Elizabeth Gill - Under a Cloud-Soft Sky - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Under a Cloud-Soft Sky

Can she bear to leave the place she calls home?

By Elizabeth Gill

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An emotional saga about the meaning of home from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.

An emotional saga about the meaning of home from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.

1890, County Durham. Dennes Eliot has worked hard to create a better life for himself. Now a respectable worker at the local Foundry and boarding with his friend Nat, he tries his best to forget his shameful beginnings. But can he really fulfil his dreams in a place where everyone knows his past? Grace Hemingway knows all about the Foundry her father runs, and loves the community built around it. But her parents are grooming her for a stunning London marriage to a man she's not yet met. Can she bear to leave the place she calls home?

Biographical Notes

Elizabeth Gill is the author of absorbing sagas including The Singing Winds, Far from My Father's House and The Road to Berry Edge. She lives in Durham.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782061755
  • Publication date: 31 Jan 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
MacLehose Press

The Last Days of El Comandante

Alberto Barrera Tyszka
Authors:
Alberto Barrera Tyszka

Venezuela 2012: The President's illness casts a shadow over the lives of his citizens - he divides opinion, but life without him is almost unimaginable. Miguel Sanabria is a retired oncologist, ambivalent towards the President but caught between a virulently anti-Chávez wife and a equally vehement pro-Chávez brother. He is asked by his nephew to hide a mobile phone carrying secret footage that could shed new light on the President's condition.His neighbour Fredy has found a fresh angle for a new book about Chávez, but to take advantage he must agree to a "green-card" marriage and leave his girlfriend and their son for two months, even as their landlady plots to repossess their home.In another apartment live nine-year-old María and her neurotic, near-agoraphobic mother. Taken out of school to be educated at home, María turns to internet chat rooms for company, while her mother's fears about the city's endemic violence are proved tragically prescient.The fates and fortunes of these neighbours will prove inextricably entwined as the hour of the President's death draws ever closer.REVIEWS FOR THE SICKNESS"A great book" Michael Morpurgo"Powerful themes and powerful writing" Susan HillTranslated from the Spanish by Rosalind Harvey

Quercus

All Summer With You

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
Quercus

The Foundling School for Girls

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

'Elizabeth Gill is a born storyteller' Trisha AshleyAfter Dinah Dixon's mother deserts her on Christmas Eve, her father comes home drunk and commits an unthinkable act. Without money or friends she has nowhere to go, but when he hurts her a second time, she knows what she must do. She is rescued by Jay, a businessman, who takes her to the convent where she meets sister Madeline. Along with the rest of the nuns, Maddy provides food, shelter and education for orphans. Dinah comes to look on her new friends as family and things are finally looking up for them all. But then a pit accident changes everything, and they all stand to lose something - or someone - they love...From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Nobody's Child comes a new series about the lost orphans of Durham and the nuns who take them in...

MacLehose Press

The Faculty of Dreams

Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg

In April 1988, Valerie Solanas - the writer, radical feminist and would-be assassin of Andy Warhol - was discovered dead in her hotel room, in a grimy corner of San Francisco. She was only 52; alone, penniless and surrounded by the typed pages of her last writings.In The Faculty of Dreams, Sara Stridsberg revisits the hotel room where Solanas died, the courtroom where she was tried and convicted of attempting to murder Andy Warhol, the Georgia wastelands where she spent her childhood, where she was repeatedly raped by her father and beaten by her alcoholic grandfather, and the mental hospitals where she was interned.Through imagined conversations and monologues, reminisces and rantings, Stridsberg reconstructs this most intriguing and enigmatic of women, articulating the thoughts and fears that she struggled to express in life and giving a powerful, heartbreaking voice to the writer of the infamous SCUM Manifesto.

Quercus

The Lost Son

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith
Quercus

The Flatshare

Beth O'Leary
Authors:
Beth O'Leary
MacLehose Press

Soldiers of Salamis

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas

The International Bestseller of the Spanish Civil War - Winner of the Independent Foreign Fiction PrizeIn the final moments of the Spanish Civil War, fifty prominent Nationalist prisoners are executed by firing squad. Among them is the writer and fascist Rafael Sanchez Mazas. As the guns fire, he escapes into the forest, and can hear a search party and their dogs hunting him down. The branches move and he finds himself looking into the eyes of a militiaman, and faces death for the second time that day. But the unknown soldier simply turns and walks away. Sanchez Mazas becomes a national hero and the soldier disappears into history. As Cercas sifts the evidence to establish what happened, he realises that the true hero may not be Sanchez Mazas at all, but the soldier who chose not to shoot him. Who was he? Why did he spare him? And might he still be alive?

MacLehose Press

Lord of All the Dead

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas

Lord of All the Dead is a courageous journey into Javier Cercas' family history and that of a country collapsing from a fratricidal war. The author revisits Ibahernando, his parents' village in southern Spain, to research the life of Manuel Mena. This ancestor, dearly loved by Cercas' mother, died in combat at the age of nineteen during the battle of the Ebro, the bloodiest episode in Spain's history. Who was Manuel Mena? A fascist hero whose memory is an embarrassment to the author, or a young idealist who happened to fight on the wrong side? And how should we judge him, as grandchildren and great-grandchildren of that generation, interpreting history from our supposed omniscience and the misleadingperspective of a present full of automatic answers, that fails to consider the particularities of each personal and family drama?Wartime epics, heroism and death are some of the underlying themes of this unclassifiable novel that combines road trips, personal confessions, war stories and historical scholarship, finally becoming an incomparable tribute to the author's mother and the incurable scars of an entire generation.

riverrun

Prefecture D

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama

A collection of four novellas: each taking place in 1998, each set in the world of Six Four, and each centring around a mystery and the unfortunate officer tasked with solving it.SEASON OF SHADOWS"The force could lose face . . . I want you to fix this." Personnel's Futawatari receives a horrifying memo forcing him to investigate the behaviour of a legendary detective with unfinished business.CRY OF THE EARTH"It's too easy to kill a man with a rumour." Shinto of Internal Affairs receives an anonymous tipoff alleging a Station Chief is visiting the red-light district ­- a warning he soon learns is a red herring.BLACK LINES"It was supposed to be her special day." Section Chief Nanao, responsible for the force's 49 female officers, is alarmed to learn her star pupil has not reported for duty, and is believed to be missing.BRIEFCASE"We need to know what he's going to ask." On the eve of a routine debate, Political Liaison Tsuge learns a wronged politician is preparing his revenge. He must now quickly dig up dirt to silence him.Prefecture D continues Hideo Yokoyama's exploration of the themes of obsession, saving face, office politics and inter-departmental conflicts. Placing everyday characters between a rock and a hard place and then dialling up the pressure, he blends and balances the very Japanese with the very accessible, to spectacular effect.

MacLehose Press

Balco Atlantico

Jérôme Ferrari
Authors:
Jérôme Ferrari
MacLehose Press

A Book of Falsehoods

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross
Quercus

The Lemon Tree Hotel

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
riverrun

All Rivers Run Free

Natasha Carthew
Authors:
Natasha Carthew
Quercus

The Night Tiger

Yangsze Choo
Authors:
Yangsze Choo
Quercus

The Coal Miner's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

Torn between love and duty...When Vinia walked down the aisle she knew it was a marriage of practicality: as the owner of the local pit, Joe could provide her with a life of status. But her heart lies with another...With gypsy blood in his veins and an intense passion in his soul, Dryden has always held a torch for Vinia. And with the death of his wife, he vows to make good on the lost years when they were apart.Will Vinia find a new chance of happiness or be forever destined to a loveless marriage?'Original and evocative - a born storyteller' Trisha Ashley

Quercus

Winter Without You

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good

What do you do when you lose everything?After the tragic death of her boyfriend, Hannah Clitheroe is hiding away from the world. But when she discovers she's inherited a house in Cornwall, she knows it's time to face reality. Her estranged grandmother lived in Kernow House for years, but Hannah soon realises someone else thinks it's rightfully theirs: Raphael Tregar, a difficult man who quickly gets under her skin.But as winter sets in, there's one more thing that keeps her up at night, and the rising fear that she may not find her true home in Cornwall after all...

Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg
riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill
Quercus

Orphan Boy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

Will he ever find the life he longs for? Born to a mother who died in childbirth and an uninterested father, Niall McAndrew grows up a solitary child, without a home to call his own. His only friend is Bridget, a young girl forced prematurely into womanhood. Niall has brains, spirit and ambition, as well as being blessed with handsome good looks. But his loveless childhood has left its mark. Can he ever find the happiness he yearns for? A moving and uplifting tale of a young boy with big dreams...From the bestselling author of Far From My Father's House and Miss Appleby's Academy comes a rags-to-riches tale of one man's determination to succeed. Perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Diane Allen.

Quercus

The Saffron Trail

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley