Tony Park - Dark Heart - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857387943
    • Publication date:02 Oct 2014

Dark Heart

By Tony Park

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Under the African sun, the shadow of the past is never far away.

During the Rwandan genocide, three foreigners - UN worker Carmel Shang, military doctor Richard Dunlop, and journalist Liesl Nel - were forced to stand by, powerless to prevent the massacre and unable to escape witnessing the horrors.

20 years later, scattered across the world, the wounds of Rwanda still run deep. Now, a tattered photograph that was clutched in the hand of a dying man holds a clue that brings them back together... and hides a secret that is making them a target of an assassin.

Hunted through South Africa's Kruger National Park to Zambia, Australia, and back to Rwanda, the three must bring themselves to confront not just the scars of a nation and a continent, but of their own hearts.

Biographical Notes

Australian writer Tony Park fell in love with South Africa on a short trip in 1995. He is a major in the Australian Army Reserve and has worked in journalism and PR, including six months in Afghanistan as PR officer for the Australian ground forces. Tony and his wife Nicola now divide their time between Sydney and the African bush.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780874197
  • Publication date: 25 Oct 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
Quercus

Cuckoo

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins
riverrun

The Silent War

Andreas Norman
Authors:
Andreas Norman
MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Lived Twice

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz

The sixth in the Millennium series - more than 90 million copies sold worldwide - the crime fiction phenomenon featuring Lisbeth Salander."I WILL NOT BE THE HUNTED - I WILL BE THE HUNTER"Book four in the series, THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB, is now a major film from Sony Pictures starring Claire Foy - out in November 2018."Rest easy, Lisbeth Salander fans - our punk hacker is in good hands" Patrick Ryan, U.S.A. Today"Salander and Blomkvist are just as compelling as ever" Michiko Kakutani, New York Times "Not only do the matter-of-fact style and intricate plotting and sexy, chilling atmosphere feel very true to the original novels, but Lagercrantz transcends the source material" Benjamin Percy, Esquire"Elegantly paced, slickly executed, and properly thrilling" Alison Flood, Observer

riverrun

Fake Like Me

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland
MacLehose Press

Sanctuary

Luca D'Andrea
Authors:
Luca D'Andrea
riverrun

The Paper Wasp

Lauren Acampora
Authors:
Lauren Acampora
Quercus

The Lemon Tree Hotel

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

A story about love, family secrets, and a little piece of heaven . . .In the beautiful village of Vernazza, the Mazzone family have transformed an old convent overlooking the glamorous Italian Riviera into the elegant Lemon Tree Hotel. For Chiara, her daughter Elene and her granddaughter Isabella, the running of their hotel is the driving force in their lives. One day, two unexpected guests check in. The first, Dante, is a face from Chiara's past, but what exactly happened between them all those years ago, Elene wonders. Meanwhile, Isabella is preoccupied with the second guest, a mysterious young man who seems to know a lot about the history of the old convent and the people who live there. Isabella is determined to find out his true intentions and discover the secret past of the Lemon Tree Hotel.

Jo Fletcher Books

Council

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
Quercus

Fight Back

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith
Quercus

Deliver Me

Karen Cole
Authors:
Karen Cole

THE NIGHT SHE DOESN'T REMEMBER WILL BE THE ONE SHE CAN'T FORGETWhen Abby's doctor tells her she's two months pregnant she doesn't believe him. She can't be - she hasn't had sex for over a year. But to her astonishment and dismay, multiple tests confirm it's true.Desperately searching for an explanation, Abby recalls New Year's Day - the terrible hangover, the hole in her memory where the night before should have been and the inexplicable sense of unease - and realises that this baby must have been conceived at her best friend Danny's NYE party. Horrified that someone would have taken advantage of her intoxicated state, Abby enlists the help of Danny to find out which of the party guests assaulted her. But, when she starts to receive anonymous messages, it seems that while she has been looking into the father of her baby, someone has been watching her... A gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Teresa Driscoll's I Am Watching You and C.L. Taylor's The Fear. Deceive Me, the second novel from Karen Cole is available for preorder now!

riverrun

The Killer in Me

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan

Detective Chief Superintendent Frankie Sheehan does not wish to linger on the grisly scene before her eyes. Two mutilated corpses. In a church. In Clontarf. Her profiling background screams one fact: this is just the beginning of a sickening message.Meanwhile, a 17-year-old case is playing out on a TV documentary, the convicted professing his innocence and historical police errors being exposed daily in the media. Frankie's superior, commissioner Donna Hegarty, makes no bones about who she expects to clean things up - both in terms of past mishandlings and the present murders.But not everyone working the cases wants the truth to come out. And the corridors of power have their own vested interest. Soon Frankie pinpoints just what is making her so nervous: the fact that anyone could be the next victim when justice is the killer. The Killer In Me is a fast-paced thriller in which lies are safer that the truth, the past is never far from the present, and the ability to kill could well, it seems, live in everyone.

Quercus

Beautiful Bad

Annie Ward
Authors:
Annie Ward

In the most explosive and twisted psychological thriller since The Woman in the Window, a perfect love story leads to the perfect crime.Things that make me scared: When Charlie cries. Hospitals and lakes. When Ian drinks vodka in the basement. ISIS. When Ian gets angry. ... That something is really, really wrong with me.Maddie and Ian's romance began with a chance encounter at a party overseas; he was serving in the British Army and she was a travel writer visiting her best friend Jo. Now almost two decades later, married with a beautiful son, Charlie, they are living the perfect suburban life in Middle America. But when a camping accident leaves Maddie badly scarred, she begins attending writing therapy, where she gradually reveals her fears about Ian's PTSD; her concerns for the safety of their young son Charlie; and the couple's tangled and tumultuous past with Jo.From the Balkans to England, Iraq to Manhattan, and finally to an ordinary family home in Kansas, sixteen years of love and fear, adventure and suspicion culminate in The Day of the Killing, when a frantic 911 call summons the police to the scene of shocking crime.But what in this beautiful home has gone so terribly bad?(P)2019 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

To Kill the Truth

Sam Bourne
Authors:
Sam Bourne
Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring

It was a victimless crime... Estate Agent Clara is struggling to make a sale. With her abusive ex-husband on the brink of finding where she's hiding, she needs to make a commission soon or lose her chance to escape. Boleskine House on the shores of Loch Ness has remained unsold for years, and Clara is sure that an 'innocent' fire will force the price down. But the perfect crime soon turns into the perfect nightmare: there was a witness, a stranger in the village, and he's not going to let Clara get away with it that easily... From the bestselling author of The Ghost Hunters, The Watchers and The Lost Village, comes a tense and claustrophobic psychological thriller - available to pre-order now

Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

Still Lives

Maria Hummel
Authors:
Maria Hummel
Quercus

The Darkest Place

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

From the bestselling author of With Our Blessing and The Confession comes a gripping and chilling new mystery'Horrifyingly dark . . . a deeply satisfying read' - Sunday TimesChristmas day, and DCI Tom Reynolds receives an alarming call. A mass grave has been discovered on Oileán na Caillte, the island which housed the controversial psychiatric institution St. Christina's. The hospital has been closed for decades and onsite graves were tragically common. Reynolds thinks his adversarial boss is handing him a cold case to sideline him. But then it transpires another body has been discovered amongst the dead - one of the doctors who went missing from the hospital in mysterious circumstances forty years ago. He appears to have been brutally murdered. As events take a sudden turn, nothing can prepare Reynolds and his team for what they are about to discover once they arrive on the island . . .'Deft plotting and expert handling of tension make for an intelligent mystery' - The Guardian

Quercus

The Rival

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth
Quercus

A World on Fire

James Heneage
Authors:
James Heneage
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg

'Blood Cruise is terrifying and terrifying real, a must-read for fans of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist' - Elizabeth Hand, author of Generation Loss and Hard LightOn the Baltic Sea, no one can hear you scream. Tonight, twelve hundred expectant passengers have joined the booze-cruise between Sweden and Finland. The creaking old ship travels this same route, back and forth, every day of the year.But this trip is going to be different.In the middle of the night the ferry is suddenly cut off from the outside world. There is nowhere to escape. There is no way to contact the mainland. And no one knows who they can trust.Welcome aboard the Baltic Charisma.'I will never set foot on a cruise ship again!' - Åsa Larsson, bestselling author of The Second Deadly Sin and Until thy Wrath Be Past