Paul Lynch - Red Sky in Morning - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780879192
    • Publication date:06 Mar 2014

Red Sky in Morning

By Paul Lynch

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

Biographical Notes

Paul Lynch was born in 1977 and lives in Dublin. He was the chief film critic of Ireland's Sunday Tribune newspaper from 2007-2011. He has written regularly for the Sunday Times on film and has also written for the Irish Times, the Sunday Business Post, the Irish Daily Mail and Film Ireland.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780879178
  • Publication date: 25 Apr 2013
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: riverrun
'A compulsive read ... A combination of the poetic and the vicious. It unabashedly uses a 21st century sensibility to subvert the conventions of the 'historical' novel' Irish Times. — Irish Times
'A wonderful achievement. A thrilling plot is expressed in the most beautiful, idiosyncratic style. It is certainly the most promising of new dawns' Sunday Times. — Sunday Times
'Inspired by a true story and written in lyrical yet accessible prose, this accomplished novel marks Lynch out as a writer to watch' Irish Times. — Irish Times
'Paul Lynch has a sensational gift for a sentence, inherited from the likes of Cormac McCarthy, Sebastian Barry and Daniel Woodrell. He is a writer to watch out for, staking a bid for a territory all his own' Colum McCann, author of Let The Great World Spin. — Colum McCann
'Classic storytelling, rough and haunted people and the times that made them, powerfully conjured, written in language that demands attention. Lynch is bardic, given to sly and inspired word selections, with his own sprung rhythms and angled, stark musicality' Daniel Woodrell. — Daniel Woodrell
'Lynch's book is a beautifully etched and colourfully told drama' Sunday Business Post (Dublin). — Sunday Business Post (Dublin)
'Paul Lynch's writing is full of dark invention and brutal beauty. A raw and audacious talent which grips Irish writing by the neck' Hugo Hamilton, author of The Speckled People. — Speckled People
'This book makes the literary synapses spark and burn. Forged in his own new and wonderful language, Paul Lynch reaches to the root, branch and bole of things, and unfurls a signal masterpiece' Sebastian Barry. — Sebastian Barry
MacLehose Press

The Faculty of Dreams

Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg

In April 1988, Valerie Solanas - the writer, radical feminist and would-be assassin of Andy Warhol - was discovered dead in her hotel room, in a grimy corner of San Francisco. She was only 52; alone, penniless and surrounded by the typed pages of her last writings.In The Faculty of Dreams, Sara Stridsberg revisits the hotel room where Solanas died, the courtroom where she was tried and convicted of attempting to murder Andy Warhol, the Georgia wastelands where she spent her childhood, where she was repeatedly raped by her father and beaten by her alcoholic grandfather, and the mental hospitals where she was interned.Through imagined conversations and monologues, reminisces and rantings, Stridsberg reconstructs this most intriguing and enigmatic of women, articulating the thoughts and fears that she struggled to express in life and giving a powerful, heartbreaking voice to the writer of the infamous SCUM Manifesto.

MacLehose Press

Winds of the Night

Joan Sales
Authors:
Joan Sales

"Perhaps the worst thing about war is the peace that follows . . ."Winds of the Night is the follow-up, published almost thirty years later, to Joan Sales' acclaimed masterwork of the Spanish Civil War, Uncertain Glory.It describes the shell-shocked wasteland that was post-war Catalonia through the eyes of Cruells, a Republican chaplain who survives the war, and completes his theological studies only to lose his faith in a world where it seems all hope has been extinguished.As he struggles to function as a rural priest, his steps are dogged by a ghostly figures from his past, such as Lamoneda, a fascist agent provocateur who now hobnobs with Himmler and misses few opportunities to turn the febrile post-war atmosphere to his financial advantage. Against his wishes, Creulls is drawn into obsessive dialogues about the war in which only lunacy prevails, for Lamoneda seems to hold the key to the whereabouts of an old friend - the mercurial Juli Soleràs, whose charisma, for all his betrayals, still holds Cruells in thrall.An essential coda to the modern classic that is Uncertain Glory, Winds of the Night is a Beckettian vision of the traumas of combatants and country hidden beneath the rhetoric of the victors.Translated from the Catalan by Peter Bush

riverrun

This Is 64

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

THE NEW NOVEL FROM THE BOLLINGER SHORTLISTED AUTHOR OF ENGLAND'S LANE.'Connolly unfolds a rich and compelling drama of life that is anything but everyday' Daily Mail'It is Connolly's skill to get the reader to laugh at what should make you cry or at least wince' Times Literary SupplementGeorge is a fashion mad Beatles fan, selfish and cruel. Why his girlfriend Dorothy loves him is a mystery to her and to his best friend Sammy. When George callously chucks her he cannot anticipate that his life, post 1964, will never be the same. And forty-four years later, when George is sixty-four, rich and successful, his past will catch up with him and his family.

MacLehose Press

Monte Carlo

Peter Terrin
Authors:
Peter Terrin
Quercus

The Lavender House

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

Emotional, page-turning women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK. Will Nancy dare to risk a second chance at love with a man her family and friends tell her is totally unsuitable? Beautiful storytelling for fans of Erica James, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans.Nancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy's babysitting services, it seems Nancy's fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has. Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark. But Nancy's family don't trust Jim one bit. They're convinced he'll break her heart, maybe run off with her money - he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities. Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family's side and walk away from one last chance for love?

MacLehose Press

In the Café of Lost Youth

Patrick Modiano
Authors:
Patrick Modiano

riverrun

The Death of Rex Nhongo

C. B. George
Authors:
C. B. George
Quercus

The Things We Do for Love

Alice Peterson
Authors:
Alice Peterson
MacLehose Press

Birth of a Bridge

Maylis de Kerangal, Maylis de Kerangal
Authors:
Maylis de Kerangal, Maylis de Kerangal
MacLehose Press

Fall of Man in Wilmslow

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz

June 8, 1954. Alan Turing, the visionary mathematician, is found dead at his home in sleepy Wilmslow, dispatched by a poisoned apple. Taking the case, Detective Constable Leonard Corell quickly learns Turing is a convicted homosexual. Confident it's a suicide, he is nonetheless confounded by official secrecy over Turing's war record. What is more, Turing's sexuality appears to be causing alarm among the intelligence services - could he have been blackmailed by Soviet spies? Stumbling across evidence of Turing's genius, and sensing an escape from a narrow life, Corell soon becomes captivated by Turing's brilliant and revolutionary work, and begins to dig deeper. But in the paranoid, febrile atmosphere of the Cold War, loose cannons cannot be tolerated. As his innocent curiosity fast takes him far out of his depth, Corell realises he has much to learn about the dangers of forbidden knowledge.

riverrun

Breaking Light

Karin Altenberg
Authors:
Karin Altenberg
riverrun

Style

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

This Is It

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

Winter Breaks

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

The Girl Who Was Saturday Night

Heather O'Neill
Authors:
Heather O'Neill
riverrun

Boys and Girls

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

The Black Snow

Paul Lynch
Authors:
Paul Lynch

riverrun

The Works

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

Stuff

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

When Emily, a successful interior designer and utter bitch, has finished throttling her startlingly dim-witted husband Kevin one morning and packed him off for a day's labour, she never expects him to achieve anything but the usual myriad incompetencies: let alone seduce a young, attractive woman in Portobello Road. And when she's done screwing her husband's best friend Raymond in his dingy office, little does she know Raymond will be consecutively screwed over by his shrewd, secretly lustful PA with a fusion of blackmail and bankruptcy. Emily's a maelstrom of malice and cares not for the mess she leaves behind. But there's only so far she can push Kevin and Raymond before the storm finally breaks. With vicious flair, Connolly hurtles his cast of thrillingly repulsive characters into a plot of adultery, sadism and revenge, speeding towards a violent climax. This is a world where pretension has the biggest price tag and reason has been stripped, revarnished and hung with a darling, fake chandelier.

riverrun

These Are Our Children

Julie Maxwell
Authors:
Julie Maxwell