David Thomas - Blood Relative - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857387974
    • Publication date:27 Oct 2011

Blood Relative

By David Thomas

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

"How well do you know your wife, Mr Crookham?"

Peter Crookham arrives home late from work to a bloodbath: his journalist brother, Andy, is dead - covered in knife wounds - and his beautiful young wife, Mariana, is bathed in his blood.

Convinced his wife is incapable of murder, Peter vows to clear her name. Yet he is forced to question his conviction when he discovers the subject of Andy's final investigation - Mariana's past.

This past, Peter will discover, is inextricably linked to one man: an elusive, mysterious figure affiliated with the then East German security service, the STASI.

But this man is more than that. Much more. And so is Mariana Crookham.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857387998
  • Publication date: 27 Oct 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
'This is the first psychological thriller that Thomas has written under his own name - readers may be familiar with his very successful Tom Cain thrillers - and very good it is too' Daily Mail. — Daily Mail
'that Thomas keeps us intrigued and gently amused is proof of his skill' Guardian. — Guardian
'If his five 'Tom Cain' thrillers are David Thomas' big-budget Bourne movies, this first novel under his own name is his Third Man - dour, ethically complex and written in moody black-and-white' Telegraph. — Telegraph
Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

The third thriller from JP Delaney, the bestselling author of The Girl Before and Believe Me, coming 2019.

Quercus

To Kill the Truth

Sam Bourne
Authors:
Sam Bourne
Quercus

The Bear Pit

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

Captain Damian Seeker is busy with the most complex intelligence operation of his career since he started working for Secretary Thurloe. His task is to use double agent Thomas Faithly to infiltrate illegal gambling dens around London, as well as more respectable Royalist circles - like that of diarist John Evelyn.When Seeker raids one such gambling den, Faithly is arrested along with the gamblers. Also discovered in the raid is the body of a man, chained to a post and with the marks of having been mauled to death by some wild animal. Seeker is convinced it was a bear - but the city's bear pits were closed years ago. Faithly claims no knowledge of the murdered man or how he came to sustain his injuries, but can he be trusted?A labyrinthine investigation lies before Seeker, involving old friends from Kent's Coffee House as well as new ones - like Lawrence Ingolby, a Yorkshire lad now studying law in London. New enemies will be made as well, and the truth, when it is revealed, will point to a deadly conspiracy coming from the highest levels of the Royalist court. The very life of the Lord Protector is at stake. Will Seeker solve the riddle of the bear pit in time?

MacLehose Press

Lissy

Luca D'Andrea
Authors:
Luca D'Andrea
riverrun

Three Hours

Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Authors:
Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Quercus

The Darkest Place

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
Quercus

Beautiful Bad

Annie Ward
Authors:
Annie Ward
Jo Fletcher Books

Council

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson

A murdered diplomat, planted evidence and a treacherous sister: once again, Helga had better find the real killer quickly, before heads start rolling - literally - in this brand-new Viking noir mystery. Helga Finnsdottir left her foster parents, the old Viking chieftain Unnthor Reginson and his knowing wife Hildigunnur, to see the world, but she stopped in Uppsala when she fell in love. Now she's established herself as a local healer and herb-woman on the outskirts of town, and life is good - until King Eirik the Victorious calls a trade council and hairy northerners and southern Swedes alike descend on the town.Unfortunately for Helga, one delegation is headed by a very determined young woman who has her own agenda and will let nothing - and no one - get in her way. But the last time Helga saw Jorunn Unthorsdottir, her foster-sister was being cast out by their father for killing their brother Bjorn and trying to pin the blame on Helga. So perhaps it's no great surprise when one of the delegates is murdered, or that Helga's soon tagged as the lead suspect. It doesn't take her long to clear her own name, but that only leads suspicion to fall on to her man. Once again, Helga must solve a murder, and fast, before the innocent pays with his head.

Quercus

Dirty Little Secrets

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
Quercus

Fight Back

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

Kerry Casey is now a fully-fledged gangland boss. With her business partner Sharon and her wily lawyer Marty at her side, she is busy ridding her organisation of the drug-dealing, people-trafficking scum her dead brother Mickey got them involved with. But her great dream is still to take the Caseys straight.Her plan to turn her organisation around hinges on building a property empire in Spain. But Kerry has some deadly rivals - in Glasgow, on the Costa del Sol, and even further afield. They will never believe she has what it takes to defend her turf, and they won't rest until the Caseys are destroyed.When her enemies strike at the heart of the Casey family, Kerry must prepare for the fight of her life - for her business, her friends and her own survival.

riverrun

The Man With No Face

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

PRE-ORDER THE MAN WITH NO FACE - A POWERFUL AND PRESCIENT THRILLER FROM THE MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR OF I'LL KEEP YOU SAFE, COFFIN ROAD AND THE BLACKHOUSE.A REPORTER WITH NO FEARBrussels, 1979. Jaded Edinburgh journalist Neil Bannerman arrives in the capital of European politics intent on digging up dirt. Yet it is danger he discovers, when two British men are found murdered.A CHILD WITH NO FATHEROne victim is a journalist, the other a Cabinet Minister: the double-assassination witnessed by the former's autistic daughter. This girl recalls every detail about her father's killer - except for one.THE MAN WITH NO FACEWith Brussels rocked by the tragedy, Bannerman is compelled to follow his instincts. He is now fighting to expose a murderous conspiracy, protect a helpless child, and unmask a remorseless killer.

MacLehose Press

A Long Night in Paris

Dov Alfon
Authors:
Dov Alfon
Quercus

Bloodline

Nigel McCrery
Authors:
Nigel McCrery
Quercus

Deliver Me

Karen Cole
Authors:
Karen Cole
Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

A dark story has been brought to terrifying life. Can the ending be rewritten in time?'Compelling, intelligent and increasingly mesmerising' PETER JAMESA gripping contemporary Gothic thriller from the bestselling author of the Dr Ruth Galloway mysteries: Susan Hill meets Gone Girl and Disclaimer.Clare Cassidy is no stranger to murder. As a literature teacher specialising in the Gothic writer RM Holland, she teaches a short course on it every year. Then Clare's life and work collide tragically when one of her colleagues is found dead, a line from an RM Holland story by her body. The investigating police detective is convinced the writer's works somehow hold the key to the case.Not knowing who to trust, and afraid that the killer is someone she knows, Clare confides her darkest suspicions and fears about the case to her journal. Then one day she notices some other writing in the diary. Writing that isn't hers...

Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring

'Neil Spring is Agatha Christie meets James Herbert' STEPHEN VOLK It was a victimless crime... Estate Agent Clara is struggling to make a sale. With her abusive ex-husband on the brink of finding where she's hiding, she needs to make a commission soon or lose her chance to escape. Boleskine House on the shores of Loch Ness has remained unsold for years, and Clara is sure that an 'innocent' fire will force the price down. But the perfect crime soon turns into the perfect nightmare: there was a witness, a stranger in the village, and he's not going to let Clara get away with it that easily... From the bestselling author of The Ghost Hunters, The Watchers and The Lost Village, comes a tense and claustrophobic psychological thriller - available to pre-order now

Quercus

The Rival

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth
Quercus

An Autumn Hunting

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg

'Blood Cruise is terrifying and terrifying real, a must-read for fans of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist' - Elizabeth Hand, author of Generation Loss and Hard LightOn the Baltic Sea, no one can hear you scream. Tonight, twelve hundred expectant passengers have joined the booze-cruise between Sweden and Finland. The creaking old ship travels this same route, back and forth, every day of the year.But this trip is going to be different.In the middle of the night the ferry is suddenly cut off from the outside world. There is nowhere to escape. There is no way to contact the mainland. And no one knows who they can trust.Welcome aboard the Baltic Charisma.'I will never set foot on a cruise ship again!' - Åsa Larsson, bestselling author of The Second Deadly Sin and Until thy Wrath Be Past

riverrun

Too Close to Breathe

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan