Giles Sparrow - The Cosmic Gallery - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £20.00
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780878119
    • Publication date:28 Feb 2013

The Cosmic Gallery

The Most Beautiful Images of the Universe

By Giles Sparrow

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The heavens are alive with breathtaking beauty: from the incandescent surface of the Sun to the shimmering tail of a comet; the birth of planets to the death of stars; the dancing shadows of Jupiter's moons to the silhouettes of eclipses.

The Cosmic Gallery contemplates the entire cosmos as a grand celestial art exhibit. In six thematically organized chapters, Giles Sparrow presents an array of stunning images, ranging from easily seen phenomena to the most distant and intricate galaxies, providing the reader with an exciting and beautiful new perspective on the cosmos.

Biographical Notes

Giles Sparrow studied Astronomy at University College London, and Science Communication at Imperial College. He has acted as author, consultant and contributor on numerous popular science books, and is the author of, amongst others, The Universe and How to See It, Cosmos, The Stargazer's Handbook, Voyage Across the Cosmos, Cosmos Close-Up and The Universe in 100 Key Discoveries.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780878126
  • Publication date: 28 Feb 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
'Absolutely beautiful images ... should fascinate both scientific boffins and the youngest of children captivated by the night sky' Daily Mail. — Daily Mail
Quercus

Solar System in Minutes

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow

This concise, illuminating guide takes us on a comprehensive tour of the solar system, from the Sun at its very heart - via the planets and their moons - to the icy objects at its periphery, some 150 billion kilometres away. The Solar System in Minutes explains the history and features of all the major celestial bodies, including the Sun, Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, the planets' main moons, the asteroids, comets, dwarf planets and the Kuiper belt; as well as the birth, evolution and science of the solar system and the story - and future - of its exploration. With 200 of the very latest space photographs and explanatory diagrams, here is the easiest way to understand our cosmic neighbourhood.

Quercus

Darling Blue

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees
Jo Fletcher Books

Shattermoon

Dominic Dulley
Authors:
Dominic Dulley
Jo Fletcher Books

The Q Series

Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle
Quercus

The Memory Chamber

Holly Cave
Authors:
Holly Cave

'An elegant tale of love and loss, memory and murder, set in an edgy near-future' Daily Mail'The Memory Chamber is captivating from the first page' Daily Express'Will mess with your head' Emerald Street **********True death is a thing of the past...Now you can spend the rest of eternity re-living your happiest memories: that first kiss, falling in love, the birth of your children, enjoyed on loop for ever and ever.Isobel is a Heaven Architect, and she helps dying people create afterlives from these memories. So when she falls for Jarek, one of her terminal - and married - clients, she knows that while she cannot save him, she can create the most beautiful of heavens, just for him.But when Jarek's wife is found dead, Isobel uncovers a darker side of the world she works within, and she can trust no one with what she finds...The Memory Chamber is a thrilling and original story which vaults the reader into a world that is terrifyingly close to our own, where we can avoid everything we fear - even death itself. But can we ever escape the truth? Perfect for fans of Black Mirror. **********'Thought-provoking and totally absorbing' Candis'Provocative . . . a thrilling read' Psychologies'Strikingly original and impossible to put down' John Marrs, author of The One

Quercus

The Genius Test

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow

What is the Higgs Boson? Where did life come from? And what are you looking at when you're looking at Modern ArtPut your knowledge to the test - and learn to think and talk like a genius. The Genius Test takes you on a journey through humanity's most brain-bending ideas, from the big bang and the origins of life to chaos theory, existentialism and special relativity, challenging you to understand and providing the tools to help you master the big ideas. Shortcuts to becoming a genius include: · Are you a Genius? quizzes - questions to test your knowledge· The 10 things a Genius would know· Talk like a Genius - intellectual conversation gambits· A Bluffer's summary The Genius Test challenges you to understand 50 subjects including: The Hard Problem of consciousness; the human genome; Evo-devo; the human brain; A.I.; Fermat's Last Theorem; the Riemann Hypothesis; Gödel's Theorem of Incompleteness; Post-modernism; Modern architecture; Keynesianism; Semiotics and Structuralism; Schrödinger's cat; DNA; Deconstructivism; the mind-body problem; Superstrings; Quantum Theory; The Big Bang; black holes...and many more.

Quercus

Cosmos

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow
Quercus

The World of Tides

William Thomson
Authors:
William Thomson
Quercus

How To Understand E =mc²

Christophe Galfard
Authors:
Christophe Galfard
Quercus

Hubble

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow
riverrun

At the Strangers' Gate

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik
Quercus

The Search For Earth's Twin

Stuart Clark
Authors:
Stuart Clark

In 1995 two Swiss astronomers discovered a planet circling a star other than our Sun. This changed our perception of the Universe forever, proving that Earth and the other celestial bodies in our Solar System are not alone in outer space. Now, after a decade of exploration, more than 860 planets have been discovered, many of which are completely unlike anything else we know. Some are blacker than coal; some are bathed in molten lava; others are perpetually scoured by hurricane-force winds; some have not one sun but two that rise in the morning, and others are perpetually drowned in global oceans. But as well as strange, inhabitable lands, there is familiarity too. Some of these alien worlds are strikingly similar to planets in our Solar System. Astronomers now know of planets just like Jupiter, Neptune, Mars and Mercury orbiting stars similar to our Sun, both nearby and deep into space. Authoritatively written and fully up to date on this fast-moving area of science, The Search for the Earth's Twin will take you on a journey through the cosmos via frozen wastelands, slow-moving globes and fiery volcanic bodies, to planets that can - and just might - sustain complex life. The prospect of discovering the Earth's twin is now tantalisingly close.

riverrun

The Lonely Hearts Hotel

Heather O'Neill
Authors:
Heather O'Neill
Jo Fletcher Books

The Language of Dying

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough
Quercus

Mars

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow
Quercus

The Book of Tides

William Thomson
Authors:
William Thomson

An idiosyncratic, richly illustrated guide to Britain's rivers, seas and shores, for everyone who loves the water and the natural world - a Norwegian Wood for Britain's watersThis is a book for those who want to understand better how the waters surrounding us affect our daily lives, how it imperceptibly but crucially shapes our actions, and has shaped our landscape for millenia. It's for anyone who knows and loves our coast, and who wants to understand, discover, surf, or sail it better.Inspired by his own witnessing of the power of the sea through travelling around Britain's coastline in a panel van with his young family, William Thomson tells the story of the cycles of the sea. He combines a lyrical, passionate narrative with graphically beautiful renderings of the main forms of water which affect Britain: Rip, Rapids, Swell, Stream, Tide, Wave, Whirlpool, Tsunami.The Book of Tides is a book for all of us who feel the pull of the sea and the tug of the tide.

Quercus

The Particle Zoo

Gavin Hesketh
Authors:
Gavin Hesketh

What is everything really made of? If we split matter down into smaller and infinitesimally smaller pieces, where do we arrive? At the Particle Zoo - the extraordinary subatomic world of antimatter, ghostly neutrinos, strange-flavoured quarks and time-travelling electrons, gravitons and glueballs, mindboggling eleven-dimensional strings and the elusive Higgs boson itself.Be guided around this strangest of zoos by Gavin Hesketh, experimental particle physicist at humanity's greatest experiment, the Large Hadron Collider. Concisely and with a rare clarity, he demystifies how we are uncovering the inner workings of the universe and heading towards the next scientific revolution.Why are atoms so small? How did the Higgs boson save the universe? And is there a Theory of Everything? The Particle Zoo answers these and many other profound questions, and explains the big ideas of Quantum Physics, String Theory, The Big Bang and Dark Matter... and, ultimately, what we know about the true, fundamental nature of reality.

Jo Fletcher Books

Saint's Blood

Sebastien de Castell
Authors:
Sebastien de Castell

'High energy, highly unique, swashbuckling-cop-epic-noir story. Buy it. BUY IT NOW' Sam SykesThe Greatcoats are back - and this time it's personal.How do you kill a Saint? Falcio, Brasti and Kest are about to find out, as someone is doing just that, and they've started with a friend.The Dukes were already looking for ways to weasel out of their promise to put Aline on her father's throne - but with Saints turning up dead, and Church Inquistitors pushing for control - rumours are spreading that the Gods themselves oppose her ascension.The only way Falcio can stop the country turning into a vicious theocracy is to find and stop the Saint-killer - but his only clue is the iron mask encasing the head of the Saint of Mercy, which prevents her from speaking. And even if he can find the murderer, he will still have to face them in battle - and this may be a duel that no swordsman, no matter how skilled, can win.

Jo Fletcher Books

Limit

Frank Schätzing
Authors:
Frank Schätzing

Perfect for fans of Neal Stephenson and Peter F. Hamilton, an epic science-fiction novel from Germany's most successful thriller writer. The first space elevator connects the Earth to the Moon, prompting abreathless race between the Americans and Chinese to get to the Moon's helium-3 - the rare element that promises to solve all the world's energy problems. In Shanghai, cyber-detective Owen Jericho has been hired to find Yoyo, a missing girl, but what started as a routine investigation soon develops into a nightmarish hunt. There's a crazed assassin hot on his heels, all because Yoyo accidentally stumbled onto a secret society called Hydra - and now it's not just her life at risk. Following the Hydra trail takes Jericho and Yoyo round the world and finally to the Gaia, the Moon's very first hotel, where a billionaire entrepreneur is entertaining some of the world's richest and most influential men and women But the secret society that is Hydra has its own plans for the Earth - and the Moon. And nothing and no one will be allowed to stand in its way.

Quercus

The Planets

Giles Sparrow, Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow, Giles Sparrow