James Henry - Blackwater - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats Books in this series

Blackwater

By James Henry

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The new Essex-based crime series from the bestselling author of the DI Jack Frost prequels - perfect for fans of Peter James and Start MacBride

THE NEW ESSEX-BASED CRIME SERIES FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE DI JACK FROST PREQUELS - PERFECT FOR FANS OF PETER JAMES AND STUART MACBRIDE.

'A fast-moving thriller with strong characters, dark humour and a terrific sense of place. I was totally absorbed by it' Elly Griffiths

'James Henry's writing is vivid and compelling, with great evocation of the 1980s period' Peter James

'A masterclass in place and landscape' Christie Watson

January 1983, Colchester CID

A new year brings new resolutions for Detective Inspector Nicholas Lowry. With one eye on his approaching fortieth birthday, he has given up his two greatest vices: smoking, and the police boxing team. As a result, the largest remaining threat to his health is now his junior colleague's reckless driving.

If Detective Constable Daniel Kenton's orange sports convertible is symbolic of his fast track through the ranks, then his accompanying swagger, foppish hairstyle and university education only augment his uniqueness in the department. Yet regardless of this, it is not DC Kenton who is turning station heads.

WPC Jane Gabriel is the newest police recruit in Britain's oldest recorded town. Despite a familial tie to top brass, Gabriel's striking beauty and profound youth have landed her with two obstacles: a young male colleague who gives her too much attention, and an older one who acts like she's not there.

January 1983, Blackwater Estuary

A new year brings a new danger to the Essex shoreline. An illicit shipment, bound for Colchester - 100 kilograms of powder that will frantically accelerate tensions in the historic town, and leave its own murderous trace.

Lowry, Kenton and Gabriel must now develop a tolerance to one another, and show their own substance, to save Britain's oldest settlement from a new, unsettling enemy.

Biographical Notes

James Henry is the pen name for James Gurbutt, who has written four prequels to R D Wingfield's popular Frost series. He works in publishing, and enjoys windsurfing and long lunches.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780879802
  • Publication date: 18 May 2017
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: riverrun
Vivid and compelling, with great evocation of the 1980s period. — Peter James
James Henry has done it again with another taut, highly atmospheric police procedural! — Simon Kernick
Perfectly structured, authentically bred from its bleak and watery setting, Blackwater gives us a new Essex reimagined as a noir landscape. — Lawrence Osborne, author of The Forgiven
The smell of the marshes permeates every page . . . This is old-style policing set in an interesting period, and it's an encouraging start to what is likely to be an engaging series. — Geoffrey Wansell, Daily Mail
This is great stuff. — Peter Robinson on First Frost
A brilliant read, I can't recommend it highly enough. — Martina Cole on First Frost
A palpable hit . . . [a] dark, but glittering pearl. — Barry Forshaw on First Frost
Brilliantly engineered police procedural. — Daily Mirror
A fast-moving thriller with strong characters, dark humour and a terrific sense of place. I was totally absorbed by it. — Elly Griffiths
Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

The new thriller from the bestselling author of The Girl Before.

riverrun

Yellowhammer

James Henry
Authors:
James Henry
riverrun

Cast Iron

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

Snakehead

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

THE FOURTH CHINA THRILLER, FROM THE MILLION-SELLING PETER MAY - AUTHOR OF THE RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLER THE BLACKHOUSE.SUFFOCATEDA vehicle crammed with dozens of dead Chinese immigrants is found in southern Texas. Pathologist Margaret Campbell must put aside her horror, and find out why. SUMMONEDDetective Li Yan - an even more unwelcome memory for Campbell - has arrived stateside to investigate a link in the case to a lucrative trade in illegal labourers. SNAKEHEADLi and Campbell will soon find that the crime scene hides another secret: a biological time bomb linking traffickers, politicians and migrants in Beijing, Washington and Texas - posing multiple countries one, very singular, threat.

riverrun

Six Four

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
MacLehose Press

The Girl in the Spider's Web

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz

THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO IS BACK WITH A UK NUMBER ONE BESTSELLERLisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist have not been in touch for some time.Then Blomkvist is contacted by renowned Swedish scientist Professor Balder. Warned that his life is in danger, but more concerned for his son's well-being, Balder wants Millennium to publish his story - and it is a terrifying one.More interesting to Blomkvist than Balder's world-leading advances in Artificial Intelligence, is his connection with a certain female superhacker.It seems that Salander, like Balder, is a target of ruthless cyber gangsters - and a violent criminal conspiracy that will very soon bring terror to the snowbound streets of Stockholm, to the Millennium team, and to Blomkvist and Salander themselves.The Girl in the Spider's Web is book four in the Millennium series. Book five, The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye, was published in September 2017.

riverrun

Blacklight Blue

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

THE THIRD COLD-CASE INVESTIGATION FOR ENZO MACLEOD, FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE RICHARD AND JUDY MEGASELLER THE BLACKHOUSE.FRANCE. A death sentence.Diagnosed with a terminal illness, Enzo Macleod is running out of time to crack the most confounding of unsolved French murders. A death threat.His daughter is nearly killed, Enzo is mugged - and then he is arrested. Someone is trying to destroy his character. Someone is framing him for murder. A deathly enemy.Killers from the past will stop at nothing to halt Enzo, who must use all his forensic skills to solve the case - before they succeed.

riverrun

Truth

Peter Temple
Authors:
Peter Temple

Quercus

Core of Evil

Nigel McCrery
Authors:
Nigel McCrery

A visceral thriller from the creator of the hit BBC drama Silent Witness, introducing synaesthetic detective DCI Mark Lapslie. I've looked into the eyes of women who have banged nine-inch nails into the skulls of their victims with hammers ... we evaluate them, trying to determine whether they have actually changed, or whether there's still a core of evil within them...Before his diagnosis, DCI Mark Lapslie thought everyone was like him. Now he knows he suffers from synaethesthesia - a rare neurological condition that has cross-wired his senses. The sickening clamour of sounds he can taste has smothered his marriage and stifled his career. At the scene of a fatal traffic accident, Lapslie's interest isn't in the recently deceased driver, rather the desiccated corpse found lying next to him. Something about the body stirs a fleeting recollection at the back of Lapslie's mind... he can't quite put his finger on it, but he can almost taste it... Memories haunt Violet Chambers. Taking tea with her friend Daisy, she knows it's time to move on. As Daisy falls to the floor, eyes streaming, face burning, Violet calmly waits. Black hellebore is remarkably potent. It won't be long now. Discover the other books in the DCI Mark Lapslie series: Tooth and Claw, Scream, Thirteenth Coffin and Flesh and Blood.

riverrun

The Broken Shore

Peter Temple
Authors:
Peter Temple

Joyce Carol Oates

The prolific Oates is known for her short stories and attracts attention with each new offering. Her first book was published over 45 years ago and she is a recipient of the National Book Award and is one of America's best-loved authors. She is the author of many novels, including We Were the Mulvaneys, which was an Oprah Book Club Choice, and Blonde, which was nominated for the National Book Award.

Jussi Adler-Olsen

Jussi Adler-Olsen is Denmark's number one crime writer and a New York Times bestseller. His books routinely top the bestseller lists in Europe and have sold more than sixteen million copies around the world. His many prestigious Nordic crime-writing awards include the Glass Key Award, also won by Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbø and Stieg Larsson.

Lisa Tuttle

Lisa Tuttle was born and raised in Texas, but moved to Britain in the 1980s. She now lives with her writer husband and their daughter on the side of a Scottish loch. She has written more than a dozen fantasy, science fiction and horror novels.

Olivia Kiernan

Olivia Kiernan is an Irish writer living in the UK. She was born and raised in County Meath, near the famed heritage town of Kells and holds an MA in Creative Writing awarded by the University of Sussex. Too Close to Breathe is her first novel.

Otto Penzler

Author of The Innocent, Just One Look, No Second Chance, Tell No One and Gone For Good, Harlan Coben has topped bestseller charts the world over, and is the first author ever to win all four major crime awards in the US. Otto Penzler is the founder of New York's Mysterious Bookshop and The Mysterious Press.

Peter Spiegelman

Peter Spiegelman is the author of several novels, including Thick as Thieves, Black Maps - which won the 2004 Shamus Award for Best First P.I. Novel - Death's Little Helpers and Red Cat. A twenty-year veteran of the financial services and software industries, he lives in Connecticut.

Richard Stark

Richard Stark was one of the many pseudonyms of Donald E. Westlake (1933-2008), a prolific author of crime fiction. In 1993, the Mystery Writers of America bestowed the society's highest honor on Westlake, naming him a Grand Master.

Sinéad Crowley

Sinead Crowley is Arts and Media Correspondent for RTE, Ireland's national broadcaster, working for television, radio and online. Her debut thriller, Can Anybody Help Me? was a bestseller in Ireland, and both it and her second book Are You Watching Me? were shortlisted for the Irish Book Awards Crime Book of the Year. Sinead lives in Dublin with her husband and two young sons.

Tamara McKinley

Tamara McKinley is the author of more than eleven novels. She was born in Tasmania, but now lives in Sussex and Cornwall and writes full time. Her novels are both contemporary and historical, following the lives of Australian pioneers and those who came after them.

Thomas Bunstead

Thomas Bunstead's translations include work by Eduardo Halfon and Yuri Herrera, Aixa de la Cruz's story "True Milk" in Best of European Fiction (Dalkey Archive, 2015), and the forthcoming A Brief History of Portable Literature by Enrique Vila-Matas (a co-translation with Anne McLean; New Directions, 2015). A guest editor of a Words without Borders feature on Mexico (March 2015), Thomas has also published his own writing in the Times Literary Supplement, the Paris Review blog and >kill author.