Dominique Sylvain - Dirty War - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857052162
    • Publication date:04 Jun 2015
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780876054
    • Publication date:04 Jun 2015
Books in this series

Dirty War

A Lola and Ingrid Investigation

By Dominique Sylvain

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Lola and Ingrid reunite for a much more personal investigation in this thriller featuring corruption and intrigue in North Africa.

A young Parisian lawyer is found murdered, burned alive with a flaming tyre around his neck.

For Lola Jost, retired police commissioner, the killer's methods are all too familiar. Her beloved assistant Toussaint Kidjo was dispatched in the same way five years before. Convinced of a connection, and aided by her loyal sidekick Ingrid Diesel, Lola reopens the Kidjo investigation on the sly.

But the murdered lawyer turns out to be the protégé of a shadowy fixer known as "Mister Africa", who is heavily involved in the arms trade. And the official investigation becomes mired in a power struggle between the Paris police and a newly formed national intelligence agency.

Lola and Ingrid have earned their reputation as amateur super sleuths who get the job done when the police can't
- or won't. But the high-stakes world of international arms dealing plays by its own brutal rules, and this case could
prove too hot for them to handle . . .

Biographical Notes

Dominique Sylvain worked as a journalist in Paris before relocating to Asia where she lived for spells in Japan and Singapore. She is the author of thirteen crime novels and now lives once more in Tokyo where she writes full-time.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780876061
  • Publication date: 06 Oct 2016
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
Quercus

Countries of the World in Minutes

Jacob F. Field
Authors:
Jacob F. Field
MacLehose Press

After the Winter

Guadalupe Nettel
Authors:
Guadalupe Nettel
Quercus

Fabulous Finn

Dave Wardell
Authors:
Dave Wardell

The Inspirational Life of Britain's Bravest DogWinner of the 2017 Daily Mirror Animal Hero of the Year AwardHertfordshire, October 5th 2016. At around 2 a.m., PC Dave Wardell and his dog, PD Finn, were trying to apprehend a robbery suspect when he turned around and attacked them. Finn was stabbed with a ten-inch-bladed knife, both through his chest, via his armpit and then - the knife bound for Dave - through the top of his head. Finn no doubt saved Dave's life, but the race was on to try and save Finn's.Dave Wardell's heartfelt memoir charts an incredible journey of friendship and loyalty. It is a celebration of the bond between one man and his dog, from when Dave collected Finn from his kennels at just nine months old, all the way through to Finn's recent and hard-earned retirement. The book charts the career of a highly trained, highly decorated dog. In his time on the job Finn tracked offenders of all kinds; found missing children; tackled armed offenders; saved lives. But Finn isn't just a police dog - he's also a cherished family pet and this is his remarkable, life-affirming story.

MacLehose Press

The Name of the Dog: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 3)

Élmer Mendoza
Authors:
Élmer Mendoza
MacLehose Press

Rosy & John

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
MacLehose Press

Three Days and a Life

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 1

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes
Quercus

Diary of a Vampire in Pyjamas

Mathias Malzieu
Authors:
Mathias Malzieu

This is a memoir by French bestselling and award-winning author and musician Mathias Malzieu. It focuses on a single year in which he explores his close encounter with death. Insightful, tragic and even often very funny, it is a hugely inspirational read.In November 2013 Malzieu is diagnosed with a rare and life-threatening blood disease: his bone marrow does not produce enough blood cells, and those that survive are being attacked by the body's natural antibodies as if they were viruses. Highly anaemic and at risk of a cardiac attack or fatal haemorrhaging, Malzieu is whisked into hospital, and spends months in a sterile isolation room. He is kept alive by blood transfusions, while waiting for a bone marrow transplant. When he has the energy for it, he writes in his diary and strums his ukelele.To read this book is to be in awe of the triumph of the human spirit. As a reader you find yourself marvelling at how we find the mechanisms to cope with tragedy and uncertainty when faced with the reality that we may die. Malzieu's highly active imagination allows him to transcend the limits of his body and its increasing failures through fantasy and escapism. His wonderfully addictive childish wonder with a punk Gothic twist lifts the narrative from being a depressing account to a reading experience that is evocative, poetic and intensely moving. Malzieu survived thanks to a revolutionary operation involving stem-cell treatment with the blood from an umbilical cord. As he leaves the hospital with not only a different blood group but also a different DNA, he describes himself as the oldest newborn in the world. As Malzieu says himself, 'To have had my life saved has been the most extraordinary adventure I have ever had.'

MacLehose Press

Blood Wedding

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Sophie is haunted by the things she can't remember - and visions from the past she will never forget.One morning, she wakes to find that the little boy in her care is dead. She has no memory of what happened. And whatever the truth, her side of the story is no match for the evidence piled against her. Her only hiding place is in a new identity. A new life, with a man she has met online. But Sophie is not the only one keeping secrets . . .For fans of Gone Girl and Lemaitre's own internationally bestselling Alex, Blood Wedding is a compelling psychological thriller with a formidable female protagonist.Translated from the French by Frank Wynne

MacLehose Press

Shadows and Sun

Dominique Sylvain
Authors:
Dominique Sylvain
Heron Books

Dodger of the Revolution

James Benmore
Authors:
James Benmore

The Artful Dodger faces his most dangerous adventure yet as he leaves Dickensian London and finds himself manning the barricades in defence of liberty, fraternity and larceny in the 1848 Paris uprising. For Dodger, life as a criminal kingpin is losing its allure. Leading a gang of petty thieves from the Seven Dials is not as easy as Fagin made it look and after a year in charge Jack Dawkins has been reduced to a shadow of the man who used to be the envy of every pickpocket in London. Opium-addicted and heavy-fingered, Dodger is fast becoming a laughing stock on his own patch until a chance encounter leads him to Paris and a job like nothing he's had before. In a city alive with rebellion, Dodger must avoid assassins, jilted lovers and revolutionaries, and rediscover his touch if he is to lift his most precious treasure yet. The third in the James Benmore's acclaimed series continuing the story of the Artful Dodger, this book confirms Jack Dawkins as one of the great fiction characters.

MacLehose Press

Camille

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
Quercus

The Other Side of Silence

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
Quercus

Rough Cut

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

When a young Pakistani bride falls to her death from a window, Rosie has to navigate the story with care, trying not to upset the girl's devastated family or the local Pakistani community. After talking to the family, however, Rosie becomes convinced that there is more to the story than a tragic accident, and that something is being kept from her and the police.Meanwhile, on the other side of Glasgow, Nikki and Julie, two prostitutes, find themselves in trouble when a client dies during an assignment and it looks like one of them is to blame. Their problems become far worse though, when a briefcase they steal from the dead man turns out to contain some very valuable rough diamonds and several fake passports. It's clear it belonged to some serious criminals, and now they have much more to worry about than a dead body.Investigating the Pakistani girl's death, Rosie has been talking to Laila, another young girl from the community, who has voiced her fears of being forced into marrying a much older man in Pakistan. When Laila disappears, Rosie is sure her fears have been realised. Then Nikki contacts her asking for help, and Rosie senses a parallel with her current case.Sure enough, as Rosie flies to Pakistan to try and rescue Laila, it becomes clear that the 'accidental' death, Laila's disappearance and the briefcase are all linked - and once back in Glasgow, she, Julie and Nikki discover just how much danger they are in...

MacLehose Press

In the Café of Lost Youth

Patrick Modiano
Authors:
Patrick Modiano
MacLehose Press

The Great Swindle

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Now a major French film Au revoir là-haut - Prix Goncourt-winning masterpiece by the writer who brought you Alex, Irène and Camille.October 1918: the war on the Western Front is all but over. Desperate for one last chance of promotion, the ambitious Lieutenant Henri d'Aulnay Pradelle sends two scouts over the top, and secretly shoots them in the back to incite his men to heroic action once more.And so is set in motion a series of devastating events that will inextricably bind together the fates and fortunes of Pradelle and the two soldiers who witness his crime: Albert Maillard and Édouard Péricourt.Back in civilian life, Albert and Édouard struggle to adjust to a society whose reverence for its dead cannot quite match its resentment for those who survived. But the two soldiers conspire to enact an audacious form of revenge against the country that abandoned them to penury and despair, with a scheme to swindle the whole of France on an epic scale.Meanwhile, believing her brother killed in action, Édouard's sister Madeleine has married Pradelle, who is running a little scam of his own...

Quercus

Smoke and Mirrors

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

Brighton, winter 1951. Pantomime season is in full swing on the pier with Max Mephisto starring in Aladdin, but Max's headlines have been stolen by the disappearance ­­of two local children. When they are found dead in the snow, surrounded by sweets, it's not long before the press nickname them 'Hansel and Gretel'. DI Edgar Stephens has plenty of leads to investigate. The girl, Annie, used to write gruesome plays based on the Grimms' fairy tales. Does the clue lie in Annie's unfinished - and rather disturbing - last script? Or might it lie with the eccentric theatricals who have assembled for the pantomime? Once again Edgar enlists Max's help in penetrating the shadowy theatrical world that seems to hold the key. But is this all just classic misdirection?

Quercus

The World of Cycling According to G

Geraint Thomas
Authors:
Geraint Thomas
MacLehose Press

Irène

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
MacLehose Press

Alex

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre