David Thomas - Blood Relative - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857387974
    • Publication date:27 Oct 2011

Blood Relative

By David Thomas

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

"How well do you know your wife, Mr Crookham?"

Peter Crookham arrives home late from work to a bloodbath: his journalist brother, Andy, is dead - covered in knife wounds - and his beautiful young wife, Mariana, is bathed in his blood.

Convinced his wife is incapable of murder, Peter vows to clear her name. Yet he is forced to question his conviction when he discovers the subject of Andy's final investigation - Mariana's past.

This past, Peter will discover, is inextricably linked to one man: an elusive, mysterious figure affiliated with the then East German security service, the STASI.

But this man is more than that. Much more. And so is Mariana Crookham.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857387998
  • Publication date: 27 Oct 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
'This is the first psychological thriller that Thomas has written under his own name - readers may be familiar with his very successful Tom Cain thrillers - and very good it is too' Daily Mail. — Daily Mail
'that Thomas keeps us intrigued and gently amused is proof of his skill' Guardian. — Guardian
'If his five 'Tom Cain' thrillers are David Thomas' big-budget Bourne movies, this first novel under his own name is his Third Man - dour, ethically complex and written in moody black-and-white' Telegraph. — Telegraph
Quercus

The Last Thing She Told Me

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
Quercus

A Summer Revenge

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan
Quercus

Trouble at Zero Hour

Rob Lofthouse
Authors:
Rob Lofthouse

Written by a retired British soldier, Trouble at Zero Hour is a breathless and vivid story, dramatizing three of the key Allied operations that turned the tide of the Second World War.6 June, 1944, somewhere over the Normandy coastline: Robbie Stokes sits in a glider, his Bren resting on the floor between his outstretched legs. The nose lowers and the glider descends rapidly: ten minutes of stomach-churning twists and turns until suddenly the call goes up to 'BRACE'. The belly makes contact with the ground and the first Allied troops tumble out into occupied Europe.For new recruit Robbie Stokes it is the beginning of ten months of brutal and relentless conflict that take him from D-Day, via Operation Market Garden and the battle for Arnhem Bridge, to the Rhine Crossing and the final push for victory. Three operations that change the course of the war and test Robbie Stokes and his band of brothers to their limits. If they fail, then the Allied invasion fails. They must succeed through their longest days.

riverrun

You Should Have Left

Daniel Kehlmann
Authors:
Daniel Kehlmann

A thrilling exploration of psychological disturbance and fear from the bestselling and prize-winning author of Measuring the World.On retreat in the wintry Alps with his family, a writer is optimistic about completing the sequel to his breakthrough film. Nothing to disturb him except the wind whispering around their glassy house. The perfect place to focus. Intruding on that peace of mind, the demands of his four-year-old daughter splinter open long-simmering arguments with his wife. I love her, he writes in the notebook intended for his script. Why do we fight all the time?Guilt and expectation strain at his concentration, and strain, too, at the walls of the house. They warp under his watch; at night, looking through the window, he sees impossible reflections on the snow outside.Then the words start to appear in his notebook; the words he didn't write.Familiar and forbidding by turns, this is an electrifying experiment in form by one of Europe's boldest writers. The ordinary struggles of a marriage transform, in Kehlmann's hands, into a twisted fable that stays darkly in the mind.

Quercus

The Tunnel

Carl-Johan Vallgren
Authors:
Carl-Johan Vallgren
MacLehose Press

Retribution Road

Antonin Varenne
Authors:
Antonin Varenne
Quercus

Retribution

Steffen Jacobsen
Authors:
Steffen Jacobsen
Quercus

The Hunter

Tony Park
Authors:
Tony Park

MacLehose Press

Dirty War

Dominique Sylvain
Authors:
Dominique Sylvain

Quercus

The Third Testament

Christopher Galt
Authors:
Christopher Galt

'Michael Crichton meets The Matrix' Daily Mail Previously published as Biblical. An apocalyptic, mind-melting thriller on an epic scale that will make you question your own reality and even your sanity.What would you do if you found out that your future had already happened? All around the world, people start to see things that aren't there, that cannot be. Visions, ghosts, events from the past playing out in the present. To start with, the visions are unremarkable: things misplaced in time and caught out of the corner of the eye; glimpses of long-dead family or friends. But, as time goes on, the visions become more sustained, more vivid, more widespread. More terrifying. As the visions become truly apocalyptic, some turn to religion, others to science. Only one man, driven by personal as well as professional reasons, is capable of finding the real truth. But the truth that psychiatrist John Macbeth uncovers is much, much bigger than either religion or science. A truth so big it could cost him his sanity. And his life.

Quercus

The Boy in the Shadows

Carl-Johan Vallgren
Authors:
Carl-Johan Vallgren
Quercus

The Prey

Tony Park
Authors:
Tony Park

riverrun

The Serpent Papers

Jessica Cornwell
Authors:
Jessica Cornwell
Quercus

Thief

Mark Sullivan
Authors:
Mark Sullivan
Quercus

Dark Heart

Tony Park
Authors:
Tony Park

Quercus

Summer Lies Bleeding

Nuala Casey
Authors:
Nuala Casey
Quercus

Outlaw: Robin Monarch 2 (

Mark Sullivan
Authors:
Mark Sullivan
Quercus

Rogue: Robin Monarch 1 (U

Mark Sullivan
Authors:
Mark Sullivan
Quercus

The Garden of Unearthly Delights

Alex Connor
Authors:
Alex Connor

This exclusive short story is the perfect accompaniment to Alex Connor's gripping new novel, The Bosch Deception, a sample chapter of which is included in this ebook. Reporter David Gerrald has heard of the controversy surrounding Hieronymus Bosch's famous painting St Jerome, but he suspects there's more to the story than the papers are reporting. So when a shady figure connected to the scandal grants him an exclusive interview, Gerrald is eager to learn what really happened to Bosch's masterpiece. But as Gerrald digs deeper he finds that the glamour of the art world hides a multitude of sins. Is Gerrald's mystery confidant to be trusted, or is there a darker incentive at play?

Jo Fletcher Books

Limit

Frank Schätzing
Authors:
Frank Schätzing

Perfect for fans of Neal Stephenson and Peter F. Hamilton, an epic science-fiction novel from Germany's most successful thriller writer. The first space elevator connects the Earth to the Moon, prompting abreathless race between the Americans and Chinese to get to the Moon's helium-3 - the rare element that promises to solve all the world's energy problems. In Shanghai, cyber-detective Owen Jericho has been hired to find Yoyo, a missing girl, but what started as a routine investigation soon develops into a nightmarish hunt. There's a crazed assassin hot on his heels, all because Yoyo accidentally stumbled onto a secret society called Hydra - and now it's not just her life at risk. Following the Hydra trail takes Jericho and Yoyo round the world and finally to the Gaia, the Moon's very first hotel, where a billionaire entrepreneur is entertaining some of the world's richest and most influential men and women But the secret society that is Hydra has its own plans for the Earth - and the Moon. And nothing and no one will be allowed to stand in its way.