David Hair - Scarlet Tides - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780871998
    • Publication date:24 Oct 2013
  • Hardback £25.00
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780871981
    • Publication date:24 Oct 2013
Books in this series

Scarlet Tides

The Moontide Quartet Book 2

By David Hair

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The second in David Hair's epic Moontide Quartet, perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson, George R.R. Martin and Robert Jordan. Return to Urte, a land in chaos, where the smallest choice may save or damn the world.

The second in David Hair's epic Moontide Quartet, perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson, George R.R. Martin and Robert Jordan.

Return to Urte, a land in chaos, where the smallest choice may save or damn the world.

The Moontide has come, and a scarlet tide of Rondian legions is flooding into the East, slaughtering and pillaging in the name of Emperor Constant. But the Scytale of Corineus, the source of ultimate magical power, has slipped through the emperor's fingers. His ruthless inquisitors are desperately seeking the artefact, before it falls into the hands of those who would bring him down.

But there are some who have pledged to end the cycle of war and restore peace to Urte. They are the unlikeliest of heroes: a failed mage, a gypsy and a lowly market-girl.

As East and West clash more violently than ever before, the people of Urte will discover that love, loyalty and truth can be forged into weapons as deadly as swords and magic.

'Promises to recall epic fantasy's finest' - Tor.com

Biographical Notes

David Hair, an award-winning writer of fantasy, has been inspired by his travels around the globe. He was born in New Zealand and after spending time in Britain and Europe, he moved to India for several years, which sparked both the Moontide Quartet and the Ravana series. He now lives in Bangkok, Thailand. His epic fantasy sagas The Moontide Quartet and The Sunsurge Quartet, and The Return of Ravana, his retelling of the Indian epic The Ramayana, are all published by Jo Fletcher Books.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780872001
  • Publication date: 24 Oct 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
Scarlet Tides is simply faster, better and even more satisfying that its prequel. — Upcoming4.Me
Hair spins a satisfying fantasy that, in some aspects, is a sort of mashup of J.R.R. Tolkien and Henry Kissinger . . . believable, complete and utterly satisfying . . . Fans of the series will be eager to see what comes next — Kirkus
Overall, Scarlet Tides represents modern epic fantasy at its best — Fantasy Book Critic
an excellent follow up to the first novel, continuing the tradition of vivid, dynamic characters and terrific world building . . . Readers of epic fantasy should definitely check out this series — Bibliosanctum
Scarlet Tides continues a fantastic epic fantasy series with a great cast, immersive world, and fascinating system of magic that builds to a stunning several-hundred page conclusion in the vein of Steven Erikson, where everything possible happens to everyone. He improved on everything that made Mage's Blood so good and added even more oomph to it. I cannot wait to start Unholy War. Read. This. Series. — A Bitter Draft
Scarlet Tides has been compared to great fantasy epics such as A Song of Ice and Fire and The Wheel of Time, and it easily earns it place amongst them — Fanbase Press
A must read series — Fantasy Review Barn
Scarlet Tides is still a heavy tome with lots of excellent story inside of it. The magic system becomes even more fleshed out as things are revealed, the world grows with new locations and characters, and a fun level of "what next" to the story — Novelnaut
The Moontide Quartet is perhaps the most understated fantasy series currently being written. It features a wide, diverse cast of characters spread out over dual continents. Focusing on a clash of civilisations storyline, David Hair offers a tale that encapsulates epic fantasy to its entirety — Fantasy Book Critic, The Year’s Top Ten
A remarkable series — SFFANZ
A complex world populated by a rich and diverse cast of characters . . . There's a little something for everyone here - conspiracies, political backstabbing, high magic, swordplay, a smattering of romance, and more . . .Recommended for fans of George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss — Monster Librarian
The Moontide Quartet has everything I am looking for when I want a truly epic feel — Fantasy Review Barn
Scarlet Tides is simply faster, better and even more satisfying that its prequel.
Hair spins a satisfying fantasy that, in some aspects, is a sort of mashup of J.R.R. Tolkien and Henry Kissinger . . . believable, complete and utterly satisfying . . . Fans of the series will be eager to see what comes next
Overall, Scarlet Tides represents modern epic fantasy at its best
an excellent follow up to the first novel, continuing the tradition of vivid, dynamic characters and terrific world building . . . Readers of epic fantasy should definitely check out this series
Scarlet Tides continues a fantastic epic fantasy series with a great cast, immersive world, and fascinating system of magic that builds to a stunning several-hundred page conclusion in the vein of Steven Erikson, where everything possible happens to everyone. He improved on everything that made Mage's Blood so good and added even more oomph to it. I cannot wait to start Unholy War. Read. This. Series.
Scarlet Tides has been compared to great fantasy epics such as A Song of Ice and Fire and The Wheel of Time, and it easily earns it place amongst them
A must read series
Scarlet Tides is still a heavy tome with lots of excellent story inside of it. The magic system becomes even more fleshed out as things are revealed, the world grows with new locations and characters, and a fun level of "what next" to the story
The Moontide Quartet is perhaps the most understated fantasy series currently being written. It features a wide, diverse cast of characters spread out over dual continents. Focusing on a clash of civilisations storyline, David Hair offers a tale that encapsulates epic fantasy to its entirety
A remarkable series
A complex world populated by a rich and diverse cast of characters . . . There's a little something for everyone here - conspiracies, political backstabbing, high magic, swordplay, a smattering of romance, and more . . .Recommended for fans of George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss
The Moontide Quartet has everything I am looking for when I want a truly epic feel