Elly Griffiths - The Outcast Dead - Quercus

The Outcast Dead

The Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries 6

By Elly Griffiths

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

Forensic archaeologist Dr Ruth Galloway discovers the skeleton of a long-dead murderess, while DCI Nelson has a new killer on his hands...

Forensic archaeologist Ruth Galloway has excavated a body from the grounds of Norwich Castle, once a prison. The body may be that of Victorian murderess Jemima Green. Called Mother Hook for her claw-like hand, Jemima was hanged for the murder of five children.

DCI Harry Nelson has no time for long-ago killers. Investigating the case of three infants found dead, one after the other, in their King's Lynn home, he's convinced that their mother is responsible.

Then a child goes missing. Could the abduction be linked to the long-dead Mother Hook? Ruth is pulled into the case, and back towards Nelson.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857388919
  • Publication date: 06 Feb 2014
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Quercus
'A compassionate novel that raises questions about parental love and guilt' Sunday Times. — Sunday Times
'If forensics, history, detectives, romance and some psychologically impaired individuals are your bag, this novel delivers them all ... The twist at the end will have you in a spin' The Sun. — Sun
'Told with a deepening sense of unease, seasoned with a touch of the occult, it is no surprise that BBC television are developing it as a series' Daily Mail. — Daily Mail
Quercus

Now You See Her

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

The fifth gripping Stephens & Mephisto mystery from the bestselling author of the Dr Ruth Galloway series - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie and Robert Galbraith.DCI Edgar Stephens, Detective Sergeants Emma Holmes and Bob Willis, and of course magician Max Mephisto, are facing a brave new world: the 1960s. Max is a huge TV star in the USA, and life in Brighton has settled down for the three police officers. The funeral of Diablo, actor and wartime comrade to Edgar and Max, throws the gang back together. A more surprising face to see is Ruby, Edgar ex-fiance, now the star of her own TV show. At the funeral Ruby asks Emma's advice about someone who is stalking her. Emma is flattered and promises to investigate. Then Ruby goes missing and the race to find her involves not only the old comrades but sundry new characters from the often bewildering world of the sixties music scene...

Quercus

The Man on the Street

Trevor Wood
Authors:
Trevor Wood

A killer is on the streets of Newcastle. So is the man who will catch them.As Newcastle cleans up its streets for the Queen's Diamond Jubilee, homeless veteran Jimmy Mullen witnesses a crime committed in the dead of night. Years of living on the streets and a long stretch in prison have taught him to keep his head down, to stay out of other peoples' fights. But when he sees an appeal made by the victim's daughter, the memories of his own shattered home life flood back.When he comes forward as a witness, the police aren't interested. As he seeks to find out the truth of that night and with his own past catching up with him, Jimmy is forced to play a deadly game of hide and seek in the city's darkest corners.

MacLehose Press

All Things Consoled

Elizabeth Hay
Authors:
Elizabeth Hay
Quercus

The Boy Who Fell

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
MacLehose Press

The Dance of Death

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini

The third in the Black Forest Investigations series - by CWA shortlisted authorOne wet and misty weekend in October, the Niemann family find a stranger in their garden. He is armed and tries to force his way into the house, but disappears as soon as the police are alerted. That night he's back with an impossible ultimatum . . .Freiburg detective Louise Boni and her colleagues are put under enormous pressure. Traces of evidence lead her to a no-man's-land, and to a ruthless criminal who brings with him the trauma of conflict in the Balkans.Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

Quercus

Remembrance Day

Henry Porter
Authors:
Henry Porter

'An espionage master' Charles CummingA terrifying plot to unleash destruction in London. A very unlikely spy. The countdown has begun...Constantine Lindow is waiting for his brother Eamonn outside a central London tube station when a bus turns into the street and explodes. The next day Con is arrested as the prime suspect for the bombing.Con is determined to prove his innocence, but the only way he can do that is to find the real bomber. As he digs deeper, he finds himself confronted by his own brother's secret life - and the cold-blooded killers from his past.The trail leads Con halfway across the world and back to London, where he tracks down a killer with a genius for encryption codes. Only Con can crack the code. Only Con can stop that telephone ringing...'British espionage fiction is the best in the world, and Porter is part of the reason why' Lee Child

Quercus

Empire State

Henry Porter
Authors:
Henry Porter

'An espionage master' Charles CummingFormer spy Robert Harland returns in this nailbiting thriller set in the aftermath of 9/11The head of the US National Security Agency is assassinated in spectacular fashion at Heathrow.An airport employee and his family are found murdered in their council house in Uxbridge.In New York, a fashionable Upper East Side osteopath receives two postcards showing the Empire State Building.A group of migrant workers are brutally gunned down in Macedonia.The quest to find the link between these apparently random events is pursued by Robert Harland - drawn back to a world he thought he'd left behind - with a dual role for the UN and MI6.

Quercus

A Spy's Life

Henry Porter
Authors:
Henry Porter

'Compulsively readable' ObserverAn ex British spy finds himself dragged back into the world of espionage after a mysterious plane crash...Robert Harland ended his career as a British spy in an Austrian hospital, after being tortured and beaten by Czech security agents in the last days of the communist regime. He was young enough then to find a new life with the Red Cross and then with the UN.Twelve years later his UN plane crashes in mysterious circumstances at La Guardia airport, New York and Harland is the only survivor. Was it sabotage and, if so, was Harland the target? It is soon clear to Harland that the answers are to be found in his past, a past which, along with its secrets and tradecraft, he has desperately tried to forget. And now the crash has thrown him back into a world of relentless intrigue and mistrust, to his youth, and a life-changing love affair...

Quercus

The Dying Light

Henry Porter
Authors:
Henry Porter

A chilling police surveillance thriller from 'one of the masters of the genre' Sunday TelegraphAt the funeral the bells of the church were rung open rather than half-muffled, as is usual for the dead. Kate Lockhart has come, along with corporate leaders, ministers and intelligence chiefs, to a beautiful town in the Welsh Marches to mourn her soul mate, David Eyam, the brightest government servant of his generation. All that remains of Eyam are the burnt fragments of a man killed far from home in a horrific explosion.Eyam has left a devastating legacy which certain people at the funeral are desperate to suppress - but Kate Lockhart is equal to Eyam's legacy. She becomes the focus of the state's paranoiac power and leads the local resistance to it, directed from beyond the grave by Eyam.And the state is no match for the genius of the dead...An incredibly prescient thriller set in the aftermath of the Snowden news story from the bestselling author of Brandenburg.

riverrun

The Killer in Me

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan
riverrun

Prefecture D

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
Jo Fletcher Books

Hearts of Ice

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair

Summer is gone, and the world is turning to ice.The Rondian Empress Lyra has lost her husband, her army is defeated and the deadly Masked Cabal have seized the Holy City. Her allies have abandoned her and her empire is spiralling into chaos - and her only weapon is a forbidden magic she dare not use. She can't survive alone - but who can she still trust?'Vibrant, memorable characters' - SciFi NowThe Eastern conqueror Sultan Rashid is victorious on the battlefield, but now he faces an enemy more deadly than Rondian knights: the winter. Unless he captures a major city to shelter his huge armies, his plans to overthrow the West face ruin in the snow. But standing between his men and safety is the remnants of a defeated army led by a general who knows all about fighting for survival.'An epic journey of ordinary people destined to change the course of history . . . alluring . . . gripping' - BoHoMind.comThere are no easy options left. Lyra and her fellow dwymancers must master their deadly magic, whatever the cost. Even those who believe themselves to be fighting for good must grasp the reins of power with cold-hearted determination, and use even the most terrible weapon, if they are to stop the world from falling apart . . . for ever.

Quercus

The Lemon Tree Hotel

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
Quercus

Beautiful Bad

Annie Ward
Authors:
Annie Ward
Quercus

Fight Back

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

'MARTINA COLE FANS WILL LOVE THIS FAST-PACED THRILLER' SUNDAY MIRRORGangster Kerry Casey has fought her way to the top of the Glasgow crime scene. But can she stay there?Kerry Casey is now a fully-fledged gangland boss. With her business partner Sharon and her wily lawyer Marty at her side, she is busy ridding her organisation of the drug-dealing, people-trafficking scum her dead brother Mickey got them involved with. But her great dream is still to take the Caseys straight.Her plan to turn her organisation around hinges on building a property empire in Spain. But Kerry has some deadly rivals - in Glasgow, on the Costa del Sol, and even further afield. They will never believe she has what it takes to defend her turf, and they won't rest until the Caseys are destroyed.When her enemies strike at the heart of the Casey family, Kerry must prepare for the fight of her life - for her business, her friends and her own survival.(P)2019 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

Village of the Lost Girls

Agustín Martínez
Authors:
Agustín Martínez
riverrun

The Man With No Face

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

Brandenburg

Henry Porter
Authors:
Henry Porter
Quercus

Still Lives

Maria Hummel
Authors:
Maria Hummel
MacLehose Press

Name of the Dog: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 3)

Élmer Mendoza
Authors:
Élmer Mendoza

Perfect for fans of Mick Herron and John Le Carré"The most important thing that's happened in Mexican literature in the last thirty years" Gaby Wood, Sunday Telegraph.It's Christmas in Culiacán and Detective Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta can't believe his luck. An old flame has returned with a teenage son he knew nothing about. Happiness seems to finally beckon for our careworn hero. The only snag is that Jason Mendieta wants to follow in his father's footsteps-even as Mexico's drug war descends a slippery slope toward chaos.While Lefty pursues a lunatic who has taken to bumping off dentists with a heavy-calibre pistol, a secret agent infiltrates a meeting of the drug lords and hears Pacific Cartel boss Samantha Valdés implore her underlings to stay out of the war. But an audacious murder provokes Samantha to change her mind and launch a wave of grisly killings across the country.Samantha then persuades Lefty to help her find the killer that pushed her over the edge. The truth he discovers will underline an old adage: revenge is a dish best served cold. No quiet family Christmas for our detective.