Murray Bail - The Voyage - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.00
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857052315
    • Publication date:31 Jan 2013
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780878560
    • Publication date:31 Jan 2013

The Voyage

By Murray Bail

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Frank Delage, a middle-aged Australian on the make, arrives in Vienna with the most daring of propositions. But when the sheer audacity of his campaign dawns on him, Delage beats a retreat to the southern hemisphere...

Frank Delage, a middle-aged Australian, arrives in Vienna with the most daring of propositions. He has invented a revolutionary piano and means to market it to the grand old world of classical music. A chance meeting with one Amalia von Schalla brings new possibilities - a soirée, an introduction to her daughter Elisabeth, dinner with an avant-garde composer.

But when the sheer audacity of his campaign dawns on him, he takes a slow boat home to the southern hemisphere. As it meanders through the Mediterranean and the Suez Canal, he is afforded ample time to reflect on tensions between the old world and the new. And, for all his travails, he is not going home empty-handed...

Biographical Notes

Born in Adelaide in 1941, Murray Bail now lives in Sydney. His fiction, which includes Eucalyptus, Holden's Performance, Homesickness and The Drover's Wife and Other Stories, has been translated into more than twenty-five languages, winning a number of major awards.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780878577
  • Publication date: 30 Jan 2014
  • Page count: 176
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
'His works are to be savoured for their elegant artifice ... This is particularly true of The Voyage' Andrew Reimer, Sydney Morning Herald. — Sydney Morning Herald
'This masterful concoction engages, excites and perturbs with singular virtuosity' Eileen Battersby, Irish Times. — Irish Times
'One reads in a permanent faint fever, on tenterhooks, never knowing quite where a sentence or a paragraph may veer off to' John Banville. — John Banville
'We won't see a finer piece of fiction in the longest while' Peter Craven, Melbourne Age. — Melbourne Age
'Worthy of Henry James ... Deserves to be Booker nominated' Steve Barfield, The Lady. — Lady
MacLehose Press

Inhuman Resources

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
Quercus

Anyone for Seconds?

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham
Quercus

An Ocean of Minutes

Thea Lim
Authors:
Thea Lim
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 2

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes
riverrun

Histories

Sam Guglani
Authors:
Sam Guglani
MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker

NOVEMBER 24, 2004The day of the tragedy. The end of a brotherhood.The Baltimore Boys. The Goldman Gang. That was what they called Marcus Goldman and his cousins Woody and Hillel. Three brilliant young men with dazzling futures ahead of them, before their kingdom crumbled beneath the weight of lies, jealousy and betrayal. For years, Marcus has struggled with the burdens of his past, but now he must attempt to banish his demons and tell the true and astonishing story of the Baltimore Boys.The stunning new novel from the author of the global bestseller, The Truth about the Harry Quebert AffairTranslated from the French by Alison Anderson

Jo Fletcher Books

City of Miracles

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett

Sigrud je Harkvaldsson is back, and this time he's out for vengeance.The awesome climax to the fantasy thrillers City of Stairs and City of Blades: perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Brent Weeks and China Miéville. Shara Komayd, once Prime Minister of Saypur, has been assassinated. News travels fast and far, even to a remote logging town somewhere northwest of Bulikov, where the silent, shaven-headed Dreyling worker 'Bjorn' picks up the newspaper and walks out. He is shocked and grieved and furious; he's been waiting thirteen years for Shara, his closest friend, to reach out to him - to tell him to come home. He's always believed she was running a long operation, that there would be a role for him at the right time. Now he has no one else in his life, and nothing to live for - except to find the people who did this.Sigrud wasn't there for the death of his daughter Signe, and he wasn't there when Shara was murdered. Now Bjorn is dead and Sigrud is back. And he will find answers, for Shara, and for himself. He's made a promise . . .

Quercus

The Factory Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer

For fans of Daisy Styles, a heart-warming wartime saga about a group of women who work in an armaments factory. No matter how hard the times, despite bombing, short rations, cruel men, unwanted pregnancy, through thick and thin friendship will pull you through. Autumn, 1944. Doodlebugs are the latest threat to war-battered southern England. At Priddy's Hard munitions factory though, Em Earle is about to suffer a threat to her livelihood from much nearer home. Local crook Samuel Golden is back and up to his old tricks, trying to find ways to exploit people's hardship for his own gain.As well as Samuel's unwanted attentions, Em has to deal with some huge revelations from within her own family. Her daughter Lizzie is pregnant, and a strange woman has turned up on Em's doorstep claiming to be her sister. Em is excited, but wary - could this woman be too good to be true? Once again it will be up to the girls from the bomb factory to rally round and support one of their own.

Quercus

While My Eyes Were Closed

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

THE #1 BESTSELLER: a nail-biting psychological drama for fans of Liane Moriarty and CL Taylor.One, two, three . . . Lisa Dale shuts her eyes and counts to one hundred during a game of hide-and-seek. When she opens them, her four-year-old daughter Ella is gone. Disappeared without a trace. The police, the media and Lisa's family all think they know who snatched Ella. But what if the person who took her isn't a stranger? What if they are convinced they are doing the right thing? And what if Lisa's little girl is in danger of disappearing forever?

Quercus

The Canary Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

The Other Child

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins
Quercus

The Saffron Trail

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
riverrun

Boys and Girls

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

Heron Books

Willow Trees don't Weep

Fadia Faqir
Authors:
Fadia Faqir

Najwa's father left when she was four years old. Now, upon her mother's death, she cannot live alone in the Islamic society of Jordan. She must find her father. Her search takes her through new dangers as she becomes swept up with a mysterious organization which sends her into the mountains of Afghanistan. For her father, this same journey was made as a wrenching sacrifice for the sake of his beliefs. Yet his experience in the desert transformed his life forever. Now it transforms Najwa's, as she is compelled to follow in his footsteps: from a heartbreaking secret in Afghanistan all the way to a revelation in Britain.

Quercus

Land Where I Flee

Prajwal Parajuly
Authors:
Prajwal Parajuly

Quercus

Amelia Grey's Fireside Dream

Abby Clements
Authors:
Abby Clements

MacLehose Press

A Naked Singularity

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava
Quercus

Loss of Innocence

Davi Patterson, Richard North Patterson
Authors:
Davi Patterson, Richard North Patterson

MacLehose Press

Brief Loves That Live Forever

Andreï Makine, Andrei Makine
Authors:
Andreï Makine, Andrei Makine

riverrun

The Gurkha's Daughter

Prajwal Parajuly
Authors:
Prajwal Parajuly