Eleanor Henderson - Ten Thousand Saints - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780872193
    • Publication date:28 Feb 2013

Ten Thousand Saints

By Eleanor Henderson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Vermont, New Year's Eve, 1987.

All Jude wants to do is get high.

All Teddy wants to do is get out.

One of them won't live to see 1988.

In the wake of this death, three teenagers will try to find a way of honouring their lost friend. Is clean living the answer? Is parenthood? Or the simplicity of carrying out a last wish?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780872186
  • Publication date: 29 Mar 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: riverrun
'The best thing I've read in a long time' Ann Patchett (winner of the Orange Prize). — Ann Patchett
'Henderson captures the dark, gritty quality of Eighties New York, a time of sex, drugs, Punk, and Aids. She has a vital, driving style, with an eye for the grimy detail, and gets right into the heads of her characters' Daily Mail. — Daily Mail
'this high-octane ensemble novel evocatively charts the way teenagers' lives interconnect' Guardian. — Guardian
'an entertaining and thought-provoking journey into the 'Straight Edge' music scene in 1980's New York City . a sad yet compelling read; one that I highly recommend' New Books Magazine. — New Books Magazine
'Henderson does not hold back once: she writes the hell out of every moment, every scene, every perspective, every fleeting impression, every impulse and desire ... she is never ironic or underwhelmed; her preferred mode is fierce, devoted and elegiac' Stacy D'Erasmo, New York Times. — New York Times
'Henderson's writing is warm, engaged, and precise ... Ten Thousand Saints is the offspring of Lester Bangs and Anne Tyler, and who wouldn't want to read that baby?' Nick Hornby. — Nick Hornby
'Irresistibly rich and engrossing ... the hard-edged settings highlight the touching vulnerability of young characters' O, The Oprah Magazine. — O, The Oprah Magazine
'A rare debut that, with a flinty kind of nostalgia, invokes both the gods and demons of a generation' Vogue. — Vogue
A wild and poignant story about love, friendship, music and salvation, moving and hilarious by turns' UNCUT. — UNCUT
'Henderson has not only crafted a moving and satisfying novel, but also redressed a balance, and perhaps, one hopes, paved the way for the great punk novel of the future' TLS. — TLS
MacLehose Press

The Faculty of Dreams

Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg
MacLehose Press

Winds of the Night

Joan Sales
Authors:
Joan Sales

"Perhaps the worst thing about war is the peace that follows . . ."Winds of the Night is the follow-up, published almost thirty years later, to Joan Sales' acclaimed masterwork of the Spanish Civil War, Uncertain Glory.It describes the shell-shocked wasteland that was post-war Catalonia through the eyes of Cruells, a Republican chaplain who survives the war, and completes his theological studies only to lose his faith in a world where it seems all hope has been extinguished.As he struggles to function as a rural priest, his steps are dogged by a ghostly figures from his past, such as Lamoneda, a fascist agent provocateur who now hobnobs with Himmler and misses few opportunities to turn the febrile post-war atmosphere to his financial advantage. Against his wishes, Creulls is drawn into obsessive dialogues about the war in which only lunacy prevails, for Lamoneda seems to hold the key to the whereabouts of an old friend - the mercurial Juli Soleràs, whose charisma, for all his betrayals, still holds Cruells in thrall.An essential coda to the modern classic that is Uncertain Glory, Winds of the Night is a Beckettian vision of the traumas of combatants and country hidden beneath the rhetoric of the victors.Translated from the Catalan by Peter Bush

riverrun

This Is 64

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
MacLehose Press

Monte Carlo

Peter Terrin
Authors:
Peter Terrin

It is the Monaco Grand Prix in May 1968. Jack Preston, a mechanic for Team Sutton, is making the final checks on his car as the beau monde mingles with the drivers under the eyes of the world's press and the galleries of spectators. DeeDee, a starlet of great beauty, seems to be walking towards him, or perhaps towards the royal box. Without warning a fireball rips across the starting grid. Preston will always bear the scars as a consequence of his unthinking heroism, his saving the life and the beauty of the girl, but details of the accident remain vague - no photographs capturing the moment have come to light.Weeks later, Preston emerges from hospital and goes home to his wife in a remote English village from which the drab atmosphere of the 1950s has yet to recede. There, as he slowly recovers, he awaits word from his employers and some sign of DeeDee's gratitude, an acknowledgment that it was he who saved her life.This is an unsettlingly beautiful story of obsession by an acknowledged master of classical restraint.Translated from the Dutch by David Doherty

Quercus

The Lavender House

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

Emotional, page-turning women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK. Will Nancy dare to risk a second chance at love with a man her family and friends tell her is totally unsuitable? Beautiful storytelling for fans of Erica James, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans.Nancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy's babysitting services, it seems Nancy's fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has. Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark. But Nancy's family don't trust Jim one bit. They're convinced he'll break her heart, maybe run off with her money - he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities. Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family's side and walk away from one last chance for love?

MacLehose Press

In the Café of Lost Youth

Patrick Modiano
Authors:
Patrick Modiano
riverrun

The Death of Rex Nhongo

C. B. George
Authors:
C. B. George

Harare, Zimbabwe, 2011This is a story of five marriages and one gun.A British couple wonder at the unknowable city beyond their guarded compound while they build walls between themselves.An American begins to suspect his new home is having an insidious effect on his 'African queen' and their young daughter.An enthusiastic young intellectual follows his wife and his dreams to the city and finds only disillusion.An Intelligence Officer loses a crucial piece of evidence. It will cost him his marriage and his girlfriend; maybe even his life.A taxi driver and his wife, living on the knife-edge of poverty, find a gun in the cab. From this point on, all their lives are tied to the trigger.C. B. George's Zimbabwe is a personal portrait, both tender and brutal. The betrayals and conspiracies of the corrupt world are nothing compared to those of marriage; in which husband and wife love and leave, fight and flee, recant and reconcile, with outcomes that are by turns shocking, heartbreaking and, ultimately, full of hope.

Quercus

The Things We Do for Love

Alice Peterson
Authors:
Alice Peterson

Love may hurt, but not loving hurts even more . . .January Wild loves her daughter, her dog Spud and her childhood home by the sea.Single parenting is tough, but January has no regrets. She has a job she loves, a happy home, and the support of her beloved grandfather. The arrival of a new boss, however, threatens to shake up January's safe world.Ward Metcalfe loves great sales results and a well-run office.Everyone at her office agrees: Ward is a soulless, corporate slave driver. Even Spud, the company mascot, dislikes him. A secret stands between them.Yet over time January realises first impressions aren't always right. Slowly she unravels more and more about her new boss, things she couldn't possibly have imagined, nor expected...

MacLehose Press

Birth of a Bridge

Maylis de Kerangal, Maylis de Kerangal
Authors:
Maylis de Kerangal, Maylis de Kerangal
MacLehose Press

Fall of Man in Wilmslow

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
riverrun

Style

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
riverrun

This Is It

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

Winter Breaks

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

Breaking Light

Karin Altenberg
Authors:
Karin Altenberg
riverrun

Stuff

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

The Girl Who Was Saturday Night

Heather O'Neill
Authors:
Heather O'Neill

riverrun

Boys and Girls

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

The Works

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

These Are Our Children

Julie Maxwell
Authors:
Julie Maxwell
Quercus

Summer Lightning

Tamara McKinley
Authors:
Tamara McKinley