David Mark - Original Skin - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857389756
    • Publication date:11 Apr 2013
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857389770
    • Publication date:11 Apr 2013
Books in this series

Original Skin

The 2nd DS McAvoy Novel

By David Mark

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Sins of the flesh will seal their fate - the follow up to the bestselling Dark Winter.

SINS OF THE FLESH WILL SEAL THEIR FATE - THE FOLLOW UP TO THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING DARK WINTER, AND BOOK TWO IN THE HULL-BASED DS AECTOR MCAVOY SERIES.

'Truly exhilarating and inventive. Mark is a wonderfully descriptive writer and an exciting young talent' Peter James


Simon Appleyard and Suzie Devlin are two pleasure seekers defined by their flamboyant tattoos. Their lust for life is matched only by their hunger for taboo pleasures - a lifestyle that has just made them the deadliest enemy imaginable.

DS Aector McAvoy has been a marked man all his life. A policeman with scars to his body and career, his fate will become linked with that of Simon and Suzie as painfully and intricately as tattooed markings on virgin skin.


Want more McAvoy? Easy - just go to the third instalment in the DS McAvoy series, Sorrow Bound . . .

Biographical Notes

David Mark spent more than 15 years as a journalist, including seven years as a crime reporter with The Yorkshire Post - walking the Hull streets that would later become the setting for the Detective Sergeant Aector McAvoy novels.

His writing is heavily influenced by the court cases he covered: the defeatist and jaded police officers; the competent and incompetent investigators; the inertia of the justice system and the sheer raw grief of those touched by savagery and tragedy.

He has written five novels in the McAvoy series: Dark Winter, Original Skin, Sorrow Bound, Taking Pity and Dead Pretty. David has also written a McAvoy novella, A Bad Death, which is available as an ebook. He lives in Lincolnshire with his partner, two children and an assortment of animals.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857389787
  • Publication date: 30 Jan 2014
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: riverrun
'Richly satisfying and told with remarkable flair, it confirms Mark as one of the darkest of the new faces in British crime writing, and not one to miss' Daily Mail. — Daily Mail
Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

The new thriller from the bestselling author of The Girl Before.

MacLehose Press

The Gravity of Love

Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg

A dazzlingly inventive and acclaimed novel set in a Stockholm psychiatric hospital - by one of Sweden's most exciting literary talents"I'll put my head in the oven so you know where I am," he whispers, kissing her neck.Jim - charming, captivating, much loved by his women friends - has attempted suicide several times. Over his period of incarceration at the Beckomberga hospital for the mentally unstable, he voices his determination to succeed. Some day soon, he tells his daughter - as he has earlier told his mother and his wife - he will swallow sixty tablets, help them down with a bottle of whisky, and swim impossibly far out into the Atlantic.Will he, really? This question plagues Jim's daughter, the narrator of this powerful novel, who is as addicted to the hospital as her father is to alcohol. Through her subtle observations we understand the emotional needs of diehard alcoholics, the rationally uxoricidal, and other seemingly normal inhabitants of a psychiatric unit in the process of shutting down, depriving them of the only place they have known as home.A Magic Mountain for our times, for readers of Eimear McBride and Alexander Masters.Translated from the Swedish by Deborah Bragan-Turner

riverrun

Taking Pity

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
riverrun

Original Skin (Unabridged

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
riverrun

Sorrow Bound

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

Philippa Longman will do anything for her family. Roisin McAvoy will do anything for her friends. DS Aector McAvoy will do anything for his wife. Yet each has an unknown enemy - one that will do anything to destroy them. Sorrow Bound is a powerful police procedural thriller about how those with the biggest hearts make the easiest targets; and how the corrosive venom of evil can dissolve the bonds between good people, until all they are bound by is grief.(P)2014 WF Howes Ltd

riverrun

Dark Winter

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

DS Aector McAvoy is a man with a troubled past. His unwavering belief in justice has made him an outsider in the police force he serves. When three seemingly unconnected people are brutally murdered in the weeks before Christmas, the police must work quickly to stop more deaths. It is only McAvoy who can see the connection between the victims. A killer is playing God - and McAvoy must find a way to stop the deadly game.(P)2013 Quercus Editions Ltd

riverrun

The Firemaker

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

Angela Slatter

Angela Slatter is the award-winning author of eight short story collections, including A Feast of Sorrows: Stories, Sourdough and Other Stories, The Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings, and Winter Children and Other Chilling Tales. She has won the World Fantasy Award, the British Fantasy Award and five Aurealis Awards. Her short stories have appeared widely, including in annual British, Australian and North American Best Of anthologies, and her work has been translated into Spanish, Russian, Polish, Romanian, and Japanese. Vigil was her first solo novel, and the sequel Corpselight is due out in July 2017. Angela lives in Brisbane, Australia.

Anna Smith

Anna Smith has been a journalist for over twenty years and is a former chief reporter for the Daily Record in Glasgow. She has covered wars across the world as well as major investigations and news stories from Dunblane to Kosovo to 9/11. Anna spends her time between Lanarkshire and Dingle in the west of Ireland, as well as in Spain to escape the British weather.

Carole Radziwill

Carole Radziwill is a prize-winning journalist, screenwriter and television producer. Her late husband was fellow journalist Antony Radziwill. She is a cast member of The Real Housewives of New York City.

Carolyn Wall

Carolyn Wall served as the Fiction Editor for Byline Magazine, the award-winning publication of the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum. In 1997 she was awarded the Creme-de-la-Creme award from the Oklahoma Writers' Federation for her young adult short story, With this Kiss Wally Fishkin. She is now a full-time freelance writer and lecturer and lives with her husband in Oklahoma City.

Chris Womersley

Chris Womersley was born in Melbourne in 1968. His fiction and reviews have appeared in numerous journals and anthologies, including Granta New Writing and The Age, and In 2007 one of his short stories won the Josephine Ulrick Literature Prize. Bereft is his second novel.

Colin Cotterill

Colin Cotterill was born in London. He has taught in Australia, the USA and Japan and lived for many years in Laos where he worked for nongovernmental social service organizations. He now writes full-time and lives in Chiang Mai, Thailand.

D. A. Mishani

D. A. Mishani is a former editor of Israeli fiction and international crime literature, as well as a literary scholar specialising in the history of detective literature. He lives in Tel Aviv and writes full time.

Daisy Bell

Daisy Bell lives in London. She loves baking gingerbread and decorating the Christmas tree, but always leaves the gift-wrapping until the last possible moment!

Eduardo Mendoza

Eduardo Mendoza was born in Barcelona in 1943. He studied Law and worked as an U.N. interpreter in the United States for nine years. Prior to An Englishman in Madrid, his most acclaimed work was The City of Marvels. Nick Caistor's translations include The Buenos Aires Quintet by Manuel Vázquez Montalban and works by Eduardo Mendoza, Juan Marsé, Alan Pauls and Guillermo Orsi.

Elizabeth Heathcote

Elizabeth Heathcote has worked as a feature writer and editor on newspapers and magazines for many years. Her jobs have included women's editor and deputy features editor at the Independent on Sunday, as well as freelance feature writing for publications such as the Independent, Observer, Guardian, Marie Claire and Red. She is presently associate editor at Psychologies magazine. Elizabeth's home is southeast London, where she lives with her partner and two children.

Kate McQuaile

Kate McQuaile is a graduate of the Faber novel-writing course. She lives in London and works as a journalist, but is originally from Drogheda in Ireland.

Muhsin Al-Ramli

Muhsin Al-Ramli is an Iraqi writer, poet, academic and translator, born in the village of Sudara in northern Iraq in 1967. He has lived in Madrid since 1995. The President's Gardens was longlisted for the IPAF, known as the "Arabic Booker", in 2013.

Polly Clark

Polly Clark was born in Toronto and lives in Helensburgh on Scotland's west coast, a few streets away from where W.H. Auden wrote 'The Orators'. Auden's struggle as he conceived this electrifying and genre-busting work was an inspiration for her debut novel Larchfield. As Literature Programmer for Cove Park she brings writers from all over the world to take part in Scotland's International Artist Residency. Her three poetry collections have between them won the Eric Gregory Award, been shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize and twice been selected as one of the Poetry Book Society's books of the year.