David Thomas - Ostland - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780877372
    • Publication date:18 Jul 2013
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848664746
    • Publication date:19 Jun 2014

Ostland

By David Thomas

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Surrounded by evil, how long can one man's good intentions last?

February 1941, Berlin: A murderer is on a killing spree. The Murder Squad is in the midst of the biggest manhunt the city has ever seen.

Georg Heuser is the idealistic, brilliant young detective set to crack the case.

July 1959, West Germany: Lawyers Max Kraus and Paula Siebert are investigating war crimes of unimaginable magnitude committed near the Russian Front, the empire the Nazis called Ostland.

The man accused is called Georg Heuser.

Assured of his guilt, Paula and Max have only one question left: What has happened to make this good man become a monster?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857389282
  • Publication date: 18 Jul 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
'Very rarely do books reach into your psyche and take root. Ostland came along and kicked my door down. A wonderfully thought-provoking novel. Educational, entertaining and emotive throughout ... a first class read by an author at the top of their game' Crimesquad. — Crimesquad
'An ambitious and very powerful novel that reflects the ultimate incomprehensibility of the Holocaust' Crimetime. — Crimetime
'With subtlety and intelligence, Thomas joins the historical dots to produce a novel with plenty to say - eloquently - about the brutalising effects of the Holocaust' Guardian. — Guardian
'A thought provoking account of an ordinary person's capacity to do evil ... a fascinating important book' Literary Review. — Literary Review
'This nightmare-inducing new novel stretches crime fiction to its limits ... a compelling read' Mail on Sunday. — Mail on Sunday
'To simply label Ostland as a crime thriller would not only do a great disservice to the sheer power and scope of this novel, but would in turn devalue a book that truly encompasses the very best elements of both the crime and historical fiction genres. This is without doubt one of the most affecting novels that I have read ... not just a book that deserves to be read, but a book that also needs to be read' Ravencrimereads. — Ravencrimereads
'A riveting read' Sport — Sport
'An intriguing mix of detection, thriller, courtroom drama, fact and fiction' The Times. — The Times
Quercus

The Last Thing She Told Me

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
MacLehose Press

Retribution Road

Antonin Varenne
Authors:
Antonin Varenne

"We owe you our lives, Sergeant, but you are our worst nightmare . . ."Burma, 1852. Sergeant Arthur Bowman, a sergeant in the East India Company, is sent on a secret mission during the Second Anglo-Burmese War. But the expedition is foiled - his men are captured and tortured. Throughout their ordeal, a single word becomes Bowman's mantra, a word that will stiffen their powers of endurance in the face of unimaginable suffering: "Survival". But for all that, only a handful escape with their lives.Some years later in London, battling his ghosts through a haze of alcohol and opium, Bowman discovers a mutilated corpse in a sewer. The victim appears to have been subjected to the same torments as Bowman endured in the Burmese jungle. And the word "Survival" has been daubed in blood by the body's side. Persuaded that the culprit is one of the men who shared his captivity, Bowman resolves to hunt him down.From the Burmese jungle to the slums of London to the conquest of the Wild West, Antonin Varenne takes us on a thrilling journey full of sound and unabated fury, reviving the lapsed tradition of the great writers of boundless adventure. Sergeant Bowman belongs to that breed of heroes who inhabit the imaginations of Conrad, Kipling, Stevenson . . . Lost soldiers who have plunged into the heart of darkness and will cross the globe in search of vengeance and redemption.Translated from the French by Sam Taylor

Quercus

A Summer Revenge

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan
Quercus

Trouble at Zero Hour

Rob Lofthouse
Authors:
Rob Lofthouse

Written by a retired British soldier, Trouble at Zero Hour is a breathless and vivid story, dramatizing three of the key Allied operations that turned the tide of the Second World War.6 June, 1944, somewhere over the Normandy coastline: Robbie Stokes sits in a glider, his Bren resting on the floor between his outstretched legs. The nose lowers and the glider descends rapidly: ten minutes of stomach-churning twists and turns until suddenly the call goes up to 'BRACE'. The belly makes contact with the ground and the first Allied troops tumble out into occupied Europe.For new recruit Robbie Stokes it is the beginning of ten months of brutal and relentless conflict that take him from D-Day, via Operation Market Garden and the battle for Arnhem Bridge, to the Rhine Crossing and the final push for victory. Three operations that change the course of the war and test Robbie Stokes and his band of brothers to their limits. If they fail, then the Allied invasion fails. They must succeed through their longest days.

riverrun

You Should Have Left

Daniel Kehlmann
Authors:
Daniel Kehlmann
Quercus

The Tunnel

Carl-Johan Vallgren
Authors:
Carl-Johan Vallgren

A fast-paced and intricate thriller from one of Sweden's most popular writers, perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo and Lars Kepler.Private investigator Danny Katz is trying to track down his former drug dealer. Ramón and his girlfriend Jenny have both vanished leaving behind a lot of unanswered questions. How come Ramón suddenly found himself in possession of the mother-load of drugs? And is Jenny really who she claims to be? Katz's investigation leads him to the darkest corners of Stockholm's porn industry and once again his old addiction threatens to control him. Ultimately only one thing seems certain - someone is willing to do whatever it takes to keep Katz from discovering the brutal truth.

Quercus

Far Horizon

Tony Park
Authors:
Tony Park

A bloody and tragic run-in with ivory hunters in Mozambique left Mike Williams, former Australian Army officer, in despair. A year on, the authorities are on the poachers' trail and need his help to catch them. Now, as an overland tour guide, he must choose between his duty to keep the young tourists in his care safe, and his hunger for retribution.Thrown into the mix is tenacious English journalist Sarah Thatcher, who is determined to cover the story. She'll risk anything and anyone for a scoop, but little does she realize the danger that lies ahead. The murderous hunters and the innocent travellers are on a parallel journey through Africa's most spectacular locations. Eventually their paths will cross and Mike will have his shot at revenge. But at what cost?

Quercus

Retribution

Steffen Jacobsen
Authors:
Steffen Jacobsen
Quercus

The Hanging Girl

Jussi Adler-Olsen
Authors:
Jussi Adler-Olsen
MacLehose Press

Dirty War

Dominique Sylvain
Authors:
Dominique Sylvain

Quercus

The Third Testament

Christopher Galt
Authors:
Christopher Galt

'Michael Crichton meets The Matrix' Daily Mail Previously published as Biblical. An apocalyptic, mind-melting thriller on an epic scale that will make you question your own reality and even your sanity.What would you do if you found out that your future had already happened? All around the world, people start to see things that aren't there, that cannot be. Visions, ghosts, events from the past playing out in the present. To start with, the visions are unremarkable: things misplaced in time and caught out of the corner of the eye; glimpses of long-dead family or friends. But, as time goes on, the visions become more sustained, more vivid, more widespread. More terrifying. As the visions become truly apocalyptic, some turn to religion, others to science. Only one man, driven by personal as well as professional reasons, is capable of finding the real truth. But the truth that psychiatrist John Macbeth uncovers is much, much bigger than either religion or science. A truth so big it could cost him his sanity. And his life.

Quercus

The Boy in the Shadows

Carl-Johan Vallgren
Authors:
Carl-Johan Vallgren
Quercus

The Prey

Tony Park
Authors:
Tony Park
riverrun

The Serpent Papers

Jessica Cornwell
Authors:
Jessica Cornwell

Quercus

Thief

Mark Sullivan
Authors:
Mark Sullivan
Quercus

Summer Lies Bleeding

Nuala Casey
Authors:
Nuala Casey
Quercus

The Bosch Deception

Alex Connor
Authors:
Alex Connor
Quercus

Outlaw: Robin Monarch 2 (

Mark Sullivan
Authors:
Mark Sullivan
Quercus

Rogue: Robin Monarch 1 (U

Mark Sullivan
Authors:
Mark Sullivan
Quercus

Flight of the Intruder

Stephen Coonts
Authors:
Stephen Coonts

1972, North Vietnam. A vicious war is being fought on the ground, but in the skies above, life is perhaps even more precarious; especially for those flying the A-6 Intruders just above the treetops. Navy aviator Jake 'Cool Hand' Grafton and his bombardier-navigator Morgan 'Morg' McPherson are only too aware that each flight could be their last. And when a farmer's bullet hits Morg during an attack mission on yet another suspected truck depot, Grafton is forced to question whether these missions are really worth risking their lives for. Grafton is next paired up with veteran bombardier Virgil 'Tiger' Cole, and it doesn't take long for the two to formulate a plan. They choose a new target: a Communist Party centre in Hanoi; an unauthorized mark that not only defies the American military's rules of engagement, but one that will require all the skill and nerve they can muster. Told with an authenticity possible only from someone who has shared the experiences of his protagonist, Flight of the Intruder is widely considered a classic of naval aviation fiction. The first in the hugely popular Jake Grafton series, it also marked the beginning of Stephen Coonts' career as a bestselling author.