDAY MIRRORGangster Kerry Casey has fought her way to the top of the Glasgow crime scene. But can she stay there?Kerry Casey is now a fully-fledged gangland boss. With her business partner Sharon and her wily lawyer Marty at her side, she is busy ridding her organisation of the drug-dealing, people-trafficking scum her dead brother Mickey got them involved with. But her great dream is still to take the Caseys straight.Her plan to turn her organisation around hinges on building a property empire in Spain. But Kerry has some deadly rivals - in Glasgow, on the Costa del Sol, and even further afield. They will never believe she has what it takes to defend her turf, and they won't rest until the Caseys are destroyed.When her enemies strike at the heart of the Casey family, Kerry must prepare for the fight of her life - for her business, her friends and her own survival.

Quercus

The Stone Circle

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

'My favourite series' Val McDermidDCI Nelson has been receiving threatening letters telling him to 'go to the stone circle and rescue the innocent who is buried there'. He is shaken, not only because children are very much on his mind, with Michelle's baby due to be born, but because although the letters are anonymous, they are somehow familiar. They read like the letters that first drew him into the case of The Crossing Places, and to Ruth. But the author of those letters is dead. Or are they?Meanwhile Ruth is working on a dig in the Saltmarsh - another henge, known by the archaeologists as the stone circle - trying not to think about the baby. Then bones are found on the site, and identified as those of Margaret Lacey, a twelve-year-old girl who disappeared thirty years ago.As the Margaret Lacey case progresses, more and more aspects of it begin to hark back to that first case of The Crossing Places, and to Scarlett Henderson, the girl Nelson couldn't save. The past is reaching out for Ruth and Nelson, and its grip is deadly.

riverrun

Salt Lane

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
Quercus

Orphan Boy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
riverrun

The Man With No Face

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

PRE-ORDER THE MAN WITH NO FACE - A POWERFUL AND PRESCIENT THRILLER FROM THE MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR OF I'LL KEEP YOU SAFE, COFFIN ROAD AND THE BLACKHOUSE.A REPORTER WITH NO FEARBrussels, 1979. Jaded Edinburgh journalist Neil Bannerman arrives in the capital of European politics intent on digging up dirt. Yet it is danger he discovers, when two British men are found murdered.A CHILD WITH NO FATHEROne victim is a journalist, the other a Cabinet Minister: the double-assassination witnessed by the former's autistic daughter. This girl recalls every detail about her father's killer - except for one.THE MAN WITH NO FACEWith Brussels rocked by the tragedy, Bannerman is compelled to follow his instincts. He is now fighting to expose a murderous conspiracy, protect a helpless child, and unmask a remorseless killer.(P)2019 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

A dark story has been brought to terrifying life. Can the ending be rewritten in time?'Utterly bewitching ... a pitch-perfect modern Gothic' AJ FINN, author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW'Compelling, intelligent and increasingly mesmerising' PETER JAMES'At once a homage to the Gothic thriller, and a re-imagining, it is goose-bump spooky, smart, and haunting, in every sense. I loved this book! And you will too' LOUISE PENNYA gripping contemporary Gothic thriller from the bestselling author of the Dr Ruth Galloway mysteries: Susan Hill meets Gone Girl and Disclaimer.Clare Cassidy is no stranger to tales of murder. As a literature teacher specialising in the Gothic writer R.M. Holland, she teaches a short course on them every year. Then Clare's life and work collide tragically when one of her colleagues is found dead, a line from an R.M. Holland story by her body. The investigating police detective is convinced the writer's works somehow hold the key to the case.Not knowing who to trust, and afraid that the killer is someone she knows, Clare confides her darkest suspicions and fears about the case to her journal. Then one day she notices some other writing in the diary. Writing that isn't hers...

Quercus

The Darkest Place

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
MacLehose Press

The Girl in the Spider's Web

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
Quercus

Leave No Trace

Mindy Mejia
Authors:
Mindy Mejia

'You definitely need to pick this up' Bustle's 13 Best New Fiction Books for SeptemberA hostile wilderness is watching you. Spine-chilling thriller for fans of Jane Harper's FORCE OF NATURE and Will Dean's DARK PINESTen years after a boy and his father went missing in the wilderness of Minnesota's Boundary Waters, the boy - who is no longer a boy - walks back out of the forest. He is violent and uncommunicative. The authorities take him to Congdon Mental Institution in Duluth, on the edge of mighty Lake Superior.There, language therapist Maya Stark is given the task of making a connection with this boy/man who came back from the dead. But their celebrity patient tries to escape and refuses to answer any questions about his father or the last ten years of his life. In many ways he is old far beyond his years; in others, still a child.But Maya, who was abandoned by her own mother, has secrets, too. And as she's drawn closer to this enigmatic boy, she'll risk everything to reunite him with his father who has disappeared from the known world - but at what cost to herself?

Quercus

A Taste for Vengeance

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker

'THE MAIGRET OF THE DORDOGNE' ANTONY BEEVORBruno, now Chief of Police for the whole Vézère valley, has an unusual challenge to rise to: teaching at his friend Pamela's new cookery school. It is a daunting prospect - the disappearance of one of the school's pupils almost serves as a welcome distraction.When the woman's body is discovered in one half of a double homicide, the evidence points to something far out of the ordinary. The other murder victim is a man, covered in combat scars and with a false passport. Investigations reveal a list of enemies as long as Bruno's arm. Any one of them would have had good reason to kill him - but which group managed it? And how did they find him?As more of their mystery man's previous life is revealed, Bruno realizes that there may be more intended victims in the vicinity. Now he must conduct the biggest manhunt in St Denis' history to find the killers before they strike again.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

Greeks Bearing Gifts

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
Jo Fletcher Books

Kin

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson

'For Vikings done right, come to Snorri Kristjansson' - Mark Lawrence'Truly entertaining' - Yrsa Sigurðardóttir'A dark mystery in a dark age brought vividly to life' - Robert FabbriEveryone loves a family reunion. 970: For the first time since Helga was adopted, her family will be gathered in one place. But her siblings are coming with darkness in their hearts. Everyone knows their father, the Viking warlord Unnthor Reginsson, has a great chest of gold hidden somewhere on his land - and each of his heirs is determined to find it. Then one morning Helga is awakened by screams. Blood has been shed. Kin has been slain. All the clues point to one person - who cannot possibly be the murderer, at least in Helga's eyes. But if she's going to save an innocent from the axe, she's got to solve the mystery - fast . . . Lies. Manipulation. Murder. There's nothing quite like family . . .