Craig Russell - The Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780874890
    • Publication date:04 Aug 2016
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780874913
    • Publication date:09 Feb 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784292393
    • Publication date:04 Aug 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786481467
    • Publication date:04 Aug 2016
Books in this series

The Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid

Lennox 5

By Craig Russell

  • Hardback
  • £19.99

PI Lennox - the Scottish Philip Marlowe - returns with a new helping of fast-paced detective noir. where the violent death of Quiet Thomas Quaid shows that Quaid's life had been anything but quiet. From the winner of of the Bloody Scotland Crime Novel of the Year.

PI Lennox - the Scottish Philip Marlowe - returns with a new helping of fast-paced detective noir. where the violent death of Quiet Thomas Quaid shows that Quaid's life had been anything but quiet. From the winner of of the Bloody Scotland Crime Novel of the Year.

Lennox liked Quiet Tommy Quaid. Perhaps it's odd for a private detective to like - even admire - a career thief, but Quiet Tommy Quaid was the sort of man everyone liked. Amiable, easy-going, well-dressed, with no vices to speak of - well, aside from his excessive drinking and womanising, but then in 1950s Glasgow those are practically virtues. And besides, throughout his many exploits outside the law, Quiet Tommy never once used violence. It was rumoured to be the police who gave him his nickname - because whenever they caught him, which was not often, he always came quietly. So probably even the police liked him, deep down.

Above all, the reason people liked Tommy was that you knew exactly what you were dealing with. Here, everybody realized, was someone who was simply and totally who and what he seemed to be.

But when Tommy turns up dead, Lennox and the rest of Glasgow will find out just how wrong they were.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780874883
  • Publication date: 04 Aug 2016
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Quercus
Vivid and compelling, with a dark sense of place, even darker characters, and deliciously noir humour. Craig Russell is a great writer at the top of his game — Peter James
Craig Russell brilliantly uses the character of his tough, funny and hopeful man Lennox to give us the eyes and ears on a time and place . . . storytelling at its very best! — Michael Connelly
The kind of thriller-writing that made me want to be a writer in the first place — Christopher Brookmyre
Russell's 1950s Glasgow is dank, murky and excellently realised . . . as sharp as an upper cut without being contrived — The Scotsman
Lennox is a private eye for the ages - tough, uncompromising and insightful . . Russell has brilliantly captured post-war Glasgow — Michael Rowbotham
Russell remains one of the more intelligent and sophisticated proponents of the genre — Herald Scotland
Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

The new thriller from the bestselling author of The Girl Before.

Quercus

Craftfulness

Rosemary Davidson, Arzu Tahsin
Authors:
Rosemary Davidson, Arzu Tahsin

To read Crafty Therapy is to take the first step on the path to leading a more satisfying and fulfilling life. A book in three parts, it focuses on: · the science of creativity and the authors' down-to-earth craft ethos, as well as why everyone should develop a craft habit; · how to make time in a hectic life for everyday creative work, and how to overcome self-criticism and lack of confidence; · simple but immensely satisfying craft projects classified according to which itch needs to be scratched, from anxiety and anger to melancholia and frustration (complete with beautifully illustrated step-by-step instructions). The result is a wonderful piece of soul cleansing and healing, and an all-you-need-to-know friendly guide to give you the confidence to give crafting a go.

Quercus

The Italian Quarter

Domenica De Rosa
Authors:
Domenica De Rosa

riverrun

In Mid-Air

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik
Jo Fletcher Books

Stained Light

Naomi Foyle
Authors:
Naomi Foyle

Astra Ordott tried - and failed - to deny her destiny. The final installment in the critically-acclaimed SF quartet 'for Hunger Games fans of all ages' (Library Journal). Perfect for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin, Joan Slonczewski and Joyce Carol Oates. For ten years Astra Ordott has lived as a traitor, hated by most of her fellow prisoners and abused by the guards. She made the ultimate sacrifice to save those she loved, voluntarily giving up her freedom when she handed herself over to the Is-Land authorities. Now long-simmering conflicts are beginning to boil over again as the wider world faces devastating threats both old and new. Non-Land and Is-Land are further from reunification than ever. Outside Astra's fortified Gaian homeland, an infertility crisis is threatening the survival of the human race, while the world's reliance on rare earth metals is infuriating the ancient spirits of the planet.Astra may have found her voice as a messenger of cosmic harmony - but is anyone listening?

Quercus

More Than a Feeling

Cate Woods
Authors:
Cate Woods
Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
Jo Fletcher Books

Haunted

Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris

Calexa Rose Dunhill died once, just for a moment - but now someone wants her dead permanentlyThe shocking conclusion to Cemetery Girl by Charlaine Harris, no. 1 bestselling creator of Sookie Stackhouse, and Christopher Golden, bestselling co-creator of Baltimore.They call her the Ghost of Dunhill Cemetery, but most people think 'the Cemetery Girl' is just a story. In some ways, that's true. Her chosen name is Calexa Rose Dunhill, but she doesn't know her real name. When she first arrived here, all she knew was that someone had tried to murder her: they'd dumped her body and left her for dead. Calexa has been hiding out here, afraid to seek out her true identity for fear that her would-be murderer would find her and finish the job. And someone is searching for her . . . a man named Salazar, who holds the key that will unlock the secrets of Calexa's past.Calexa has new secrets as well, including the fact that she was murdered: she did die, if only for a moment - but in that moment, something changed inside her. Now, if someone dies near her, their spirit is drawn to Calexa, drawn into her. It has happened twice before, but now, as her worst fears come true and the killers have found her trail, the third ghost to take up residence in Calexa's soul will change everything.The Cemetery Girl's story is about to reach a shocking conclusion!

Quercus

An Ocean of Minutes

Thea Lim
Authors:
Thea Lim
riverrun

The Consolation of Maps

Thomas Bourke
Authors:
Thomas Bourke
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 2

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes

Vernon Subutex is still on the streets. Hanging around with alcohol-soaked Charles in the Parc de Buttes Chaumont, feverish and hallucinating, he is completely cut off from the wider world and unaware that he is the subject of a frantic search by a crowd of hunters hot on the trail of the last recordings of the famous dead musician, Alex Bleach. But just imagine that one of these hunters finally gets hold of the precious tapes. What might they contain? The answer could have shocking - almost apocalyptic - consequences.

Quercus

A Taste for Vengeance

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
Jo Fletcher Books

Wyntertide

Andrew Caldecott
Authors:
Andrew Caldecott

'Intricate and crisp, witty and solemn. Line by line, silent and adroit, it opens a series of trap-doors in the reader's imagination' Hilary Mantel, Man Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf HallWelcome back to Rotherweird.The town of Rotherweird has been independent from the rest of England for four hundred years, to protect a deadly secret. Sir Veronal Slickstone is dead, his bid to exploit that secret consigned to dust, leaving Rotherweird to resume its abnormal normality after the travails of the summer . . . but someone is playing a very long game.Disturbing omens multiply: a funeral delivers a cryptic warning; an ancient portrait speaks; the Herald disappears - and democracy threatens the uneasy covenant between town and countryside.Geryon Wynter's intricate plot, centuries in the making, is on the move.Everything points to one objective: the resurrection of Rotherweird's dark Elizabethan past - and to one date: the Winter Equinox.Wynter is coming . . .'Baroque, Byzantine and beautiful - not to mention bold. An enthralling puzzle picture of a book' M. R. Carey, bestselling author of The Girl With All The Gifts

Quercus

How to Write a Letter

Shaun Usher
Authors:
Shaun Usher

When was the last time you wrote a personalised letter? Chose just the right thickness of card, the smoothest writing pen, the best colour ink?The bestselling author of Letters of Note gets to the heart of the dying art of letter-writing. Drawing on ancient history and Victorian how-to guides, Shaun Usher reminds us of the significance of letters. By selecting some of the most fascinating and moving correspondence of all time, he shows how revealing a letter can be as part of a person's character. And why it's so important we keep writing.

Jo Fletcher Books

Shattermoon

Dominic Dulley
Authors:
Dominic Dulley
MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker
MacLehose Press

The Impostor

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas
MacLehose Press

The House with the Stained-Glass Window

Zanna Sloniowska
Authors:
Zanna Sloniowska
riverrun

I'll Eat When I'm Dead

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland
Quercus

Bill Bailey's Remarkable Guide to British Birds

Bill Bailey
Authors:
Bill Bailey

'When herons are spooked they have a habit of vomiting as a defence. Half-digested pieces of eel and water vole skull on your head is not a good look. Just so you know.'Bill Bailey's Remarkable Guide to British Birds is all about comedian Bailey's love of birds. A visual feast - it is packed with illustrations, sketches and notes by Bailey - as well as informative, it is funny and insightful, and positively crackles with energy, knowledge and wit as he takes us on a journey around the British isles, zooming in on those birds that enthuse him the most. Whether it's what they eat, where they fly to or how they communicate, these birds are always fascinating, and Bailey introduces us to their weird and wonderful ways in a manner that is always entertaining. If you're a parent who'd like to appear a bit clever when your child asks you the name of a bird; if you want to find a new and healthy hobby that takes you outdoors; or whether, quite simply, you want to understand a bit more about our natural environment and have a laugh at the same time, this is the perfect companion book to have.Alongside music and stand-up, one of Bailey's favourite pastimes is birdwatching, which he has been doing since he was a child in the West Country. His fondest memories are of family outings with parents, grandparents and cousins, ticking the birds off in his little Observer's Book of Birds. As he has said about those formative years, 'birdwatching gave a purpose to the day and a love of the natural world which has carried on into my adult life'. A beautifully and originally designed hardback, it will delight Bailey's fans as well as those who like a bit of armchair escapism.