David Thomas - Ostland - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848664746
    • Publication date:19 Jun 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857389282
    • Publication date:18 Jul 2013

Ostland

By David Thomas

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780877372
  • Publication date: 18 Jul 2013
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Quercus
'A riveting read' Sport — Sport
'A thought provoking account of an ordinary person's capacity to do evil ... a fascinating important book' Literary Review. — Literary Review
'An ambitious and very powerful novel that reflects the ultimate incomprehensibility of the Holocaust' Crimetime. — Crimetime
'An intriguing mix of detection, thriller, courtroom drama, fact and fiction' The Times. — The Times
'Very rarely do books reach into your psyche and take root. Ostland came along and kicked my door down. A wonderfully thought-provoking novel. Educational, entertaining and emotive throughout ... a first class read by an author at the top of their game' Crimesquad. — Crimesquad
'To simply label Ostland as a crime thriller would not only do a great disservice to the sheer power and scope of this novel, but would in turn devalue a book that truly encompasses the very best elements of both the crime and historical fiction genres. This is without doubt one of the most affecting novels that I have read ... not just a book that deserves to be read, but a book that also needs to be read' Ravencrimereads. — Ravencrimereads
'This nightmare-inducing new novel stretches crime fiction to its limits ... a compelling read' Mail on Sunday. — Mail on Sunday
'With subtlety and intelligence, Thomas joins the historical dots to produce a novel with plenty to say - eloquently - about the brutalising effects of the Holocaust' Guardian. — Guardian
Quercus

The Last Thing She Told Me

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

Some secrets have the power to tear a family apart . . . Moments before she dies, Nicola's grandmother Betty whispers to her that there are babies at the bottom of the garden. Nicola reassures her that it is two statues of fairies she has in the garden, but Betty insists there are babies. Nicola's mother Irene claims Betty was talking nonsense, but Nicola is not so sure. And when, after the funeral, her daughter Maisie finds a bone while playing by the fairy statues, Nicola knows that something sinister has taken place. But will unearthing painful family secrets end up tearing Nicola's family apart?

MacLehose Press

Retribution Road

Antonin Varenne
Authors:
Antonin Varenne

"We owe you our lives, Sergeant, but you are our worst nightmare . . ."Burma, 1852. Sergeant Arthur Bowman, a sergeant in the East India Company, is sent on a secret mission during the Second Anglo-Burmese War. But the expedition is foiled - his men are captured and tortured. Throughout their ordeal, a single word becomes Bowman's mantra, a word that will stiffen their powers of endurance in the face of unimaginable suffering: "Survival". But for all that, only a handful escape with their lives.Some years later in London, battling his ghosts through a haze of alcohol and opium, Bowman discovers a mutilated corpse in a sewer. The victim appears to have been subjected to the same torments as Bowman endured in the Burmese jungle. And the word "Survival" has been daubed in blood by the body's side. Persuaded that the culprit is one of the men who shared his captivity, Bowman resolves to hunt him down.From the Burmese jungle to the slums of London to the conquest of the Wild West, Antonin Varenne takes us on a thrilling journey full of sound and unabated fury, reviving the lapsed tradition of the great writers of boundless adventure. Sergeant Bowman belongs to that breed of heroes who inhabit the imaginations of Conrad, Kipling, Stevenson . . . Lost soldiers who have plunged into the heart of darkness and will cross the globe in search of vengeance and redemption.Translated from the French by Sam Taylor

Quercus

A Summer Revenge

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan
Quercus

Trouble at Zero Hour

Rob Lofthouse
Authors:
Rob Lofthouse

Written by a retired British soldier, Trouble at Zero Hour is a breathless and vivid story, dramatizing three of the key Allied operations that turned the tide of the Second World War.6 June, 1944, somewhere over the Normandy coastline: Robbie Stokes sits in a glider, his Bren resting on the floor between his outstretched legs. The nose lowers and the glider descends rapidly: ten minutes of stomach-churning twists and turns until suddenly the call goes up to 'BRACE'. The belly makes contact with the ground and the first Allied troops tumble out into occupied Europe.For new recruit Robbie Stokes it is the beginning of ten months of brutal and relentless conflict that take him from D-Day, via Operation Market Garden and the battle for Arnhem Bridge, to the Rhine Crossing and the final push for victory. Three operations that change the course of the war and test Robbie Stokes and his band of brothers to their limits. If they fail, then the Allied invasion fails. They must succeed through their longest days.

riverrun

You Should Have Left

Daniel Kehlmann
Authors:
Daniel Kehlmann

A thrilling exploration of psychological disturbance and fear from the bestselling and prize-winning author of Measuring the World.On retreat in the wintry Alps with his family, a writer is optimistic about completing the sequel to his breakthrough film. Nothing to disturb him except the wind whispering around their glassy house. The perfect place to focus. Intruding on that peace of mind, the demands of his four-year-old daughter splinter open long-simmering arguments with his wife. I love her, he writes in the notebook intended for his script. Why do we fight all the time?Guilt and expectation strain at his concentration, and strain, too, at the walls of the house. They warp under his watch; at night, looking through the window, he sees impossible reflections on the snow outside.Then the words start to appear in his notebook; the words he didn't write.Familiar and forbidding by turns, this is an electrifying experiment in form by one of Europe's boldest writers. The ordinary struggles of a marriage transform, in Kehlmann's hands, into a twisted fable that stays darkly in the mind.

Quercus

The Tunnel

Carl-Johan Vallgren
Authors:
Carl-Johan Vallgren

A fast-paced and intricate thriller from one of Sweden's most popular writers, perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo and Lars Kepler.Private investigator Danny Katz is trying to track down his former drug dealer. Ramón and his girlfriend Jenny have both vanished leaving behind a lot of unanswered questions. How come Ramón suddenly found himself in possession of the mother-load of drugs? And is Jenny really who she claims to be? Katz's investigation leads him to the darkest corners of Stockholm's porn industry and once again his old addiction threatens to control him. Ultimately only one thing seems certain - someone is willing to do whatever it takes to keep Katz from discovering the brutal truth.

Quercus

Far Horizon

Tony Park
Authors:
Tony Park
Quercus

Retribution

Steffen Jacobsen
Authors:
Steffen Jacobsen

On a warm Autumn afternoon, Tivoli Gardens - Denmark's largest amusement park - is devastated by a terrorist attack. 1,241 people are killed. The unknown bomber is blown to bits; the security forces have no leads. One year later, the nation is still reeling, and those behind the attack are still at large. Amidst the increasingly frustrated police force, Superintendent Lene Jensen is suffering the effects of tragedy closer to home. Everyone is aware the terrorists may soon strike again. Then Lene receives a strange call. A young desperate Muslim woman needs her help, but by the time Lene reaches her she's already dead - supposedly suicide. Already suspicious, Lene's initial investigations suggest that the woman was unknowingly part of a secret services research project. Silenced by her superiors, Lene turns to her old ally Michael Sander to dig deeper. But with even her allies increasingly adamant her actions are a risk to national security, Lene begins to understand that finding the truth might be the most dangerous thing of all.

Quercus

The Hanging Girl

Jussi Adler-Olsen
Authors:
Jussi Adler-Olsen

A NO. 1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLEROVER 16 MILLION COPIES SOLDWINNER OF THE GLASS KEY AWARDJussi Adler-Olsen returns with the newest book in his acclaimed Department Q series. In the middle of a hard-won morning nap in the basement of police headquarters, Carl Mørck, head of Department Q, receives a call from a colleague working on the Danish island of Bornholm. Carl is dismissive at first, but then he receives some shocking news. Carl then has no choice but to lead Department Q into the tragic cold case of a vivacious seventeen-year-old girl who vanished from school, only to be found dead hanging high up in a tree. The investigation will take them from the remote island of Bornholm to a hidden cult, where Carl and his assistants must stop a string of new murders by a skilled manipulator who refuses to let anything-or anyone-get in the way.For fans of Tim Weaver and Jo Nesbo

MacLehose Press

Dirty War

Dominique Sylvain
Authors:
Dominique Sylvain

Quercus

The Third Testament

Christopher Galt
Authors:
Christopher Galt
Quercus

The Boy in the Shadows

Carl-Johan Vallgren
Authors:
Carl-Johan Vallgren
Quercus

The Prey

Tony Park
Authors:
Tony Park

riverrun

The Serpent Papers

Jessica Cornwell
Authors:
Jessica Cornwell
Quercus

Thief

Mark Sullivan
Authors:
Mark Sullivan
Quercus

Summer Lies Bleeding

Nuala Casey
Authors:
Nuala Casey
Quercus

The Bosch Deception

Alex Connor
Authors:
Alex Connor
Quercus

Outlaw: Robin Monarch 2 (

Mark Sullivan
Authors:
Mark Sullivan

AN ENEMY EMERGING FROM THE EAST. The US Secretary of State is abducted while conducting secret negotiations aboard a tanker in the South China Sea. 'Seven days' is her captors' warning. Seven days before she is beheaded, live on the internet. Seven days for Robin Monarch to save her. A TREACHERY TRACING TO THE TOP. The CIA asset and master thief journeys into the underworld of Southeast Asia to locate and extract his target. But as he navigates this shady labyrinth, he unravels a worrying conspiracy: stretching from the red-lit underbelly of Asia to the White House itself.(P)2013 WF Howes Ltd

Quercus

Rogue: Robin Monarch 1 (U

Mark Sullivan
Authors:
Mark Sullivan
Quercus

Flight of the Intruder

Stephen Coonts
Authors:
Stephen Coonts